Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Cashel Wedge Cushion

Cashel Company
- Item #12498
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Cashel Wedge Cushion increases protection over the sensitive back area. The Cashel Wedge Cushion is useful in leveling your saddle. Gradually increases from 1/2" to 1 1/4" at the back. Black. Jump. Small (fits 16 1/2" saddles), Medium (fits 17" saddles), or Large (fits 17 1/2" saddles).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cashel Wedge Cushion is rated 4.2727 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product Adds lift to the back of the saddle, perfect for my older horse.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't fit my use This is a very nice pad and is made out of good materials. It stays in place with no shifting. My issue is I expected a more significant difference in thickness between the front and back of the pad. To get the desired effect, I had to trim the front of the pad so I could move the whole pad further forward. This helped.
    Date published: 2012-09-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the right situation I bought this pad to help one of my child students who has a saddle with a high pommel. The pommel was causing her pain. I wanted to try this instead of a keyhole pad to ease the pressure on the shoulders on the pony. The pad did lift the cantle of the saddle, but the height difference was not as great as I expected. I ended up cutting off part of the front of the pad so I could move the whole pad further forward. This helped.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good useful product I really like this wedge. It really helped my saddle fit my horse properly.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what was needed Just what was needed - was exactly right - and the price is excellent. Found this after spending hundreds of dollars on pads I now don't need.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very cush This wedge is perfect for my hunter saddle that was slightly downhill.It's thinner in the front so it tucks nicely into the pommel and it stays put due to the material.I'm quite pleased with it.Not fancy looking but very functional.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from thick This is a nice cushion but for me it's a bit too thick. It causes me to be too forward, throwing off my balance. The horses seem to like it as I'm sure extra padding would feel better to them but the off-balance issue keeps me from using it.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight and easy to use! I can fit my saddle on more horses.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job Saddle was a bit pommel high on one horse, and this wedge does the trick of leveling it out. Nice and cushy, seems indestructible.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must for beginners The Cashel Wedge Cushion improved my daughter's posting immediately!
    Date published: 2011-05-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not worth the money The pad is only $30, but it is not worth the money when it won't stay in place! I have a 10 y/o WB gelding with an average withers. Even if I place the pad properly, there's no telling where it will end up when I am riding. I regret not going with a Roma or even a cheap keyhole pad. Either would have done the job and stayed in place better!
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10 yrs and going strong I have had my wedge for ten years and it is still wonderful. I will get a new one as the foam has compressed eventually. The fit of this pad is classic. It was smoother for my older horse than a shimming system. Not for a horse that needs very fine adjustments, but for the right horse it is the best value out there.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not what I needed I have a horse that is very hard to fit a saddle to even with professional fitters. I needed a slight boost to the back of the saddle so I ordered this pad. It is quite a thick pad and boosted the back up a bit too much and the cutout at the withers didn't really fit around his withers. I only rode in it once and it had a nice springy feel to it, but it kept getting pinched up at the withers. I think this pad would work great on a saddle that was really too big for a horse, but it is not meant to make incremental changes to a saddle fit. It is certainly the most affordable options on the market!
    Date published: 2010-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my saddle situation! I love cashel pads- they wear like iron, noticeably absorb shock and are even useful on my cold-backed mare to help keep her back from tightening during a rest in lessons. I also own a lollipop version made of the same neoprene foam, and that works great, as well. This saddle pad was perfect for the narrow gelding I was riding- it narrowed my saddle and padded his high withers and evened my saddle to keep me and the saddle balanced on his back.This type of pad is definitely superior to any open celled foam pad or many of the lighter pads that collapse after a few rides, pick up dirt and don't seem to make much difference on your horse's back- they just seem to take up space to make you feel better. Cashel pads can't be put straight on the back which isn't a problem for me and they don't collapse while they protect the horse's back from direct pressure- my touchy mare hunches her back, bucks and is hesitant to use her back or her haunches without a pad or using a foam lollipop. With this kind of pad she reaches into the bridle, swings at the walk trot and canter and much more relaxed and comfortable.In Conclusion: Great pad, pricey but worth the money when you have to toss that other foam pad or buy multiples so you can keep one white and clean to show in- lasts for years, totally worth the money!
    Date published: 2009-08-21
    • 2015-08-29T13:13CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_19
    • loc_en_US, sid_2498, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.