Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Carr & Day & Matrin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #10080

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with an immaculate oil-free shine. Contains citronella to help repel flies. 

Favorite Features

  • A specially designed bottle to help apply the product exactly where you want it.

Made in United Kingdom

Sizing It Up

600 ml.

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Since a shiny and clean coat is paramount, ...
    Description:
    Since a shiny and clean coat is paramount, this spray shines instantly as well as helps prevent irritating grass and stable stains. Use on clean horses and ponies only, to keep them that way. Will not make the coat greasy ...
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an exclusive highly concentrated formula with unique actions that helps to maintain and achieve a longer, healthier looking mane and tail. Favorite Features Nourishes and conditions hair and skin to aid healthy hair ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Carr & Day & Matrin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is rated 4.8533 out of 5 by 225.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this! I have horse with a very, very thick tail. So far this is the only product I have found that works to detangler it easily and keep it that way. We love the fresh smell too!
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What is great is now better I love this product, it keeps my horses tail super soft and untangled without drying it out. I only have to use it once a week, if I do not wash her tail. The new packaging emits a mist which saves on product and is more evenly distributed than the old spray bottle. Tip - let it dry before you brush.
    Date published: 2015-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful conditioner!!!! Easy to use spray conditioner conditions with less mess and waste of product. Conditions well and lasts a few days. My horses tails were less dry and brittle and easy to comb through with less breakage. Nice scent is a plus!
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product I've used for tails My pony has a huge tail, enough tail for three horses. This is the only thing that doesn't have to be used daily to keep her soft and manageable, and won't dry out her dock like the showsheen does. It's expensive but worth it.
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting! We have older, pastured geldings, but we like to groom them to check for ticks and injuries. The Canter Silk keeps the 39 year old from tangling and losing precious tail hair at his age. His part curly horse breeding gives him a coarse, wavy mane. The Canter Silk makes the mane manageable without pulling and lasts longer than many products we have tried over the years.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tail product Love this product!! Only need to use sparingly and it keeps the tail nice and soft and shines for over a week. Can actually brush her tail with my fingers. No snapping of long hairs - very nice product!
    Date published: 2015-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love that this is a spray! I did not read closely enough when I ordered this, and didn't notice it is a spray. Which is perfect to apply and really works well. It doesn't last for days, but what does? Smells great too.
    Date published: 2015-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky smooth results that do last! I decided to try this one based on the good reviews. So glad I did! It does wonders to make the mane and tail hair silky soft and it helps repel dirt and dust for days after using. It's a little expensive, but the results are worth it.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more knots Was using Mane and Tail but this is my new favorite!
    Date published: 2015-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply the best. I panic when I run out of this stuff.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One application works for days! Bought this to help my QH regain his softer silkier tail after a long hard WI winter. Amazing results! It is a bit expensive for an everyday product, but definitely worth it for those challenging times and show weekends!
    Date published: 2015-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky Smooth Conditioner Great product that leaves the mane and tail silky smooth! Best I have ever found!
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from leaves hair silky soft! I've used this product for two months now and for four horse shows and it keeps hair shiny and soft. It does not leave the hair feeling heavy or greasy.
    Date published: 2015-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great detangler This is a great product. Smells good. Softens and conditions mane and tail. Love this product!
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable results! Love this stuff. I started using it as part of my daily routine on both my horses full body and their coats are gorgeous, shiny, soft, and no residue!
    Date published: 2015-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane and Tail Spray Around I would recommend this to any horse person out there! I used it on my Friesian for many years - great way to keep a thick tail soft and tangle-free.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I call it my "Magic Conditioner"! I bought this product after it was featured by one of the SmartPakers (I think it was a blog post?). I absolutely LOVE LOVE LOVE it! I have a paint with a thick mane and tail (we ride at a hunter/jumper farm and he has an "illegal" long mane that I keep braided over, clean and tidy!). This product truly does what it claims-- a few quick sprays and his mane (and tail!) are silky smooth, easy to pull shavings out of and RIDICULOUSLY soft! I even used it on a draft cross (who has a RIDICULOUSLY think and long mane that was knotty and full of tangles) and in less than 10 sprays- her mane was detangled, shiny and BEAUTIFUL. I highly recommend this!
    Date published: 2014-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST! I bought this on recommendation from my braider after getting a new custom tail. She said this was the best product to use on the fake tail as well as my horses tail. It is GREAT! Smells so good I would use it on myself. I'm ready to throw away all my other conditioners and detanglers! It costs a little more than most of the others, but it is worth every penny!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great conditioner! I use this product exclusively on all 3 of my horses.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My favorite product ever! I've used this for a while now and it makes my horses tail very soft!!
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Protecting Precious Tail! I have a TB with an extremely thin tail, where no amount of patience and banging will make it look full--so I value each and every strand. With using this Conditioner, I am still able to brush his tail without concern of ripping a hair out. It is the perfect detangled and shine booster, without making the hair look oily or heavy. Totally worth the price and I would still buy even if it was 2x the cost!
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I finally tried this product after hemming and hawing over it for like a year. I have a half arabian that I show hunter pleasure in arabian breed shows - A long, luxurious, intensely maintained tail goes with the territory. Lets just say I will not run a brush through this horse's tail without this product in it. It leaves hair super soft, light, flowing, and gorgeously shiny. I even used this product at Nationals this year and his tail looked GORGEOUS.
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Been using this for almost a year and really like it as it works. It leaves my horse's mane and tail soft and tangle free for over a week.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Like A Charm I really don't like to use ShowSheen because it can keep moisture from penetrating the hairs. A friend sent me some of this, and it is amazing stuff! I can comb through my horses' tails without breakage and the hair stays silky, shiny, and detangled. Now I won't use anything else for tails!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horse I bought this product on the recommendation of many at my barn, having been a longtime ShowSheen user. Unfortunately it didn't work well for my horse at all. It made his mane and tail sticky, coarser and harder to comb through. I tried letting it soak in and didn't fare any better. I had expected great things based on the price. I wonder if it works better on draft and gaited breed hair?? My barn friends own warmbloods, Irish drafts and paso finos. I'll be sticking with ShowSheen for my Thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Call the Press OMG. This is the greatest mane and tail conditioner/spray. My TWH has the thickest mane and tail and they are long and corse. Every day, his mane would be knotted and it would take 30 minutes or more by hand to untie them. His tail would fall into dreadlocks and it was impossible to give him a free flowing tail. Canters Mane and Tail Conditioner is everything I read in the reviews. I sprayed it on a dirty mane and tail and the results were spectacular. Didn't have to redo it for several days. After his bath 2 weeks ago, I sprayed his M and T and today I only had to run the brush thru it. He was still soft, silky, and free flowing.
    Date published: 2014-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've been using this product for at least two years. My horse has a very long and thick tail. This product makes brushing his tail so much easier and gives it a nice shine without looking greasy.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great Bought this recently. It's OK, but not great. The spray is VERY fine, almost a mist so you have to spray a lot to get the right amount. Works pretty well. Don't know that I would buy this again.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and tail product! This product is the best! My horse has a thick tail and this keeps it tangle and dirt free for up to 2 weeks.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome,awesome!!! Wow, is all I can say and this comes from someone who owns a Friesian. Owning this type of horse requires extensive grooming hours to keep them and their hair in top shape. I've tried several products, but have not been this happy with any other's results. Would highly recommend for anyone.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    • 2016-02-12T14:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_204
    • loc_en_US, sid_80, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.