Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Carr & Day & Matrin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #10080

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with an immaculate oil-free shine. Contains citronella to help repel flies. 

Favorite Features

  • A specially designed bottle to help apply the product exactly where you want it.

Made in United Kingdom

Sizing It Up

600 ml.

 

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Since a shiny and clean coat is paramount, ...
    Description:
    Since a shiny and clean coat is paramount, this spray shines instantly as well as helps prevent irritating grass and stable stains. Use on clean horses and ponies only, to keep them that way. Will not make the coat greasy ...
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an ...
    Description:
    The Original Mane 'n Tail Conditioner is an exclusive highly concentrated formula with unique actions that helps to maintain and achieve a longer, healthier looking mane and tail. Favorite Features Nourishes and conditions hair and skin to aid healthy hair ...
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Carr & Day & Matrin Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is rated 4.8533 out of 5 by 225.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from soft and fragrant horse Canter spray feels so silky when you're combing it through tail and mane hairs with your fingers and the lemon scent is very pleasant too.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing smells good too My rocky has long mane and long tail...my rocky mare's is very coarse...this stuff transforms it into manageable and beautiful....
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grooming Must Have! I have been using this conditioner for a couple of years now and I STILL love it just as much as the first day I tried it!  Untangles tails really well (on 'rough' days I let it sit for a few minutes before brushing, really helps!) and doesn't leave the hair greasy.  I've also been known to give my own hair a quick spritz and brush...Great product.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Tail Detangler My all time favorite tail detangler.  Works extremely well, doesn't leave a residue on your hands like others will.  Great for horse shows when I'm brushing my horses tail every day. 
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ShowSheen! I have been using Canter Mane and Tail for about 6 months now and I can say that it definitely has worked much better than other similar products. It leaves my horse's hair very soft and shiny. Smells great too!
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've tried a lot of products to untangle my mare's tail (it hangs to the ground). This one works like magic. Not oily at all. Even days later her bedding brushes out easily.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Smells great and keeps my horse's tail tangle free without that residue you get with 'sheen' type products. I don't have to spend time picking shavings out of his tail now too. I bought this after I read all of the other glowing reviews and can say that they were not wrong! I'm really glad I tried this.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST this product works beautifully on very hairy friesians ,while not allowing tangles to remain-it also lasts for days-perfect spray for the job
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drys Out Hair Rather disappointed in this product. My Peruvian Paso has a huge mane and tail. This product seems to dry it out. I have not used a lot of products on his mane and tail, as we have never had a problem. But he is getting dregs under his fly sheet. I was hoping this would moisturize the hair and keep it soft. The opposite occurred.
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice conditioner Leaves tail silky and lasts for days. The sprayer is nice since it sprays with a fine mist. A bit pricey but works well.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've been a fan of Canter Silk Conditioner for year. It does wonders for my mare's coarse mane and tail without leaving it greasy.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I love this mane and tail conditioner! I have only used it for about two weeks but have seen an amazing difference in my mare's mane and tail. They are shiny, tangle free and stay remarkably clean despite her frequent rolling in the dirt. The product smells nice too. I will definitely be reordering.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Keeps our horses tails tangle free without the sticky mess.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works! My mare's tail gets SO GROSS!! I can hardly brush through it without breaking a comb. But using this product, it's like her hair is silk now. It's so much more manageable. I'm sharing it with all of my barn friends.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this tuff! This has got to be the greatest mane and tail product ever! I've used this for about a year now and never plan on trying anything else.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tail Conditioner As opposed to other sprays that feel like they just make the tail shiny, this one really conditions - and it lasts for several days. His tail was dry before using this and now it is soft and tangle-free. A little expensive for the amount you get but it works better than anything else I've tried.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! I have a filly with a long and thick mane that can be hard to brush. I sprayed this product lightly over the top and underneath and I was really amazed how effortless and easily her mane brushed out. These products usually require a little more effort even when they do work pretty well. Her mane stayed soft for days after too!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! When I first bought my horse he had such a brittle mane that it would break anytime you touched it! But with this product and lots of shampoo and conditioner over the last couple of months, it has totally changed!! It is slowly gaining normal texture and its health back. Would totally recommend this product to anyone looking for a good mane and tail conditioning spray. This stuff also helps with braiding.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the rest! I love this stuff. I found out about it while grooming in the UK, and never thought I'd find it in the US. Thank you SmartPak! My only disappointment is that they changed the scent. It used to smell like roses. Still the best mane and tail spray! Worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! I have tried many different Mane and Tail conditioners,and I think this is one of the best I have used.I spray this on,and then braid and bag their tails.When you take bag off to comb out ,their tails are really silky and tangle free.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome GREAT product. I recently bought this for my Percheron/TB cross. He has a really coarse mane, and this stuff made it feel so soft and smooth in just a few sprays, and his mane hadn't even been recently washed. He also lives outside, so he gets quite tangled up, and this still cut through everything. I'll definitely buy more when this runs out; his mane and tail feel fabulous!
    Date published: 2013-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelieveable! This product was introduced to me two horses ago..I have shown for many years and tried eveything..I use this on the mane to keep it from rubbing out under sleezies and it is unbelievable. I make sure I spray it down the ridge of the neck(mane) and all through the mane and do it twice a week at least. I have not lost any mane on any horse since!It isn't sticky or waxy...great product and worth every penny!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect mane and tail conditioner! Move over Show Sheen, this product is wonderful and leaves no greasy residue or buildup in my gelding's mane or tail, just soft silky hair that is tangle and stain free! Dirt brushes right out too. He even got a bad rub on his tail from the trailer, I sprayed some of this on it and the hairs brushed out nice and sleek again.
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Definitely works to detangle long, very tangly manes and tails. Definitely helps keep them snag and tangle-free between brushings. Smells great - fresh and not too flowery.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good! I've tried everything and this IS superior to other products. I found it works best if the hair is clean and dry; spray it in the tail and let it dry before brushing....it seems to work better that way!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Silky mane and tail with no residue... Canter is an excellent conditioner. Both my horses have natural long manes and full tails and so require some management in order to keep them free of wind braids. This is the best product I have tried to maintain condition and control breakage. It does not leave a "plastic" residue either.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best detangler ever! I LOVE this stuff. Spritz it on the nastiest tail, give it a moment, and then you can comb or brush through anything with minimal if any, hairs being pulled.I use it a couple times a week. It seems to keep the tails manageable for a couple of days and I am able to keep my tails untangled and organized. Cannot recommend it enough!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works really well This conditioner works really well. I really only use it at shows because I don't brush my horses tail at home but it lessens the damage done at shows when I'm brushing her tail at least once a day.
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Love this! Keeps my horses tail tangle free. Her Mane & Tail even seem thicker.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product My horse tail remains silky even after days of application.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    • 2016-02-13T15:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_21, tr_204
    • loc_en_US, sid_80, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.