Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #10080
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is an award winning formula that keeps the mane and tail sleek and tangle free. Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner reduces breakage and repels dirt, leaves the hair manageable, luxuriously soft and with an immaculate oil-free shine. Contains citronella to help repel flies. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Canter Silk Mane & Tail Conditioner is rated 4.8551 out of 5 by 207.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My favorite product ever! I've used this for a while now and it makes my horses tail very soft!!
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Protecting Precious Tail! I have a TB with an extremely thin tail, where no amount of patience and banging will make it look full--so I value each and every strand. With using this Conditioner, I am still able to brush his tail without concern of ripping a hair out. It is the perfect detangled and shine booster, without making the hair look oily or heavy. Totally worth the price and I would still buy even if it was 2x the cost!
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I finally tried this product after hemming and hawing over it for like a year. I have a half arabian that I show hunter pleasure in arabian breed shows - A long, luxurious, intensely maintained tail goes with the territory. Lets just say I will not run a brush through this horse's tail without this product in it. It leaves hair super soft, light, flowing, and gorgeously shiny. I even used this product at Nationals this year and his tail looked GORGEOUS.
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Been using this for almost a year and really like it as it works. It leaves my horse's mane and tail soft and tangle free for over a week.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Like A Charm I really don't like to use ShowSheen because it can keep moisture from penetrating the hairs. A friend sent me some of this, and it is amazing stuff! I can comb through my horses' tails without breakage and the hair stays silky, shiny, and detangled. Now I won't use anything else for tails!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my horse I bought this product on the recommendation of many at my barn, having been a longtime ShowSheen user. Unfortunately it didn't work well for my horse at all. It made his mane and tail sticky, coarser and harder to comb through. I tried letting it soak in and didn't fare any better. I had expected great things based on the price. I wonder if it works better on draft and gaited breed hair?? My barn friends own warmbloods, Irish drafts and paso finos. I'll be sticking with ShowSheen for my Thoroughbred.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Call the Press OMG. This is the greatest mane and tail conditioner/spray. My TWH has the thickest mane and tail and they are long and corse. Every day, his mane would be knotted and it would take 30 minutes or more by hand to untie them. His tail would fall into dreadlocks and it was impossible to give him a free flowing tail. Canters Mane and Tail Conditioner is everything I read in the reviews. I sprayed it on a dirty mane and tail and the results were spectacular. Didn't have to redo it for several days. After his bath 2 weeks ago, I sprayed his M and T and today I only had to run the brush thru it. He was still soft, silky, and free flowing.
    Date published: 2014-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I've been using this product for at least two years. My horse has a very long and thick tail. This product makes brushing his tail so much easier and gives it a nice shine without looking greasy.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not great Bought this recently. It's OK, but not great. The spray is VERY fine, almost a mist so you have to spray a lot to get the right amount. Works pretty well. Don't know that I would buy this again.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best mane and tail product! This product is the best! My horse has a thick tail and this keeps it tangle and dirt free for up to 2 weeks.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome,awesome!!! Wow, is all I can say and this comes from someone who owns a Friesian. Owning this type of horse requires extensive grooming hours to keep them and their hair in top shape. I've tried several products, but have not been this happy with any other's results. Would highly recommend for anyone.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from soft and fragrant horse Canter spray feels so silky when you're combing it through tail and mane hairs with your fingers and the lemon scent is very pleasant too.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing smells good too My rocky has long mane and long tail...my rocky mare's is very coarse...this stuff transforms it into manageable and beautiful....
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grooming Must Have! I have been using this conditioner for a couple of years now and I STILL love it just as much as the first day I tried it!  Untangles tails really well (on 'rough' days I let it sit for a few minutes before brushing, really helps!) and doesn't leave the hair greasy.  I've also been known to give my own hair a quick spritz and brush...Great product.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Tail Detangler My all time favorite tail detangler.  Works extremely well, doesn't leave a residue on your hands like others will.  Great for horse shows when I'm brushing my horses tail every day. 
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than ShowSheen! I have been using Canter Mane and Tail for about 6 months now and I can say that it definitely has worked much better than other similar products. It leaves my horse's hair very soft and shiny. Smells great too!
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've tried a lot of products to untangle my mare's tail (it hangs to the ground). This one works like magic. Not oily at all. Even days later her bedding brushes out easily.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Smells great and keeps my horse's tail tangle free without that residue you get with 'sheen' type products. I don't have to spend time picking shavings out of his tail now too. I bought this after I read all of the other glowing reviews and can say that they were not wrong! I'm really glad I tried this.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE BEST this product works beautifully on very hairy friesians ,while not allowing tangles to remain-it also lasts for days-perfect spray for the job
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drys Out Hair Rather disappointed in this product. My Peruvian Paso has a huge mane and tail. This product seems to dry it out. I have not used a lot of products on his mane and tail, as we have never had a problem. But he is getting dregs under his fly sheet. I was hoping this would moisturize the hair and keep it soft. The opposite occurred.
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice conditioner Leaves tail silky and lasts for days. The sprayer is nice since it sprays with a fine mist. A bit pricey but works well.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I've been a fan of Canter Silk Conditioner for year. It does wonders for my mare's coarse mane and tail without leaving it greasy.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I love this mane and tail conditioner! I have only used it for about two weeks but have seen an amazing difference in my mare's mane and tail. They are shiny, tangle free and stay remarkably clean despite her frequent rolling in the dirt. The product smells nice too. I will definitely be reordering.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Keeps our horses tails tangle free without the sticky mess.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works! My mare's tail gets SO GROSS!! I can hardly brush through it without breaking a comb. But using this product, it's like her hair is silk now. It's so much more manageable. I'm sharing it with all of my barn friends.
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this tuff! This has got to be the greatest mane and tail product ever! I've used this for about a year now and never plan on trying anything else.
    Date published: 2013-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tail Conditioner As opposed to other sprays that feel like they just make the tail shiny, this one really conditions - and it lasts for several days. His tail was dry before using this and now it is soft and tangle-free. A little expensive for the amount you get but it works better than anything else I've tried.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! I have a filly with a long and thick mane that can be hard to brush. I sprayed this product lightly over the top and underneath and I was really amazed how effortless and easily her mane brushed out. These products usually require a little more effort even when they do work pretty well. Her mane stayed soft for days after too!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!! When I first bought my horse he had such a brittle mane that it would break anytime you touched it! But with this product and lots of shampoo and conditioner over the last couple of months, it has totally changed!! It is slowly gaining normal texture and its health back. Would totally recommend this product to anyone looking for a good mane and tail conditioning spray. This stuff also helps with braiding.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the rest! I love this stuff. I found out about it while grooming in the UK, and never thought I'd find it in the US. Thank you SmartPak! My only disappointment is that they changed the scent. It used to smell like roses. Still the best mane and tail spray! Worth the money.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    • 2015-05-25T10:01CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_188
    • loc_en_US, sid_80, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.