Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Bradley Soft Shell Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20802

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Our exclusive Bradley Soft Shell Knee Patch Breeches will be your new favorite winter breech! Stay warm while still looking fashionable in the windproof, soft shell fabric, providing a flattering, modern fit.

Favorite Features

  • Soft shell fabric is peached on the inside but the best part is the windproof exterior is QUIET, so no more worrying about spooking your horse with your swishy breeches
  • Soft, comfortable moisture-wicking fabric in sock-fit calf eliminates the need for itchy hook-and-loop closures 
  • Floral pattern inside the waistband and hanging SmartPak horse medallion add some classic Bradley flair 
  • Synthetic knee patches provide great grip in the saddle
Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bradley Soft Shell Knee Patch Breeches by SmartPak is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 40.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loves them I bought these for my daughter for Christmas present she is a tailored sportsman britches only kinda girl but she told me she likes these as much as her tailored sportsman witch is a big surprise to me
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible item I bought 2 pair of these breeches as they were on sale and thought they were a good buy. When I received the items they were very stiff and the black dye comes off on everything. My hands were black with dye as well as my legs from trying them on. The fit is very odd, huge waist and small legs. Not very proportional. Thanks to Smart Paks great return policy I was able to return them without any hassle.
    Date published: 2015-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Nice! I bought these for very long rides in the hunt field in not so nice weather and so far so good. They are ideal for me in the 30's and 40's but they don't really cut the wind that great if it's any colder. so far holding up to washings but I don't dry breeches. Also the fit is decent but they do gape a bit in the back, generally an issue I have with breeches. Love that I got them on a huge sale!
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inconsistent fit I bought two pairs. One black and one tan. Tan seemed to fit bigger than black. I loved the relaxed fit of the tan breeches. Rise seemed fine. The black ones were snugger and felt like the rise was lower. Would not be too happy bending over putting in studs in these.Overall kept me warm but not hot. I like the look and while I don't love the black ones will keep them for schooling. I am interested to read that these are classified as "mid rise" and the Piper and Alexus pants are low rise. I can't imagine that I would be comfortable in breeches lower than these.
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and classy breech These breeches are comfortable and fit well. Nice stretch, not too snug so you could put an extra layer underneath. They are soft and warm inside and block wind but not bulky, and they truly are quiet.
    Date published: 2015-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm without bulk! I bought these this summer when they were on sale knowing I would want them come winter in New England... I broke them out for the first time the other day and I LOVE them. They are so soft on the inside and are warm while still being sleek and not looking or feeling bulky. I have the pull-on, thicker winter breech from SmartPak and I prefer the Bradleys by far. Like other reviewers on the thicker ones, things would stick to the fabric- not the case on these! I actually spilled gatorade all over them by accident and to my surprise, the liquid just rolled right off! Dirt brushed off easily too. Can't comment on the durability yet but I have the feeling these will hold up well. Like Pipers, they do run big- really wish I had gotten them in a 24 instead of 26. Really wish these came in more colors because I love love love them!
    Date published: 2015-10-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to love them!! I loved the material and the styling of these breeches. Based on other reviews I sized down to a 26 (my usual is a 28 in EVERYTHING)...BIG mistake, WAY too small, so I actually sized up to a 30. The rise in the back was just ABSOLUTELY TOO LOW, even in a 30. Seriously if I were to try and ride in these I might give the full moon a run for its money! I'm 5'5" and an athletic 140lbs. The Pipers are my FAVORITE schooling breeches and these would have been perfect for winter schooling/shows, but there was NO way they'd ever work due to the low rise in the back(?!) which is a problem I've never had with any other breech (TS, Kerrits, Pipers, Annies, etc). If they can just make these in a mid-high rise (think the mid rise trophy hunters!!) they'd be PERFECT!
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love them These breeches are very comfortable and warm. I am a TS fan . I have these for winter. Now I have 2 pairs I like them so much.Fit great. Washable. Like the fabric.
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I bought these pants a month ago and love wearing them
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! These are nice, warm, and toasty for snowy rides. They fit well and I love the material. Do not add too much bulk like my other pair of winter breeches. Only a slight cosmetic defect is that there are some odd wrinkling/stretching in the seat area after a few wears.
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm but not bulky! These breeches have kept me warm while riding when it was 25F. They are stylish, comfortable, warm , and not bulky at all. I'm 5'7, medium build, the size 28 r fit great, a little extra room if I wanted to add underarmour underneath, probably could have gotten a long as well without being too long, but regulars weren't too short either.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this for texas winter riding for my daughter- she loves them! Blocks the wind nicely. Fits great. True to size. Washes great- love the fabric. We will be buying these in the other colors!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft, Comfy and WARM I’m not one that is usually cold (I have been blessed with a natural layer) but sometime while standing around I get a little chilled. I ordered these breeches right before out last NCAEL show and boy glad I did, because I was as snug as a bug in a rug. I really liked how cozy soft the inside was and the extra thickness didn’t really affect me putting on my boots which are snug in my regular show pants.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are very warm. I bought these a month ago for cold weather riding. They are soft and have fleece on the inside and are warm. They run big compared to the piper breeches. This is good because I can fit under armour underneath them and stay warm when it gets really cold. They wash well and stay together well. I never put breeches in the dryer so I do not how well that works but they look like they would take it.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wintertime favorite Love these. Not too bulky. Nice outter fabric. I have had others that pill woth wear. These do not. Look like regular breeches. A new favorite! I isually wear tailored sportsman but wanted something warmer. I fox hunt/ show in hunters too. Ride a lot in the evenings when cold!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches! I love these breeches! They fit great and look good, no one can tell they are winter breeches. I've gotten tons of compliments and most importantly am staying nice and warm!!
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy! I will be honest, I am a wimp about the cold and our farm does not have an indoor so I couldn't wait to get these breeches. They are everything the description promises. The are not swishy or slippery in the saddle but the soft shell does help block the wind and repel dust. The polar fleece lining is great and they are not too thick. They are forgiving in the right ways. I purchased them in black and now want them in tan. I would agree with others that you can go a size down but I kept mine as I will probably add another layer during winter. Another shout out to Smartpak's great customer service, as the rep I spoke to said these were a great purchase and she is right!
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect cold weather breeches! I wear these all winter long and they are great. They are not too bulky and are wind resistant. On really cold days I would put thin long johns under and stay warm.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Durable I loved their look out of the box and the first time I wore them, although they were a little big in the hip/waist area. I thought I might have found a cheaper alternative to Tailored Sportsman until I washed them. I followed the washing directions, but after one wash the threads holding the knee patches on had started unraveling, and the soft inside became a little stiff and uncomfortable. Worst of all, the fabric was pilling all over. I've probably only worn these breeches five times over six months because I'm afraid that they will fall apart. The knee patch continued to unravel with each wear. If you're looking for nice breeches, spend the extra money and get Tailored Sportsmans.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very comfortable; pilled a ton These breeches fit pretty true to size, although they are a little lower rise than I prefer. My dream breech is the TS Trophy in mid-rise as a reference point. The long is certainly long! I am 5'9+ with long legs, and these come down all the way to my ankle. The sock bottom fits well and these are very comfortable. I haven't ridden outside in them so I can't speak to the wind resistance, but the fabric is nice. My only complaint is despite following washing instructions (wash inside out and line dry), they have pilled like crazy, and not just where they contact the saddle. The pills are small and not noticeable from a distance, and I didn't get these as show breeches, so it is not the end of the world. I've washed them less than 10 times, probably closer to 5 times, so I do worry a bit about their longevity.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these! I bought a pair of these at the beginning of the winter and they are all I wear! I live in ME and these have kept me warm enough to endure the subzero temperatures we get here. I am now buying another pair for shows.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice details I purchased these breeches with the hope that they would be warm and stylish enough to show in during cold winter months. The breeches are not bulky but do provide a little extra warmth (I did my first test ride in 40 degrees). The euroseat, quality knee patches, closures, and print detailing on the inside provide a professional look that I will happily wear in the show ring. The breeches run a little large, which leaves room for additional layers in really cold weather. My only critique is that the calf is oddly large and the breech is quite long, but once I had my socks and boots on, it was not an issue.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it I bought  this last month & I am satisfied w/ it.  It's warm enough & i has belt loops that I can use  the tan one for local shows. It is very comfortable / soft to the skin,  & it's not bulky at all.  
    Date published: 2014-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter breeches! I have been wearing these breeches since the day they arrived!  While they are not the thickest, warmest winter breeches I have, they are great for 25-40 degree weather.  I wore them foxhunting on a brisk morning and they were comfortable and perfect for formal attire.  They do run large--I have summer Bradleys in the same size and they fit like a glove while these do fit big.  I am able to put a pair of long underwear under them, though, and it makes them a much warmer riding pant.  If you want them closer fitting, you'll probably want to order down a size.
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from an odd fit for me I am 5'6, 148 ride three to five horses a day muscular pounds.  I wear a 30 long in the ariat pro circuit,a 28 long in the old ariat brittany (favorite schooling breech..too bad they are no more), and a 30 long in tailored sportsman. I ride in the kerrits polar fleece breeches in the winter.  The medium is loose enough to put long johns underneath in bad weather.   I ordered the 30 long in the bradley breech.  They do feel like pajamas inside.  The material seems sturdy, and they are nicely made.  They are really long on me, and sit almost on my feet..  I do have long legs and no waist..  The stretchy bottom is LOOSE, and hangs around my ankle/low calf without touching.  I could put two of my legs in the bottom. I know one reviewer said the bottoms pulled her breeches down.  I am somewhere just above a slim calf, but a regular calf in a boot is generous on me.   The low rise is pretty low.  The thigh and butt fit pretty good, the belly is a little snug on me (ok..I'm 55 and don't have a teenagers tummy), the waistband is the right size in front, not tight, but the back gaps..and with the low rise I believe that all but my longest shirts would slip out leaving a 'back draft' in the winter...not good for a winter breech.  I like them enough I am going to exchange them for a regular length.but I am worried that the rise will be smaller..I would be tempted to try a 28..but I believe the thighs may be too tight... Maybe the next pair will work.  I will keep you updated
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Breech! I purchased these going into this winter, and they were great for all the cold weather! I still layer 1-2 pairs of long johns under them as I am wearing them for work all day, and with limited access to an indoor and a small barn most of my day is spent outside. The softshell provides extra warmth without bulk, and the material has a great amount of stretch to it. They have a looser fit that the original Bradley Breeches, but make sure you order them long enough- the tight sock cuff has a tendancy to make the pants want to slide down my legs as I walk around in them all day, so I spend a lot of time pulling the pants back up!
    Date published: 2013-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I love these breeches! At 5'2", I usually wind up in between a low/mid and a regular rise and these fit me really well. Very comfy and stay much cleaner that some other breeches. Only flaw is that they may not prove to be as heavy/warm as I was originally hoping, but I'll just wear them a different time of year than I was planning. They're keepers for me!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bradley Breeches Cold weather riders should have a pair of these in the closet. When it is below freezing they keep you toasty warm. They are not bulky and fit comfortably.
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for everyone I was very excited when I first put them on. However I was disapointed to find out that they will not work for a rider who has a little extra behind. THe low rise just doesn't work and is not flattering. There needs to be an option for those of us who are not built like the manicans.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    • 2016-02-06T14:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_39
    • loc_en_US, sid_10802, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.