Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Bradley Soft Shell Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #20801

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Our exclusive Bradley Soft Shell Full Seat Breeches will be your new favorite winter breech! Also available in Plus

  • Soft shell fabric is peached on the inside but the best part is the windproof exterior is QUIET, so no more worrying about spooking your horse with your swishy breeches
  • Soft, comfortable moisture-wicking fabric in sock-fit calf eliminates the need for itchy hook-and-loop closures
  • Floral pattern inside the waistband and hanging SmartPak horse medallion add some classic Bradley flair 
  • Synthetic full seat provides great grip in the saddle
Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bradley Soft Shell Full Seat Breeches by SmartPak is rated 3.7143 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a great fit.Make them like the Piper Breeches! I bought these since they were on sale and was super excited to get them. I recently received 2 pairs of the full seat piper breeches for fall riding and wanted to get something a little warmer during those cold winter months that we experience in the northeast. The Piper breeches I received fit amazingly (I bought 30L) so I ordered the same size. I was very disappointed in the fit of these breeches as well as the quality. They were uncomfortably snug around the waist and the legs were baggy in contrast. I thought about getting a bigger size but just ended up returning them, guessing that they would fit in the waist and be baggier in the legs. If they had fit as well as my Piper breeches do, I would have kept them for sure.
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these breeches I have been looking for a pair of breeches that look tailored and nice for cold weather riding. So glad I finally found these! They fit nicely and are flattering, have a soft lining, quality materials and nice details. I get compliments when I wear them, even from non horse people. They are not my warmest breeches but are warmer than I expected. They are not slippery even with just the knee patches. They have the euro seat so you get the look, without the diaper feeling of full seats. If I was going to improve them I would have them a bit taller in the back for coverage. A long tail shirt helps. To perfect the fit, I would make them taller and a bit snugger in the small of the back. I am a dressage rider 5'10 and 143 and I got the 30L (my usual size). I thought the breeches were pretty true to size (definitely not skimpy) and feel more generous because they have enough elastic that there are no tight spots. I hope they hold up well because I just ordered a second pair. If Smartpak comes out with a gray I will be ordering again.
    Date published: 2015-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Odd fit but seemed to be good quality I really, really wanted to like these but similar to other reviewers, the fit just didn't work. I am 5'7" 156 bottom heavy pear. Tried a size 30. The calves were very tight but they became increasingly baggy from the thigh to the waist. The material seemed very durable and the inside lining is definitely warm, but there was no give/stretch and I do think they make a swishing sound when you walk. I think if your body type is more apple than pear, they may work for you.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter breeches I've worn these several times now. They fit great and wash easily. The outer fabric helps repel liquids. The fuzzy lining is warm and comfortable and they have enough extra room to fit a layer of thermals underneath for those really cold days. They've been great with and without the extra layers- the only pair I have that I will wear both normally and with a layer. Love them!
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from just ok The fabric has a nice feeling, both inside and out, and I like the smooth outer layer that won't gather hay, hair, etc. However, the fleece layer is surprisingly thin for a winter breech. I tried them on and the wind went through them easily when I went outside. The fit was a bit small and I returned them for a larger size. That pair fit, but I wasn't overly happy with the dropped waist - especially in winter. I don't want any gaps for the air to get through! Wish they made these with a natural waist. Because I bought these as a winter breech, I returned them because I don't think they would be warmer than some of my regular breeches.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so great While the fabric and style was wonderful, there seemed to be an issue with the quality of the stitching. The size that fit me the stitching in the knee patches was rough on the inside and the width at the knee was narrow and I am a thin person so they should have fit. I went up one size which was too big although did give me more room in the knee, but the stitching was still rough in the inside. Think it was most likely a quality check issue.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality This was a gift for our granddaughter. She needed a warmer pair for riding this winter. Unfortunately they were too big for her, so we exchanged them today. Great quality & durability
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice idea, strange cut/sizing When I pulled these breeches out of the bag I really like the look of them. They seemed stylish and well-constructed. The first size I tried, 26r was way too small around the hips (this is the size I wear in Smartpak's Piper breeches). I ordered the 28r and got breeches that were very baggy around the crotch, the back of the waist, and also baggy in the legs. They run small and large?!! I am sadly sending them back.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from What happened to a normal "long"? I purchased these breeches at the Equine Affaire event in Massachusetts in November 2013. I am a definite size 28, and with a 22"+ long femur, I tend to fit well into the long style breeches. I normally buy size 28 regular, but so does my trainer...and she beat me to the last pair of size 28 regular breeches on the shelf. My issue with these breeches is the overall sizing. Not only is the 28 pretty big on me (I need a belt), the breeches are long EVERYWHERE. I mean, I have a serious case of saggy-butt when I wear these. The length of the leg is perfect, but my butt is not as long as they seem to think it should be! It makes me really upset, because I want to love these breeches. The sock fit is awesome, the moisture-wicking fabric is a dream on warm pre-summer days, and they seem to be very durable. Alas, they've been relegated to my "work-breeches" section of my closet. I wanted to wear these for XC during my next few events, but that's not going to happen. I'm disappointed, and wondering if I should bother buying another pair in my size.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best breeches ever! I bought these breeches on sale around Christmas and I absolutely love them! I rode in them in cold, rainy weather, and now in the warmer spring months, they're still breathable and cool. I love the little details such as the fun print in the waistband and the little charm. I love the pockets and the fit of these and I wouldn't hesitate to wear these in a show, because they look like a more expensive breech. The quality is fantastic too, they've held up through many rides and they wash very well. I just wash them in cold then let them air dry and they're even more comfortable than the day I bought them. My only complaint is that the butt area is a little loose, but you can't notice when you're on the horse, and it's actually helpful considering that I do jumpers.Fantastic job, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from update on the first review A few months ago I bought a pair of these breeches and even though I wasn't totally in love with them, I decided to buy another pair in the next size up. This review is my revised opinion of the breeches. I still feel there are improvements to be made in the cut of the breeches, however going up a size did improve how the knees and crotch fit. BUT the cut of the full seat in the back still have this weird poochy thing going on but it is winter and I always have a sweater and vest on which hide it so it's not too bad. I do like the material (its fairly heavy) and they are warm with a grippy seat. But I am hoping Smartpaks fixes the way they fit in the seat as there aren't that many options for warm breeches out there. So basically go up a size with these breeches and wear a jacket or vest to hide the butt.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No Go Great idea, got a great price, now I know what tight in the crotch means. No thanks.It fit otherwise. Just cut weird in front. Too bad.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good idea but not quite there yet These breeches are better than some other brands out there but there are a few things that makes them my second choice to grab when getting dressed for the barn.One, the rise is too low for me, which combined with the full seat not shaped quite right makes the crotch a little too tight.Two, the full seat in the back isn't contoured enough and that makes where the fullseat material meets the regular material have this funny poufy look and it makes my butt look rather strange. Three, the knees are tight.But the good features of these breeches are: warm material which is very comfortable to wear, great pockets and the belt loops work, they are well placed, the seat material is comfortable and grippy in the saddle. Overall I like the breeches but the poufy seat and tight knees and crotch need to be reworked.
    Date published: 2013-11-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great full seat breeches These are good quality! Comfortable and look great. Very warm good for cold days. I ride a couple horses a day and they seem to be holding up just fine. Waist band runs one size bigger , its stretchy. Very pleased with these breeches!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfy breech These breeches are fantastic; I ordered the knee patch version first and just had to buy these. I would say they run a tad small and had I known I would have gone up a size. To me the tightest part was the crotch area. Other than that they fit well and are still super warm and comfy.
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as warm as I expected These were not as warm as I expected them to be. I was pretty chilled tacking up at 25 degrees, but OK once I got to riding. The full seat material is not very grippy either. Good for the price though.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches Have only ridden in these breeches twice so far, but they are very comfortable and run true to size. Love the stretchy piece of fabric at the ankles - so much more comfortable that the velcro tabs. Fabric is soft and comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice fabric, Odd proportions These breeches are made from a very nice material and look very classy but as another reviewer noted the sizing is rather odd. The legs are quite snug and the hips and waist were rather large. I'm 5'5" and 130lbs; I ordered a size 30 which is my normal size. It was almost as if the top part of the breeches was a size 31 attached to a size 28 leg. I have a short torso and prefer the hip hugger style, but these sagged funny even with a belt and the crotch tented up oddly when I sat down in them. I also thought the full seat was a little scratchy although that might go away with washing. I plan to return these tomorrow.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches These breeches felt too nice to hold up to a hard days' work and riding, but they do! They fit very well and are warm whether I'm in the saddle or teaching a lesson. I recommend them to everyone. Another great product from SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not much stretch order at least 2 sizes larger than usual. the quality and sizing are not very good. Disappointed :(I would buy the Kerritts instead
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday breeches! I was skeptical when I tried them on. I work in my breeches all day: riding, throwing hay, cleaning stalls, etc. And I mean all day: 8:30 in the morning until 11:30 at night. My everyday breeches need to be comfortable and durable, as well as affordable. The Bradley breeches felt too luxurious! But they absolutely did the job! They wear very well through hard work as well as riding and they are affordable. I have only one minor complaint: the pockets don't have a zipper and, when I sometimes loose the contents, I wish they were zippered. Other than that, I love the Bradleys!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality but fit is not great I always check out the reviews before I make a purchase and these breeches didn't have one ...so here is mine: They looked great in the catalogue and I liked the idea of a warm soft shell breech for the winter months. I received the breeches yesterday and after trying them on I found that the material is not very stretchy. I liked the sock-fit calf. What I really didn't like was the fit around the waist. I usually wear a 30 breech but these breeches are too big in the waist and they are too low. I tried a belt but since the material is thicker they really bunched up. Especially in the winter I don't want to have breeches that leave my back exposed when riding. I also didn't like that the two pockets have no zippers. The quality seems good and I am sure they are warm. I returned them.
    Date published: 2012-11-28
    • 2016-02-07T15:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
    • loc_en_US, sid_10801, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.