Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Blocker Tie Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #16004

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to you or your horse. When a solid-tied horse spooks or falls, it can panic - then something breaks or the horse injures itself (or both). Quick-release knots and panic snaps put you in danger as you try to reach them. The Blocker Tie Ring works WITH the horse. When the horse pulls hard on the lead, some of the rope slips through the tie ring - releasing pressure AND the source of panic. If the horse falls in a trailer, it can pull enough slack to get itself back up. 

Favorite Features

  • Blocker Tie Ring is truly a quicker, simpler, safer way to tie any horse
  • Adjustable: you can regulate the degree or amount of hold by the size and type of lead rope used
  • No more injuries to the horse's neck or vertebrae from pulling back against the lead
  • No more injuries, or even death, when the halter snap, lead rope, or bungee cord breaks, sending the horse against a post or flipping over onto a concrete floor. 
  • Blocker Tie Ring is invaluable in trailers, answering the age-old question "to tie or not to tie." If a solid-tied horse falls down in a trailer, it can't get up. With a Blocker Tie Ring, the horse can solve its own problem without you risking your life trying to free it
  • Chrome plated

Imported

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Blocker Tie Ring is rated 4.8022 out of 5 by 91.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great solution for horses that pull back I bought one of these to try and it worked so well I bought 2 more! Solved my pull back problem!
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I use this at home to tie sketchy young horses to... Works great
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I rescued an emaciated and abused Thoroughbred last year and he has had a problem with falling/pulling back when he panics. I had been borrowing another blocker tie ring at the previous barn - I just moved my big boy 4 weeks to another barn and needed to purchase 2 of these; one for the wash bay area and one for where he is groomed. They really work in their ability to allow the horse to move without breaking halters or truly falling back and hitting the ground. He has learned that there is some give now if he needs it to release pressure and the pulling back has been greatly reduced. I would recommend this to any horse owner - it's a safe option and looks to be well made. There was only one available on SmartPak for the chrome plated tie ring; I would have preferred a stainless steel version.
    Date published: 2015-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hold with a little give. My mare tends to get fussy when tied, but doesn't usually pull back. However, these are a lifesaver, they provided resistance but if the horses really pulls they give all the way through. No more broken halters or tie rings ripped out of the wall. I personally have 2 on my trailer and 2 in my tacking up area. Horses are calmer knowing they can get free and (less my mother learning how to use them) the humans are stress free!
    Date published: 2015-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I don't know why I never saw these before. Moved to a new barn and they are used exclusively for tying horses. I bought 2 and look forward to using them on my trailer when at events.
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle at the tie rail Couldn't believe my 14 year old OTTB could learn anything new but thought I would give it a try based on the positive reviews. My horse backs up even if we stand in front of the tie rail and is "un-tie-able"-- even breaks inner tubes I have tried. Attached him to the tie rail with this device: he pulled back twice , then relaxed and stood still since the lead rope slowly released. The next few times he didn't even bother to pull back and just relaxed at the tie rail like a normal horse. Can't believe I can now run back to the tack room or "the loo" without begging someone to hold my horse: a miracle!
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks strong I was looking for something functional and durable. It's both.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase! My horse sometimes spooks on cross ties. Once he pulled back and broke it. Fortunately, it was an old rope that could break. Have been looking at safe ways to tie him. This works great and is very easy to use. Love the fact that I can put eye hooks in different areas. It easily clips onto any eye hook. Sometimes I like to tack him up outside.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must for horses that pull back! A must for horses that pull back! Wish I had know about these sooner, it really helps to release pressure when a horse pulls back. Keeps them from freaking out.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe tying without special knots My son had difficulty tying knots with quick releases. For horse safety you need the ability to get control of an agitated horse. Now he can tie the horse without difficulty
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Well made, like the magnetic feature. Gives me piece of mind when tying my horse
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Use I bought this tie ring two weeks ago and am only sorry I didn't do so sooner! It makes tying up my horse very easy, especially since I tack and untack in my stall (so no cross ties), and needed a safe and easy alternative. She doesn't pull on her lead when tied up, so not sure how it would hold up with a fussy horse or head shaker, and I gave this review only 4 stars because I felt like while the quality of the blocker was excellent, the climbers clip could have been higher quality. I went to my local hardware shop and got a REALLY heavy duty one just in case. Otherwise, I've been very pleased.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical Works great for teaching young horses how to tie. I don't have to worry about them getting into a nasty situation with the Blocker tie ring. It's a bit expensive, but worth the peace of mind.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blocker ties Have had these at barns I've boarded at, they work great for horses that get panicky and pull back, and now that I'm building my own barn at home I wanted to make sure I had some to install there as well as on my trailer. Customer service was great when I called to add a couple more to my order.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have several of these - everywhere i have cross ties. They work great to prevent injuries to horse or human if by chance the horse decides to pull back.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!! These things are great for tying a horse in a trailer, for the vet or farrier, in cross ties, you name it, it goes there! There is enough pressure on the rope without doubling over that discourages most horses that are trained to tie from pulling the rope out and wandering off, but I can see untrained 2 year old's taking the slack and running with it. Super easy to use and always nice to have when your usually calm golden oldy sees a bugger in the shadow and tries to take off. If he'd been tied he probably would have broken something, but with this, a few stumbles backwards and he was fine. Quality is great, I've left it out in the sun and rain and it still looks and works exactly as it's supposed to. I will definitely buy more if i ever need them.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy safe Blocker tie ring makes teaching my 2yr old colt a breeze and safe too
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works several broken halters later I finally broke down and spent the $30 to keep this in my trailer. at the last outing he pulled back a couple times and was sooo confused that he hadn't broke his halter. what a stinker. well worth the money. wish I'd bought it months ago.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I bought this a few weeks ago and absolutely love it. I have two now. One I keep in my horse trailer and one at the barn. Peace of mind knowing that my horse can move back and not injure himself if something should spook him. Love, love, love it.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality We used blocker tie when we first rescued our horse because she was pulling back. Resolved problem. We had a big move from Hawaii to Texas and she started pulling back again. Blocker tie releases her enough to settle her. Calm again after using it for a few weeks.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all types of horses quiet or anxious Have 3 of these trailer, wash stall ,and aisle of barn. Sent thoroughbred for Natural Horsemen training and he is much happier using this tie than being cross tied.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice tie ring. Nice, heavy duty tie ring. Perfect for younger horses or horses that don't tie well. Easy to install.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only way to tie a horse In my opinion, this is the best way to tie a horse. It may look simple but it works. There are three levels of tension: first level allows the lead rope to slide (but not too easily), second level provides more resistance but still slides; the third level the rope almost doesn't slide at all.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Increased safety This seems to be solving the problem of pulling back and panicking. Haven't used it for long but pleased so far.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable too! I have these in wash racks, tack areas and carry a set in my trailer for shows! Once you get use to using these they are the best!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safety first for handling a horse for animal and p I saw these used at a farm, wouldn't use anything else
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boo loves it! When I first got Boo she couldn't be trusted to tie at all, once I got the tie ring and a little guidance from Clinton Anderson I can leave her tied for hours without worry! I do have to say that the chrome plate has a habit of flacking off and rusting, but they do make a stainless steal one.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST way to tie ANY HORSE I have used this on my mare for Years and had a friend that could NEVER tie her horse it would break halter, Trailer rings and Leads! I used the one I bought from you and used it on her horse on a trail ride, She was VERY sceptical! We tied her mare the mare thought I can get out of this and when she did not get resistance she stopped trying and just stood there! My friend will buy one soon!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety first Really like these. Replaced all my bungie ties with theses for both barn & trailer. Panic snaps can become a missile if they release suddenly on a bungie. These, on the other hand, release slowly, easing out only as much as needed to eliminate panic. There are instructions for creating several levels of tension and I use them on the second loop tension. My only minor criticism is that for this price they should be stainless steel.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This works great. No more worrying about my horse damaging his nose from pulling up or back when tied.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    • 2016-02-10T15:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_86
    • loc_en_US, sid_6004, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.