Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Blocker Tie Ring

Myler Bits
- Item #16004
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Blocker Knotless Tie Ring prevents injury to you or your horse. When a solid-tied horse spooks or falls, it can panic - then something breaks or the horse injures itself (or both). Quick-release knots and panic snaps put you in danger as you try to reach them. The Blocker Tie Ring works WITH the horse. When the horse pulls hard on the lead, some of the rope slips through the tie ring - releasing pressure AND the source of panic. If the horse falls in a trailer, it can pull enough slack to get itself back up. The Blocker Tie Ring is truly a quicker, simpler, safer way to tie any horse. And it is adjustable: you can regulate the degree or amount of hold by the size and type of lead rope used. No more injuries to the horse's neck or vertebrae from pulling back against the lead. No more injuries, or even death, when the halter snap, lead rope, or bungee cord breaks, sending the horse against a post or flipping over onto a concrete floor. The Blocker Tie Ring is invaluable in trailers, answering the age-old question "to tie or not to tie." If a solid-tied horse falls down in a trailer, it can't get up. With a Blocker Tie Ring, the horse can solve its own problem without you risking your life trying to free it. Chrome plated.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Blocker Tie Ring is rated 4.7907 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle at the tie rail Couldn't believe my 14 year old OTTB could learn anything new but thought I would give it a try based on the positive reviews. My horse backs up even if we stand in front of the tie rail and is "un-tie-able"-- even breaks inner tubes I have tried. Attached him to the tie rail with this device: he pulled back twice , then relaxed and stood still since the lead rope slowly released. The next few times he didn't even bother to pull back and just relaxed at the tie rail like a normal horse. Can't believe I can now run back to the tack room or "the loo" without begging someone to hold my horse: a miracle!
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks strong I was looking for something functional and durable. It's both.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase! My horse sometimes spooks on cross ties. Once he pulled back and broke it. Fortunately, it was an old rope that could break. Have been looking at safe ways to tie him. This works great and is very easy to use. Love the fact that I can put eye hooks in different areas. It easily clips onto any eye hook. Sometimes I like to tack him up outside.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from a must for horses that pull back! A must for horses that pull back! Wish I had know about these sooner, it really helps to release pressure when a horse pulls back. Keeps them from freaking out.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safe tying without special knots My son had difficulty tying knots with quick releases. For horse safety you need the ability to get control of an agitated horse. Now he can tie the horse without difficulty
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Well made, like the magnetic feature. Gives me piece of mind when tying my horse
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Use I bought this tie ring two weeks ago and am only sorry I didn't do so sooner! It makes tying up my horse very easy, especially since I tack and untack in my stall (so no cross ties), and needed a safe and easy alternative. She doesn't pull on her lead when tied up, so not sure how it would hold up with a fussy horse or head shaker, and I gave this review only 4 stars because I felt like while the quality of the blocker was excellent, the climbers clip could have been higher quality. I went to my local hardware shop and got a REALLY heavy duty one just in case. Otherwise, I've been very pleased.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Practical Works great for teaching young horses how to tie. I don't have to worry about them getting into a nasty situation with the Blocker tie ring. It's a bit expensive, but worth the peace of mind.
    Date published: 2015-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blocker ties Have had these at barns I've boarded at, they work great for horses that get panicky and pull back, and now that I'm building my own barn at home I wanted to make sure I had some to install there as well as on my trailer. Customer service was great when I called to add a couple more to my order.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have several of these - everywhere i have cross ties. They work great to prevent injuries to horse or human if by chance the horse decides to pull back.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product!! These things are great for tying a horse in a trailer, for the vet or farrier, in cross ties, you name it, it goes there! There is enough pressure on the rope without doubling over that discourages most horses that are trained to tie from pulling the rope out and wandering off, but I can see untrained 2 year old's taking the slack and running with it. Super easy to use and always nice to have when your usually calm golden oldy sees a bugger in the shadow and tries to take off. If he'd been tied he probably would have broken something, but with this, a few stumbles backwards and he was fine. Quality is great, I've left it out in the sun and rain and it still looks and works exactly as it's supposed to. I will definitely buy more if i ever need them.
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy safe Blocker tie ring makes teaching my 2yr old colt a breeze and safe too
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works several broken halters later I finally broke down and spent the $30 to keep this in my trailer. at the last outing he pulled back a couple times and was sooo confused that he hadn't broke his halter. what a stinker. well worth the money. wish I'd bought it months ago.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I bought this a few weeks ago and absolutely love it. I have two now. One I keep in my horse trailer and one at the barn. Peace of mind knowing that my horse can move back and not injure himself if something should spook him. Love, love, love it.
    Date published: 2014-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality We used blocker tie when we first rescued our horse because she was pulling back. Resolved problem. We had a big move from Hawaii to Texas and she started pulling back again. Blocker tie releases her enough to settle her. Calm again after using it for a few weeks.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for all types of horses quiet or anxious Have 3 of these trailer, wash stall ,and aisle of barn. Sent thoroughbred for Natural Horsemen training and he is much happier using this tie than being cross tied.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice tie ring. Nice, heavy duty tie ring. Perfect for younger horses or horses that don't tie well. Easy to install.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only way to tie a horse In my opinion, this is the best way to tie a horse. It may look simple but it works. There are three levels of tension: first level allows the lead rope to slide (but not too easily), second level provides more resistance but still slides; the third level the rope almost doesn't slide at all.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Increased safety This seems to be solving the problem of pulling back and panicking. Haven't used it for long but pleased so far.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Portable too! I have these in wash racks, tack areas and carry a set in my trailer for shows! Once you get use to using these they are the best!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safety first for handling a horse for animal and p I saw these used at a farm, wouldn't use anything else
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Boo loves it! When I first got Boo she couldn't be trusted to tie at all, once I got the tie ring and a little guidance from Clinton Anderson I can leave her tied for hours without worry! I do have to say that the chrome plate has a habit of flacking off and rusting, but they do make a stainless steal one.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is the BEST way to tie ANY HORSE I have used this on my mare for Years and had a friend that could NEVER tie her horse it would break halter, Trailer rings and Leads! I used the one I bought from you and used it on her horse on a trail ride, She was VERY sceptical! We tied her mare the mare thought I can get out of this and when she did not get resistance she stopped trying and just stood there! My friend will buy one soon!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety first Really like these. Replaced all my bungie ties with theses for both barn & trailer. Panic snaps can become a missile if they release suddenly on a bungie. These, on the other hand, release slowly, easing out only as much as needed to eliminate panic. There are instructions for creating several levels of tension and I use them on the second loop tension. My only minor criticism is that for this price they should be stainless steel.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This works great. No more worrying about my horse damaging his nose from pulling up or back when tied.
    Date published: 2013-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have used the blocker tie ring a lot at my last barn where my horse was boarded. The blocker tie ring is amazing, I loved using it when I was introducing my OTTB to clippers for the first time, it worked so well when Finn would get nervous about the clipper and would pull back he didn't panic that he could pull and the rope would loosen up.
    Date published: 2013-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more trailer ties for me! I can't say that I have a horse that pulls back or has tying issues, but this is much safer and easier to use than trailer ties! No more worries about freak accidents when the trailer tie breaks and the snap goes flying, your horse getting loose without a lead rope on, or getting tangled up in everything. I always used to use trailer ties and leave a lead rope on my horse, just to be safe....until I had one get tangled up in the mess. I had another horse who was the master of unlatching the trailer tie snaps and just wandered away multiple times. I've seen many trailer ties break and hurt people. This tie ring seems like the safest way to tie for everyone. My mare pulled back once or twice as a yearling before I had these tie rings, fortunately she never made a habit of it but I wonder if she would have ever tried more than once if she were tied this way. I use these everywhere now, in my trailer, on the side of my trailer, in the stall, etc. I did notice that if your rope isn't just the right thickness, it's easy for your horse to just walk away without realizing they are pulling. I agree, it would be nice if there was a brochure with diagrams on how to use this ring for different tying methods or rope thicknesses. I also love the genius little magnet at the back, it just makes it that much better!
    Date published: 2013-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from safe and easy to use I have a 7 yr. old Thoroughbred (rescue) mare who is now standing much quieter because of this product. I have been using it with her for about 3 weeks now. I like it because when she pulls back she gets resistance, but not so much resistance that it really panics her to where she tries to break a rope or halter. I also use a long 22' rope with it so that I can catch the end of it before she pulls it all the way through the tie ring and is able to run off. SHe still occasionally will get startled and will pull back, but since she can take a few steps back now rather than hit the end of a rope, she is staying calmer. I think the knowledge that she "can" move back if she needs to, is helping her figure this out. The snap clip allows me to take the tie ring and use it in my horse trailer as well, which is convenient. My only "wish" to make it even better would be a brochure or something that shows the different ways to thread the rope through the ring to get the various levels of resistance- would be handy to have that in the barn/tack room. I went online and found a video that showed "how to" from Clinton Anderson. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone who has a horse that pulls back when tied, or has learned to break those "breakaway" halters so that they can run off.
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I had hoped We have a horse that occasionally pulls back, so I thought I'd give this a try. I found that it really didn't hold the rope very well at all; with the horse tied to the trailer, all he had to do was pull firmly but gently and he'd gotten enough play so he could graze. I don't think he even really realized he was tied. I think it could be somewhat useful for holding a horse that really doesn't tie well, say long enough so you can walk a short distance to grab some tack or something, but I wouldn't be further than a few steps away from a horse attached to one of these.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A safe way to tie I have several blocker tie rings. I use them inside my horse trailer, in my barn, and at the hitching post. It's the only way I tie my horse anymore
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    • 2015-08-29T12:50CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_6004, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.