Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Bite Free Stable Fly Trap

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13715
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This
?


Uniquely shaped Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides an ecomonical solution to those persistent and potentially harmful Stable Flies.

Also known as Dog Flies, these pesky flies attack horses, livestock, dogs, and humans, leaving you and your animals prone to secondary infections, disease transmittance, and persistent stomping and scratching.

Stable Flies bite humans and livestock on the legs, and dogs and cats on the ears. Bite Free Stable Fly Trap provides relief from these pests in an easy to set up, insecticide and odor free, disposable trap.

Simply place trap at least 10 feet away from barns, houses, gardens, and kennels. For maximum fly control, use in conjunction with the EZ Fly Trap. Individually boxed with an informative brochure. Sticky Fly Trap.



Favorite Features

?

  • Easy Set up
  • Effective
  • Economical

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic ...
    Description:
    The Fly Terminator Pro is a durable plastic gallon jug traps up to 35,000 flies. Fly Terminator Pro is insecticide-free - ideal for use around livestock operations. Reusable. Patented, NO-RUST plastic top won't rust when exposed to the elements and ...
    TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. ...
    Description:
    TheQuikStrike Fly Abatement Strip is easy to use. Uses an advanced, patented, triple action attractant that brings flies in to feed on the station. 2 pack. Advanced, triple action attractant Attractant lures flies from feeding areas Curved surface design facilitates ...
    Fly Trap Attractant is a scientifically developed fly ...
    Description:
    Fly Trap Attractant is a scientifically developed fly attractant for use with any jug fly trap (including both the Fly Trap & Fly Terminator). Four different attractants lure house, flesh, and blow flies, plus blue and green bottle flies, eye ...
    Bronco "e" Fly Spray is an insecticide and ...
    Description:
    Bronco "e" Fly Spray is an insecticide and repellent for use on horses, ponies and foals as well as a premise spray for use on barns and stables. It is formulated for better penetration of the hair coat. Citronella scent. ...
    Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, ...
    Description:
    Convenient size, great for indoor or outdoor use, in barns, stables, corrals and homes. The Fly Stik&trade contains no insecticides, no poisons and no hazardous chemicals. Can be used around animals, kids and pets. Favorite Features Fly Stick Jr is ...
    The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly ...
    Description:
    The Captivator Fly Trap patented formulation uses fly pheromones to attract flies, the one-way entry system keeps them in the trap. Reusable and economical, heavy-duty plastic jar. Trap comes complete with 1 tube of attractant, just squeeze in and add ...
    Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable ...
    Description:
    Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Favorite Features Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bite Free Stable Fly Trap is rated 3.6364 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn;t work I bought this about 3 weeks ago and it doesn't have the first fly on it. Other bugs seem to like it but it is not something I will buy again.
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product works well for catching flies and other flying insects. I keep several around and it lasts a long time too.
    Date published: 2015-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent part of the solution to flies Ohio flies in the months after midsummer are nasty, numerous, and not avoidable for horses living outside for three seasons of the year. After a summer's use, I concluded that the Bite Free traps made an important contribution to the overall picture. They were the one new thing added last summer. I just ordered for the upcoming season. Put out in early June, two traps near each shed area, by early September they had captured a variety of flying insects, but mostly face flies. They're not poisonous, don't require electricity, and don't have to be renewed through the season. Combine the traps with other solutions, including fly predators, mesh masks, Equispot in the worst months, and a spray for ticks (but effective on flies, too). It may seem like overkill, but the flies breed prolifically and bite viciously. One important caution: be sure to hang these traps in full sun: a trap under a tree caught half a dozen Monarch butterflies in the first week of hanging, and none after it was moved into full sun.
    Date published: 2015-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely helps with fly control! I've used these traps every summer for a few years now and find that they trap a lot of flies very quickly. I use baling twine to hang a couple of traps on the sunny side of the barn where the flies bother the horses. I put them at about 1-2 feet off the ground, and I can move them around easily or take them inside if needed, especially at night or if it's raining.I think that timing and location are really important for these traps. They're specifically for the biting stable flies that bite around the horses' legs. In my area, these flies usually come out around July or August.The traps are very sticky, and you have to be careful when taking them out of the box or setting them down next to anything. I also keep the original box to store and dispose them in.Once the edges of the traps are filled with flies, I do find that they don't trap as well anymore. Depending on the fly population, sometimes one trap is only good for a week or two which can get quite expensive over the summer. But it makes me very happy to see a lot of dead flies on the trap and not biting my horses!
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well Bought this about a few weeks ago and is working well, capturing the mature flys and other flying pests. Have not tried to hose it off yet, but it's definitely doing it's job.
    Date published: 2014-07-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from This trap caught everything but flies. It caught lizards, lady bugs, dragon flies. I saved the lizards and a dragon flie before discarding the 2 I purchased.
    Date published: 2014-06-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not recommend I hung this near the manure pile, in the sunlight, about 3 feet off the ground, and about 50 feet away from the barn. I thought I followed the instructions precisely but it's been hanging there a week, and all that's in it is tons of wind blown debris (leaves, grass, pollen), a few gnats, some bees, and various beetles. Not one single fly. And yes the flies are out in full force! Total waste of money.
    Date published: 2014-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good bye stable flies This is my second year using this product. Can't imagine spending a summer without it. This trap makes my horses stomp and twitch much less.
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from You Can't Buy Just One I pride myself in keeping a fly-free barn, and these traps are definately an asset; I keep one or two in a sunny spot by both barn doors. I find they work much better than those with an added attractant. The flies seem to love the shiny surface, and they land on it in droves the moment it's set out and can't get unstuck. Because these are lightweight and easily blown over, my husband attached them to a stand (such as a former tank heater) for stability, which works great! The traps are pretty full within 2-3 weeks, and then it's time for a new one.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deadly Design for Birds There is a fundamental design flaw to this sticky fly trap - it looks like a bird feeder. After the second bird landed on it, resulting in a no-doubt painful death, we took the remainder of the case to the recycling center.By the way, relatively few flies were ever trapped. Also note that we subsequently tried to modify it by adding "bird protection" netting to its outside...but this did not work either.If the manufacturer provided a bird protection "cage", it might become a better product.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sticky but not that attractive to flies If flies land on this trap, they do stick. Initially, I only had yellowjackets stuck to it. It was only when I placed it directly in a tub of manure that the flies were inclined to land on it.So it does work but it will never make a dent in my fly population since they are not drawn to it.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fly trap Except for rainy and stormy days it has been hanging on a plant hanger between the barn and small paddocks. Seems to be catching flies, gnats, and 1 wasp. Hung it 3-4 feet off the ground on an plant hanger. Fly season is just starting here so we'll see if it helps with the small stable flies. They were terrible last year, maybe not so bad this year. Ordered a 2nd one to put on the other side of the barn.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Catch a Lot of flys! Great for catching a lot of stable flys. I hang two near my barn within 4 feet of the ground. In several years of using one bird has been caught in them. No problem to me as we have plenty of birds. The hawks around here whack more birds than these traps. Great pest control.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Death Trap for Birds We try to attract insect eating birds to the barn and paddock area. After three days near the barn, the trap caught a few insects and 3 chickadees, drawn to the trap by the bugs. I'm sure they would have eaten more flies over the summer than the trap would. Pulled out most flight fathers trying to escape. Beyond saving. WHY NO WARNING? You must have known this would happen. Kicking myself for not foreseeing it.
    Date published: 2013-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wise buy very pleased with the amount of flies attracted,long lasting fly control. Will be buying this product again!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flys are gone! I am so happy with the use of these fly traps this year! I started putting them up first thing this year! I also bought WAY more than I did last year, I cannot tell you how great this year has been with flys for us! I have one horse that is alergic to flys and I have yet to give him medication and he is doing well with very minimal signs of sweet itch! I am very satisfied! I was worried I would catch a lot of bats because last year I did catch a couple bats, I had to take them into the wildlife shelter and it was very stressful, however, last year I also had massive flys comparing to this year to attract the bats! I have not caught a bat and I also hung my fly traps on the East side of our barn, a friend said to. I cannot remember why? But it was worked!
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Traps everything but Stable flies I purchased this as it is advertised to specifically trap stable flies. I check it daily, and still no stable flies, but bees, beetles, etc. Also read somewhere that it can be reused, but the package says it is disposable. Too pricey to not reuse and not do what it is supposed to.
    Date published: 2012-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big and Effective Love these fly traps. They catch flies better than fly paper, look nicer and no foul odor! I also discovered if you hose them off once, you can reuse them!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly catcher ever No more mixing water and that smelly liquid. This fly catcher is worth every penny. Just take out of the box and hang.Planning on buying a few more!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yes it does catch birds I read on the manufacturer's site that these traps can catch birds.I hung the trap and on the second day I had a gold finch stuck in it.It does catch lots of flies, not sure the risk to the birds and butterflies (caught two in those two days) is worth it.We did take the second trap I bought (at the same time as the first) and put wire mesh all around it. Does not catch as many flies but the birds are safe.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great traps! These traps really helped catch the biting flies. Within minutes of hanging them up flies were sticking to them. I ordered 3 at a time and ended up ordering 3 more after those became full.
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NOT UP TO MY EXPECTATIONS CONVENIENCE IS GREAT BUT DOESN'T CATCH FLIES LIKE I EXPECTED
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from it caught a bird... i was very pleased with the trap at first as i though it would be another environment-friendly weapon against insects, but after about five days on a post outside of our small barn, i was horrified when i found a young sparrow trapped and frozen on the sticky substance...with great difficulty i removed the young bird but it did not survive as the sticky substance was all over its underside and wings.. cannot recommend this.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I hung it on an electric fence near where my horses stand during the day. It had a few flies by the time I got it attached to the fence. By the end of the day there were hundreds. I was amazed how many and how soon it attracted flies. I tried another near my cows water tank with similar but not quite as good results. I have ordered some more of these traps.
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps Reduce Paddock Pests To reduce flies in my horse's paddock, I targeted the area where they were concentrated, which was around her feed and water troughs, and set this up as directed (about 10 feet away). It began collecting flies immediately. I use it with the EZ Trap for maximum effectiveness. Its ease of use--I can set it up and forget about it, no refilling water or attractant--and effectiveness guarantees it will have a permanent place in my premises control.
    Date published: 2009-07-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sticky trap I didn't realize immediately from the catalog description that this is a sticky trap. I don't usually use sticky traps because they can also kill birds. The label says it will catch 7000 stable flies. After hanging 4 traps as directed, I had maybe 20 insects on each of the traps after a week, but most of them were not stable flies. I left the traps up for 3 weeks, until I found a dead bird on one of the traps... then I threw all 4 of them away wrapped in paper so that there would not be other non-insect casualties.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attracted tons of flies I love this trap because it attracted tons of flies. I hung this in the barn and the flies stopped bothering the horses. There is a lot of surface area because of the design which means it doesn't have to be replaced as often. A very good fly trap.
    Date published: 2009-02-09
    • 2016-05-04T16:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_3715, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders