Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Bit Keepers

SmartPak
- Item #14143

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bit Keepers attach from top of full-cheek bit to bridle strap to keep cheek pieces upright. Bit Keepers are sold in a set of two. Brown leather.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bit Keepers is rated 4.5366 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality but a problem... These are the nicest quality keepers I've seen and for a better price. But because the loops for the cheek piece and spindle of the full cheek snaffle on each keeper are the same size, not a smaller loop for the bit spindle, when my horse chews on the bit, the bit pops out of the keeper. Maybe if your full cheek has really large balls on the top of the spindles the keeper will work better.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase/Good Quaility Matched my SmartPak Plymouth bridle. Used with a full cheek snaffle and so far so good. Ideal I wish they good go up a bit hire on the cheek piece but the keepers attached to the bridle prevent that. Otherall good quaility for the price!
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine Leather Bit Keepers I just needed a pair of bit keepers and I was ordering stuff from Smartpak anyways so I added these in. I have not put them on my bridle yet, but they look well made and the color is pretty good.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit keepers Good product, leather could've been a little softer, but not a big deal. The stitching is sturdy and the color of the leather is nice.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great keepers - did the job These are a nice color and quality. Have a nice feel and weight to them, and are a good size. If I need another pair, I'd definitely get these.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Bought these to go with a full cheek bit. They provided great leverage when adjusted properly. Plus they match my SmartPak Plymouth bridle! Easy to install and haven't slipped off.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the price it does what it should No particular comment other than that they work just fine for its intended purpose. As turned out, the color was perfectly matching to my bridle, too. Not having purchased anything similar before, I cannot compare this to any other keepers.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever i love these bit keepers so much i use them in shows and all around the barn!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from more colors please Good product. Does the job. Just wish it would come in more colors so it could match my chestnut colored bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Good Quality. The only thing I would recommend is having these come in different leather color options. My bridle is a Newmarket Brown (chestnut) color and these do not match. This was the only color option I had to choose from.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Product The bit keepers were made of good quality leather. Both sides fit my bit and my bridle unlike a pair that I bought from a local tack store. Very happy with this purchase. Love SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit If these keepers are positioned properly, there is zero chance of them coming off the bit. They should be placed BELOW the 'hook', so as to be sitting farther down the bit. If you place them above the hook in the cheekpiece, then the keepers sit too high up on the bit and can slip off.
    Date published: 2012-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have to keep the bit in position. I just gave them a try with the new bit. They are must to have to keep the bit in right position. My horse didn't do "wrong things" as usual as I use regular sniffle bit on him. His head was in right position for the 40 mins riding in arena.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional Good value and works well for my mare. These bit keepers are longer than those I have purchases in the past, allowing the bit to "float" more. If you have a horse you really need to "set" the bit on, these keepers may be too long. Also, the hole to slip the corner of the bit in are a touch large and have allowed the bit to slip out on a few occasions.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not that great These keepers do not hold my full cheek in very well. One side is always popping out, it seems that the keeper is bit to large.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything I hoped for I have nothing to complain about with these. The quality and fit were both quite good.
    Date published: 2011-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice basic bit keepers Purchased these bit keepers to go with my oakbark bridle, they match great. The leather quality is good and they fit over my korsteel twisted snaffle which has larger bulbs on the end. The stitching is secure, unlike the more expensive ones found at my local tack shop (it unraveled after only a few rides, hence my purchase here)
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather, and holes big enough to fit a variety of full cheek bits. Color was a little lighter than expected, but easily darkened to the shade I needed with just a few oilings. Recommended.
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective These things keep my horse's full cheek bit from catching on things (like the seam of my pants - seriously, saw that happen once). They darken nicely to match my bridle and hold up incredibly well!
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit keepers I bought these to match my Smartpak Harwich bridle and they match pretty well. With a coat or two of oil it will be perfect. Sturdy stitching and nice leather at a great price. I also had a free shipping code, which made these the best deal I found.
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I needed! If you need bit keepers, here they are. Nothing special; average quality leather, matches a wide variety of bridle colors. My only complaint is they're a bit too big for my full cheek's tips.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Keepers Keeps the full cheeks in place. Matches most bridles and accepts oil. They are a little bigger/looser than other keepers but fit okay otherwise.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather. The loops were a little bigger than I needed, but that may just be my bit. I recommend them.
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product, good price These bit keepers are well made with strong stitching. They fit very well and match my havanna colored hunt bridle perfectly. Very happy customer. I just hate that I have to pay shipping for such a small item- I always end up buying more stuff to make the shipping cost 'worth it'!
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does its job It does what it's supposed to do (keep the bit in the correct position) so I can't really complain. It matches fine with my bridle too.
    Date published: 2009-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Awesome This is something I ordered to keep the full cheek bit in place and it works absolutely perfect!
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific value - easy to attach and look GREAT I bought these instead of another major brand's and I am so glad I did! They match both my $30 Dover-brand schooling bridle AND my barnmate's new Smartpak bridle beautifully. The leather on the keepers is soft and supple, making them easy to put onto the bridle. Unlike many other keepers that are glued and stitched together with rawhide, these look lovely in person with tiny ivory stitching. The picture doesn't do them justice. I would highly recommend these to anyone using a full-cheek snaffle or similar bit!
    Date published: 2009-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from These are nice keepers, better quality than the ones we bought at a local high end tack shop. They are a bit long though, we were using them for a cob bridle and the bit still isn't straight because of their length. Overall a good product, great price.
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bit keepers After surfing the net, SmartPak had the product I was looking for. When I got them, I put them on my bridle and they fit fine. It is something small, but necessary for a better ride.
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    • 2016-02-10T15:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_4143, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.