Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Bit Keepers

SmartPak
- Item #14143
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Bit Keepers attach from top of full-cheek bit to bridle strap to keep cheek pieces upright. Bit Keepers are sold in a set of two. Brown leather.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Neue Schule takes on a ""new school"" approach ...
    Description:
    "Neue Schule takes on a ""new school"" approach towards bit technology. With the help of computer design, Neue Schule has the freedom to be more innovative with creation of mouthpieces and cheeks to promote overall comfort for the horse. Neue ...
    "JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication ...
    Description:
    "JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance. Imported"
    "KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research ...
    Description:
    "KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some new findings: the interior volume of the mouth was less than previously thought and the palate was smaller and flatter. Therefore, ...
    "Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by ...
    Description:
    "Genuine patented Aurigan bits are manufactured only by Herm Sprenger. Aurigan is a perfect mixture of materials (85% copper, 4% silicon and 11% zinc). Aurigan has high oxidation properties and provides a pleasant taste to encourage chewing activity and easy ...
    "Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to ...
    Description:
    "Herm Sprenger KK Ultra bits are adapted to the anatomy of the horse's mouth. Aurigan KK Ultra Bits were developed after extensive research at the Veterinary University in Hanover, Germany. The results revealed some new findings: the interior volume of ...
    "The Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Baucher is a ...
    Description:
    "The Herm Sprenger KK Ultra Baucher is a perfect bit when changing from a snaffle to a Weymouth in Dressage as it enables precise action on the mouth and poll of the horse. Made in Germany"
    "Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
    Description:
    "Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making them soft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bit Keepers is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from clean, simple, quality Bit keepers... a necessity. Quality product. Fair price
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality but not the color as pictured Seem to be well made but they were much darker than pictured and therefore did not match my bridle and I have since gotten a new set that do match from a different source.
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nothing like the picture The bit keepers I received look nothing like the ones in the picture. They are a much darker Havana color than what is pictured, so they don't match any of my bridles and they are pretty wide. The leather was a nice quality, but they just don't work for me.
    Date published: 2016-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, perfect size After a poor decision to purchase some bit keepers on Facebook from a complete stranger and never thinking to have the keepers measured (who does that?), I ended up having to come crying to SmartPak - like usual. The keepers I got through social media ended being ridiculously HUGE. And I mean HUGE. Almost jokingly HUGE. Anyway, I ordered these after some silly questions like, "Are they *normal* size? Like, for *normal* horses with *normal* bits?" These turned out perfectly, and they are in fact "normal size." The color is a rich chocolate, but I needed something darker, so a little oil later and they match my Havana leather. They are of quality leather and durable!
    Date published: 2016-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this fits over the buckles on my bridle and another store had bit keepers that were a waste of money because the wouldn't go over the cheek piece let alone the buckles!
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-06-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional but not Fancy These bit keepers work well. Good price, stitching appears to be strong
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Great product - quick shipping, good quality, great service
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loops are too big! The loops are both the same size (as a previous reviewer noted), and they're much too large for my full cheek snaffle. They pop right off the ball on the top. Not worth the time/energy to return them. I will note they seem of good quality for the price - I just would not recommend unless you have a very large balls on your full cheeks :) Unfortunately, I apparently do not.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality but a problem... These are the nicest quality keepers I've seen and for a better price. But because the loops for the cheek piece and spindle of the full cheek snaffle on each keeper are the same size, not a smaller loop for the bit spindle, when my horse chews on the bit, the bit pops out of the keeper. Maybe if your full cheek has really large balls on the top of the spindles the keeper will work better.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase/Good Quaility Matched my SmartPak Plymouth bridle. Used with a full cheek snaffle and so far so good. Ideal I wish they good go up a bit hire on the cheek piece but the keepers attached to the bridle prevent that. Otherall good quaility for the price!
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine Leather Bit Keepers I just needed a pair of bit keepers and I was ordering stuff from Smartpak anyways so I added these in. I have not put them on my bridle yet, but they look well made and the color is pretty good.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit keepers Good product, leather could've been a little softer, but not a big deal. The stitching is sturdy and the color of the leather is nice.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great keepers - did the job These are a nice color and quality. Have a nice feel and weight to them, and are a good size. If I need another pair, I'd definitely get these.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Bought these to go with a full cheek bit. They provided great leverage when adjusted properly. Plus they match my SmartPak Plymouth bridle! Easy to install and haven't slipped off.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the price it does what it should No particular comment other than that they work just fine for its intended purpose. As turned out, the color was perfectly matching to my bridle, too. Not having purchased anything similar before, I cannot compare this to any other keepers.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from does it's job well simple nice quality leather
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever i love these bit keepers so much i use them in shows and all around the barn!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from more colors please Good product. Does the job. Just wish it would come in more colors so it could match my chestnut colored bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Good Quality. The only thing I would recommend is having these come in different leather color options. My bridle is a Newmarket Brown (chestnut) color and these do not match. This was the only color option I had to choose from.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Product The bit keepers were made of good quality leather. Both sides fit my bit and my bridle unlike a pair that I bought from a local tack store. Very happy with this purchase. Love SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit If these keepers are positioned properly, there is zero chance of them coming off the bit. They should be placed BELOW the 'hook', so as to be sitting farther down the bit. If you place them above the hook in the cheekpiece, then the keepers sit too high up on the bit and can slip off.
    Date published: 2012-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have to keep the bit in position. I just gave them a try with the new bit. They are must to have to keep the bit in right position. My horse didn't do "wrong things" as usual as I use regular sniffle bit on him. His head was in right position for the 40 mins riding in arena.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from quality product worked for the bit
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional Good value and works well for my mare. These bit keepers are longer than those I have purchases in the past, allowing the bit to "float" more. If you have a horse you really need to "set" the bit on, these keepers may be too long. Also, the hole to slip the corner of the bit in are a touch large and have allowed the bit to slip out on a few occasions.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not that great These keepers do not hold my full cheek in very well. One side is always popping out, it seems that the keeper is bit to large.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything I hoped for I have nothing to complain about with these. The quality and fit were both quite good.
    Date published: 2011-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice basic bit keepers Purchased these bit keepers to go with my oakbark bridle, they match great. The leather quality is good and they fit over my korsteel twisted snaffle which has larger bulbs on the end. The stitching is secure, unlike the more expensive ones found at my local tack shop (it unraveled after only a few rides, hence my purchase here)
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_4143, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders