Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Bit Keepers

SmartPak
- Item #14143
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Bit Keepers attach from top of full-cheek bit to bridle strap to keep cheek pieces upright. Bit Keepers are sold in a set of two. Brown leather.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
    Description:
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman's large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman's Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
    The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, ...
    Description:
    The Myler Bitting System is a graduated system, meaning that as your horse learns and progresses through his training, you will change the way you communicate with him by re-bitting him periodically. Each Myler Bit is designed to use select ...
    The closest you'll get to a custom bit ...
    Description:
    The closest you'll get to a custom bit without the custom price! Custom bit maker, hardware designer, and saddlemaker Jeremiah Watt developed the Sagebrush Series Bits using his experience, creatitivity, artistic talent, and understanding of bit function to create quality ...
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
    Description:
    The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse´s mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
    The Mylers have designed an entire bitting system ...
    Description:
    The Mylers have designed an entire bitting system to effectively communicate with any horse at any level of training. Based on bitting a horse appropriately through his training, the system works by releasing points of pressure and usingSofter bits as ...
    The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing ...
    Description:
    The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a "MouthSoftening Complex," this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and ...
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
    Description:
    The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman's large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman's Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bit Keepers is rated 4.4884 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality Great product - quick shipping, good quality, great service
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Loops are too big! The loops are both the same size (as a previous reviewer noted), and they're much too large for my full cheek snaffle. They pop right off the ball on the top. Not worth the time/energy to return them. I will note they seem of good quality for the price - I just would not recommend unless you have a very large balls on your full cheeks :) Unfortunately, I apparently do not.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice quality but a problem... These are the nicest quality keepers I've seen and for a better price. But because the loops for the cheek piece and spindle of the full cheek snaffle on each keeper are the same size, not a smaller loop for the bit spindle, when my horse chews on the bit, the bit pops out of the keeper. Maybe if your full cheek has really large balls on the top of the spindles the keeper will work better.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase/Good Quaility Matched my SmartPak Plymouth bridle. Used with a full cheek snaffle and so far so good. Ideal I wish they good go up a bit hire on the cheek piece but the keepers attached to the bridle prevent that. Otherall good quaility for the price!
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fine Leather Bit Keepers I just needed a pair of bit keepers and I was ordering stuff from Smartpak anyways so I added these in. I have not put them on my bridle yet, but they look well made and the color is pretty good.
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit keepers Good product, leather could've been a little softer, but not a big deal. The stitching is sturdy and the color of the leather is nice.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great keepers - did the job These are a nice color and quality. Have a nice feel and weight to them, and are a good size. If I need another pair, I'd definitely get these.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value Bought these to go with a full cheek bit. They provided great leverage when adjusted properly. Plus they match my SmartPak Plymouth bridle! Easy to install and haven't slipped off.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the price it does what it should No particular comment other than that they work just fine for its intended purpose. As turned out, the color was perfectly matching to my bridle, too. Not having purchased anything similar before, I cannot compare this to any other keepers.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever i love these bit keepers so much i use them in shows and all around the barn!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from more colors please Good product. Does the job. Just wish it would come in more colors so it could match my chestnut colored bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Good Quality. The only thing I would recommend is having these come in different leather color options. My bridle is a Newmarket Brown (chestnut) color and these do not match. This was the only color option I had to choose from.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Product The bit keepers were made of good quality leather. Both sides fit my bit and my bridle unlike a pair that I bought from a local tack store. Very happy with this purchase. Love SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit If these keepers are positioned properly, there is zero chance of them coming off the bit. They should be placed BELOW the 'hook', so as to be sitting farther down the bit. If you place them above the hook in the cheekpiece, then the keepers sit too high up on the bit and can slip off.
    Date published: 2012-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have to keep the bit in position. I just gave them a try with the new bit. They are must to have to keep the bit in right position. My horse didn't do "wrong things" as usual as I use regular sniffle bit on him. His head was in right position for the 40 mins riding in arena.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Functional Good value and works well for my mare. These bit keepers are longer than those I have purchases in the past, allowing the bit to "float" more. If you have a horse you really need to "set" the bit on, these keepers may be too long. Also, the hole to slip the corner of the bit in are a touch large and have allowed the bit to slip out on a few occasions.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not that great These keepers do not hold my full cheek in very well. One side is always popping out, it seems that the keeper is bit to large.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from everything I hoped for I have nothing to complain about with these. The quality and fit were both quite good.
    Date published: 2011-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice basic bit keepers Purchased these bit keepers to go with my oakbark bridle, they match great. The leather quality is good and they fit over my korsteel twisted snaffle which has larger bulbs on the end. The stitching is secure, unlike the more expensive ones found at my local tack shop (it unraveled after only a few rides, hence my purchase here)
    Date published: 2011-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather, and holes big enough to fit a variety of full cheek bits. Color was a little lighter than expected, but easily darkened to the shade I needed with just a few oilings. Recommended.
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective These things keep my horse's full cheek bit from catching on things (like the seam of my pants - seriously, saw that happen once). They darken nicely to match my bridle and hold up incredibly well!
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bit keepers I bought these to match my Smartpak Harwich bridle and they match pretty well. With a coat or two of oil it will be perfect. Sturdy stitching and nice leather at a great price. I also had a free shipping code, which made these the best deal I found.
    Date published: 2010-12-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I needed! If you need bit keepers, here they are. Nothing special; average quality leather, matches a wide variety of bridle colors. My only complaint is they're a bit too big for my full cheek's tips.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Keepers Keeps the full cheeks in place. Matches most bridles and accepts oil. They are a little bigger/looser than other keepers but fit okay otherwise.
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather. The loops were a little bigger than I needed, but that may just be my bit. I recommend them.
    Date published: 2010-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product, good price These bit keepers are well made with strong stitching. They fit very well and match my havanna colored hunt bridle perfectly. Very happy customer. I just hate that I have to pay shipping for such a small item- I always end up buying more stuff to make the shipping cost 'worth it'!
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does its job It does what it's supposed to do (keep the bit in the correct position) so I can't really complain. It matches fine with my bridle too.
    Date published: 2009-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Awesome This is something I ordered to keep the full cheek bit in place and it works absolutely perfect!
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific value - easy to attach and look GREAT I bought these instead of another major brand's and I am so glad I did! They match both my $30 Dover-brand schooling bridle AND my barnmate's new Smartpak bridle beautifully. The leather on the keepers is soft and supple, making them easy to put onto the bridle. Unlike many other keepers that are glued and stitched together with rawhide, these look lovely in person with tiny ivory stitching. The picture doesn't do them justice. I would highly recommend these to anyone using a full-cheek snaffle or similar bit!
    Date published: 2009-08-28
    • 2016-05-29T16:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_38
    • loc_en_US, sid_4143, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders