Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D Nylon Mesh Fly Sheet

Big D
- Item #17095

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This sheet does a great job of protecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating.

Favorite Features

  • 11 oz. medium weight nylon mesh
  • Closed front
  • Adjustable nylon single belly strap
  • Adjustable nylon rear leg straps

Imported

Sizing It Up

68"-84"

(Not recommended for turnout.)

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Genero Fly Sheet made Exclusively for SmartPak is made from a lightweight polyester mesh that keeps your horse protected from flies and insects. Favorite Features Lightweight mesh perfect for warm climates Singular chest strap Belly Band ...
    Why We Love This A soft, fine weave ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This A soft, fine weave mesh fly sheet to provide coverage and protection for your horse against pesky biting insects. Favorite Features Fine mesh to help block tiny biting flies and insects Detachable neck Detachable belly band ...
    Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The ...
    Description:
    Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The fabric of the Kensington Polymax Fly Sheet shimmers in the sunlight and provides durable protection against biting insects. Ultra breathable, the sheet keeps your horse comfortable in the summer heat. The Kensington ...
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now ...
    Description:
    The Blue Ribbon Fly Sheet is a home staple that now has horse show appeal! This super durable 17 x 11 Denier textilene mesh fabric provides 80% UV protection to prevent coat bleaching and will actually keep your horse cooler in the hot ...
    Specifically designed to fit the unique Quarter Horse ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to fit the unique Quarter Horse build, this classic and versatile sheet is a perfect light layer on cool days or to keep your horse clean on show days. Imported. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and ...
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect ...
    Description:
    An adorable, colorful fly sheet to help protect your pony from biting insects. Favorite Features Ripshield fabric provides a durable weave to help resist tears and prevent them from expanding Offers up to 20% UV protection Adjustable and removable belly ...
    Protect your horse from poll to tail this ...
    Description:
    Protect your horse from poll to tail this summer with the SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet! Made from a soft polyester fabric, this fly sheet is fully breathable and does not restrict your horses natural movements. With built in UV protection, ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Nylon Mesh Fly Sheet is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 51.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seems well constructed, BUT............ Recently purchased this and was impressed how well made it seemed to be. It slipped over the horse's head so it was easy to put on and take off. I would put an elastic yolk at the neck and elastic straps, however, to make it more comfortable for grazing. My gelding wore it roughly 6 times and it tore right through the reinforced surcingle placket. With the exception of that and having to return it, I thought it seemed to be pretty well made. i really liked the open mesh for the hot evenings out in the pasture.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet. Not too heavy for summer months. Does tear easy though
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks beautiful! I purchased this basically as a fly sheet but it doubles as a nice sheet to just keep my boy clean and yet there's ventilation so he won't overheat. Works for him, works for me!
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh Fly Sheet I was thrilled to find this product was carried by Smart Pak. Love the weight, fit and quality for my hot bodied reiner's barn sheet. Also a great layer for in between weather changes and perfect for on the trailer. Not a good turn out sheet except in small pen and no neighbors.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this for shows in the warmed summer months! I tried a friends before I bought this --- fits my 16.2 AQHA horse great! This is a great choice for an overnight in the stall during the hot summer months. Little to no clean up before showing the next day and keeps your horse cool & comfortable! Would not recommend for turn out but mine held up great!
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit I have a halter horse and have had fit problems with his broad shoulders. This sheet has not rubbed any hair off his shoulders and is light and airy.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I expected. The material is much stronger than I expected and the leg surcingles are very well made.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit for quarter horses Bought this a few weeks ago to replace the Navy sheet I lost in our move. Have used Big D for years and have used this sheet for many summers. Perfect for hot and humid weather.. Not perfect if your horse or his/her neighbors are tough on their clothing!
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as durable as the Big D stable sheets and winter blankets I've purchased in the past. My horse destroyed it in about a week. Probably okay for stall but not appropriate for turnout.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! At our barn we really do not have a big fly issue inside, with that being said the reason I bought the fly sheet was my last effort to see if it would help with my girl's hives, which I have been battling off and on for 3 months. I had the Vet look at her and found nothing serious to cause the hives but we saw they were more on one side than the other, probably from laying down so I thought combination of heat and the shavings. Well, I have had the sheet on for more than two weeks and not one hive since and it amazed me how my Sherry is not even hot with it on and it stays pretty clean, give it a good shake and you are good to go. I have also tried Healing Tea Tree shampoo, I use that once a week and Equicare Fly spray so all three seem to do the trick for me. So if you are having a hive issue try these three things it might work for you as well. I will never be with out this indoor fly sheet
    Date published: 2014-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! These are the best & last forever! I have used this product for over 5 years & would not buy another brand.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet This fly sheet is very light weight, and has that perfect Big D fit!!I love the closed front,No slipping or rubbing!
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good wearer. I was so happy to receive this product. It ran a little large which was good and looked great on. I followed the insructions. I ordered an 82. By the 5th day the top had a 5" hole. Don't know how it happened as she is not turned out with it on. Her coral is a 12x36. Returned the product to Smartpak yesterday. My mare is easy on blankets.
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing runs small I ordered a 72 (my horse wears a 72 in 5 other brands). It was way too small. Returned it for a 76. Exchange process is excellent. The 76 just barely fits. I would say the 72 fits like a 68. The neck is almost too tight on the 76. I suspect that the sheets are not labeled correctly. I have never had a Big D that ran small. I would rate the sheet itself with 4 stars (if you can find the right size without having to go through a return/exchange)!
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from love them but I've been buying Big D for years and I love the fabric unfortunately they don't last long for turnouts. For stable wear they are great. At the end of every summer they go in and get repaired.I have yet to find any fly sheet that will hold up to pasture turnouts.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scrim Sheet I use this as a scrim sheet because i wanted a very thin sheet with surcingles under the belly. This serves the purpose very well. My finicky thoroughbred doesn't even care when I have to put it on over his head. Washed well! Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the price This summer has been unusually hot and humid resulting in increased flies and mosquitoes. The Big D fly sheet has done an excellent job of protecting my horse from these pesky and annoying creatures. The fit is excellent, it is extremely durable and you can't beat the price.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice fly sheet! I was leery about purchasing this fly sheet since I had read the reviews, which said the neck opening ran small and durability was lacking. However, I found this not to be true. This fly sheet fit my horse perfectly!! He is a Tennessee Walking Horse, about 975 lbs. The neck size is perfect for him, but he is not real stocky. He has worn the fly sheet continually for about 6 weeks, and no tears! It launders well, no velcro to catch the netting on. I am very happy with it and consider it superb to other sheets I have seen. It is soft, comfortable, and drapes nicely and is more durable than it looks. Not a bad price if you can get it on sale.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this one. I am a huge fan of the Saratoga flysheets but I tried this because it was GREEN. The white ones can get turned green (if you know what I mean) in a matter of a few days. I find this sheet well made and of a fabric that doesn't make them sweat. My only beef is that the neck is kind of high....and without a buckle it can be a bit restricting. Overall, good product.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet for Hot Weather I got this fly sheet in the lovely hunter for my 5yo, QH mare, Sneaky, since she was sweaty in her heavier fly sheet on hot days. She wears an 80 in all her blankets and the 80 in this fly sheet fit her nicely. The nylon mesh feels really durable yet wonderfully light. Even the binding on the neck is light and cool. She hasn't been sweaty in this sheet at all, even on triple digit days. Sneaky tends to be easy on her clothes but I was not sure how well this sheet was going to hold up as light as it was. I shouldn't have worried about the Big D quality, she's been wearing this fly sheet for close to a month now in her stall and out in her paddock with her neighbors and it still looks new. Not so much as a snag.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheets! These are very nice sheets, nicely made. Runs the right size. I have Friesians and got one each for all 3. They slip over the head and the neck size isn't adjustable, Friesians have a thick neck and they fit mine--they go over their head. If you have a super thick neck draft horse or something like that it might be tight, but you would have to see for yourself--the one I thought would be tight actually fit perfectly. I highly recommend these.
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good light weight fly blanket I bought this blanket for my old 27 year old mare, to giver her some relief from the flies, it does the job quite well, it is very light weight and the most important thing is it stays in place on her. For a younger horse I would upgrade to the heavyweight Big D fly blanket.
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Taximan The fly sheet looked lovely till I put it on Taxi. The length from chest to tail was fine but the neck opening was so tight he couldn't put his head down to graze without almost choking himself!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hot summer shows! I love this fly sheet from Big D. I use it on my gelding at horse shows during the summer to keep him clean when it's too warm for nylon sheets. It was 95 degrees out and he wasn't sweating with this sheet on!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever This product works wonderful and fits great! My horse loves it too!
    Date published: 2012-04-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wanted to like this sheet I really really wanted to like this sheet. I love Big D's blankets... I ordered 2- one for my mare and one for my gelding. Both of them ripped within no time. Neither horse has ever been hard on blankets let alone ripped one in less then a few days.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from NecK Tight, Otherwise Great! I thought the BIG D Mesh Flysheet was of nice quality, more so than I expected. My horse is 16.2 ,tall and thin, and I ordered an 80. It fit everywhere except the neck, which was too small. There is no adjustment at the neck area just a hole.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits awesome Fits my big guy in all the right places. Keeps the flys at bay.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice fly sheet We use these on our reiner showhorses. Like any mesh sheets, the can get snagged but are quite durable. We put them on whether the horses are wet or dry and find that they do help with flies and also keep the horses cleaner in the summer.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly sheet The Big D fly sheet is very durable. It is thin enough so the horse does not sweat like the other porducts while keeping the bugs off. I have been using them for several years.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    • 2016-02-09T14:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_7095, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.