Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D Nylon Mesh Fly Sheet

Big D
- Item #17095
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

This sheet does a great job of protecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating.

Favorite Features

  • 11 oz. medium weight nylon mesh
  • Closed front
  • Adjustable nylon single belly strap
  • Adjustable nylon rear leg straps

Imported

Sizing It Up

68"-84"

(Not recommended for turnout.)

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ...
Description:
The Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathableSoft knitted polyester fabric with UVProtection to keep your horse cool andProtected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Favorite Features Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches Integrated ...
A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
Description:
A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over.Favorite Features Waterproof VELCRO brand and double buckle closure prevents ...
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly ...
Description:
Horseware Ireland introduces the greatest innovation in fly sheets! The Amigo BugBuster provides No-Fly ZoneProtection from flies, mosquitoes, ticks and fleas. Unlike many conventional insect repellents, which can have a strong odor and other unfavorable characteristics, No-Fly Zone insectProtection is ...
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand ...
Description:
Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...
Big D quality and features in this top ...
Description:
Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects ...
Description:
Horseware has created the ultimate summer sheet thatProtects your horse from flies, UV damage and wet weather! The Amigo Three-In-One features a contoured waterproof and breathable top section that ensures you peace of mind during unsettled weather by providing your ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Big D Nylon Mesh Fly Sheet is rated 4.017241379310345 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice look. Nice sheet to match my other Big D stuff. I'm a little hesitant to turn him out in it but the price was good so if he rips it we will just get another!
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and fit Big D blankets consistently fit and are of good quality
Date published: 2016-04-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not durable at all I bought two of these a few years ago and within a week both were shredded, I repaired them multiple times only to be back to where we started just a few days later with them falling to pieces once again. The leg straps would break off the mesh easily and my horses were rubbed awful at the wither and the chest. Threw the blankets in a drawer where they sat for years hoping to find some other use for them but finally ended up throwing them away last week. Waste of money, your much better off buying a more expensive sheet that is going to last you much longer than these, which would end up being replaced every week
Date published: 2015-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great looking but unfortunately not as rip proof as the previous model (my Big D fly sheet bought over 10 years ago is truly bullet proof, and I am still using it as a backup sheet when my others need washing or repair). The fit is great on my 16.3 warmblood, but the fabric is prone to rips and tears.
Date published: 2015-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DURABLE I was very happy with the fit and it is durable. Spot has had this blanket for over a month and she rolls in it everyday and it stays put and has had no tears. Great product!
Date published: 2015-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great, just like the picture Received the sheet in great time and it works well and so far am really pleased with the fly sheet
Date published: 2015-07-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't hold up My horse is super easy on sheets and the leg strap broke off one leg the second night he wore this sheet and in the next week it ripped off the other leg as well. The leather pulled right off the webbed sheet material.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Seems well constructed, BUT............ Recently purchased this and was impressed how well made it seemed to be. It slipped over the horse's head so it was easy to put on and take off. I would put an elastic yolk at the neck and elastic straps, however, to make it more comfortable for grazing. My gelding wore it roughly 6 times and it tore right through the reinforced surcingle placket. With the exception of that and having to return it, I thought it seemed to be pretty well made. i really liked the open mesh for the hot evenings out in the pasture.
Date published: 2015-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet. Not too heavy for summer months. Does tear easy though
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks beautiful! I purchased this basically as a fly sheet but it doubles as a nice sheet to just keep my boy clean and yet there's ventilation so he won't overheat. Works for him, works for me!
Date published: 2015-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mesh Fly Sheet I was thrilled to find this product was carried by Smart Pak. Love the weight, fit and quality for my hot bodied reiner's barn sheet. Also a great layer for in between weather changes and perfect for on the trailer. Not a good turn out sheet except in small pen and no neighbors.
Date published: 2015-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this for shows in the warmed summer months! I tried a friends before I bought this --- fits my 16.2 AQHA horse great! This is a great choice for an overnight in the stall during the hot summer months. Little to no clean up before showing the next day and keeps your horse cool & comfortable! Would not recommend for turn out but mine held up great!
Date published: 2015-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit I have a halter horse and have had fit problems with his broad shoulders. This sheet has not rubbed any hair off his shoulders and is light and airy.
Date published: 2014-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than I expected. The material is much stronger than I expected and the leg surcingles are very well made.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect fit for quarter horses Bought this a few weeks ago to replace the Navy sheet I lost in our move. Have used Big D for years and have used this sheet for many summers. Perfect for hot and humid weather.. Not perfect if your horse or his/her neighbors are tough on their clothing!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as durable as the Big D stable sheets and winter blankets I've purchased in the past. My horse destroyed it in about a week. Probably okay for stall but not appropriate for turnout.
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny! At our barn we really do not have a big fly issue inside, with that being said the reason I bought the fly sheet was my last effort to see if it would help with my girl's hives, which I have been battling off and on for 3 months. I had the Vet look at her and found nothing serious to cause the hives but we saw they were more on one side than the other, probably from laying down so I thought combination of heat and the shavings. Well, I have had the sheet on for more than two weeks and not one hive since and it amazed me how my Sherry is not even hot with it on and it stays pretty clean, give it a good shake and you are good to go. I have also tried Healing Tea Tree shampoo, I use that once a week and Equicare Fly spray so all three seem to do the trick for me. So if you are having a hive issue try these three things it might work for you as well. I will never be with out this indoor fly sheet
Date published: 2014-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet! These are the best & last forever! I have used this product for over 5 years & would not buy another brand.
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly sheet This fly sheet is very light weight, and has that perfect Big D fit!!I love the closed front,No slipping or rubbing!
Date published: 2013-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a good wearer. I was so happy to receive this product. It ran a little large which was good and looked great on. I followed the insructions. I ordered an 82. By the 5th day the top had a 5" hole. Don't know how it happened as she is not turned out with it on. Her coral is a 12x36. Returned the product to Smartpak yesterday. My mare is easy on blankets.
Date published: 2013-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing runs small I ordered a 72 (my horse wears a 72 in 5 other brands). It was way too small. Returned it for a 76. Exchange process is excellent. The 76 just barely fits. I would say the 72 fits like a 68. The neck is almost too tight on the 76. I suspect that the sheets are not labeled correctly. I have never had a Big D that ran small. I would rate the sheet itself with 4 stars (if you can find the right size without having to go through a return/exchange)!
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from love them but I've been buying Big D for years and I love the fabric unfortunately they don't last long for turnouts. For stable wear they are great. At the end of every summer they go in and get repaired.I have yet to find any fly sheet that will hold up to pasture turnouts.
Date published: 2013-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scrim Sheet I use this as a scrim sheet because i wanted a very thin sheet with surcingles under the belly. This serves the purpose very well. My finicky thoroughbred doesn't even care when I have to put it on over his head. Washed well! Great buy!
Date published: 2013-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the price This summer has been unusually hot and humid resulting in increased flies and mosquitoes. The Big D fly sheet has done an excellent job of protecting my horse from these pesky and annoying creatures. The fit is excellent, it is extremely durable and you can't beat the price.
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice fly sheet! I was leery about purchasing this fly sheet since I had read the reviews, which said the neck opening ran small and durability was lacking. However, I found this not to be true. This fly sheet fit my horse perfectly!! He is a Tennessee Walking Horse, about 975 lbs. The neck size is perfect for him, but he is not real stocky. He has worn the fly sheet continually for about 6 weeks, and no tears! It launders well, no velcro to catch the netting on. I am very happy with it and consider it superb to other sheets I have seen. It is soft, comfortable, and drapes nicely and is more durable than it looks. Not a bad price if you can get it on sale.
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this one. I am a huge fan of the Saratoga flysheets but I tried this because it was GREEN. The white ones can get turned green (if you know what I mean) in a matter of a few days. I find this sheet well made and of a fabric that doesn't make them sweat. My only beef is that the neck is kind of high....and without a buckle it can be a bit restricting. Overall, good product.
Date published: 2012-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet for Hot Weather I got this fly sheet in the lovely hunter for my 5yo, QH mare, Sneaky, since she was sweaty in her heavier fly sheet on hot days. She wears an 80 in all her blankets and the 80 in this fly sheet fit her nicely. The nylon mesh feels really durable yet wonderfully light. Even the binding on the neck is light and cool. She hasn't been sweaty in this sheet at all, even on triple digit days. Sneaky tends to be easy on her clothes but I was not sure how well this sheet was going to hold up as light as it was. I shouldn't have worried about the Big D quality, she's been wearing this fly sheet for close to a month now in her stall and out in her paddock with her neighbors and it still looks new. Not so much as a snag.
Date published: 2012-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheets! These are very nice sheets, nicely made. Runs the right size. I have Friesians and got one each for all 3. They slip over the head and the neck size isn't adjustable, Friesians have a thick neck and they fit mine--they go over their head. If you have a super thick neck draft horse or something like that it might be tight, but you would have to see for yourself--the one I thought would be tight actually fit perfectly. I highly recommend these.
Date published: 2012-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good light weight fly blanket I bought this blanket for my old 27 year old mare, to giver her some relief from the flies, it does the job quite well, it is very light weight and the most important thing is it stays in place on her. For a younger horse I would upgrade to the heavyweight Big D fly blanket.
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Taximan The fly sheet looked lovely till I put it on Taxi. The length from chest to tail was fine but the neck opening was so tight he couldn't put his head down to graze without almost choking himself!
Date published: 2012-06-08
  • 2016-09-27T12:35CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_7095, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders