Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D Nylon Halter

Big D
- Item #17531
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy and classic halter that is a barn staple.  Adjustable chin and rolled throatlatch snap to ensure a perfect fit. 

Favorite Features

  • Rot-resistant heavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled for strength.
  • Big D-exclusive heavy duty brass plated buckles, rings, and squares are designed for years of use.
  • Buckles are designed for easy on and off use.
  • Buckle tongue is 5mm in thickness for extra strength.

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up

M (800-1100 lbs)
L (1100-1500 lbs)

Please note, this is not a breakaway halter, and is unlikely to break under pressure.

out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Big D Nylon Halter is rated 4.451612903225806 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, nice halter This is probably the nicest halter I have ever purchased. It is made of thick and sturdy materials. It is the Cadillac of halters. I purchased the green one and it looks great on my sorrel gelding.
Date published: 2011-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big D Halter = Big The weight guidelines for the halter size are a little off. My horse fit in the XL category but the halter was way too big. Smart Pak kindly replaced it with a Large and it's great! We love it :)
Date published: 2011-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this halter and really enjoy the way it is adjustable at the nose band too. I like the clip feature. This is a sturdy and well made halter but the adjustability of it is what makes it my favorite because one size does not really fit all. The color is beautiful too.
Date published: 2011-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very affordable for the quality Great quality at an excellent price. I like the fact that it adjusts at the poll and chin. Especially nice with growing foals/weanlings/yearlings. There size changes often and it's reassuring to have a halter that fits properly.
Date published: 2011-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great everyday halter! These are great everyday halters. The holes are just the nylon and stay easy to use unlike halter with metal around the holes. That is my one requirement in a daily halter and this one fits the bill.
Date published: 2011-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for odd size head This halter does fit my colt with his head being in between sizes right now, but the chin buckle is always coming undone on it's own.
Date published: 2011-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not strong latch my mini had this on less than 6 hours and the latch broke
Date published: 2011-08-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from nice at first...but rusts I love the colors and durability of the halter nylon. This the first halter my green horse has not been able to break.The main problem I have is that it doesn't look very good anymore. I have only had the halter for the past few months and the metal is rusting. The halter is never left outside in the rain. My horse is stall boarded. It has very little exposure to water. Only during bath time but I don't hose the face since he's a baby about it.My matching Big D halter lead is having similar problems. I won't be buying anymore Big D products.
Date published: 2011-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Strong and look good! Even after a few washes these halters look great and they are really well made and strong and safe. They last for years. The only colors I have had that fades are the red and black.
Date published: 2011-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Halter This halter runs a bit big, especially on the adjustable nose piece. But it is very well made and holds up to daily use and abuse. It has kept its color and the metal parts still look good.
Date published: 2011-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice nylon halter. The design seems strong and durable. The colors is very rich and true.
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Very nice halter. It ended up being to small for my adult miniatures, but works well on my yearlings. Put together extremely well. Very durable
Date published: 2011-03-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not happy The halter is very heavy and I should of really checked it out before I put my horses name plate on it. Some parts were twisted and sewed together. I have a feeling it might give my horse a rub. It is my fault for not examining it more carefully.
Date published: 2010-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one STURDY halter! My horse's narrow face is difficult to fit. He is also on the low end of the weight the big D halter is made to fit, so the chin strap is set to the smallest adjustment possible and could still stand to be a bit smaller-but it works ok. The throat strap is too big for him right now and I wish it could be made adjustable. My husband added a couple of holes in the head strap because it was still too big for him at his current size. So we had to modify that for wear at this time. But this halter will be durable for a looong time and I know it will continue to adjust. My horse is only 20 months old and the Big D halter is the 5th halter I have bought for him. It is so well made it just may be the last one I ever have to buy.
Date published: 2010-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter Good quality from Big D, as usual. If you need to use a chain this is not the best halter since it has the adjustable chin strap.
Date published: 2010-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! I bought this halter for my mare about 2 years ago. I love the forest green color. It fits great and is very durable.
Date published: 2010-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bid D Nylon Halter Love these halters, I will only buy and use this brand.
Date published: 2010-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was pleasantly suprised to find this halter had a throatlatch snap as well as an adjustable noseband, great deal for the price!
Date published: 2010-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best nylon halter I have several Big D nylon halters and I have never had one break. I have one gelding who has had his for about 15 years and it shows no sign of breaking down anytime soon.Best nylon halter out there!
Date published: 2010-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good.. So far my draft cross has not broken it. I bought this one because it was guaranteed not to break. I was skeptical, but despite some early testing by my mare, it has held. I am hoping this halter continues to live up to it's promise:)
Date published: 2009-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great construction for a good price I was plesantly suprised at the quality of the hardware on this halter. For the price it is well made and very adjustable. My horse's head is hard to fit so it is a little big for her but overall I would recommend this product
Date published: 2009-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I'd been looking for a Big D halter for my horse for awhile and was so happy to find one at SmartPak. These halters are well made and don't fray on the edges like other nylon halters. The holes on the crownpiece don't have any metal grommets that can be lost or twisted. It's adjustable noseband means that you have more flexibility in making sure it fits your horse properly. SO happy with this halter!
Date published: 2009-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter for the price I got the colt 6-11 month size for my 10 month old ASB cross filly and it fits her perfectly. its not big and bulky like a lot of nylon halters are so reflects the size of her head nicely.
Date published: 2009-06-23
  • 2016-10-23T11:44CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_7531, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders