Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D Nylon Halter

Big D
- Item #17531
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy and classic halter that is a barn staple.  Adjustable chin and rolled throatlatch snap to ensure a perfect fit. 

Favorite Features

  • Rot-resistant heavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled for strength.
  • Big D-exclusive heavy duty brass plated buckles, rings, and squares are designed for years of use.
  • Buckles are designed for easy on and off use.
  • Buckle tongue is 5mm in thickness for extra strength.

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up

Miniature
M (800-1100 lbs)
L (1100-1500 lbs)


Please note, this is not a breakaway halter, and is unlikely to break under pressure.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is ...
    Description:
    The Kensington Breakaway Halter Set with Lead is stylish and functional! Favorite Features Triple stitch, 1" nylon webbing with padded nose band Leather breakaway at buckle and snap at throat Matching 9.5 ft. 5/8" poly lead adds a touch of ...
    The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by ...
    Description:
    The Hybrid Halter genius design was invented by Kalley Krickeberg's Horse Education Company. The Hybrid Halter is a combination halter for universal use. With the Hybrid Halter you will have improved training results, better control, and more convenience when compared ...
    The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives ...
    Description:
    The SmartPak Beta and Cotton Breakaway Halter gives breakaway a whole new look! Heavy cotton webbing combined with brightly colored, and durable beta make this halter sturdy and eye catching. The easily replaceable break-away tab makes it safe and convenient! ...
    This perfect sheet for spring and fall weather ...
    Description:
    This perfect sheet for spring and fall weather when days tend to be cool and windy or keeping your horse clean at horse shows. This sheet is durable without being too heavy. Favorite Features Light weight 420 Denier breathable nylon ...
    The Big D Custom Nylon Stable Sheet is ...
    Description:
    The Big D Custom Nylon Stable Sheet is the perfect sheet for spring and fall weather when days tend to be cool and windy.  Also works great at keeping your horse clean at horse shows!  The perfect combination of being ...
    The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle ...
    Description:
    The Schockemohle Memphis Padded Halter is a Schockemohle best seller! This versatile halter is perfect for show and daily work in the barn. The crown piece and noseband is padded with soft fleece for your horse's comfort. Favorite Features Made ...
    A match made in blanket heaven. Whether used ...
    Description:
    A match made in blanket heaven. Whether used alone or layered, you'll have the correct combo for any temperature. Favorite Features Made of a lightweight and durable 420 Denier breathable nylon All American blanket is contoured, comfortable and warm with ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Nylon Halter is rated 4.4407 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, good fit I just bought this halter, and am happy with the construction. I have only used it a couple of times, so I can't attest to its durability, but it looks like it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2015-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter for the price purchased halter for horse that lives in pasture, hanging a halter of leather whether crown or whole halter out at the gate is not worth it, the leather just gets ruined, so purchased this nylon halter for that purpose, nicely adjustable for size of nose and head.. when wet tho this halter stretches and when hot dry in the sun, shrinks.. but have noticed that with all other nylon halters as well so not just a flaw with this brand
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quality is great, but doesn't fit Bought the miniature size for my mini mare. It barely fits my mini foal. Wherever these are made, they must have ultra tiny minis. I'll probably end up using it for my sheep instead.Also, I don't care for the hook clipping to the outside. We've had horses get their halters stuck on the fence when they're rubbing against it. That's why I needed a new one. The horse struggled to get free and bent the snap hook. Hooks should be able to go in or out depending on the preferences of the owner. My horses don't wear halters when in their home pastures - but if they do have them on, it shouldn't be so easy to get hung up.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Material is soft yet durable. Doesn't scratch the face and the hardware is top quality. Fit is a bit big for my 1000 lb. Arabian gelding, but the multiple adjustments available make it work nicely.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! THis halter is really nice and sturdy, it's a little big for my Warmblood's head (I got a large) but he will live. I like the color, thick nylon and tough hard wear. I like this halter.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fine Just wanted a sturdy barn halter with throat latch.  I might say it runs a tad small.  I got navy with brass which looks a bit cheap.  Their nickel looks a little spiffier.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! My horse had broken 2 halters previously from other companies and when I saw this halter, I knew it would be perfect for him due to the heavy-duty quality!  The hunter green looks great on him too!  Thank you for another great product!
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy! I put this on my Polish Warmblood and he is usually really rough with his halters but this one had held up great! Hardly comes off and easy to maintain. My only problem after a while the brass color fades but still looks great!
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality So far, so good! This halter is very well made and very adjustable to get the perfect fit.
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made halter. I am very pleased with its durability and ease of adjustment.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great halter this halter is a nice one runs a little big but has great snaps and looks great
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter Great halter - durable and made well. Wish they had more color options, but great quality.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I love Big D halters. Great quality. This halter comes in all the sizes needed for growing foals, weanlings, 2 years olds and adults.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice nylon halter, about what you'd expect I ordered this for a 17-hand Percheron cross who has a BIG head. I initially ordered the 1500+ pound size, but that one was too big even for my horse. I sent it back and SmartPak exchanged it, no problem, for the next size down. I'm not crazy about the look of the "gold" hardware. It doesn't look like brass, and overall I'd prefer steel or chrome.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Run Large Size Large was way too big on my large-headed quarter horse. "Medium" fits both my quarter horse and my Morgan mare, on tightest fitting. A new feature is a keeper on the chin strap. It makes adjustments more difficult, but hopefully it will keep the ends from fraying. Also, no grommets just hemmed holes. I plan to purchase another one as most web halters are of poor quality these days.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not quite the right size. I originally purchased a medium sized halter for my 16 hand AQHA gelding, but the fit was a bit tight. I then exchanged that halter for a large, which took about two weeks (so not the fastest turnaround, but pretty good) to get back to me. The large was entirely too big, there was no way to take it up to where he could wear it. My boy is average; he wears a medium Crusader fly mask with room to spare, average size bridles fit fine, and I had no problems fitting his other halter, so I was a bit disappointed that the sizing didn't work for him. This time I'm just going for a credit- I know that Smartpak will have something else I can find to spend it on!The quality for the halter looks to be nice, the buckles were nice and heavy- they didn't feel like they would break easy at all. I never got to try it out to see how it really holds up.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Excellent quality and great price. I ordered the wrong size and realized that the minute I saw the halters. With one phone call a very nice young lady, guided me to the right size and shipped them out to me the next day. I returned the halters (via UPS) that were too small and received my credit on my card in a few days. Love this company.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good everyday halter I was looking for an everyday barn halter and I have a warmblood with a very large head. I got the draft size at first and it was way too big, so I exchanged for a large and it fits ok. It is a little on the small side. Also if you have cross ties, the size of the hardware on either side of the halter are too thick for the snaps that our barn uses on the cross ties, so I will look for a different brand next time for that reason. It is well made. My daughter decorated it with fabric paint and it is super cute.
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter this is a good halter with nice features, i would have liked a wider size range however as the horse size is a little too small with not enough room for adjustments and the extra large warmblood size would have been too big; overall though a nice halter
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter! Love this halter. The nylon is very soft. I imagine it's a lot more comfy on my horse's face than the stiffer nylon halters. It's very adjustable, too! The horse size fits my TB mare great.
    Date published: 2012-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Halters These are nice, practical halters but one word of warning - if you're ordering these in mini horse size, they will not fit a size B mini. Mine were way too small for even my 33" miniature horse.
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Fit Bought this for my Belgian Mare. Fits well with room to spare.Nice quality to the holes and buckles.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter. I have a mare that has figured out how to get out of breakaway halters, so she is back in Nylon. It fits well, the material is great, and it seems like it will last a long time. I would definitely order it again.
    Date published: 2012-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, solid halter Great halter. Took a little playing to get the right size: my gelding, who's 16hh and about 1000lbs, has a fairly "average" sized head, but is thick through the throatlatch area (to give an idea of his size, his bridle has cob-sized cheek pieces, but an oversize browband and throatlatch). Tried the Medium, and could BARELY get it on with the loosest settings. SmartPak's awesome about returns, of course, so I exchanged it for a Large. Fits great.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quality and Great Colors Love these halters for my little horses (minis). There are great colors to choose from. They are study and a quality product. Heavy hardware for strength and durability. These are a much higher quality than what I find at my local feed/tack stores for the same price. Highly recommend this product for your horse. The stylish colors are for you!
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Good price for a nice average halter. It has the adjustable nose band and a snap on the throat latch which were 2 of the things I was looking in for a nylon halter.
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good halter I was looking for a good quality "regular" everyday halter. This seems to be it. Haven't used it long enough to speak to durability (which is the reason for the 4 stars on quality), but so far it has stood up well to hanging outside the turnout fields in all weather and occasionally falling in the mud. It has a good feel, looks nice, the hardware seems solid and is adjustable in the right places, no unnecessary frills but everything I need. And it fits well - I like the many different sizes. Medium horse fits my 16.1 hand warmblood, head a little bigger than a cob but regular horse-sized is often slightly big on him, perfectly. (Though in truth he's probably more than 1100 lbs...!!)I consider this a good purchase and intend to buy more of them.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice, nice halter This is probably the nicest halter I have ever purchased. It is made of thick and sturdy materials. It is the Cadillac of halters. I purchased the green one and it looks great on my sorrel gelding.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big D Halter = Big The weight guidelines for the halter size are a little off. My horse fit in the XL category but the halter was way too big. Smart Pak kindly replaced it with a Large and it's great! We love it :)
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter I bought this halter and really enjoy the way it is adjustable at the nose band too. I like the clip feature. This is a sturdy and well made halter but the adjustability of it is what makes it my favorite because one size does not really fit all. The color is beautiful too.
    Date published: 2011-09-24
    • 2016-05-02T15:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_7531, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders