Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet

Big D
- Item #16482
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor.


Favorite Feature

  • Waterproof
  • The tailored shoulder gussets together with the VELCRO® brand and double front closure prevent sagging and rubs
  • Blanket twisting and turning is minimized with adjustable surcingles and removable leg straps
  • Longer cut, self closing tail flap protects the hindquarters from wind
  • Mesh lining
  • Fleeced wither

Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

68"-84" (2" increments)

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    This is the blanket that inspired it all! ...
    Description:
    This is the blanket that inspired it all! The Rhino SmartPak Collection Wug Turnout was created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland for the most fashionable and functional turnout around. Rhino's exclusive Barrier Technology means that even ...
    The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is ...
    Description:
    The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon ...
    The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout blanket provides ...
    Description:
    The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout blanket provides value and durability in one. This turnout blanket has a classic fit and is available in Lite (no fill), Medium/Lite (100g), Medium (250g), and Heavy (400g) weights. Imported. Favorite Features Waterproof and ...
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses ...
    Description:
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses and with an assortment of thoughtful features, the Rockin' SP Classic Waterproof Blanket is an unbeatable value for a waterproof, yet breathable turnout. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and shorter ...
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet is rated 4.4615 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made... This is really a premium turnout sheet, extremely well made, and looks great!
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great. This sheet is large enough to cover my draft cross mare. It has a long drop so she remains dry even thru a windy rainy day.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Magnum turnout sheet Absolutely the best turnout sheet.in fact I only buy Big D sheets and blankets for my horses.Superior quality and fit
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits well, but I have not used it much I got this about a month ago when it was really rakny in my area, but it has been nice for awhile now so it is just hanging waiting for the next rainstorm.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Turnout Sheet I bought this turnout sheet for my 18 year-old OTTB. The quality is very good and looks great on him. I wanted a sheet that would protect his thin skin from chilly windy spring weather when he needs a little more protection from rain and snow showers, but would not cause him to become overheated in the stall at night. I ordered a size 76 and a 74 would have probably been a slightly better fit but it wasn't enough of a difference to send it back. I also thought the sheet was a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Fit Large Horse Well Just bought an 86" for my 17 hand appendix QH gelding. I have tried lots of different blankets on without problem and this is the worst fitting blanket for my big horse. He is a fairly big bodied horse and it is really tight through the neck and the leg straps aren't long enough to attach. I have never had this problem with any other blanket brand. The blanket construction seems to be good quality, just the cut isn't right for my horse at all. Unfortunately I wasn't careful when I tried it the first time and just put it on him when he is dirty so I am not able to return it.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product - just wrong size I bought this for my very large qh, wonderful product just the fit was wrong for him. I am going to try a Horseware product.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks awesome on my horse Just got a new horse and this looks awesome on him!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 5 stars for one, 3 for another I have 2 draft mules that wear the same size blanket, but are built differently, so the same blanket doesn't always fit both. I ordered one of these sheets for the one mule I was sure it would fit. I love it. Great fit, excellent quality. 5 stars.I tried it on the other mule and it fit her as well, so I ordered another one in the same size. The second one I received is not exactly the same. It has d-rings for attaching a neck cover (no big deal), but also fits tighter around the neck. And, worst of all, it stinks. Literally. Like rubber tires. Even after several days of hanging in the shed and one overnight wearing. I'm not going to bother returning it, because it is servicable. The quality of construction is just as good as the first one. But, if I had received this one first, I wouldn't have ordered a second one.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Magnum Lite Turnout I bought the Big D Magnum Lite Turnout a month ago, love it. Very durable, breathable, keeps my horse dry, fit and quality is great tru to Big D hosreware.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout I bought this a little over a year and a half ago. Still amazing. Used on my Large Quarter Pony with large shoulders, fits great (true to size). Stays put through rolling.
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, sturdy turnout sheet! I purchased this sheet just as the weather was turning... Even though the temps weren't chilly, Turn outs are a bit breezy and I was looking for something my thin skinned thoroughbred warm enough in the wind but light enough for him in his stall- This seems to fit all the requests. Additionally, I have checked both when he is turned out or in and he has never been overheated. Definitely a keeper! I think this will make a nice base sheet when our weather gets colder. Fit is good, generous. I could have ordered down a size. He measures for a 78, a 76 probably would have fit better, but the difference wasn't enough to return it.
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality I was impressed how well it is made and reinforced.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sheet ever! Excellent quality.... Perfect fit .... Well made....
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the turning season Am so happy I found this turn out sheet, best one ever.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for a stocky horse! I was trying to find a replacement for my Rambo Quarter horse sheet that would properly fit my very stocky connemara cross. This is the second year I've used it and I love it! It doesn't rub him, it fits perfecly, and seems to be true to size. Great blanket!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good sheet in terms of quality and fit. I've tried different brands of blankets, on my stocky Quarter Horse and none of them fit quite right. This one fit her perfecly. I like the netting over the back as it helps keep her from getting too warm while she is shedding her winter hair. It is roomy and she is able to move around freely, without worry of rubbing hair off the shoulders or withers. The dark finish on the hardware is a plus.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits our hard to fit horses and gets the job done! We have 2 horses, a Connemara and a Quarter Pony. Both have large chests/shoulders and the pony was gifted with the hindquarters of a Belgian Blue Cow (google is helpful with this image). Not only do the blankets fit them both marvelously they also look extremely dapper, classy, and chic while wearing them. The pony is also notoriously "houdiniesque" when it comes to his blankets but while sporting this one we found it hadn't moved an inch. The fancy bells and whistles (1200 Denier ripstop, VELCRO front closure) made this sheet a VERY durable fit.The sheets were purchased with the intent of only wearing them in the serious wind/rain/snow during the more bitter months of the year. Thus far they have withstood the elements with as much grace as they have our ponies. We just recently had a very heavy snow and the blankets (and ponies!) stayed dry. I don't feel as though they offer very much in the ways of keeping your horse toasty warm but this was not the intent when we purchased these, so no complaints there. That being said this sheet is no flimsy wind breaker; it is heavy and would probably cause a horse to sweat in the hotter months. All in all I would recommend this sheet to anyone who wants to feel confident in the craftsmanship and durability of a sheet along with keeping a horse very comfortably and stylishly out of the elements.  
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like how it fits on my two year old colt. The colors look great on my colt and the overall quality of the material will make the blanket last for a long time.
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent turn out heavy weight sheet I bought this for my older gelding and liked it so much that I bought 2 more- one for each of my mares. Excellent fit, and superior quality.
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Features Great quality, really liked the lining, Fit was just right.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Turnout Bought this for 15.1 H average size paint. 78 fit perfectly and that is his normal size. So, the sizing is right on. As everyone says, it LOOKS amazing. Very durable and user friendly. I am normally a Rambo lover, but this particular gelding fits best in Big D clothes. It is a very very nice sheet and I would definitely recommend it to others.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and beautiful I bought two of these blankets in 2010, with the exception of some fading on one, these blankets last and have stoop up to the rowdiest horses in our herd. They fit our Morgans and Saddlebreds very well without any rubbing or shifting. The waterproofing is still working great after a few years of use and regular seasonal washing. All of that and they are handsome to boot! These blankets are a great choice for your lighter built breeds, and the price is right. Looking forward to adding a few more to our blanket collection this winter.
    Date published: 2013-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice blanket fits very well in the shoulders of my two quarter horse mares. nice turnout!
    Date published: 2013-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice turnout blanket I bought this turnout because all of the rest I had tried were too snug in the shoulders on my two quarter horse mares. One is 15'1 and the other 15'2 hands. All the other turnouts rubbed the hair off. These blankets fit very well with more room around the shoulders and neck. It fits perfect!
    Date published: 2013-06-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Returned it But not because of quality. I had read a previous review about the neck size being too tight on a larger horse but I wanted to try it anyway. That review was correct. On the 86 size the neck was just too tight for my 17.1 Hanoverian. Everything else looked great.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! I have a connemara and I usually buy him Rambo Quarter Horse blankets, but they have been discontinued.. so I figured I'd try Big D since they're also designed for big bodied, quarter horse body styles. So far I love this blanket! Fits him great and seems to be true to size.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet Very impressed with the quality, water repellent, fit & look of this turnout sheet. I have an average size QH & the fit is true to size. Also, my horse is turned out with three other horse & it withstandstheir "horsing " around! I think the sheet falls alittle bit longer which I think protects them from the weather, keeping them dry in the rain along with the warmth in the fall season.
    Date published: 2012-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my Appendix QH very well! I got this blanket for my Appendix QH, I always had trouble with blanketing him because they all "choked" him and rubbed him shoulders... Not this one! It does sag a little after a week of usage though. Keeps my guy warm from 25-40 degrees! I highly reccomend it for QH, TWH and other breeds that have the same problem I did.
    Date published: 2012-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse is hard on clothes! I purchased this sheet last year for my small Iberian type built mustang. He has a medium neck set that is hard to fit. The QH type blankets fall behind his wither and rub and choke him in the front. He also detests clothing and really tries to chew straps and rip material. The Chest strap ends are mildly frayed but still very usable and the rest of the sheet is pristine. I think this is the one that will teach him to leave it alone!! The blanket is also very balanced and doesn't move. I use it to combat wind chill and rain/snow so I don't use it above 45* F or he will get warm because he grows a very fuzzy coat on his own. I love it so much I am replacing my other two sheets for my other two mustangs even though they are still in good shape just having minor fit issues like stated above with the QH type blankets.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    • 2016-05-06T12:43CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_6482, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders