Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet

Big D
- Item #16482
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor.

Imported

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Also Available:
Matching Big D Magnum Heavy Turnout Blanket (Fill: 300g)

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • The tailored shoulder gussets together with the VELCRO® brand and double front closure prevent sagging and rubs
  • Blanket twisting and turning is minimized with adjustable surcingles and removable leg straps
  • Longer cut, self closing tail flap protects the hindquarters from wind
  • Mesh lining
  • Fleeced wither

 

Key Specifications
  • Denier: 1200
  • Fabric: Rip-stop exterior
  • Fill: 0g
  • Closure Style: VELCRO brand and double front closure

Sizing

Available in sizes 68"-84" (2" increments)

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

How to measure a horse

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 1200
Fabric Rip-stop exterior
Fill 0g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Lining Mesh
Gussets Yes
Closure Style VELCRO brand and double front closure
Neck Style Regular neck
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood Not Available
Special Features Rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The new Mio Fly Sheet is made from ...
    Description:
    "The new Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathable soft knitted polyester fabric with UV protection to keep your horse cool and protected from the sun and bugs all summer long. Imported."
    "The Big D Cotton Closed Front Stable Sheet ...
    Description:
    "The Big D Cotton Closed Front Stable Sheet will make a great low maintenance addition to your horses wardrobe! This sheet comes pre-shrunk with color fast which means that it is fade resistant ensuring that the color will stay fresh ...
    "Voted the ""Best Summer Turnout"" out by John ...
    Description:
    "Voted the ""Best Summer Turnout"" out by John Lyons ""The Perfect Horse"", the Saratoga Summer Turnout is the best selling flysheet from Saratoga Horseworks. The fabric is non-absorbent and wicks away sweat from the horse allowing it to cool more ...
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Also Available: Matching Amigo ...
    "Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and ...
    Description:
    "Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Sheet is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse dry in wet and chilly weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse ...
    "Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The ...
    Description:
    "Fly protection has never been more beautiful! The fabric of the Kensington Polymax Fly Sheet shimmers in the sunlight and provides durable protection against biting insects. Ultra-breathable, the sheet keeps your horse comfortable in the summer heat. The Kensington Polymax ...
    "It is the ultimate armor to protect your ...
    Description:
    "It is the ultimate armor to protect your horse from the pests of summer! Lightweight mesh sheet with oversized tail flap and removable neck rug provides a layer of physical protection from poll to tail to keep bugs off your ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Magnum Turnout Sheet is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 60.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Magnum Blanket Review Having used numerous Big D stable blankets and sheets (which all fit),image my surprise when after three days I found hip and shoulder blanket rubs on my short backed APHA mare. I am very disappointed and had to order a Rambo.
    Date published: 2016-10-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from poorly made I bought this sheet expecting it to hold up to outdoor use, but it did not. The horse I got it for only wears it during windy rain storms, and he is NOT a blanket destroyer, so it does not get a lot of use. Within a few weeks of receiving it the stitching that holds the buckles on the front unraveled, so I had to take it in for repair. A few weeks after that the stitching on the front corner binding also fell out, allowing a big loop to form. I didn't want to cut it off because that might void any warranty; luckily he didn't put a leg through the loop. When I cleaned it up after winter, I discovered the inner lining was tearing right where the Big-D logo & belly straps were stitched on (there's no heavy nylon backing like other brands have), the inner waterproofing was peeling off, the seam tape was cracked & peeling, and the hook side of the chest velcro had completely disintegrated, the tiny hooks were crumbling into plastic powder & falling off. The ONE good thing about this rug is it's still mostly waterproof over the back. If Big D would use better quality materials (cotton thread should NEVER be used in outdoor products) this would be a good rug, but they don't, so it's not.
    Date published: 2016-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely turnout sheet I love this sheet. It is durable, well made, rain proof, fits well and looks great.
    Date published: 2016-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great weight! Highly recommend
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket Purchased the 76 " to fit my 15 h, moderately chunky QH. It fits him very well through neck and shoulders- just like the picture. He usually wears a 75" blanket- I should have ordered the 74 but was too lazy to send it back. Well made; my only complaint is that I wish the chest buckles had dee rings and snaps like the Weatherbeater but on the other hand, I am disappointed that the snaps on the newer Weatherbeater don't seem to last that well.
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great turn out sheet I bought this sheet about a month ago. It is true to size. It is nice and roomy in the front legs for movement. It is easy on and off. I am very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good quality, pretty decent fit This sheet has been on my 15.2H paint mare for the past two weeks during a fluctuating Michigan winter...freezing rain, snow, rain, thaw and back again. It's held up really well, no rips, even though she's in with 5 other horses and plays rough. Good construction, waterproofing, all the buckles and stitching are quality. The fit is pretty good... I always have trouble finding a sheet that will stay put and not stray backwards, but this one stays where it should be and allows greater range of movement in the shoulders that other blankets I've owned. There was a little bit of rubbing right under the neck near her chest, since this blanket fits snugly around the neck (which helps it stay in place). I can see how horses with a bigger neck and chest wouldn't fit in this blanket. That said, I'm pleased that it's holding up well so far, and hope she'll get lots of good use out of it.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable & Waterproof Very nice, strong rain sheet. Water & windproof. Just perfect for keeping my senior horse dry.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great! We were looking for a light weight sheet to keep the rain and mud off our guys, and this definitely fits the bill. This sheet fits our Quarter Horses great with plenty of room in the shoulder and rump, and long enough to cover well. This is the first time we tried the Big D brand, and we're glad we did!
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made... This is really a premium turnout sheet, extremely well made, and looks great!
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great. This sheet is large enough to cover my draft cross mare. It has a long drop so she remains dry even thru a windy rainy day.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Magnum turnout sheet Absolutely the best turnout sheet.in fact I only buy Big D sheets and blankets for my horses.Superior quality and fit
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits well, but I have not used it much I got this about a month ago when it was really rakny in my area, but it has been nice for awhile now so it is just hanging waiting for the next rainstorm.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Turnout Sheet I bought this turnout sheet for my 18 year-old OTTB. The quality is very good and looks great on him. I wanted a sheet that would protect his thin skin from chilly windy spring weather when he needs a little more protection from rain and snow showers, but would not cause him to become overheated in the stall at night. I ordered a size 76 and a 74 would have probably been a slightly better fit but it wasn't enough of a difference to send it back. I also thought the sheet was a good value for the price.
    Date published: 2015-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't Fit Large Horse Well Just bought an 86" for my 17 hand appendix QH gelding. I have tried lots of different blankets on without problem and this is the worst fitting blanket for my big horse. He is a fairly big bodied horse and it is really tight through the neck and the leg straps aren't long enough to attach. I have never had this problem with any other blanket brand. The blanket construction seems to be good quality, just the cut isn't right for my horse at all. Unfortunately I wasn't careful when I tried it the first time and just put it on him when he is dirty so I am not able to return it.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality product - just wrong size I bought this for my very large qh, wonderful product just the fit was wrong for him. I am going to try a Horseware product.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks awesome on my horse Just got a new horse and this looks awesome on him!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 5 stars for one, 3 for another I have 2 draft mules that wear the same size blanket, but are built differently, so the same blanket doesn't always fit both. I ordered one of these sheets for the one mule I was sure it would fit. I love it. Great fit, excellent quality. 5 stars.I tried it on the other mule and it fit her as well, so I ordered another one in the same size. The second one I received is not exactly the same. It has d-rings for attaching a neck cover (no big deal), but also fits tighter around the neck. And, worst of all, it stinks. Literally. Like rubber tires. Even after several days of hanging in the shed and one overnight wearing. I'm not going to bother returning it, because it is servicable. The quality of construction is just as good as the first one. But, if I had received this one first, I wouldn't have ordered a second one.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Magnum Lite Turnout I bought the Big D Magnum Lite Turnout a month ago, love it. Very durable, breathable, keeps my horse dry, fit and quality is great tru to Big D hosreware.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout I bought this a little over a year and a half ago. Still amazing. Used on my Large Quarter Pony with large shoulders, fits great (true to size). Stays put through rolling.
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, sturdy turnout sheet! I purchased this sheet just as the weather was turning... Even though the temps weren't chilly, Turn outs are a bit breezy and I was looking for something my thin skinned thoroughbred warm enough in the wind but light enough for him in his stall- This seems to fit all the requests. Additionally, I have checked both when he is turned out or in and he has never been overheated. Definitely a keeper! I think this will make a nice base sheet when our weather gets colder. Fit is good, generous. I could have ordered down a size. He measures for a 78, a 76 probably would have fit better, but the difference wasn't enough to return it.
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality I was impressed how well it is made and reinforced.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best sheet ever! Excellent quality.... Perfect fit .... Well made....
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the turning season Am so happy I found this turn out sheet, best one ever.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for a stocky horse! I was trying to find a replacement for my Rambo Quarter horse sheet that would properly fit my very stocky connemara cross. This is the second year I've used it and I love it! It doesn't rub him, it fits perfecly, and seems to be true to size. Great blanket!
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good sheet in terms of quality and fit. I've tried different brands of blankets, on my stocky Quarter Horse and none of them fit quite right. This one fit her perfecly. I like the netting over the back as it helps keep her from getting too warm while she is shedding her winter hair. It is roomy and she is able to move around freely, without worry of rubbing hair off the shoulders or withers. The dark finish on the hardware is a plus.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits our hard to fit horses and gets the job done! We have 2 horses, a Connemara and a Quarter Pony. Both have large chests/shoulders and the pony was gifted with the hindquarters of a Belgian Blue Cow (google is helpful with this image). Not only do the blankets fit them both marvelously they also look extremely dapper, classy, and chic while wearing them. The pony is also notoriously "houdiniesque" when it comes to his blankets but while sporting this one we found it hadn't moved an inch. The fancy bells and whistles (1200 Denier ripstop, VELCRO front closure) made this sheet a VERY durable fit.The sheets were purchased with the intent of only wearing them in the serious wind/rain/snow during the more bitter months of the year. Thus far they have withstood the elements with as much grace as they have our ponies. We just recently had a very heavy snow and the blankets (and ponies!) stayed dry. I don't feel as though they offer very much in the ways of keeping your horse toasty warm but this was not the intent when we purchased these, so no complaints there. That being said this sheet is no flimsy wind breaker; it is heavy and would probably cause a horse to sweat in the hotter months. All in all I would recommend this sheet to anyone who wants to feel confident in the craftsmanship and durability of a sheet along with keeping a horse very comfortably and stylishly out of the elements.  
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like how it fits on my two year old colt. The colors look great on my colt and the overall quality of the material will make the blanket last for a long time.
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent turn out heavy weight sheet I bought this for my older gelding and liked it so much that I bought 2 more- one for each of my mares. Excellent fit, and superior quality.
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Features Great quality, really liked the lining, Fit was just right.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    • y_2017, m_2, d_24, h_18
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_6482, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders