Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Big D Magnum Heavy Turnout Blanket

Big D
- Item #16480
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout!

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor
  • Durable 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining leaves the coat looking smooth
  • Toasty warm 300 gram fiber fill lining
  • Tailored shoulder gussets together with the VELCRO® brand and double front closure prevent sagging and rubs
  • Blanket twisting and turning is minimized with adjustable surcingles and removable leg straps
  • Longer cut, self closing tail flap protects the hindquarters from wind.
  • Fleeced wither

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Magnum Heavy Turnout Blanket is rated 4.7826 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for our quarter horse - and warm bloods too. I have several Big D American's which I bought for my warmbloods and love - tailored fit and beautiful color/quality.  I get constant compliments.  With the addition of a quarter horse to our equine family we added a Magnum Heavy.  Lovely.  More compliments and clearly so well made.  We have only had it for a month so it must still stand the test of time, but by all appearances we expect great results. 
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NICE QUALITY BLANKET I PURCHASED 2 FOR MY QUARTER HORSES. I ORDERED BY THE MEASUREMENT, THEY RUN LARGE BUT HAVING STOCKY HORSES THE EXTRA IN THE SHOLDERS AND BUTT IS NICE. THEY WILL WORK WELL WHEN I GO TO THE MOUNTAINS OR BEACH AS THEY WILL FIT OVER THE BIG D MAGNUM I HAVE FOR THEM (THAT DO NOT HAVE GUSSETS) FOR THAT EXTRA WARMTH.
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I love this blanket, super durable, stands up to roughhousing, and looks great on. My only wish is that it came with hood attachments. Then it would be perfect.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Turnout Blanket Usual Big D quality and easy return on one that was too big (tho credit took a couple weeks to come thru in January). I thought there would be more insulation in it, given that it's the heavy style, but our use is over regular blanket in extremely cold weather anyway.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality What a fantastic turn-out blanket! I can not even tell you how sad it made me to return this item. My problem that did not allow me to keep this product was that the blanket went too far up the neck. I have a western pleasure horse with long mane, I would have no mane left if my horse wore this turn-out. WISH they made one that fit closer to the withers so it does not rub off mane.
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Quality for $$ This blanket seemed well-made, and was rated highly. Our horse had it less than 1 month when it was torn on the INSIDE. The outer shell is nice, repellant, and it is warm. The inner lining is cheaply made and was obviously torn too easily. For almost 200$, I expect more.
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality blanket This was nicer than expected. The warmblood horse I bought it for is very angular with a topline like a dairy cow. It fit her great and didn't rub her shoulders , withers or hips. This is a roomy blanket with long sides. It looks GREAT too. The outer shell is tough and the inner lining is smooth and coat polishing. I'm going to get a second one.
    Date published: 2012-01-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from New blanket Well, it looks good. Durability will be proven next winter - my pal is HARD on blankets! One great thing - the handle on the bag got torn (I think in packing). I called customer service, and surprise! not one but TWO replacement bags - which will gladly put to use. THANK YOU
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made turnout blanket! I just purchased the heavy turnout blanket and sheet for my Quarter horse who loves to play rough n' tough with his herdmates. The workmanship is great and I like the 2100 denier fabric (difficult to find) I like the color combination too. I was lucky enough to order these items when you offered a special price on embroidery. His name adds a nice personal touch! He measures 74", but I ordered 76" as previous reviews state these blankets run a little small. The 76" is perfect for him. Thanks Smart Pak!!!
    Date published: 2011-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will stick with they run a little small This blanket is feedlot tuff, It stands alone for quality and workmanship, others asked about this product.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I absolutely love this blanket. My OTTB has had it for at least two full winters now and the ripstop has worked well!! He is turned out daily with a 3 year old and the two of them are constantly playing! It keeps him warm even in the worst of weather (and he is a thin skinned, short coated guy). The only bad thing I can say is that it doesn't come in a variety of colors (and I really like to color coordinate)!
    Date published: 2010-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty good stuff blanket runs a little small, but excellent workmanship
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well, since you asked........ When I ordered this blanket it was on back order. I ordered the color blue. So, I waited for the blanket to come. When I got it the color was black. That's okay. I've only used this blanket once so far and with the exception that it weighs a ton I quite like it. That might be because I needed a size 86. I got it for a horse who is rough on his clothes, no dainty blankets for this one and this blanket appears to do the trick. The blanket fits true to size and looks like it will hold up for whatever Leo wants to try to do to it.
    Date published: 2009-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quite a blanket! These blankets were the heaviest we could find at 2100 denier, which was important to us because we leave our horses outside all winter, save the coldest days (below 0 days/nights), and we needed a blanket that could stand up to the herd. The blankets seem to be great quality, though I'll know for sure in the spring!! Heavier duty and has the same fill as all the Rambo blankets, but only $200!! The fit is great for our horses - we have three Arab crosses and a quarter horse, but I can see the roomier cut working on a warmblood. No rubbing after 96 hours with the blankets on. I'm pretty happy with them at this point!
    Date published: 2009-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very heavy duty So far I have been very happy with this blanket. It is super heavy duty and very attractive. I find that it fits true to size.
    Date published: 2009-02-05
    • 2015-05-26T10:05CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
    • loc_en_US, sid_6480, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.