Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Big D Espree Turnout Sheet

Big D
- Item #16488
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over.

Imported

Please note: Embroidery is recommended on the surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing abilities.



  • Waterproof
  • VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure prevents sagging
  • Tailored gussets fit the natural line of the shoulder
  • Mesh lining along the back allows for better airflow
  • Hard-wearing 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining at the hip and shoulder prevents coat damage
  • Blanket stays put with adjustable bias surcingles and removable elastic leg straps
  • Fleeced wither helps prevent rubs
  • Longer cut tail flap protects the hind end from wind

 

Key Specifications
  • Denier: 600
  • Fabric: Rip-stop exterior
  • Fill: 0g
  • Closure Style: VELCRO brand and double buckle closure

Sizing

Available in sizes 68"-84" (2" increments)

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

How to measure a horse

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 600
Fabric Rip-stop exterior
Fill 0g
Surcingles Low-cross surcingles
Gussets Yes
Closure Style VELCRO brand and double buckle closure
Neck Style Regular neck
Leg Straps/Tail Cord Leg straps
Tail Flap Yes
Neck Rug/Hood Not Available
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new ...
    Description:
    "The Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Wug is new to the Bravo range, and features Horseware's high cut neck design and V-front closure for a snug fit. 1200D polyester outer with polyester lining and front leg arch. Also Available: Matching Amigo ...
    "The Baker Fleece Dress Sheet is made from ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Fleece Dress Sheet is made from a super soft double-brushed fleece in Baker's traditional and classic plaid. This dress sheet is as warm as wool, yet lighter in weight. The Baker Fleece Dress Sheet also works double duty ...
    "The Baker Sheet is the lighter weight version ...
    Description:
    "The Baker Sheet is the lighter weight version of the famous Baker Blanket. A great option for indoor use by itself or as a layer in the colder weather. The Baker Sheet is made from vat dyed acrylic yarn and ...
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond ...
    Description:
    "The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim. Also ...
    "The Big D Cotton Closed Front Stable Sheet ...
    Description:
    "The Big D Cotton Closed Front Stable Sheet will make a great low maintenance addition to your horse's wardrobe! This sheet comes pre-shrunk with color fast which means that it is fade resistant ensuring that the color will stay fresh ...
    "The Big D Cotton Open Front Stable Sheet ...
    Description:
    "The Big D Cotton Open Front Stable Sheet will make a great low maintenance addition to your horse's wardrobe! This sheet comes pre-shrunk with color fast which means that it is fade resistant ensuring that the color will stay fresh ...
    "This sheet does a great job of protecting ...
    Description:
    "This sheet does a great job of protecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating. (Not recommended for turnout.) Imported."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Espree Turnout Sheet is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket My quarterhorse is small but very big chested. This seems to fit very well. Haven't used it yet as it has not been raining here in Seattle. If it is like the rest of the Big D products I have bought I will love it.
    Date published: 2016-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this turnout sheet! Fits great and holds up to my geldings daily mud rolling!
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits My AQH! FINALLY, I have found a a turnout sheet and blanket to fit my 15h. Quarter horse!
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great turnout sheet The Big D Espree turnout sheet is great for my horse. The fit is good and the weight of the sheet is perfect on its own or for layering.
    Date published: 2016-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit and comfort Fits my quarter horse perfectly, Big D always does (consistent in size). Great for our weather.
    Date published: 2015-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this sheet, but haven't had it on my horse I bought this sheet a few weeks ago and have yet to try it on my horse as the weather turned cool and he needed his medium blanket.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket ever I've purchased a lot of blankets over the years and this is one of the best buy so far. Great price, fits very well, and wears pretty well. I liked it so much, I purchased a couple of more blankets.
    Date published: 2015-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from really nice rain sheet I bought one of these several years ago for a different horse, loved it. I'm glad to report that the new one is just as expected. The fit is great..my 15.2 hand Lipp/Hanoverian is in a 76, my other horse was a 16.2 Rheinlander and an 80 fit her perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet! Even for stabled horses! I bought this blanket for my 15'2 Hanoverian who basically has the build of a thellwell cartoon and attitude to match. He stays inside the barn at night and honestly has no need for a "turnout" blanket or sheet. But, after blanketing a friends horse who had this product I saw how much easier it went on, breathed, how polished their coat was, how much warmer and happier they were when our crazy Texas weather would drop from 70 − 30. This year I vowed to never have 5 outfits and be THAT crazy person in the barn again. So....after ordering the sheet and blanket my nights at the barn plus my horse's sanity have been saved! They fit a variety of bodies, 3 different horses tried on a size 78" mine, a much bigger and broader horse, and then a very tall lean horse. All amazingly magically fit perfectly into the same blanket. Its like they created the true perfect fit! It sits above the withers so there is ZERO pull or shoulder rubs, straps are great, no sliding to one side or finding it upside down the next morning. It wipes off inside and out really well. The sheet washes in the washer easily and hang drys over night! I am beyond pleased with these products. The only silly complaint is that the sheet does not come in the same colors as the blanket as I ride at a show barn and that is important at times.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blanket Ripped on Day 2 Not strong enough for playful horses. Customer Service is awesome!
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Espree Turnout Sheet I was very surprised at the quality and fit of this sheet. I didn't expect it to be so nice. Would certainly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mixed Feelings I really liked the quality of the material and the look and fit of the sheet. However, after the second wear my horse must have hooked it on something in it's stall. The sheet completely ripped down two side seams and ripped one strap completely off. The material stayed strong, but the threading completely gave way. I was able to buy some thicker, stronger thread at the local craft store and repair the sheet, but it made me wish the manufacturer used a stronger quality thread in the first place. Then again, stronger thread may not have made a difference. I am going say yes in recommending this product, because my horse shares responsibility in the damage. Just be aware that I think improvement could be made in the thread quality.
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay but not perfect I bought this last fall in a tackshop - I needed a turnout sheet FAST - and this was the best option they had. It still seems to be waterproof after washing it several times in my non-commercial washer. The lining has torn in several places, but the outer shell is still intact. The outer shell feels lighter and flimsier than the Big D Magnum sheet, which I bought for a previous horse. I will be buying one of those for my horse for this winter and using this one as a backup. I think all Big D products are pretty good value for the money, but I'd rather spend a little bit more and get the sturdier option. The cut on both sheets is nice and very generous - it allows plenty of movement, and it's also not a problem to put this on over a blanket or cooler.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Turn Out Sheet! I love Big D blankets and sheets. The Espree Turnout Sheet is built as tough as all their others. It fits great and lots of room for movement.
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket I needed a turnout sheet for my 28 yr old TB. What I like is the high neck, which keeps the rain from getting under the sheet. We've only used it a couple of times but itseems durable enough. I think it runs big but thank goodness for free returns. Iexchanged it for a smaller size.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I expected! I love this sheet! I fits my horse perfectly and is true to size. I love the embroidering of his name on the back left of the sheet. Completely waterproof!
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Espree, a staple item in my horsewear items! These are fantastic turnout sheets at a great price. The cut is generous, the drop is nice and long, the neck sits in an ideal location to keep water out. I ordered this Espree for my gelding to replace his first Espree which is over 5 years old! The old one finally lost its waterproof features after 5 years of use (will no longer hold water out after re-proofing) BUT is still great for a mud sheet on rainless days and has no tears or flaws in it. The Espree is great on warmer, rainy days, as a mud sheet, or layer over a stable blanket for more warmth. Every one of my horses has one (or two) of these versatile affordable Espree turnout sheets!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lasts! I bought this last year for my 15.2 QH mare.  She is turned out nightly and loves to roll.  This is the only piece of her "wardrobe" that didn't need to be replaced this year.  In fact, it still looked new after being cleaned.  I'm very pleased with the fit, the look and the durability!
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great blanket I have owned other Big D blankets and have always been happy with them, this is no exception. The fit is good, the durability is great and I like that it has a velcro closure. I would buy this blanket again.
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Sheet I Tried I bought this shhet over a year ago for my new horse who is 17 hands. He was a little thin when I bought him, so I was worried I would get one that either rubbed or was just too big. It fit him great last year and still looks amazing on him this year. No tears or rubbing. I actually bought one for my jumper who is 15.3 hands and very hard on blankets and sheets. He hasn't damaged it at all. Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet! Really nice sheet. Fits my 15.2h QH very well. Good quality and very attractive. Looks roomy and comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great! I purchased a size 80 for my 16 hh big shouldered QH. Sheet fits great and appears to be very durable. Would recommend for stockier horses!
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from QUALITY TURN OUT Very good quality.. Ive always liked the fit of Big D and they make a quality product
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great sheet, small neck for warmblood the sheet is excellent quality, and fits through the body. but the neck opening is a bit small for my big warmblood (even in size 86). I have it on the last hole and up way past his withers, but seems a bit snug still. so that's why I put 3 stars instead of 5.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Blanket! LOVE this blanket! Seriously it's my go to blanket. It's great for cold nights or layering for really cold nights.It has lasted me many seasons and I have bought more then one for my horses.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheet I have a Tb 16.3h. 78 fits perfect. We have a Rhino wug which I like as well but he seems to get hot in it. The material is lighter than wug but feels strong. I really like the fit with gussets. The dirt brushes off real easy. Working great so far!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rain Sheet Purchased for my senior Spotted Saddle Horse mare who has recently had a change of life due to some medical issues, that moved her to a turnout with no shelter. Here in SC we have had a very mind, but rainy winter. This sheet was exactly what i was looking for, fits her great, (she is skinny through the shoulders), stays dry :) even with days of rain! Durable, my other horse borrowed it one night and enjoyed playing out in the pasture, it was dirty, but not a stitch loose or missing. I love that it is breathable, she can still be protected and dry underneath. Very well designed. I would love to have another for my other horse.
    Date published: 2012-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I love this sheet. It fits really well and looks good on. Nice attention to detail with the features on this blanket
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy for the money I have WB an other than the RAMBO blankets, few fit in the shoulders. This blanket was a fair fit, but still a little tight around the neck and shoulders. I needed a light weight turn out that breathes and the fabric was perfect.
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not "quarter horse" width !!! I was so disappointed - had to return this because it didn't fit my bulldog style quarter horse thru the shoulders. Before ordering, I tried a barn mate's size 74 - which was purchased last August - on Seguro and it fit perfectly. I ordered the same size/model but mine fit dramatically tighter through the shoulders. I don't know if this is the "new" sizing or if it was just a manufacturing flaw in this 1 sheet. I replaced it with a Rambo Quarter Horse sheet which fits beautifully (and which, unfortunately, cost twice as much)!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_13
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_6488, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders