Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Big D All American Blanket

Big D
- Item #16510
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim.


Favorite Features

  • 420 denier nylon shell
  • 275 gram fiber fill
  • Big D show coat liner, which lays the hair flat while continually polishing the horse's coat to show quality
  • Woven blanket liner to absorb body heat while allowing the blanket to breathe and reduce sweating
  • Machine washable.

Sizing It Up

Sizes 68-84.

How to measure a horse

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches ...
    Description:
    Rambo Ionic by Horseware uses tourmaline infused patches to release negative ions. Rambo Ionic combines the benefits of compression and negative ion therapy and can help to increase circulation, stimulate metabolism, and increase oxygen delivery to cells and tissue. One ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced ...
    Description:
    The Rambo Helix Stable Sheet uses an advanced fabric construction of ring spun brushed polyester with the latest in moisture management technology making this high-tech sheet Horseware's most versatile yet.  Imported. Favorite Features Moisture management technology wicks away moisture and ...
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, ...
    Description:
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, this stable blanket is cut to accomodate broader shoulders, chest, and hindquarters and features a slightly shorter drop and a cutback at the withers to provide the fit and features you need ...
    The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. ...
    Description:
    The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. This blanket has 300 grams of insulation, fur friendly taffeta lining, high bias surcingles, detachable elastic leg straps, faux beaver at the withers, surcingle front closure with elastic inserts and a detachable ...
    Top of the line features that no other ...
    Description:
    Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. Favorite Feature Waterproof ...
    The Rhino SmartPak Collection Stable Blanket will keep ...
    Description:
    The Rhino SmartPak Collection Stable Blanket will keep your horse looking stylish while staying cozy and warm in the barn this winter. Created exclusively for SmartPak by the experts at Horseware Ireland. Favorite Features Soft, anti-static microfiber lining keeps your ...
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D All American Blanket is rated 4.8667 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but! I bought this years ago & it has held up beautifully through all types of weather & horses. I was able to get strap extenders directly from the manufacturer when my mare's pregnant belly outgrew the flap! Would definitely buy another IF this one ever wears out!
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blanket great- but came with torn bag :( I love Big Ds blankets but I am unhappy that it came with a torn bag as we use them for transport and storage. I contacted Smartpak about the bag and was told they would contact someone. I have never heard back. I also wrote Big D directly to no avail. It might not seem like a big deal to them but it is for those of us that travel a lot.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality We purchased this Big D blanket for our new 16.2 horse and the quality is exactly as described. The blanket looks great and it looks as though it was made just for him.
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the standard and smaller horses well I've purchased Big D blankets for years. They fit well and launder time after time.
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BIG D BLANKET I PURCHASED THIS BLANKET ABOUT A MONTH AGO, I AM A BIG BLANKET USER, THIS BLANKET IS OF GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE, I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND TO MY FRIENDS, I BOUGHT THIS ALONG WITH THE HOOD, THIS KEEPS MY MARE WARM AND CLEAN THESE 2 PRODUCT WORK GREAT TOGETHER
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits great I just got a new horse & wasn't sure on the size he would need, the size chart was so helpful & the colors that I needed were an exact match,
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Blanekts Are Awesome! I love these blankets! Perfect for horses that are kept in a stable. All four of my quarter horses have them. For how light they are for being "heavy blankets", they keep the horses so warm! Not only do they keep the horses warm, but the blankets fit all of them perfectly. :)
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket. What I expect from Big D :) An excellent stable blanket. Always excellent, durable quality from Big D and prompt shipping from Smartpak. This blanket fit my 15.3, APHA mare perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D All American Blanket I purchase 2 Big D All Amercan Blankets. Great fit, warmth and quality. I appreciate the rapid delivery. I have bought them in the past and will definitely purchase them again.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, durable, warm and looks great. Smartpak is the best! I bought this blanket for my horse and love it so much that I bought another one for our pony. Unfortunately, the size I ordered didn't fit him, so Smartpak took it back despite it being monogrammed. They immediately sent another in a bigger size and it fits perfectly. It runs TTS; I ordered incorrectly.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for muscular horse I bought this a few weeks ago as my Arab gelding had muscled up so much over the summer that his more streamlined blanket was tight in the chest. I ordered the same size as his other blanket (72") but it was way too short along his back. The 76" replacement fit perfectly. He now has plenty of chest room and seems to enjoy the cutback wither.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's cold out there! I have been using Big D Blankets for over 20 years. They never disappoint in their quality. I own Quarter Horses and these blankets seem to fit them much better thanother blankets. Also I received my blanket very quickly. Both horse and owner are very happy!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof- more a sponge than a blanket The first time I put this blanket on my horse there was a light rain and it turned into a sponge, soaking my horse to the bone. I guess people keep their horses in the house these days. I bought it to replace a warn, $60 light blanket I bought 2 years ago that kept him warm and dry. I thought it would be better because I always bought Big D when I had show horses. Never again!
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality! i bought this blanket a week ago. And i love it! the only thing i can say negative is it runs big. My horses turn out blanket is an 81, but Big D has either an 80 or 82, so i got the 82... my mistake lol, it isn't horrible length wise, but the drop goes down to his hock instead of his gaskin... and he's 16.2 so he doesn't lack leg length! haha Any way the embroidery is great and the blanket is amazing quality! i would just recommend sizing down, especially if you get it customized and cant take it back. :)
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Show Blanket I bought this horse before we went to the Congress and got his name on it. Nice quality sheet. I wouldnt use it for a turnout blanket though.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy only Big D Glenn Drake makes a great product-----we have always bought direct from Glenn, but we needed a quick blanket for a yearling heading off for training and your price and quick ship got our order.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite blanket This blanket fits really well and stays in place. I got the closed-front, leaving less room for error when my kids are doing the blanketing, and it fits our welsh pony perfectly. The outer shell feels durable enough to hold up during turnout. I like this blanket so much that I just ordered a second one for my wb.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I love this stable blanket. It fits my quarter horse perfectly, keeps his coat smooth and doesn't pull at the withers. He's nice and warm too.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These blankets are great! They fit quarter horses and thoroughbreds. They hold up well and are comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Fits Great" I bought this blanket a couple of weeks ago but I haven't used it yet not cold enought. But I believe it will be great.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket I had this blanket for my old mare and when I sold her and bought my new pony I was looking everywhere for It. I'm so glad I found it at smartpak and got it within a week of ordering it. And it fits him like a glove.
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit. This is the second Big D All American blanket I bought. Got another horse and tried a different, cheaper blanket but it didn't fit well and kept sliding back and then would get too snug... and my horse was shivering in the morning. We did have minus 10 deg that night and the blanket was lined but a much lighter weight than the Big D All American. Got another Big D for the new horse and it fits great, good contour, good quality and keeps him warm. My new horse is gaited and has a rather thick neck and I would suggest going a size larger than what they measure for this type of horse. I will stick with the Big D for winter blankets.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Jo was so happy and gorgeous in the blanket. Will order this product again.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true. Have Used These Blankets For Years And Know The Fit And Quality To expect.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D blankets Awesome value and great looking . Add to the product SMARTPAKS' excellent and flawless customer service ...you cannot go wrong .LOEV SMARTPAK !!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Stockier Horses I've always bought Rambo blankets and Baker blankets, but on one of my horses, they were always particularly tight on the chest. This blanket was perfect for him, as it has a completely different cut on the front of it that allows more room for the chest. I have the open front and love it. There is no velcro which means it takes a little more time to fasten, but it always works no matter how much fur or dirt gets on it.This runs very large - definitely order at least one size down than you usually do!This is a heavier stable blanket and is very well-insulated. It's very well-made!
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always quality great fit, warmth without bulk, can easily be layered
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always buy Big D blankets They fit arabs very well, they last decades and they are worth every penny!! They wash and wear easily.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Blanket This is a perfect stable blanket. It provides just enough warm. It runs a little big. I prefer the closed front. Don't like the buckles on the open front. Overall this is a great blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D Blankets are the BEST! I've owned Big D Blankets forever, they are by far the best fit and last and last! My last one also came in a really neat carrying case to store the blanket in when not in use.
    Date published: 2011-12-17
    • 2016-04-30T16:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_6510, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders