Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Big D All American Blanket

Big D
- Item #16510
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim.

Also Available:
Matching Big D All American Hood

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

Favorite Features
  • 420 denier nylon shell
  • 275 gram fiber fill
  • Big D show coat liner, which lays the hair flat while continually polishing the horse's coat to show quality
  • Woven blanket liner to absorb body heat while allowing the blanket to breathe and reduce sweating
  • Machine washable.
Key Specifications
  • Denier: 420
  • Fabric: Nylon
  • Fill: 275g
  • Closure Style: Closed front

Sizing

Sizes 68-84.

How to measure a horse
What Customers Say:

Specifications

Denier 420
Fabric Nylon
Fill 275g
Surcingles Single surcingle
Lining Fiber
Gussets No
Closure Style Closed front
Neck Style Regular neck
Tail Flap No
Neck Rug/Hood No
Special Features Big D show coat liner, which lays the hair flat while continually polishing the horse's coat to show quality
Customizable Embroidery
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "For over 100 years, the Baker Blanket has ...
    Description:
    "For over 100 years, the Baker Blanket has been world renowned for its traditional good looks and ""tough as nails"" durability. This classic stable blanket features a triple weave that helps to trap heat so your horse stays cozy in ...
    "Only a blanket from Big D could have ...
    Description:
    "Only a blanket from Big D could have this many features and not be custom! Long-wearing turnout has a waterproof and breathable 1200 Denier rip-stop exterior. Tailored shoulder gussets fit the natural curve of the shoulder. VELCRO® brand and double ...
    "A blanket where the bells and whistles come ...
    Description:
    "A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over. Imported Please note: Embroidery is recommended on the surcingle. ...
    "Top of the line features that no other ...
    Description:
    "Top of the line features that no other blankets have! The waterproof 1200 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor. Imported Please note: ...
    "This sheet does a great job of protecting ...
    Description:
    "This sheet does a great job of protecting your horse from flies and dirt. Ideal for warm weather, your horse will stay cool and clean in the barn without sweating. (Not recommended for turnout.) Imported."
    "This perfect sheet for spring and fall weather ...
    Description:
    "This perfect sheet for spring and fall weather when days tend to be cool and windy or keeping your horse clean at horse shows. This sheet is durable without being too heavy. Imported Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart"
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand ...
    Description:
    "Blankets with features on their mind. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure reduces sagging and rubs. Rear darts are tailored instead of just folded over. Tough 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining limits coat damage while 240 grams of fiber ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D All American Blanket is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 55.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I found that it rubbed my horse's shoulders and the inside fabric caused static. Perhaps it would work better over another sheet, but I am sorry that I bought it. Unfortunately, I used it a few times, so couldn't return it.
    Date published: 2016-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always the best
    Date published: 2016-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I purchased this for my horse who is at a training facility. It is perfect and the price was very reasonable. Love Big D products.
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Standard Equipment! Big D blankets are a standard in my barn. I do end up buying other sheets now and then when I have to, but the Big D has the best fit and durability.
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit! I always use the Big D blankets. They fit great- and hold up well! While looking stylish!!
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best stall blanket I replaced my other blanket (not a Big D) with this one and I love it!! It stays in place; doesn't roll on the horse. It has a great fit.
    Date published: 2016-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter blanket! I use Big D products for all of my horses. They are beautifully constructed, look great, and last for years!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I have a 17.2 paint quarter horse. She is HUGE, I have an extremely hard time finding a blanket to fit her properly, she is so long and lanky. Big quarter horse butt and wide chest but not all that full. Every blanket I have purchased for her has rubbed and she gets so itchy. Best fit I have yet to find was the Rambo blankets running upwards of $400! She tends to be a 86-89 size blanket, reviews said this runs a bit big, I honestly figured it wouldn't fit but I gave it a go and ordered. Not only does this Big D blanket fit like a glove she stays so warm, no rub marks, her coat is incredibly shinny and the price point beats anything out there with just as great of quality! Smartpak thank you so much for the review and video on this product I would not have tried it without your help! Hands down the best product I have yet to find for my mare thank you so much!!!!!
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable I bought this item about 6 months ago and have been using it for about 3 months. I bought it for my destructive purebred Arabian gelding. He had destroyed about three blankets before getting this one. It has held up very well. This is the only blanket that has lasted him longer than 2 weeks!
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great but! I bought this years ago & it has held up beautifully through all types of weather & horses. I was able to get strap extenders directly from the manufacturer when my mare's pregnant belly outgrew the flap! Would definitely buy another IF this one ever wears out!
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Blanket great- but came with torn bag :( I love Big Ds blankets but I am unhappy that it came with a torn bag as we use them for transport and storage. I contacted Smartpak about the bag and was told they would contact someone. I have never heard back. I also wrote Big D directly to no avail. It might not seem like a big deal to them but it is for those of us that travel a lot.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality We purchased this Big D blanket for our new 16.2 horse and the quality is exactly as described. The blanket looks great and it looks as though it was made just for him.
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the standard and smaller horses well I've purchased Big D blankets for years. They fit well and launder time after time.
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality and fit of these blankets!
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BIG D BLANKET I PURCHASED THIS BLANKET ABOUT A MONTH AGO, I AM A BIG BLANKET USER, THIS BLANKET IS OF GREAT QUALITY FOR THE PRICE, I WOULD ABSOLUTELY RECOMMEND TO MY FRIENDS, I BOUGHT THIS ALONG WITH THE HOOD, THIS KEEPS MY MARE WARM AND CLEAN THESE 2 PRODUCT WORK GREAT TOGETHER
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fits great I just got a new horse & wasn't sure on the size he would need, the size chart was so helpful & the colors that I needed were an exact match,
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Blanekts Are Awesome! I love these blankets! Perfect for horses that are kept in a stable. All four of my quarter horses have them. For how light they are for being "heavy blankets", they keep the horses so warm! Not only do they keep the horses warm, but the blankets fit all of them perfectly. :)
    Date published: 2015-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket. What I expect from Big D :) An excellent stable blanket. Always excellent, durable quality from Big D and prompt shipping from Smartpak. This blanket fit my 15.3, APHA mare perfectly.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D All American Blanket I purchase 2 Big D All Amercan Blankets. Great fit, warmth and quality. I appreciate the rapid delivery. I have bought them in the past and will definitely purchase them again.
    Date published: 2015-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, durable, warm and looks great. Smartpak is the best! I bought this blanket for my horse and love it so much that I bought another one for our pony. Unfortunately, the size I ordered didn't fit him, so Smartpak took it back despite it being monogrammed. They immediately sent another in a bigger size and it fits perfectly. It runs TTS; I ordered incorrectly.
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bid D is always made to fit the quarter horse well
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for muscular horse I bought this a few weeks ago as my Arab gelding had muscled up so much over the summer that his more streamlined blanket was tight in the chest. I ordered the same size as his other blanket (72") but it was way too short along his back. The 76" replacement fit perfectly. He now has plenty of chest room and seems to enjoy the cutback wither.
    Date published: 2014-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's cold out there! I have been using Big D Blankets for over 20 years. They never disappoint in their quality. I own Quarter Horses and these blankets seem to fit them much better thanother blankets. Also I received my blanket very quickly. Both horse and owner are very happy!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Waterproof- more a sponge than a blanket The first time I put this blanket on my horse there was a light rain and it turned into a sponge, soaking my horse to the bone. I guess people keep their horses in the house these days. I bought it to replace a warn, $60 light blanket I bought 2 years ago that kept him warm and dry. I thought it would be better because I always bought Big D when I had show horses. Never again!
    Date published: 2014-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality! i bought this blanket a week ago. And i love it! the only thing i can say negative is it runs big. My horses turn out blanket is an 81, but Big D has either an 80 or 82, so i got the 82... my mistake lol, it isn't horrible length wise, but the drop goes down to his hock instead of his gaskin... and he's 16.2 so he doesn't lack leg length! haha Any way the embroidery is great and the blanket is amazing quality! i would just recommend sizing down, especially if you get it customized and cant take it back. :)
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Show Blanket I bought this horse before we went to the Congress and got his name on it. Nice quality sheet. I wouldnt use it for a turnout blanket though.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy only Big D Glenn Drake makes a great product-----we have always bought direct from Glenn, but we needed a quick blanket for a yearling heading off for training and your price and quick ship got our order.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite blanket This blanket fits really well and stays in place. I got the closed-front, leaving less room for error when my kids are doing the blanketing, and it fits our welsh pony perfectly. The outer shell feels durable enough to hold up during turnout. I like this blanket so much that I just ordered a second one for my wb.
    Date published: 2014-11-13
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_46
    • loc_en_US, sid_6510, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders