Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Baker™ Turnout Blanket

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #11997
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Baker Turnout Blanket will never go out of style!  This tough turnout is made from 1200 Denier Rip-Stop Polyester that can withstand a great deal of abuse. This stylish yet practical turnout also features a waterproof/breathable membrane which is waterproof and maintains the ability to breathe so your horse stays comfortable regardless of the weather.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Made from a tough 1200 Denier Rip-Stop Polyester outer shell
  • 400 grams of Curvofil IV polyester fill providing exceptional warmth
  • Smooth nylon lining polishes the horse's coat
  • Double front closures
  • Elasticized leg straps
  • Insulated tail flap
  • Shoulder gussets to allow for freedom of movement
  • Double bias surcingles
  • Fleece at the withers ensures warmth and a comfortable fit

Sizing It Up

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Baker™ Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6111 out of 5 by 36.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfection! I ordered this thinking we were through with cold weather for the year but knowing I'd need it next year. Wrong. We had a cold snap and this was just what I needed. Every strap is exactly where it needed to be and the fit was perfect. Also quite good looking. I can't speak to the durability because I just got it, but my horse is not hard on blankets, so I have no worries.
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from baker is great fit having gone through way too many blankets that just didn't provide enough room in the chest, my horse is very happy with this Baker blanket....it fits his full chest with no pull. I would have loved to see this offered in a 300 fill as the 200 is a little light and the 400 would have been too heavy. Very happy nonetheless
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warm turnout Bought this with the matching turnout sheet as my horse put a lot of muscle on his shoulder over the summer and was bursting out of his Amigos. I got it in the same size as his Amigo, and it looks to be about a full size larger on him particularly in the shoulder (which is what I had wanted). I got it in a 400 fill which is very warm! But he goes outside overnight so I opted for the heavy over the medium. So far it has proved plenty breathable so even those nights where he might not quite need a heavy, he isn't sweating in it. The blanket is cut just the slightest bit fuller then the sheet and as such fits identical to the turnout sheet despite the extra fill.
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket Purchased the blanket for our paint and it is very well made and warm. Love Baker blankets!
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO HAPPY So, i am one of those people that is obsessed with Baker. My trailer has all the Baker accessories and of course i have the polo wraps, the saddle pad, and riding pants but My horse has the fly sheet, the original stable blanket and sheet, the turnout sheet and the heavy turnout blanket. i ordered her turnout blanket and sheet from dover so all i could order was a heavy blanket because dover doesnt sell the medium weight, so i had to always use a blanket that didnt match her other ones (i know, god forbid lol) but now i found the medium weight turnout blanket and i cant even explain how happy i am!!! i am a huge fan of baker not only because of how gorgeous it looks on all horses but the durability is amazing! i will continue to buy baker products FOREVER!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big fan of the Baker Plaid I bought this for my new OTTB and he is dark bay so this plaid looks so nice on him. This is a much thicker blanket than I expected so it will be best in the coldest weather. So far it has only been worn a few weeks because it just turned warm as it is spring. It seems very well made and I recall we had the old wool blend ones for our horses when I was a kid. If I had the money I would have gotten a lighter weight turnout sheet as well in the traditional plaid I love it so much!
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality blanket The Baker plaid is so classic, and the price is very reasonable, so I thought I'd give this blanket a try. It didn't see a ton of use this year with the mild winter, but my horse certainly used it for several months. This blanket held up great, and it still looks like new! No rips or tears in the outer material or lining after a year. Glad I bought this blanket!
    Date published: 2012-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Quality Quality Well, when I was a kid riding, all our blankets for our three TBs were Baker. The fabric was not waterproof and I think some were even a wool blend but I could be wrong. That was years ago! They look so classic and classy that I had to get one for my new ottb and I am glad I did. It is very warm so I can't use it now, but it will be his winter blanket. If I could afford it I would also get a sheet. Something about the Baker plaid, gotta love it. My TB is a dark bay and it looks great. I highly recommend this blanket.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This blanket looks great on my horse! It keeps her warm and I LOVE Baker products! It is very durable too, great purchase!
    Date published: 2012-02-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed This is the 4th baker blanket I have purchased. The first two were a year ago, and the last two within the past 6 months. The first two have a very different feel to the fabric...much stronger, durable feeling. I still have those and they are in great shape. The last two are softer feeling and both have ripped already. Very disappointing!
    Date published: 2012-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased! I have a 17h Hanoverian mare built like a brick house. She is very hard on blankets and has torn every one I put on her. I took a chance and bought this baker blanket in an 84" ... It fits perfect. The quality of this blanket is superb. I also bought the turnout sheet and love it. I am very pleased with Smartpac and their customer service- No more Dover Saddlery for me! Thank you SmartPac and I'll be back for more purchases :)
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried and true I simply love baker. They always do a fantastic job on all of their products!
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing but the best Love this turnout. Use it in and out of stall during really cold weather, use the Baker Blanket in milder cold and the sheet when the weather is nice. Nothing but the best for my retired runner who is now my backyard pet!
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker never lets me down I purchased this product because every other baker item I've gotten has been wonderful. When I tried it on my horse, it was a perfect fit.... Just as I had expected. Classy product with great craftsmanship!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker Baker Baker Love the turnout rug. My retired runner can only have the finest for laying his life on the line for me and building my barn and name recognition. He wears his rug to go outside and on cold nights, his stable blanket when it's not wet or freezing and his stable sheet to stay pretty! When you want the best for your horse, only Baker will do.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker Blanket ... A Sure Bet Baker blankets have been on the market for a long time, and with good reason. I bought the first Baker when my mare was only 2 yrs. old. She's now 15 and the quality of the Baker heavy-wt. turnout that I recently purchased for her is excellent, and it's a good value when compared to comparable blankets that cost twice as much. My mare is narrow chested and could use a closer fit there, but she needs the extra room in the rear so, overall, a 76 fits her well. Glad that SmartPak offered this choice.
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I love this turnout blanket. It is durable and lined so no blanket rubs! It is toasty for Texas winters. My horse was dry after a light rain throughout the night. The fit is true to size. I have a warmblood and it is not too tight in the shoulders. I also have a thoroughbred and it fits nicely on him too.It is easy to keep clean and as always Baker looks sharp on any horse. I love Baker turnout sheets as well. Great quality,fair price,and great fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice blanket This is a pricey blanket so I had to wait until my birthday to order it, but I'm so glad I did. It fits my horse perfectly and looks really sharp. Smartpak did a great job on the monogram, also, and now I have some assurances that this blanket will not walk off like tack tends to. I have had the Baker sheet for two years now, and it has held up beautifully. I hope this blanket will also.
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Poor fit for large horse This is a very nice looking blanket, and seems to be good quality compared to others in its price range. I used to use bakers on my thoroughbred, and they fit her great, but I don't think they are sized to fit a thicker horse. I ordered the sheet and blanket in an 82 for my 16'2 3 yo warmblood, and it was too tight on his shoulders, and didnt reach to his tail. Also, I didn't realize this until I received the blanket, but please note that it has 400 grams of insulation, so this is a VERY heavy blanket. I live in Georgia, and it doesn't really get cold enough here to need a blanket that warm
    Date published: 2011-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Blanket I ordered this in the midst of snow/ice/below 0 temps in Texas. Alas the moment it arrived temps have not gone much below 50 so haven't gotten the chance to actually use it! It fits well and is of great quality. Perhaps I will get more use of it next winter....
    Date published: 2011-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our barn calls it Horse Burberry!! The stylish eye catching plaid Baker is not only a great blanket, it suits those of us that like to put our pampered pets in designer outfits!!
    Date published: 2010-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BLANKET EVER I've used Baker blankets exclusively for the last 8 years on 6 different horses. Not only do they look nice, they are indestructible. Everybody should have one - a must have on the 'A' Circuit and for anyone with a known blanket shredder!
    Date published: 2010-11-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good for the price We are very happy our w/Baker turn out sheets purchased 2 years ago so thought we would like the turnout blanket just as well. It does not stay in place as well as some blankets or as well as the Baker turnout sheet but it is very warm & waterproof. I like the way it fits my horse's neck. She is an average sized TB type. It does not rub shoulders.
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket Seems like a nice blanket for a good price and fits my very large warmblood well.
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fitting blanket The Baker sheets and blankets are one of the best fitting blankets I have purchased. They fit snuggly and don't move around even when the horses roll.
    Date published: 2009-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket but bulky Super warm and durable. I love the Baker plaid, and this blanket kept my OTTB that had just shipped from FL to IL warm throughout the winter...in an unheated barn! Fits well and seems to have passed the test of time, although it is a little bit bulky.
    Date published: 2009-06-12
    • 2015-05-24T09:11CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_34
    • loc_en_US, sid_1997, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.