Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Baker™ Halter

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13046

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The famous Baker™ Plaid is now available in halters! The Baker Halter features a full leather crown piece. Brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, the Baker Halter is made in the USA. Original plaid.

Coordinates with our Baker Leadline!

Favorite Features

  • Famous Baker™ plaid
  • Leather crown piece
  • Made in USA

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Baker™ Halter is rated 4.5465 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker halter this halter seems like a good quality halter. i have not been abled to use it yet, but it seems good quality. i recieved this as a gift for Christmas with the matching lead line. i actually just ordered a name plate to put on the leather piece. the leather also seems good quality as well! I cant wait to use it!
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Longevity with Class I have owned this halter for years and only had to replace the crown piece once. Definitely a classic and not overstated. Love this halter! Durable and non-rusting hardware. Leave it outside hanging everyday!
    Date published: 2012-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made Halter This halter is very well made and although it is a breakaway and worn in the field all day they are still holding up well. Great color too; doesn't show dirt badly!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Looking Halter Have had this for a month. It is a nice looking halter. Good quality and holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Halter! I love this halter. It looks so sharp on my warmblood. It is also indestructible! Whenever it gets dirty I just soak it in a bucket and it comes out like new. It matches very nicely with my other Baker pieces as well. A great buy. The Warmblood size fits very nicely on my 17'2 hand boy.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cob size would be great! Disappointing that the halter is only available in horse and large horse sizes. The horse size was way too big around the nose for my Arab gelding. The halter is great quality though, and I love the plaid pattern. It's just a matter of fitting. Making a cob size would be fantastic.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Halter Great halter, love Baker products! It does run a bit large, wish they offered a cob size.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have a draft X which requires O/S halters. These fit, last and are stylist.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice halter Really love this halter. Looks awesome on my black warmblood. Great quality and a really nice halter. The only thing I don't like is the snap at the throat it's a bit big and gaudy and could easily get caught on something. Love that the whole crown is leather and breakaway. Awesome halter that I would definitely buy again.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Distinctive, well-made breakaway halter Although this halter does not have an adjustable chin strap (which gives it a cleaner look), it fits all of my horses well and looks good. It is easy to put on and off. I wouldn't mind having a few more of these nice halters in my tack room! The photo shows our SSH mare Twylha wearing the halter and her new Baker fly sheet, also a perfect fit, posing for an article on fly control in Trail Blazer magazine.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter I have used this halter with my last horse, Graham, and I loved it. It fit him wonderfully and had the leather crown piece for safety. It is a light halter which he seemed to really enjoy. I love all of Baker's products and will keep using them for many more years.
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super cute halter I have to admit that I too was a little disappointed in the lack of quality of the leather crown piece, but the halter is so darn cute on my chestnut gelding that I 'm willing to overlook it. Besides, if it would become damaged, it's easy and cheap enough to replace. I would recommend this halter for any color horse. It's a classic!
    Date published: 2012-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baker Halter An overall good halter, many people I know have this and say it lasts a very long time.It fits my horse well and looks nice.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I agree that the leather crown is a bit flimsy, but the rest of the halter is elegant and well-constructed. Runs true to size.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable on my mare Love this halter, looks great on my dark bay mare. Haven't turned her out in it yet, so we'll see if it holds up to halter tag with her BFF.
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Alright I bought the Baker Halter because I adore the plaid design and thought it would look good on my chestnut. Upon receiving it, I couldn't help but think that the leather was quite thin and not of fabulous quality at all.2 months later, the leather has held up perfect fine, though the noseband section has started to 'fuzz' at the top (like fleece pants in the dryer) from some unknown cause. It can be cut off, but you'd think a Baker problem would hold up better than that, especially for it being $15 more than a regular nylon halter that holds up like steel; JUST for the Baker name.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very stylish I found the leather crown piece to be of standard quality but the overall design is marvelous and super trendy. What show horse would say no to another baker accessory?
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good looks and value This attractive plaid looks sharp on my black horse. I like the soft and supple breakaway leather over his poll. Noseband fits well (not too tight, not too loose on his long face) without the bulk of an extra buckle there. Snap is medium quality, an acceptable tradeoff between light weight and halter lifespan at this price.
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive Everyday Halter This is a great turnout halter! Very attractive, I get lots of compliments on it. Looks more expensive than it was! Only complaint is that the leather on a crown piece is a little thin. I've had no problems with it, but did expect the leather to be more substantial. I take my horse's halter off while she is in the field, so due to the crown piece this may not be the best choice for people that chose to leave halters on.
    Date published: 2011-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from size too big my horse has a large head, i've always bought large for him, but this one is too big, have it on him but i wish there was another way to adjust it.
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT i realy love this halter! it looks so good on my chestnut mare! it expically looks good when shes wearing her Baker blanket and is in the trailer with the Baker butt bar covers and Baker trailer ties! (obsession much? i think yes!)
    Date published: 2011-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Attractive & Nice fit This halter has everything I was looking for, the soft leather top, the snap & great fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter I purchased this halter to keep on the post outside my horses pasture and through the cold and rain it has stood up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great turnout halter Love the color. It looks great paired with his Baker stable sheet. As other reviewers have mentioned, the leather strap isn't the greatest quality. I oiled it and that helped a bit. Given the great price even if I have to replace that piece eventually I will still feel this halter is a good purchase.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from true value I just bought my second Baker for my rambunctious off the track thoroughbred....in 5 years. This halter has been his turnout halter and lasted through many tugs-of-war games in the pasture with his pasture buddies.The only reason I bought a second halter is because I just wanted a new one. The first one is still completely intact and usable!
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SUPER STYLISH! I love this halter but I didn't buy it because my horsey mostly wears the tartan plaid!! I wish baker would start producing their accessories In tartan plaid because it is my barn colors and it looks so cute on my horsey!!!
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome halter Everybody in the barn wants one!! My big, bay TB looks super handsome in this halter. Excellent quality leather and buckles.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it !! The halter material is Great ! It looks so elegant ! My gelding can even go to shows in this. The Leather crown is VERY cheap though ... bought a replacement for it.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter Good quality halter but the fit around the noseband could've been better
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish and functional My daughter ordered one of the Baker halters for her gray TB. It looked so good on him that she ordered one for her chestnut as well. They both looked so good I ordered one for my chestnut. The halters have held up to the rigors of being turnout halters, and mud once dried brushes off easily. Leather crown pieces are a little thin, but have not presented a problem.
    Date published: 2011-03-17
    • 2016-02-05T15:08CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_3046, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.