Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Baker™ Halter

5/A Baker Products, Inc.
- Item #13046

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The famous Baker™ Plaid is now available in halters! The Baker Halter features a full leather crown piece. Brass plated hardware. As with all Baker products, the Baker Halter is made in the USA. Original plaid.

Coordinates with our Baker Leadline!

Favorite Features

  • Famous Baker™ plaid
  • Leather crown piece
  • Made in USA

Please note, all breakaways halters will release at different degrees of pressure under different circumstances.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Baker™ Halter is rated 4.5465 out of 5 by 86.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fit The halter fits well, is well made and the hardware is good quality, heavy duty brass. Overall, I am very pleased with this halter.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! I have had the hardest time trying to find a nice, well-fitting halter for my Belgian/QH mare. She is very hard to fit! Her head is too small for an oversize, but most horse size halters were too tight in the throat. I decided to order this because I love Baker products, and since some of the reviews said the horse size seemed generous, I felt like it would work. This halter fits her perfectly, and has held up to her beating it up everyday as well. I will say that it is more generous than your average horse size halter, so take that into consideration when picking your size.
    Date published: 2015-07-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love the halter but hardware has rusted fast My guy has been using this daily for 9 months. It seems to run true to size: he is a 17 hh WB with a thick throatlatch and the extra large fits him well. I love the halter, but the hardware (especially the throatlatch snap) has started getting rusty. When I looked up the item to write this review I noticed that the hardware is "brass-plated" rather than solid brass, which must be the issue (?). It is kept either in the barn or under cover outside, so it doesn't sit in the rain for hours. I'm bummed because it's a nice-looking halter but I won't buy another one. At that price I would expect the hardware to last as long as the nylon does.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dapper My handsome little palomino looks like a real dapper dan in his new halter. I bought it for attending shows as it has the thin break away leather crown (for safety). I had a brass name plate added to the cheek to prevent it from disappearing while in my class. The nylon is not soft and I would not use it as a daily halter. The designer look, though, makes it perfect for the occasional trip out, as we are all equestrians first and fashionistas second.
    Date published: 2015-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks great! fits perfectly! gave this as a gift to one of my best friends for her TB gelding. it fits perfectly & looks gorgeous on a dark bay!
    Date published: 2015-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Baker Style I purchased this because I love the 5/A Baker style and reputation for durability. With spring coming, I wanted his halter to match his turnout sheet. Some of the prior reviews I read mentioned the thin leather -- but that didn't deter my purchase. I can always replace.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baker Halter Good Buy Purchased this as a turnout halter for a fairly large headed horse. It fits well, I really like the English chin. My only complaint is the leather crown piece was very flimsy making it hard to slide the halter on and off.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect fit Halter appears to be of high quality. Fits very nicely & looks great.
    Date published: 2015-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handsome halter! I wanted a halter that would be safe and durable for turnout and daily use... and I also wanted something that would look handsome on my gelding. This fit the bill! The leather crown is on the thinner side... but it's still quite sturdy. Nice quality, seems to be wearing very nicely.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker halter I bought this 3 weeks ago and I love it. It is sturdy and well made. The fabric and leather breakaway are really nice. Love it!!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Baker Halter This is a must have for each of my horses for turn out. Love it.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great, has that BAKER look of luxury This is a great halter for the price. Baker has an air of luxury and horse people recognize that. It looks much more expensive. I like the safety and look of the leather head piece and the cleanable body of the halter.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks Great The leather looks way better in person I was pleasantly surprised. It looks and fits great for an everyday halter.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the look!!! It looks really good on my Chestnut mare and love the safety!!!
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Baker!! As a Baker fanatic, I had to get the Baker halter and lead for my collection of all things Baker! My horse looks great in it and of course it's of great quality. I get a lot of compliments on it.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I love this halter, it looks very handsome on my boy. Smartpak delivered on time, as usual. Love Smartpak!!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't live up to my expectations I love Baker products but was a little let down by this halter. I ordered the large horse size for my 17 hand warmblood. It was so big that even with the crown piece on the tightest holes it hung really loosely under his face. Maybe it would have fit a very large draft horse. I could have exchanged it with SmartPak's free shipping however I just wasn't in love with it. The nylon is thin as is the leather. 
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love. Love. Love. This halter is a great, everyday barn halter. It looks very nice and I love knowing that my horse can go out in the pasture with it on and if it gets caught it will just break away. I've turned my horse out, groomed, trailered, and bathed her in this halter. It still looks great and is holding up amazingly! It also fits really well.
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love this halter - Baker never ceases to amaze! I just wish it came in a Cob size - it's definitely too large for my petite mare's head. Otherwise, great halter at a great price (especially for a Baker product)!
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Baker halter Love the Baker plaid, crown leather piece single leather and I feel like it may need to be replaced down the road soon. But overall I love the halter.
    Date published: 2013-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great halter I've only had it for about a month, so I don't know how it will stand the test of time, but so far so good. It fits my horse perfectly and it hides dirt well. It gets lots of compliments too.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Durable, Looks Nice after Six Years! I bought this halter over six years ago as a nice halter that my horse could wear around the barn. I use it daily and it has been used on three different horses with cob to oversized heads and it fit all of them very well. The halter still looks amazing and all I have replaced is the leather breakaway top after my horse has a moment.I love the brass and I love the snap at the cheek. Makes it easy to get on an off. The durability of this halter will make me buy it again. If this one ever wears out! Worth the purchase price.
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great everyday halter Bought this Baker halter for 2 of my young Holsteiners, love the leather breakaway crown, it fits both horses lovely. Would buy another..
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice halter! Very happy with the quality of leather and nylon part of this halter. Not too stiff yet holds its form!Am wanting to get one for each of my horses!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Halter! my mom gave this to me for Christmas and it was at the top of my list! I adore the traditional baker plaid, as well as the tartan. the crown piece does seem a little thin, but the rest is exceptionally durable:) The first time I put it on my horse, he rolled in it and it stayed fairley clean, and did not slide off or hurt him or anything lke that! I only wish that the crown piece was a bit more durable because it get very dirty, but nothing a little leather conditioner cant fix! I also wish it came in Tartan to match his blanket!
    Date published: 2013-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! This halter is classy enough for a show and durable enough for turnout. It looks great on my mare and matches perfectly with her baker blankets. Would definitely recommend this halter, always brings in the compliments!!
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute, but not very beefy I like everything Baker, so I outfitted my guy and my trailer with it. This halter is not very sturdy. The Baker parts are doubled, which makes it pretty beefy, but the leather on top is very thin, and I can see having to replace it soon. I'll only use it for trailering and showing, as I don't see it taking turnout well. But a very cute halter overall.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Great halter! It looks so handsome on my boy, is durable, washes well, and fits true to size. I do wish the leather breakaway came softer right out of the box, but I just got it, so I'm sure it'll be great. Coordinates great with my other baker blankets. Get it!! :D
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter The number one reason I bought this halter is because it is a breakaway...I have been looking for a breakaway that isn't plain and boring and this baker was it! The flashy traditional baker plaid is very nice. I agree with the other reviewers as the leather crown piece does seem thin so I bought the leather replacement as well just in case it breaks. (After all it is supposed to break in case of emergency.) The halter seems to run a little big, or oddly shaped along the cheek bones but maybe it just needs to settle to frame the face better. You couldn't tell from the picture but the snap is the push down button kind, like the snap on a leadline would be. I was hoping for the other kind- push teardrop shaped closure. Overall it seems like a nice halter, hoping it settles in to a more normal shape and that the crown piece isn't too weak.
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too big, will be returning for a smaller one. Seems to run big.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    • 2016-02-06T14:53CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_81
    • loc_en_US, sid_3046, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.