Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Back on Track Ceramic Back Brace

Back on Track
- Item #17783
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Providing a gentle warmth that is a welcome relief for tight lower back muscles, the Back on Track Ceramic Back Brace utilizes state-of-the art fabric containing ceramic powder to reflect your own body warmth and create a soothing far infrared thermal warmth.

 

 

Favorite Features
  • Designed for comfort, the narrow front is comfortable to wear, even when bending over or sitting down
  • Removable pad in back to hug the curves around the spine for maximum body contact
  • Provides lower back support
  • Unique ceramic-infused fiber reflects your body's own body-warmth, creating a soothing far infrared thermal heat, which can help alleviate pain associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and joints
  • Used for both injury prevention as well as injury recovery
  • Machine washable up to 86°F or 30°C. Use normal detergents that do not contain bleach or fabric softeners. Air dry only, do not tumble dry

 

 

Sizing

Measure around waist.
S (26-32")
M (33-38")
L (39-44") 

 

 

What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Please read carefully, both the usage and washing instructions, before using the product.

All Back on Track products should be implemented gradually. To start with, use the product for a maximum of four hours a day for the first 2-3 days. The body then has the opportunity to familiarize itself with the fabric’s effects.

The reason we recommend starting with a maximum of 4 hours use is that some people experience pain in the beginning. In horses and dogs, it manifests itself as a swelling. This is due to the increased blood circulation, which is actually a good indication that the ceramic fabric is taking effect. This initial pain or swelling can occur anywhere from a few to several hours of use. You should then cease using the product any more that day, and instead introducing it carefully and more gradually over the following days.

After the introductory period you should up the usage to a minimum of 8 hours per day, preferably more. After only an hour or so is often perceived a positive effect on tight muscles and stiff joints. More persistent problems may require several days, usually between 10-20, before the desired result is achieved.

After the introductory period of 2-3 days it is important to continue to use the product intensively at least 10, preferably 20 days, before assessing its impact. Since this ceramic fabric reflects more of the body’s heat radiation as you move, the effect is greatest if you wear the product when active. Back on Track also works when resting, even when you sleep.

Continue to use the product according to the routine you develop, or use it for two weeks and then take a break in the third week, this in order to avoid dependency. The sensitivity of this dependency varies from individual to individual. For maximum effect, the ceramic fabric should be in direct contact with the skin (if necessary, a thin cotton cloth inserted between).

Note: Caution is advised during simultaneous use with liniment or similar, since the effect is amplified. Use the product only as directed and consult a doctor if symptoms persist. Do not use during pregnancy.

Washing:

Back on Track products can be machine washed up to 86°F or 30°C. Use normal detergents that do not contain bleach or fabric softeners. Air dry only, do NOT tumble dry.

Note: Do not use bleach or fabric softener, or tumble dry. The product should be ironed at a maximum temperature of 122 F The ceramic powder is fused in the fibres of polyester/polypropylene and does not separate when washed. The textile loses efficiency with time and extended use.

The textile is produced in China and consists of 100% polypropylene (PP) with ceramic powder or 50% polyester with ceramic powder and 50% cotton.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Back on Track Ceramic Knee Brace creates ...
    Description:
    "The Back on Track Ceramic Knee Brace creates soothing thermal heat using exclusive, state-of-the-art ceramic-infused fiber, which is designed to reflect your body's own warmth. The Ceramic Knee Brace can help reduce pain associated with inflamed muscles, ligaments, tendons and ...
    "If you work with personal computers or perform ...
    Description:
    "If you work with personal computers or perform repetitive movements with your wrist and hand, or if you've sustained a wrist injury, the Back on Track Wrist Cover with Thumb might be just what you need! This fleece wrist cover ...
    "Allows you to ride comfortably for hours! The ...
    Description:
    "Allows you to ride comfortably for hours! The Cashel Tush Cush- Long puts relief only where you need it and provides support."
    Why We Love This All-natural CM Response® Topical ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This All-natural CM Response® Topical Cream is a revolutionary new joint health product for humans that provides fast relief from joint pain and discomfort, tendonitis, muscle cramps and soreness from injury. This amazing topical cream contains two ...
    "The Cashel Tush Cush puts relief only where ...
    Description:
    "The Cashel Tush Cush puts relief only where you need it, allowing you to ride comfortably for hours. The Tush Cush is made with the same closed-cell foam as the Cashel wedge saddle pads. It will not compact or bunch ...
    "ShouldersBack is the only product like it on ...
    Description:
    "ShouldersBack is the only product like it on the market! Designed for the equestrian, ShouldersBack is an all-elastic garment that helps you attain proper equitation in a safe and comfortable manner. Made in the USA"
    "A summerweight version of the original ShouldersBack! ShouldersBack ...
    Description:
    "A summerweight version of the original ShouldersBack! ShouldersBack Lite gently pulls, aligns, and holds your shoulders into the “correct” position, training your mind and muscles to keep a taller stance even after you slip it off -- just like the ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Back on Track Ceramic Back Brace is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not really a brace Actually bought this for back pain during my pregnancy. It's not really a supportive brace, but I wanted it more for pain relief and it did the job. I was quite happy with it & wear it all the time, but if you need serious support, I would look elsewhere.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I've bought this twice as a gift for my blacksmith. He had been suffering from back problems due to his work (duh!). Now he won't pick up a foot without strapping on his brace, and claims it's added years to his career. This is good for me too, as he's a great farrier and I don't want to lose him.I give the brace 5 stars at his recommendation
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too much material. Too little Support This item was just really big and uncomfortable and really offered no support. I returned it so I can not vouch for its ability to create heat and help provide therapy to tight back muscles.
    Date published: 2015-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable to wear/helps ease a sore back My trainer suggested this after I came back from a trip abroad with a very irritated bulging disc. I was aware of Back on Track products and the benefits they provide our 4-legged friends, so decided to give it a try. While it won't permanently solve the issues I have, I am definitely more comfortable when I'm wearing it.
    Date published: 2015-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective I have had back spasms and resulting soreness in my back for years. The brace had made me very comfortable and less worried that any stress might bring on the spasms. It is much too soon to know if the spasms will come back, but the knots in my muscles are gone and I'm amazed at how good I feel. I have also had a problem with collapsing on one side when I ride and this helps me have better posture in the saddle. I think my horse likes it, too!
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Offers some support I bought this because it was supposed to reflect your body heat back to you, but I don't notice that to be true. That said, it does offer some support and is very comfortable to wear, even while riding. Since it's about the same price as back supports without infused ceramic, it's still a good deal.
    Date published: 2015-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great to keep my back loose and pain free. I live this while riding or doing barn chores. Otherwise my back muscles get tight and sore.
    Date published: 2015-04-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keeps your back relaxed but not much support I started using Back on Track on my horses - leg wraps and the sheet with remarkable results. So I thought it might be worth a try to get some relieve with my various issues like lower back pain. This back brace does NOT support the back very much while riding, but it helps keeping my muscles relaxed and warm for the rest of the day. I also like that this brace is thin and does not bulk under cloth. It runs big though. I also wear the knee brace and the T-shirt with satisfying result.
    Date published: 2015-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I really like the way this back brace fits. It seems to work well also. I'm hoping wearing it more consistently will get rid of my lower back pain completely.
    Date published: 2014-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good support I needed a support belt for my lower back and sacroiliac joint. I have been sleeping on a Back on Track saddle pad for months (Hehe!) and it seems to comfort my back overnight, so I decided to try the back brace. I usually use it when I get home after work (I am an equine vet that does chiropractic) and within a few minutes of putting it on I can feel my back loosening up. The only thing that bothers me about it is it is a little too wide for me because I am 5'8" but very short waisted but it's OK if I don't wear it while working. So if you are normally proportioned it should fit fine.
    Date published: 2014-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works!!! After a couple of hard falls I have recurring low back pain when I ride. After hearing everyone at the barn talk about how wonderful BOT products were for their horses I decided to give the back brace a shot. I'm so happy I did! My back pain has been reduced significantly when riding. I get the biggest amount of relief when I wear it for several hours. They do run a bit large in size, I have the medium and I'm at the end of the Velcro but I'm still happy with it.
    Date published: 2014-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders After using a back on track saddle pad on my horse, and seeing the results work on him, I decided to try for myself. I have a rather arched lower back, and can cause me a lot of pain at times. I decided on this brace, after seeing how the saddle pad worked on my horse. This brace is AMAZING. First two days The pain was going away, and I wore it for about a month during runs, riding, and just whenever I was in pain. Overall it is a great product, holds up to my everyday schedule (School,track,horseback) and even though I have only used it one season, I can see myself using it over, and over again. BUT my only complaint, is I have a petite waist line, and I went for the small. The small is almost too big for me. I have it at the very end of the velcro, so I wish there was a smaller size. But over all, would definitely recommend this.
    Date published: 2014-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly effective I have sciatica issues and have had back injections so I was hoping to find a little bit of relief when riding andstanding. The very first day I wore this brace, I came off my horse. While not a dramatic fall, I did land on myback. I think it helped cushion my fall slightly and it kept me from getting stiff. The next day, I rode, walked a lot on cement and cleaned the house without my back gettingtired, stiff and sore like it normally does. I don't feel heator a warming effect, but it does work!
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband says "It does something"! I bought this for my husband who has back pain very regularly. He says that he can tell a difference after he's worn the brace. He is very active and will wear the brace while he is chopping wood, etc. so it must be comfortable. I notice that his back seems to hurt when he hasn't been wearing it for a few days, and I will remind him to out it on. Not sure if it's the immobilization or the ceramic heat but something seems to be making my husband feel better, so I'm happy!
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good for Sore Muscles My fiance is a farrier and back on track products help to soothe his aching muscles. He has had back surgery, so I got him this brace to keep his muscles from getting tense and stiff - he has benefited greatly from the wrist brace, so I'm sure it will be good for him! My horse wears back on track as well - great products. I only wish they were a little less expensive!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eases back pain I have only used this a few times after gardening, stall mucking and riding but it does seem to ease my lower back pain quite a bit. I have an arthritic spine that complains when I do all the things I love. This is not a supportive back brace in any way, but it does provide soothing warmth. My only complaint is that it tends to ride up as I bend and lift, but it is very flexible and easy to pull back down into position. It takes a while for the warming effect to kick in and I didn't notice much until I had it on for about an hour and realized that my back didn't hurt much at all.I like it much better than the back brace I bought several years ago that is more thickly padded and didn't seem to have any affect on my pain.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome product! I absolutely love my back on track back brace! I wear it everyssingle day and it has made a tremendous difference,in how I feel at the end of the day. No more feeling like I got run over by a truck!My only complaint is that the stitching on the "brace" bar sleeve has separated and it pops out now. Then again I do put it through every day work around the barn every single day. Not sure if this has happened to anyone else.I would definitely purchase this again and highly recommend it to anyone looking for back and hip pain relief.
    Date published: 2013-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Riding again thanks to the back brace I injured my back a couple of months ago, and I have back issues from time to time anyway. I was okay at the walk and posting trot but canter and sitting trot were painful. I ordered the Back on Track brace and what a difference it has made! I don't know why I didn't try a brace a long time ago! It gives me just the right amount of support and is comfortable to wear. I will probably wear it from now on, even though my back is getting better. Thanks Back on Track!
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The brace works as promised and provides soothing heat.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Back Saver This back brace is one of the easiest to put on and adjust. It stays secure with the velcro in all the right places. It is a good stabilizer for the middle back area.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonder Brace! I have noticed that I get a tight low back on days when I am sitting for an extended period of time and also when I'm on my feet for most of the day. I decided to give this a try after I saw the wonders the BOT therapy did for a friend's horse. I love that this is a plain back brace that isn't bulky and it makes me feel great. I even sleep in it some nights. I always pack it in my bag on trips and for travel and even bring it to the office. Super helpful and really helps to take care of my tight muscles. Thank you BOT!
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Simply doesnt work Disappointing. I wore this as recommended - inside my clothing, but over my undies for comfort. My understanding is that the ceramic particles are intended to reflect heat back to the body, but I felt nothing - no heat in the brace and none on/in my back. They recommend wearing for short periods "to get used to it" but rhat wasn't necessary as there was no heat. I tried it several days, also as recommended, but no difference. I had thought i might try the hock boots for my horse, but I'm glad i tried this first. I have a Professionals Choice back brace and as a simple brace, i like it better. Plan to return if SP will accept
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back on track ceramic back brace I've always been impressed with Back on Track products and this is no exception. The only concern I have with the fit is how tight or loose should the brace fit when you are wearing it. This in turn impacts the size you should obtain but that is not real clear on the product description.
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps me After visiting numerous doctors, I was given the blanket diagnosis of fibromyalgia. Since I hate to take pills, I started looking for other ways to ease the pain. This back brace has truly helped with my lower back pain. I wear it in the evening and while sleeping, and I wake up with much less stiffness. I have not started using the Back on Track T-shirt and Neck Brace too, and while I look a bit ridiculous, I won't go a night without my Back on Track outfit!
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back Relief, Finally! Great product! After fracturing my back I was looking for a product that would give support, yet with some flexiblity. Wow, this was what I needed. I can ride again without back pain. I would definitely recommend it to anyone with back pain. (I even use it when doing barn or house chores!)
    Date published: 2010-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Back on Track Products Bought this to help support my back and a herniated disk. It really helps and is worth the money.
    Date published: 2010-01-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps, but doesnt hug! THis supporter gives great support to the lower back, but it does not hug the body as nicely as I hoped; when you bend over, it sticks up, and when you jump, it seems to "let go" of your body. Other than that, if you don't mind it standing out, it is a good product; the support is helpful and certainly helps.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! After many years of severe back pain, I was skeptical that this brace would help at all. Boy was I wrong! It has helped immensley - the best $60 I've ever spent!
    Date published: 2009-12-03
    • y_2017, m_5, d_19, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_35
    • loc_en_US, sid_7783, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders