Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Ariat® Volant Tall Boot Front Zip

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19412
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand new series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only do they have a sleek looking exterior, but the Ariat Volant Tall Boot Front Zip also feature Ariat's Cobalt Quantum technology plus stretch mesh and oiled leathers, plus a full length zipper. All designed to create a great looking, fitting and feeling boot that will ensure peak performance for all equestrian athletes.

Field Boots Comparison Chart

Customers Also Shopped For
The most versatile pants in your equestrian quiver, ...
Description:
The most versatile pants in your equestrian quiver, these hi-tech cooling tights are perfect over paddock or cowboy boots, ideal with half-chaps, and the light fabric comfortably tucks into socks to fit under tall boots. Favorite Features Ice Fil fabric ...
The Ariat Extreme Zip Paddock H20 Insulated Boot ...
Description:
The Ariat Extreme Zip Paddock H20 Insulated Boot will keep your toes toasty warm at the barn and in the saddle this winter. Favorite Features Waterproof, full-grain leather upper Waterproof membrane construction 200g Thinsulate insulation Thermal insole Moisture-wicking lining Antique ...
Dubarry Trinity Cableknit Socks feature a cable knit ...
Description:
Dubarry Trinity Cableknit Socks feature a cable knit fold down decorative top. Favorite Features 95% Cotton/5% Elastane knitted sock body Machine washable on a wool cycle up to 40 degrees Dubarry sewn on woven label. Imported Sizing It Up
Specifically designed to meet the needs of riders, ...
Description:
Specifically designed to meet the needs of riders, this sock will start your ride out on the right foot. Favorite Features Anti-friction yarns to prevent chafing and rubs Helps neutralize odors Moisture wicking Stylish detailing Made in Italy Sizing It ...
Why We Love ThisThe Eskadron FlexiSoft Front Boots ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Eskadron FlexiSoft Front Boots are Eskadron's best selling boot for a reason! This anatomically shaped jumping boot offers fantastic fit and ultimateProtection. Flexible shell combined with theSoft area below the horse's knee provides added comfort and ...
Cavallo ergonomic knee socks with extreme comfortable and ...
Description:
Cavallo ergonomic knee socks with extreme comfortable and anatomically placed ankle-, heel- and foot-padding for maximumProtection. These socks are handlinked and have an extra thin leg for perfect contact to the horse. Made in Germany. Material: 65% cotton, 32% polyamide, ...
Why We Love ThisThe Waldhausen Boot Set isProtective, ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Waldhausen Boot Set isProtective, supportive and also easy to clean! The anatomically molded and impact proof Waldhausen Boot shell provides optimumProtection and fit. TheSoftNeoprene lining with elasticizedSoft border clings to the horse's legs keeping out footing ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Ariat® Volant Tall Boot Front Zip is rated 4.48936170212766 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a boot with comfort AND style for men Being a male in eventing, it is almost impossible to find boots that fit my large foot as well as my calf. In other boots, if it fits my foot but not the rest of my leg, I don't have any other options but buy one that only fits the foot even though its not the prettiest boot. However, with these, I don't have to sacrifice style for comfort! I love the super soft leather and the unique look! Wish I could afford a thousand more!
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely worth the money I could not believe how comfortable these boots were
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable, Short Lifespan I had my front zip Volants for about a year, and after a TON of use, they unfortunately finally broke down. I know many other people who have worn these and have similar experiences with them not lasting a very long time. But for those riders who don't ride every day, these will probably last much longer.
Date published: 2015-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I bought this item a few weeks ago and broke in no problem. Truly amazing boots with soft leather, and a remarkable look! They're very comfortable and worth every penny!
Date published: 2015-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and Style I got these about a month ago. Very comfortable.they broke in 2-3 rides. Love the ease of the zipers that go to the front. Feel like I am in tennis shoes. So far I love them. True to size.
Date published: 2015-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rugged and practical This is my second pair of these Volant Front zip boots. I got the first pair when they came out originally. They lasted a couple of years before the stitching needed repair. That's the most I ever get out of tall boots. I wear then to ride and in the paddock etc. I beat them up. I really love the front zip because its easy to zip them up.Also the tread on the sole is great because you don't slip in a muddy paddock like the traditional style boot.The calf on these boots runs true to size but I found the foot length to run small by 1/2 size. I normally wear 6.5 or 7 in an Ariat boot but the 7 and 7.5 fit.
Date published: 2015-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I tried many other brands for years and I always find it difficult to keep the boots on after a ride of 2 to 3 hours..then, I saw these Ariat Volant Tall Front Zip pairs at an equestrian shop and I just liked the design right a way..I put it on, and I knew that this is what I have been looking for, for years..it is just perfect elegant boots, very comfy, and even after a long ride I can still use them for hours without even thinking to take them off. I highly recommend them especially for those who need comfortable boots for long hours, and hey they look just amazing even for dressage.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I tried many other brands for years and I always find it difficult to keep the boots on after a ride of 2 to 3 hours..then, I saw these Ariat Volant Tall Front Zip pairs at an equestrian shop and I just liked the design right a way..I put it on, and I knew that this is what I have been looking for, for years..it is just perfect elegant boots, very comfy, and even after a long ride I can still use them for hours without even thinking to take them off. I highly recommend them especially for those who need comfortable boots for long hours, and hey they look just amazing even for dressage.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO COMFORTABLE I had read elsewhere that these boots run a full to 1/2 size small. I find them to be pretty true to size. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE them. So much more comfortable, feel like a tennis shoe!
Date published: 2015-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Long Boots I always wanted a pair but they were always for ladies in all the tack shops in New Zealand and none in Hong Kong, finally I found them here! Prompt delivery and I cannot wait to try them out tomorrow!
Date published: 2015-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Tall Boot I use these tall boots to school in at home. They are the most comfortable boots to ride in! I love the cobalt quantum footbeds Ariat has designed. The calf fits so well to my leg, does not pucker, and is sleek. The leather on the inside of the calf is a bit grippy helping to give a little more contact. Zips up very well. Has a little keeper for your spurs and the sole grips to the stirrups. Often I have trouble with too slippery of soles that slide off the stirrup when I put my heels down but these cling on and allow my leg to sit where it should.Fits true to size.Recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO COMFY I bought these over the summer, they're my favorite boots to wear! I use them for everything. They fit great and make my leg look skinny! also bought a pair for my boyfriend (size 13 tall) and he loves them too! couldn't ask for a better boot
Date published: 2014-11-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable boots! I ordered these as my second pair of Ariat Volant boots and unfortunately I had to send them back due to the fact that the ankle was not as slim as I needed. However, first pair was great!
Date published: 2014-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit, love the front zip, fantastic I've been wearing these to ride and at the barn. Even wearing them all day, they are comfortable. I had to put some inserts in them as they were a little loose in the heel area, but after that perfection. The front zip is a great idea too, the leather doesn't buckle on the back like with the back zip kind.
Date published: 2014-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO GLAD THEY FIT I bought them for my fiance... he has a size 13 foot!!! he's also 6'5, so of course fitting was an issue. the 13 reg tall fit PERFECT. I'm so glad, money well spent! He also has a large ankle due to an accident, but they still fit comfortably. He thought the foot-bed was more comfortable than the shoes he wears all the time so yay!! Cannot contain my excitement.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot! But over prised! I ordered these boots one month ago and they have broken in with in 3 rides! But the outer sole is starting to detach from the leather! But over all very soft and supple also very comfortable! Would not suggest to show in them even in the jumpers!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOP OF THE LINE BOOT The fit is right on and the leather is super soft and supple. It took one ride to break in. It provides exceptional ankle support, I broke my ankle last summer and this is the first pair of boots that I can ride with ZERO pain! Well worth the money! Very fashionable, and super easy to clean!
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Grip and Comfort! These are the best riding boots, hands down. I feel like I stick to the saddle when I ride, the grip is terrific. I can always wear them for hours around the barn, it's like wearing running shoes. Great buy.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hundreds of Miles I realize it wasn't the original intent, but the Volant has been an excellent Endurance boot. I've ridden hundreds of miles in it (and trust me, I'm off my horse walking in it frequently) and it has been a reliable, comfortable, DURABLE partner in my sport. I highly recommend.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I bought my first pair about a year and a half ago as a practice boot and I am very satisfied. The breaking in process (which is about 2-4 weeks) is extremely painful unfortunately but in the end it is totally worth it. After that point, i have never worn a boot that is so comfortable. It's basically like wearing tennis shoes! I ride 6 days a week and about 4+ horses daily with a lot of walking in water (when I rinse/bathe) and these boots have held up wonderfully. I did get a hole about an inch above the spur holder where the leather had torn from the stitching but that wasn't until about a year of wear and I definitely don't take good care of these boots. A had a leather guy put a patch over it and had no problems since! I just bought a second pair so i can rotate boots from day to day. I suggest the equifit gel leg protectors to help make the break in process less painful!
Date published: 2014-02-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great fit and comfort, but not durable This is an update to a review of these boots. I have now been riding in them for 2.5 years, having owned 2 pairs of the front zip style. I absolutely love the fit and comfort of these boots, and the foot is so supportive, I can actually jog here and there around the farm in these boots! However, the first pair lasted about 15 months until and zipper jammed and the seams started ripping. My current pair has lasted a year and the seams are now starting to rip. I ride 6 days a week and wipe my boots clean every day after riding, condition them 2-3 times a week. I can't afford to keep dropping $500 a year on this boots, so will be switching to the Mountain Horse Victoria, my next favorite boot, for $200 less.
Date published: 2014-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Front zip was painful I had purchased the back zip Volants previously and was very happy with them. The front zips were very painful and rubbed big sores on my ankles after one ride. Sending them back...
Date published: 2013-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! These boots are wonderful. They are very comfortable. It took only two or three rides before they felt broken in. I even use the black ones when I show. I can't imagine putting on my old field boots after riding in these. I have three pairs. One older pair for wearing around the farm, one for showing, and one for schooling.
Date published: 2013-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy for Schooling I received these boots from my family for Christmas. Straight out of the box the leather was very supple and the foot bed very comfortable. The only break-in issue I had was that since the zipper runs across the front and side, they did not sag down my leg as quickly as my other Ariat tall boots have. This gave me the world's worst pressure sores behind my knees! But since then, I have loved every minute of wearing and riding in these! I choose the solid black color scheme so they could be worn in schooling shows (I actually did show in them at an A rated show and no one noticed!). My only complaint is that since there is so much external stitching for the modern design, the stitches are beginning to fray and the boots don't look as neat and tidy as they initially did. But I still love them to bits!
Date published: 2013-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Comfy! The foot size runs a little big, just fyi but these are instantly broken in and so comfy my fav pair of boots yet!
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfy and sharp looking I ordered these boots in the all black front zip style in a short/reg. I sure wish they came in a short/slim. The regular height went completely over my knee, so I would say these run pretty tall. They weren't bad to break in and are incredibly comfortable. I haven't had luck with ariat paddock boots lasting very long, so I only gave 4 stars for durability. Time will tell. I would definitely wear these at shows in jumpers. It might actually be hard to return to my other tall boots after these.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Footwear An excellent ,durable boot. No break in time required and sooo comfortable !
Date published: 2012-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously, best purchase EVER! Bought these boots a week before we were scheduled to show, and figured it would take me at least that long to even start breaking them in.. I was COMPLETELY wrong!! My first ride in them was incredible, they felt totally broken in and my posistion was incredibly more secure. I didn't ride in them again until the day of the show, because they already felt THAT good!! I felt much more effective in the saddle as my lower leg was held firmly in place. PLUS they look sooo good! They are super easy to zip and clean right up. I absolutley adore these boots and would recommend them to anyone!
Date published: 2012-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The GRIPPIEST Boots...! I recently acquired the red Volants for my birthday back in the beginning of October, and I have been riding in them ever since. These boots were extremely easy to break in -- withing 2 or 3 rides they were ready! I absolutely love the hint of red as well! So far they have been extremely lovely to ride in. I ride 6 or 7 horses a week who are extremely powerful jumpers, so I needed something that would give me that extra grip for air time. The Volants are PERFECT in my eyes for that exact reason! The grippy leather covers the top of the boot, as well as the whole inside leg so that no matter what the horses and I are doing in the ring, whether it being jumping a 4'6" oxer or just schooling on the flat, I know I will always have traction. I also love the spur lock because you know that your spurs aren't going to move. I've had several different tall boots and these Ariats are my favorites, BY FAR! :)
Date published: 2012-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Boot but Bad Fit! I had already purchased the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boot and I loved it so much that when I had the opportunity to buy this model, I jumped on it! I actually liked the "look" of this Volant better. However, when I took my first ride in them I was shocked to find that my left ankle was in quite a bit of pain and not from like blister or rubbing pain. Oddly enough, my right foot was fine and the boot fit very comfortably! I have been through hundreds of new boots and I have never had my left foot fit different than my right. The problem was the zipper where it crossed over the outside of the ankle. When I flexed my ankle deep while riding it kept cutting off my circulation and making my foot fall asleep. Since it wasn't particularly painful, just awkward, I continued to ride in them thinking they just needed to be stretched a little. When I jumped off my horse, I couldn't feel my leg! I let it go thinking I would walk it off but 5 days latter and still not able to feel my leg... I ended up in urgent care! It had pinched a nerve where the zipper dug into my ankle when flexed!I love the look and they feel immediately broken in! A very comfortable boot!!! I school in them every day but be warned buy separate muck/hard wear boots as these will not hold up to hard daily wear! Just use them to ride! I would also recommend getting the vented pair as I cannot recommend this model!
Date published: 2012-11-06
  • 2016-08-30T11:36CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_9412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders