Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Ariat® Terrain Zip H20

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #20869
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ariat Terrain Zip H20 is designed to keep your dry and comfortable no matter the terrain. Whether you're doing barn work or in the saddle, these paddock boots are meant to keep up with you.

Favorite Features  

  • Waterproof oiled full grain leather upper with a waterproof membrane construction is designed to keep your feet dry wherever the winter takes you
  • Padded collar provides extra comfort
  • Moisture wicking lining keeps your feet dry and sweat-free
  • Antique brass zipper makes it easy to get the boots on and off
  • Reflective piping detail makes the boots visible no matter the weather
  • EVA midsole provides comfort and stability
  • Duratread ™ outsole provides unbeatable comfort and durability

Imported.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ariat® Terrain Zip H20 is rated 4.25 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boot! Nice looking, comfortable, but can't zip with thick socks. If you have high insteps you might rule these out unless you wear a thin sock. Otherwise love. Have always worn Ariats for the comfort factor.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort mile after mile This is my fifth purchase of Ariat Terrain boots. I ride in them exclusively because of the comfortable footbed. The waterproof zip version runs a little smaller than the lace-up version, but I am breaking them in with thinner socks. They offer a lot of support for the ankles and the zipper seems to work properly. They keep my feet warm and dry on frosty mornings.
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat H20 Zip Paddock Boots These hybrid boots/shoes are excellent. As a full time working riding instructor and trainer I am on my feet and in the saddle 6 days a week, many times for over 10 hours a day. I have some some back issues and wearing traditional paddock boots all day has been very hard on me after working in them all day. The Ariat H20 Zip boots are a perfect combination of support and toughness. I can do barn chores, teach and ride in them. So far, I have experienced less back pain, hip pain and stiffness at the end of the day. The support is excellent if you have high arches. I wear a size 9 and they fit true to size. I have now worn them through 3 days of constant rain and they have not leaked once. My feet are the only thing that is still dry at the end of the day. The soles and leather uppers seem to be very nice quality and the zipper is tough even though I have already gotten some wet arena sand stuck in it. I highly recommend these boot shoes if you need something a bit lighter than regular boots around the barn.
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Comfort & Support! I have been wearing the Ariat Barnyard leather boots for years and my sister treated me to a pair of these Terrain Zip H2O for Christmas! These are the MOST COMFORTABLE and SUPPORTIVE boots I have yet to wear. I had back surgery 7 years ago and have a little nerve damage which effects my right foot and has altered my stride and foot placement. Consequently, I must have excellent support, especially while walking the pastures and barn areas. These boots also provide wonderful heel "impact" protection and stabilization in the sole while walking on ALL surfaces. I am also wearing them exclusively for town-trips where walking the sidewalks and concrete store floors used to cause me discomfort in my back, legs and feet - no more! I have not had any problems (yet) with the zippers as some reviewers have reported. Ariat does have a "Warranty Program" which I suggest everyone use to register these boots... then if you do have any problems, you can deal directly with Ariat and it will help them make any needed improvements in this wonderfully designed boot. I, personally, have NO complaints and will definitely order these again when it is time for their replacement. Some may consider this boot a little on the "pricey" side, but the investment is well worth it!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfort This is my second pair, the first pair lasted two years of daily use. Comfortable, good support, well made.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and looks I upgraded from the basic lace Ariat sneaker to the waterproof zip up in black and I couldn't be happier! The are so easy to slip on and jump in the saddle. They look great with my half chaps too! Same Ariat comfort I'm used to as well!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Brown-Very comfortabl. Really H20. I had to glue rubber toe that came to me unattachedBlack ones nylon zipper does not stay up. I returned them.
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Initial reaction is positive I'll have to see how these hold up to daily wear and tear before I bestow any more stars, but...I've been wearing Ariats forever, since they first came out and I tried on a pair and they felt great.Last pair I bought was the Devon Cobalt Quantum Pros or whatever insanely overwrought name they'd morphed into, and I was *so* disappointed, I ended up selling them.Ariat had done something odd to the footbed, and they were just *so* uncomfortable.They may have redeemed themselves with these puppies, though. Instant comfort, no break-in required.Ariat--would you *please* make an all-leather paddock boot that fits like these?Pretty please? I miss them.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this shoe I love this shoe....I can put it on new and it fits perfectly from day one. It needs no break-in. This is my first pair with a zipper instead of laces. I would give it five stars, except that the leather seems to,start to separate sooner than it should, based on how I wear them, in my opinion.
    Date published: 2014-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful boot.......I love the look and feel The only problem I feel is around the ankle. For some reason it rubs my ankle even with socks on and I can't seem to make up my mind whether to keep them or not. I have been walking around the house and so far it has not gotten better. I will probably send them back for that reason! Too bad, because I love them!
    Date published: 2014-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots Comfortable for both riding and working around the barn. The the waterproof feature, feet don't get wet after bathing horses.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most comfortable riding and barn work shoe ever I adore these boots. I almost want to call them sneakers, because that's what it feels like to walk around in them. They're stylish, true to size, and remarkably comfortable. I was leery at first about buying them since some reviewers complained about the ankle being too tight and the zipper not staying up, but I've experienced neither of these issues. In fact, I have pretty wide ankles and these are snug but not in a bad way. I prefer zip up boots to be snug at the ankle otherwise when you push your heel down in the stirrup, zip boots tend to pull away from your foot in the heel. These don't do that. The sole is nice and firm, giving you good support in the stirrup, but feel like sneakers when you're walking around the barn. I honestly can't believe I spent two decades riding in annoying lace-up paddock boots that were a bear to walk around in. Granted, these Ariat Terrain Zips haven't been around for 20 years so there is that, ha ha. I marked the value as average because as most Ariat products go, they're way overpriced, even for this quality. Still, I'm keeping them because they're the same price everywhere and I spend much more time doing barn work than I do in the saddle, making these boots a necessity.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality footwear I needed warm well made boots for multipurpose use around the barn. The decision to buy this shoe was based on three factors; can I ride in them, will they stand up to the weather, and could I muck stalls while wearing them. The answer was YES! I wear them daily and I'm very pleased. These are my third pair of Ariat's a well made, great quality boot !
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the usual Ariat fit I bought these pair to spare my Ariat Devon Pro Paddock Boots when I am working around the barn...to my surprise the fit is very different and it didn't work for my feet...they are going back...
    Date published: 2013-12-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too small! I bought these to replace my long worn out Ariat H20's from a few years ago. They were way too small overall and the zipper wouldn't zip. I returned them and asked for a full size larger than I usually wear. Waiting for the new ones to arrive.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these I really like these.  I've worn other Ariat Terrain styles (and short-lived Ariat "endurance" models like the Terrains that worked better for me) and found these to fit and wear similarly. They were very clunky and awkward when I first put them on, but softened up brilliantly after a trip to the grocery store, and were then barn ready.  They are waterproof but breathable, and I've worn them in all but the coldest weather.  The sole insulates far better than the more traditional paddock boot styles.I have a decent arch but relatively low foot volume and chunky ankles after some breaks and surgeries :( , and these fit me very well. Stirrup-friendly and surprisingly good traction. No problems with the zippers. I hope Ariat keeps making these.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not quite there for zip Terrains I keep hoping that Ariat will make a really good zip front Terrain. There's something about the front and top of the zipper, perhaps it just doesn't come up far enough compared to the standard Terrains. These are ok, but I still reach for my regular lace ups.
    Date published: 2013-11-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from instep is very narrow I can wear almost any kind of shoe. My size is 7M.However in these boots I could not close the zippers. I tried a 7.5 returned them and then an 8.5 and am returning them tomorrow for the same reason I can not close the zippers. I normally wear a 7M Ariat tall Riding boots in a M calf. These Ariats are beautiful I jus can't imagine why they made the instep so tight. I also have 7.5 low Ariat lace ups which are perfect for me. I am very disappointed in these. I love the concept of the zippers.
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish they had fit my feet I know from year's of trying to wear zip up shoes that they probably won't work due to my very high arch. These were not exception...but they are great looking and would have been great for the barn...oh well, another lesson learned.
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Ariat product These boots are indeed water tight, and are very nicely made. Sizing is true to Ariat standard. I won't comment on durability because I haven't worn them enough to test the strength/longevity of the zipper.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase !!!! I Love my new Ariat Terrain Zip H20, They are true to size. Feel great !! Have kept my feet warm and dry in the snow, rain & ice !! I love them. Great around the barn in the mud, clean well. Easy on and off.. I recommend them highly !!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Dry We had a serious cold spell after I received these. Pretty darn warm on their own. Added a pair of toe warmers and my feet were great at 9 below zero. Comfortable for chores and waterproof. A little tough to zip if you are wearing thick socks. Have not ridden in them so I cannot comment on that.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far. I've owned the first version of this Ariat shoe for years so I was excited when a new version came out and I purchased them right away. I paid about $90 for my old pair and $130 for the new ones. They look nice and fit well but in comparing the two versions the zipper on the new shoe looks cheap and not as durable as the zipper on the first pair. This is disappointing - if I am paying more money I expect better quality - especially from Ariat! I have only owned the shoes about a month and they are holding up so far - time will tell if they are as durable as the first version (which I still have and still wear regularly!).
    Date published: 2013-01-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wait to buy this boot... Wait to buy this boot until they get the zipper issues fixed. It is a very nice boot, but I had 2 different pairs (returned both) and they both had zipper issues. I hope they are able to address this issue because once the zippers will stay up, it will be an amazing boot!
    Date published: 2012-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on-off and great support! I had been wearing some rubber clogs because of how wet my barn shoes were getting over the summer. I noticed that my knees were starting to hurt and I looked at my clogs and they were stretched and collapsing to the outside! Yikes! I ordered these shoes and within two days of wearing them my knees are fine! It doesn't pay to wear cheap shoes!
    Date published: 2012-11-10
    • 2015-08-29T01:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_30
    • loc_en_US, sid_10869, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.