Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Ariat® Heritage III Lace Paddock

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #18510
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ariat® Heritage III Lace Paddock Boots feature upgraded full-grain leather and a moisture-wicking, breathable lining. With built in Four Layer Rebound (4LR)™ Technology, this boot offers support and cushioning for everyday wear. The Ariat® Heritage III Lace Paddock has an elastic twin gore at ankle for comfort, self cleaning tread, a punched toe cap, and a padded collar at its topline.

Favorite Features

  • A 4LR™ (4 layer) footbed for comfort
  • Lightweight stabilizing shank for support
  • Duratread outsole for maximum wear resistance  


Sizing It Up

Customers Also Shopped For
Phenomenal sheepskin boots designed by Peter Mattes and ...
Phenomenal sheepskin boots designed by Peter Mattes and Klaus Balkenhol. A specially molded ankle area provides optimalProtection and allows the ankle joint to move freely and unhindered. Sheepskin's natural properties reduce friction and increase air flow to the horse's legs. ...
The best fitting and performing ankle boot for ...
The best fitting and performing ankle boot for jumpers with strike plate technology. The shell is composed of semi-rigid polyurethane that mold to your horses legs. The Eva reinforced strike platesProtect as your horses brush. Fast release ferrules with narrowing ...
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The ...
The latest generation in Tredstep's Renaissance Collection. The Medici Paddock boot combines high-class European styling and precise elegance, with exquisite aniline calfskin leathers. This combination gives you a timeless edge to unrivalled refinement and enduring comfort. Tredstep 's specialized TMI ...
The Eskadron Rubber Bell Boots are extremely strong ...
The Eskadron Rubber Bell Boots are extremely strong and durable, yet pliable andSoft. Ribbed rubber with double VELCRO brand closure. Great for both riding or turnout for assured hoof and healProtection! Pair. Favorite Features Velcro closures make them easy to ...
Equileather Paddock Boots are 100% washable, low maintenance, ...
Equileather Paddock Boots are 100% washable, low maintenance, fashionable and affordable. Durable synthetic leather with a double stitched design and a breathable, moisture wicking lining, spur rest and rugged sole with steel shank. Equileather Paddock Boots have a larger toe ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der ...
Give long break-in times the boot! The Der Dau Boot Stretch Spray helpsSoften and permanently stretch all leathers or suede. It helps relieve tight boots or half chaps. The unique formula willSoften even the stiffest boot or shoe, making it ...
out of 5
87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Ariat® Heritage III Lace Paddock is rated 4.2727272727272725 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfy I am a beginner rider. I have worn these for 5 lessons and all day around the barn. The are so comfy. I left enough room to wear them with medium weight wool socks, so they are also warm enough for cold days in MA. I like the lace up option, as the zippered ones hurt the top of my foot.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seem to be a quality boot I have always worn the cheaper Ariat boots but they no longer offered them in lace up so I decided to try the next step up. So far so good but I only wear them once a week so they don't get a lot of wear. Breaking them in was easy and painless but they leather is so soft they get creases I'm odd places like the inside of the boot near the heel. I like to clean my boots after every trip to the barn to keep the dirt and mud from drying out the leather. I'm hoping these boots last a really long time so that I won't have to buy a new pair next year.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy boots Bought to practice in with new half chaps. Bought different brand that fell apart in a couple of months. Friends have these and love them
Date published: 2015-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly comfortable! I bought these boots because an experienced rider/friend said they would be good for what I do around horses: and that is, walk next to them, as I hold onto a little special needs rider. Even though I neglected to "break them in" before my hours of volunteering, I never noticed them on my feet--no pinching, no rubbing, no blisters! They seem to be made very well, and I am quite pleased with my purchase.
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love I've used these boots a few times now and I absolutely love them!!! They are very comfortable especially the heel, I prefer the laces since it gives me a choice at how tight I want it tied. These boots are great and at a reasonable price
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Durable I have had these boots for less than a year and they have cracks where the boot bends by the ball of the foot and the sole of the boot is separating around the entire toe area of both boots. As a result, if I go anywhere near water my entire foot get soaked because the boot has no water resistant ability anymore. In the boot's defense, I wore them 5-6 days a week, hosed/bathed, and turned out in them an rarely cleaned or conditioned them, but I still expected them to wear better. Love the style, very comfortable, but they don't last.
Date published: 2015-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One month in and couldn't be happier! After a month with these I have no complaints whatsoever! No wear and tear, no break in required, and they still look like new. I waterproofed them straight out of the box and clean them everyday but I run through boots faster than horses run through blankets... These are definitely worth the extra effort!!
Date published: 2015-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great costumer service! Nice boot and great costumer service over the phone!
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable Lovely Boot I bought these because I could not seem to find a pair of shorter field boots for my foot and calf size (9 slim) so I thought I'd go to paddock boots and half chaps. I love Ariat boots to begin with though I had never bought paddock boots before. When these arrived I tried them on and they fit great! I am a size 9 and have a bit of a narrow foot, which is why I bought the lace up in case I had the tighten them to fit better. These run true to size and I never had to tighten them, they fit my feet great! Great arch support and very comfortable. The leather is nice and soft, I don't think there will be much of a break in stage as it's supple. Not sure how they will hold up yet, we will find out when I start riding again. I will probably post another review once I've had quite a few rides in them. I am a bit rough on my boots so it will be interesting to see how durable they are. Overall, wonderful looking boot, very comfortable, and great price!
Date published: 2015-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice and comfortable paddock boots Have used those boots for 10 years now. These are new, but still same quality and comfort. My son with very skinny calf used them in black for showing in pair with the Ariat Monaco Half Chaps, and nobody will see the difference!
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always love my Ariats! I have been hooked on Ariat paddock boots for as long as I have been hooked on horses! They are always durable as well as comfortable. I would recommend any of the Ariat boots again and again to fellow riders. I was very excited when I received these boots (as I have not had to buy a pair in years, literally) and found that they are just as high of quality as all of my boots in the past have been. I have worn a size 9 for years, so I again ordered a size 9, and they fit perfectly.
Date published: 2015-03-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not durable I've worn these paddock boots since I've started riding, and they've always lasted several years. After wearing out pair I had for about 3 years, I bought the pair I've had now. They seemed just as nice, broke in quickly, and were very comfortable. However after only a couple months the bottom started separating from the rest of the boot in the toe area, and they're now starting to crack near the ball of the foot. I do ride in them almost every day, but I would expect them to last much longer than this. I've had them for about 6-8 months now and I don't expect them to last more than a year (they've already lost their water resistance due to cracks/separation). This has always been a great boots, but this time i was disappointed with the quality and dirability.
Date published: 2015-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy! Just got them and I'm very happy with the quality of boot. It's been a while since I've owned a pair of paddock boots, and I'm very happy with these. Fair price, good quality. I have several pairs of ariat boots, mostly western and they are 8.5, these I got in an 8 and feel like they might still be a 1/2 size too large. This is my first pair of L4R sole and I'm not sure it's as comfortable as my ATS soles in my other boots. I'll have to get back to you on that after some miles in them! I would recommend ordering 1/2 to a whole size smaller than your tennis shoe size. I like my English boots snugg and my western boots loose.
Date published: 2014-12-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ariat Heritage -- classic Paddock Boot The service and delivery from SmartPak was perfect. My regret with Ariat and all the paddock boot lines I checked is that no one makes Narrow widths -- AA, S, SS. I have slim to super slim feet and having to wear two pairs of thick socks does not make the boots tight enough and does not enhance comfort.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good boots but sizing has changed I've worn Ariat Heritage paddock boots for years...always in a size 7.5. I've never thought twice about ordering them and they've always been great...except for this year. This year's pair arrived and I was surprised to find that the 7.5 now fits more like an 8 or 8.5. And they just don't feel as well constructed as in the past. So for this year I guess I'll wear thick socks, and next year maybe look at some other brands, despite my historic Ariat loyalty!
Date published: 2014-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boot ! I am not a rider, but had been looking for a lace-up boot and happened upon this boot on the SmartPak website - much less expensive than a "fashion" boot, but every-bit as good looking - plus, I venture that it is way more comfortable ... great arch support and what I expect will be a long-lasting soul. I walked 3+ miles in them the first time I wore them and no complaints at all !!!
Date published: 2014-11-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like them a lot These boots broke in quickly and look very nice with my Ariat half chaps. Great for the price. The laces are very long and sometimes stick out from under my chap, but that is a small issue. My only worry is that the back of the heel above the little spur notch seems to be wearing out much faster than the rest of the boot, I'm not sure if that has more to do with the chaps I have rubbing there too or the boot construction.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Have gone down in quality I find the quality far different than the prior Heritage Paddock boot which I have had for 4-5 years. The leather seems a cheaper quality. There are only two sets of hooks instead of 3 on the top part of the boot. The boot just doesn't feel as comfortable as the one it's replacing. I'm actually going to send them back.
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Being a professional I'm in my paddock boots a lot throughout a day. I'm very hard on my boots, from riding, teaching in the sand, washing horses in the wash stall or bringing horses in from turnout I put them through the ringer! They hold up very well and the price makes it very affordableo replace when I do finally wear them out.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super comfortable! I love Ariat boots and they are the only ones I wear around the barn. Very comfortable, last forever!
Date published: 2014-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these dang booties I bought these around the beginning of winter time and they still look as good as new! I purchased these because I didn't even own any paddock boots and I used to ride in my steel toed "work" boots. I figured I would treat myself to some proper riding booties and I'm so glad I picked these. I ordered online and I got a 7.5 which are a little too big for me during summer, but perfect for winter of course because there's plenty of room for socks! (I recently just bought another pair in a smaller size) Although they are too big, they are excellent. The first day I had them I actually got stepped on (of course) but no mark was left! Scuffed out with my hand and it went away. They're super sleek and are very easy to clean, I hardly even have to actually take any sort of soap or cleaner to them because they can easily be wiped off. They give me great support and are overall just so comfortable! I used to wear them to school with leggings and always got compliments on them hahah little did people know they were paddock boots! They also helped me improve my riding skills because they are flexible enough in the ankle to allow my heels to go into proper position. I would definitely recommend these boots to anyone and everyone.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not built to last I returned the pair I ordered. The soles were thin and offered no support and the general quality of the boots was poor.
Date published: 2014-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Typical Ariat quality, but durability... I used these boots for about 8 months after falling in love with them at my local tack store. However, I was surprisingly disappointed with the durability of them! I've had a pair of Ariat Western boots that I've had for about 5 years with no sign of wear and at 8 months of use these boots have a case of pretty severe cracked leather just a bit behind the decorative "ribbon" near the toe of the boot that extends down either side of the boot. Being Ariat however, these are unparalleled in terms of comfort- did require a break-in period but no blisters or pain! I'll admit I perhaps didn't oil and care for them as much as I should've as I tend to be pretty hard on my boots and tack, so perhaps if well oiled near that decorative strip they would last longer. (the cracking so far is purely cosmetic-it hasn't entirely worn through the leather- so the boot is still suitable for schooling)
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable! I love the lace up feature as it allows me to insert orthodics. These boots are extremely well made and fit me beautifully. I would recommend buying a half size smaller as they run larger than the zip up. YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE DEPT. IS AWESOME!
Date published: 2014-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for me! This is my second pair of Ariats. I used the previous pair for riding for about 14 years! These feel comfortable and fit great! Love em!
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3rd pair I bought my third pair of Ariat paddock boots and wore them 6+ hours a day for five days in the saddle on a trip to Turkey. There was NO breaking in time and my feet were comfortable with no blisters or rubs. I feel confident in the superior fit and quality of Ariat.
Date published: 2014-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boots I purchased these boots when my previous Ariat boots finally bit the dust. Those wore like iron. These boots have not held up as well; I had my previous boots for 5-6 years, and they only really started wearing out in the final year. I have had these boots for about a year, and the leather on the toe is wearing out quickly, as is the elastic on the back. The leather quality is clearly not as high as it used to be. These are nice boots, and I would recommend them, but do not expect them to wear as well as the old Ariats.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ariat quality Have had new boots for a month - love them! Great product.
Date published: 2014-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice boot Bought this boot as it was less expensive than the Ariats I usually buy. I like the more expensive ones better but they have gotten ridiculously high priced. These will do.
Date published: 2013-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boot I have been wearing this style boot for 20 years. I absolutely love them and would not wear anything else. They pair nicely with the Ariat half chaps. A pair usually lasts me about 3-4 years. I bought these on sale as my next backup!
Date published: 2013-12-18
  • 2016-10-27T13:20CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_72
  • loc_en_US, sid_8510, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders