Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Antares Elastic Breastplate

Antares
- Item #14726
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements.

Complete adjustability and comfort for your horse. Classic blue and white elastic portion (1.5" wide) provides extra give in shoulder area. Wither straps have removable snaps as does the running martingale fork and the portion that attaches to the girth. The wither pad and the girth attachment are generously padded with soft calfskin. Decorative signature Antares stitching on the wither pad and Antares stud at the center of the neck portion.

1 (Cob), 2 (Full) or 3 (O/S).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Antares Elastic Breastplate is rated 4.6538 out of 5 by 26.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice elastic breastplate! Very lovely elastic breastplate. Pretty colors, leather was super soft out of the bag and high quality. Great idea with the clips--much easier to take on and off.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breastplate I do not write many reviews, but I had to for this. It is a lovely, lovely breastplate. The leather is so soft and such high quality, and the navy/white is really sharp on my bay horse.I originally ordered a size 2 for my light boned 16.1 TB gelding, and was surprised to find that it was too small for him, especially after reading the other reviews. For reference, he takes a ~medium tree saddle and wears 78" Rambo blankets. The 3 fits perfectly and gives me more flexibility for use on other horses.The only thing I would change is the snaps that connect the breastplate to the saddle. They are kind of dinky and seem breakable to me, and I found them hard to use. The snaps on the Hartwich Smartpak breastplate are much, much better and I have ordered some similar ones to replace the snaps provided on the Antares.In summary - expensive, but worth it!
    Date published: 2014-04-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced for an elastic girth Quite disappointed with the price of this breastplate! For this amount of money I could buy many other things. I know Antares is known for its amazing quality which is why I wanted to try this product out, after using it for quite some time nothing amazing stood out to me, I was not blown away with this product.
    Date published: 2014-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Product! I have had this breastplate for over a year now and it looks like brand new! Just make sure you clean the leather every time you ride, it keeps looking great. I also found the leather to be really supple and it matches my horse fantastic! (He's a chestnut). It is a great price for what you get!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy A friend suggested this breastplate to me, and I'm glad she did!It's definately worth the money, its such a beautiful breastplate!I read the reviews and noticed how some people said it didnt oil well, so I was a little skeptical when I started oiling mine but it ended up oiling fine. Mine has no spots at all, and it darkened very easily after one coat of neatsfoot oil. I've had it for about a month now, and so far no problems here.It does run large. I bought a cob-size for my stocky large pony (pony sizes are too small for her) and it's a little loose on her. But to be quite honest, it doesn't bother me since its so nice! I get a lot of compliments on it, and people are pretty quick to notice it's a nice breastplate. I'm so glad I spent the money on it, and I hope it lasts me awhile!
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breastplate I found This breastplate is gorgeous and matches my antares saddle perfectly. As an added bonus the sharp blue and white elastic and padded leather makes my new guy look great! I looked at a lot of breastplates including other top brands and more budget friendly brands. This is by far the nicest one I found as far as quality and features go. It does run huge though so factor that into your ordering. I have a 16.3hh tb and he wears a 1. Can't comment on durability since I just received it a few weeks ago but love it so far.
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and functional I have been very impressed with this breastplate. The craftsmanship is lovely; it looks very classy and sharp. The fit is great, both in the cob size I bought for a connemara and regular size for a 16.1 h jumper. The leather is breaking in well. Overall a very nice purchase, though it is a bit expensive!
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GORGEOUS AND WELL MADE LOVE IT. Fantastic quality and gorgeous. Can't comment too much on durability yet but not worried. Very well made. Also gets an "aah" from people who appreciate beautifully made tack...like me. :-) Fits my 17.3 horse well (size 2) so would have to be a big AND thick horse to need a (size 3). SmartPak very helpful in measuring neck elastic to decide size.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful breastplate! I am very happy with this breastplate! It is a little pricey, but it's worth it. It keeps my saddle in place without restricting my horse's movement and the blue-and-white elastic is very classy in the show ring. The quality of the leather is nice and it's quick and easy to attach the breastplate to the saddle and girth. The leather is holding up quite well and it should last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SHARP Looking Breastplate Again, not disappointed with Antares product. After my purchase of my Antares Jumping Saddle, I noticed my saddle slipping back. My trainer sent me back to SmartPak to find a breastplate and also a non-slip pad. I have to say, my non-slip pad fixed the situation but I am NOT giving up my breastplate. The Blue and White nylon looks so sharp and classy on my horse. I will save my breastplate for when I gain some confidence to step out of the sandy ring and begin to do a little cross country
    Date published: 2011-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything You've Ever Wanted I received this breastplate as my one and only gift for my 15th birthday. It is extremely expensive: let's just get over that right away because it is seriously worth every penny. I've always admired them, horses just look so good in blue and white, and they are just as good as you have ever imagined. Leather is soft, doesn't oil real dark with Hydrophane but Antares oil could have different results. If I wanted it darker I might try that, but it's darkened a touch with use and it is beautiful. The elastic is super durable, just a touch of give so that the horse can use its shoulders. Holds up great, cleans up well. I bought a 2 for my 16.2 Thoroughbred, I would definitely go for a 3 for anything bigger than that.Buy it. Seriously, you will not regret it. It is effective, beautiful, and extraordinary quality.
    Date published: 2011-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product Excellent product. Superior quality. Ease of fitting. Kind of pricey, however you get what you pay for. My horse LOVES it because my saddle does not slip any longer causing him back pain.
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous breastplate! This is a genuinely stunning piece of equipment. It's been beautifully crafted and there was not a stitch out of place! I love the look of the blue and white elastic against the leather, and it matches my boy's Antares boots perfectly. However, like another poster, I had some very small issues with leather quality. Unfortunately the breastplate did not oil evenly all over, and there were a few patches that appeared to refuse oil. They are not large - quite small actually - and hardly visible, so it hasn't been a big concern. It's still a beautiful piece of equipment! I am really looking forward to showing with it this summer.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Showing! I bought this for my daughter to show in and she received so many compliments from everyone at the show. She entered in her first Mini-Prix Classics and won!!! What a day!
    Date published: 2010-08-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from very disapointed in leather quality This is my second review - my first was before I actually used the breastplate & it is gorgeous out of the box. I did oil it and condition it before using it but after only one event the leather is unevenly worn, colored and dry. I have been oiling it and conditioning it every night to try to restore it but a piece at this price point should be of much better quality.
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Breastplate I get excited every time I use this breastplate! The leather is so soft and doesn't need oiled the way it is. I love love love how every piece has an easy clip instead of buckles. Fits my horse great, looks great. The elastic allows just enough stretch to be comfortable for my horse, but not too much to let my saddle slip. I love this breastplate.
    Date published: 2010-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful breastplate I was thrilled to get this breastplate for Christmas - it is a gorgeous piece of tack. I have the horse size for my 15.3h TB, I will need to punch a few holes to make the running martingale rings the correct length but the breastplate itself is slightly tight, which is good – a little room for the elastic to stretch as I’m sure it will as it breaks in so I’d say the sizing is pretty correct. It didn’t need much oil, the leather is very nice.
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality! Qaulity! Quality! I couldn't be happier with the quality of this breastplate! It more than lives up to the Antares name in tack. Nicely padded in all the right areas, supple leather and a perfect fit!
    Date published: 2009-12-01
    • 2015-05-25T09:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_26
    • loc_en_US, sid_4726, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.