Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

Amigo Insulator Stable Blanket

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20661

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Amigo® Insulator Stable Blanket was designed to keep your horse cozy and warm while in the barn. Made from durable 210D ripstop polyester with a smooth polyester lining, this blanket is perfect to use on its own in the barn or as a layering piece under a turnout blanket in cold weather.  Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Hi-Tech 210 denier ripstop polyester shell keeps your blanket looking great for years to come
  • Cut to Horseware's classic design
  • Straight front closures let you take the blanket on and off with ease
  • Tail cord and two criss-cross surcingles keep the blanket in place 
  • Available in Medium/lite (100g), Medium (200g) or Heavy (350g)

Sizing It Up

66-84

Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The All American features the Big D Diamond ...
    Description:
    The All American features the Big D Diamond Pattern and contoured design for added warmth, fit, and comfort. This stable blanket is a Big D classic! Open or closed front, forest w/ beige trim or navy w/ silver trim. Favorite ...
    Save with a set! Includes the Rockin' SP ...
    Description:
    Save with a set! Includes the Rockin' SP Quilted Stable Blanket (220 g of fiber fill) and Rockin' SP Nylon Stable Sheet. Use individually or layer, depending on the temperature! Favorite Features Unique Rockin' SP cut with broader chest and ...
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, ...
    Description:
    Designed to fit stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, this stable blanket is cut to accomodate broader shoulders, chest, and hindquarters and features a slightly shorter drop and a cutback at the withers to provide the fit and features you need ...
    The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. ...
    Description:
    The outer material is 1000 denier Dupont Cordura. This blanket has 300 grams of insulation, fur friendly taffeta lining, high bias surcingles, detachable elastic leg straps, faux beaver at the ... closure with a detachable tail loop.  Sizes 48 - 84. ...
    Specifically designed to fit the unique Quarter Horse ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to fit the unique Quarter Horse build, this classic and versatile sheet is a perfect light layer on cool days or to keep your horse clean on show days. Imported. Favorite Features Unique cut with broader shoulders and ...
    The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals ...
    Description:
    The Amigo Foal Blanket is suitable for foals from birth, for outdoor and indoor use. Unique innovative adjustment system to allow the blanket to grow with your foal. Has expanding front & side adjustments allowing expansion by 6 inches in ...
    A great value stable sheet that is ideal ...
    Description:
    A great value stable sheet that is ideal for stable use to keep the coat clean and save on grooming time. Made of a durable 100% polyester. Classic original shape. Silky shoulder lining.Cross surcingles, tail cord and double front closure. ...
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Amigo Insulator Stable Blanket is rated 4.7241 out of 5 by 87.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great layering piece This stable blanket fits great under a turnout sheet or a heavy blanket! It's thin but has a good amount of fill. Being from the North East and going from warm to below freezing in a day or two, this is a great piece to have in my blanket stock. I haven't had it long so I can't comment on it's durability, but so far I'm very happy with it.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Evening Blanketer's Favorite! The 100-g version is ideal for our Southern California weather. Fits nicely, including around the shoulder. Stays put even without the tail cord. Seems to breathe well--hand walked horse with it still on one morning and he didn't sweat. Person who often blankets at night says it's her favorite and she wants everyone to get them. Can't speak to durability at this point.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well I sent this blanket to my trainer for my horse so this review isn't first hand but I was told the blanket fits very well and she would recommend it for others.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect light weight blanket This blanket is wonderful! It is super easy to get on and off and fits perfectly. It has been an ideal weight for this unusual warm November and December we have had. Bought a 75 for my 15.1 Warmblood mare who wears a 76 in Baker. Looks really nice on and I think she finds it very comfy!
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice medium weight! This is a nice medium weight blanket. Strong and not too bulky.
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits great Fits our 16h anglo arabian perfectly (78). We've been using it almost every night since we received it. Seems well made, and the embroidered name turned out beautifully.
    Date published: 2015-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really like it I haven't had this for very long but I really like the fit. I have a baker blanket to layer over it abd they work well together. I had to return and move down to a 75 in this blanket even though my baker rain sheet is a 78. I ordered a medium weight and am glad I did.
    Date published: 2015-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Several of these in roatation! These are a great blanket (in medium weight) for us here in Florida. It's warm enough to keep the horses cozy in their stalls, but not the heavy arctic expedition type things the northerners need. When we get a freak really cold snap, we can easily use this as an under layer because it's not too thick or bulky.This blanket just seems to fit our horses well, regardless of size. We We have some one these that were purchased as far back as 2010 and it is STILL in great shape, in spite of belonging to a mare that makes blanket destruction her mission in life. Purchased another for a new guy last fall, and am thinking of buying one for the baby.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second blanket and by the middle of winter I will be buying my third( the next size up) as it is for a growing 2 yr.old. Last years blanket was outgrown but held up well, light weight, stayed in place, just perfect stable blanket for our climate.
    Date published: 2015-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect I love this blanket and it fit true to size on my Friesian stallion (size 81). However, on arrival it doesn't have leg straps so I had to send it back. When the weather is really cold he wears a stable blanket 24/7 and without leg straps it shifts when he sleeps. To be fair, many stable blankets don't have the leg straps. Otherwise, if you're looking for a nice quality, beautiful blanket and only need the tail cord I would recommend this blanket. I wish it had worked for us. Smartpak customer service was great on the return. Note: Since I didn't keep it I can't say how durable it might be.
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and great layering blanket I love amigo blankets! They are durable and they fit great! This stable blanket is great for layering or for use at a show.
    Date published: 2015-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amigo Insulator Stable Blanket This product exceeded my expectations. The fabric is soft and a great way to keep your horse warm and comfy during winter months while stabled, but it prevents chafing.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses LIVE in Horseware Simple, beautiful, soft, cozy, long-lasting - it doesn't get any better than HORSEWARE.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it? Of course - it's Horseware! Cozy warm and great looking - the perfect layering piece for the over-the-top-freaking-out-cold-winter we've had.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit and quality My mare has been wearing every night since I received, looks great, keeps her warm and Easy to wash... Love it for stall saving wear on the turnout. Prefect fit!
    Date published: 2015-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great blanket! I purchased this blanket, because some others at our barn have it and love it! We are monograming them and using them when we go to show. They look great and shavings don't stick to it, so we're not brushing them all the time. Tried and true at the barn!
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for layers! I bought this about a month ago and it fit my horse great. I use it as a second layer for below freezing nights and it seems to keep my horse nice and warm.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have had this blanket for less than a month and have no complaints. My horse seems to be very comfortable in it. I love the fact it doesnt pull back on him and stays in place very well even without the use of leg straps. I believe its true to size, I have a warmblood that usually wears a 86 blanket but the amigo's size 84 fits him great. I would highly recommend this blanket to everyone.
    Date published: 2015-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fitting and light I've bought three blankets of varying weights for my two horses. I love the lightweight feel and ease to wash them. They fit my Danish WB and Arabian horse very well. Recommend getting the next size smaller than normal. The only watch out is that there is static, so make sure to spray with Static Guard.
    Date published: 2015-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight but warm! Good quality and light weight (physically) but still keeps my horse as warm as a baker blanket would. I can't speak to durability as I only just purchased it last week
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I got this as an underlayer for my horse. Quality was good. Fit was good. Felt nice. He had a blanket rub after less than 24 hours.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the Monogram! Our horse Scooby is already enjoying the blanket since the weather has turned cold. And we love the monogramming - we chose Ballantine's Script as our font and it looks great!
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it! I bought this blanket for my own horse this christmas after seeing how well they fit all the horses at my work barn. It fits the big warmbloods all the way to my skinny tb/appaloosa. I absolutely love the fit and it seems to run true to its size (my horse is a 78 in all his weatherbeetas and this 78 fits perfectly). I don't know how it will hold up, but it seems to be a quality blanket and reasonably priced. Im very happy with it!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! This is a well fitting blanket for a great price, improved from a couple of years ago now with ripstop fabric. It's a little on the light side so if your horse likes to "play" with his clothing this is not as sturdy as others. However, for those of us lucky people with polite horses, this is a bargain! And ... horses play less with their clothing if the fit is good and they're comfortable. And this blanket does fit and does stay put. I have a couple of these and they also wash well in the washer.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love there blankets! Big cut for the warmbloods, light weight and easy to wash.
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT blanket - quality at a great price I'm SO happy with this blanket - I can't believe it's as inexpensive as it is.This is the first stable blanket I've found (and I've tried tons) that doesn't rub my thoroughbred's shoulders and chest. After a month of freshly clipped wear, alone and under a turnout, he doesn't have a mark or a lost hair anywhere.It layers well, stays put, withstands playful all-day turnout worn under another layer, and the weight will be perfect for a chilly northeast winter. I love the easy-to-manage-with-gloves front closures and the warm-but-light fill.I would love it more with leg straps, but it stays put without them.I do find it to run a smidge big - the 72 is a few inches longer than my guy, but it fits him beautifully through his shoulders and body.
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for layers! I bought this as an extra layer for my mare. There are days when a sheet isn't enough but a 200g medium weight is too much. It fits her great!!
    Date published: 2014-12-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heavy Blanket Nice, thick, heavy blanket. However, it does not have back leg straps. It has a butt string instead. So just purchased leg straps and will be adding rings and leg straps.
    Date published: 2014-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Easy to wash and fits my 17 hand horse well! The blanket looks really nice monogrammed
    Date published: 2014-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing amigo blanket Best , warmest blanket I've been so happy with on a long term. I have a 17-hand Draft Cross . With a draft shoulder & butt, and the amigo just wraps right around him. No rub marks I was convinced he would have.I have not yet need to layer the blanket due to its wormpth.
    Date published: 2014-11-30
    • 2016-02-09T14:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_83
    • loc_en_US, sid_10661, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.