Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
U-Gard Pellets
Corta-Flx, Inc. — Item #15477
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Field trials showed positive results

  • Provides calcium & magnesium to help neutralize excess gastric acid
  • A field trial conducted with Thoroughbreds at a race training facility showed positive results
U-GARD™ is highly effective on gastric lesions in horses. Try this calcium supplement for your horse, and make gastric issues a thing of the past.

View our Gastric Supplements Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (56 grams) daily)
  • Calcium (min)
    2.5%
  • Calcium (max)
    3.5%
  • Magnesium
    3.5%
Ingredients:: Kaolin, Calcium Carbonate, Magnesium Hydroxide, Glycine, Zinc Oxide, Diatomaceous Earth, Methylcellulose, Silicon Dioxide, Dried Apple Pectin Pulp, Aloe Vera Gel, Sodium Propionate (a preservative), Iron Oxide, Natural and artificial flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: For an average 1,100 lb (500 kg) horse, feed 1 oz (28g) twice daily with the horse's regular feed. Prior to training or event, feed an additional 1 oz (28g). Feed others according to body weight, less for smaller horses, ponies, and foals, more for larger breeds. SmartPak has received permission from the manufacturer to feed 2 oz once daily for our customers who choose to add this supplement to their SmartPaks.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Advanced Cetyl M Pellets are uniquely designed to ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Cetyl M Pellets are uniquely designed to help maintain and support joint health and function in horses. In addition, this formula may also help ease the discomfort that can occur from heavy exercise, training, and competition. The unique omega ...
    "IN-SYNC 4 Pellets are designed to help support ...
    Description:
    "IN-SYNC 4 Pellets are designed to help support efficient muscle function, immune system health, and normal blood cell production. The comprehensive formula includes lysine and methionine for muscle development; thiamine, niacin, riboflavin, and vitamin B12 for red blood cell production; ...
    "Leg Up Stomach Pellets provide fundamental ingredients for ...
    Description:
    "Leg Up Stomach Pellets provide fundamental ingredients for gastric health in an easy-to-feed pelleted form. This economical formula includes magnesium carbonate and calcium carbonate to help neutralize excess stomach acid, along with lecithin and aloe vera to help maintain a ...
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, ...
    Description:
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, which buffers the stomach from gastric acid. When horses are stalled, this natural buffering mechanism is disrupted, and acid indigestion often results. Neigh-Lox is designed to support normal stomach function and promote ...
    "Support your horse’s digestive tract from beginning to ...
    Description:
    "Support your horse’s digestive tract from beginning to end. Neigh-Lox Advanced helps to maintain normal stomach function and digestive tract health. This formula includes: • Gastric buffer and coating agents to buffer excess gastric acid and support stomach tissues • ...
    "Horses grazing in sandy areas are at increased ...
    Description:
    "Horses grazing in sandy areas are at increased risk for experiencing sand colic. Psyllium Pellets by SmartPak provide high-quality psyllium seed husk to aid in fecal sand clearance. Providing psyllium may reduce the possibility of digestive colic in horses grazing ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    U-Gard Pellets is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 335.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pellets are easy to feed!
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Seems to be working on pony that had gas - eats it readily
    Date published: 2017-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Budget effective solution for preventative gastric health!
    Date published: 2017-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Palate-ability and Results! I use this for a horse that typically has issues with mild colic episodes and this has really seemed to help!
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders for my mare I started my mare on this about 2 months ago. Within 3 weeks you could tell there was a difference in her! Her normally puffy belly looked normal and she was not as touchy when you tighten the cinch! Best thing I have ever done for her
    Date published: 2017-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great Bought it for my Arab on Black Friday, today is now January 12th and I have to order more now. I've only been giving her one scoop a day and I've already seen amazing results. She used to be really girthy and now she's pretty calm about it. she's in a better mood all the time too. I love this stuff, I'm putting her on it indefinitely.
    Date published: 2017-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from U-Gard Pellets A small group of family members found and purchased an elderly mare that was destined to slaughter. Other than needing basic care s/a dental care and food, she had abnormal bowels. I purchased a small canister of the U-Gard to see if it would help her. It took about 2 weeks but I have noticed a remarkable improvement! I plan to keep her on U-Gard for the rest of her life.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wanted to give it a try I have a super irritated mare with her new environment and feed. Putting her on ugard has made all the difference! She's more comfortable now! :)
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helping our senior horse! We have a 22 year old Tennessee Walker who has had a very hard life--we rescued her at 15 nearly starved to death--and we have always struggled to keep weight on her in the winter. We decided to try this to see if it helped and it really has. She seems to be keeping her weight up well despite the cold and lack of fresh grass.
    Date published: 2017-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My hard keeper gelding has lots of health issues, ulcers being one of them. He was on ulcer guard paste but I needed a more cost effective long term treatment. He is a very picky eater, but eats these pellets with no problem. So glad that this is working for him. His appetite has improved greatly.
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product to help with gastric issues Bought this product to help in aid of gastro issues .
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I purchased this I had to treat my horse this summer with omeprazole and this product seems to be very supportive of gut health now that I am more informed about how important it is. Very palatable, my horse ate it up as a top dress on his grain.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective and works I put my OTTB on this about a year ago, along with changing him to a senior feed, which my vet reccomended for his ulcer-y tummy as it is easier for them to digest. He had to be treated for ulcers FIRST and then put on UGuard for it to be really effective, and I still give him UlcerGuard during traveling and shows. We have not had any issues with Ulcers since we treated him and I think it is from using UGuard in his feed every day to suppress any excess stomach acid. I think for this product to have full effect, owners need to treat their horses with UlcerGuard or GastroGuard and then put them on this supplement so that their horses stomachs are actually healed or healing before putting them on the ulcer maintenance of an antacid like UGuard.
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse likes it! I have a horse prone to ulcers due to required medication. Anything I can do to help prevent/treat them is great.
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for my boy with ulcers! We suspected ulcers by the horse's behavior, so we treated him with Omeprazole for three months, then put him on half dose of this UGard daily. He is one happy camper now!!! I will keep him on this for life!
    Date published: 2016-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent !! Love, love this stuff!! It came highly recommended by my vet. My horse eats it out of my hand! Wont ever be without it!! Thank you SmartPak:)
    Date published: 2016-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great Even my picky eater horse ate it. Used for my one horse for preventive for ulcers for his first shoe
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! So far this product has worked and my horse is ulcer free. I am keeping my fingers crossed.
    Date published: 2016-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soothes the tummy. My older gelding (15 yrs) gets a little anxious when he goes to a show. He was diagnosed with ulcers. But he would only exhibit the ulcer discomfort when being ridden. This u guard takes care of the problem. Works great.
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable Improvement in my OTTB's Health I've had my 18 year old OTTB on this for a couple of months now and he is doing great. I have noticed that he is happier than ever before and he has also gained weight and cribs less.
    Date published: 2016-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Tummy = Happy Horse For the past few months my horse has had loose stool... I switched his feed once and it got worse so decided to stick to our normal regime and try the U-Gard pellets. It seems to have taken a few weeks but I FINALLY saw some normal stool from him this past weekend (it's the little things as horse moms that make us happy, right??). Nothing else has changed except for me adding in the U-Gard and a weight gain supplement from Smartpak so I'd say that has to be the winning formula. Will continue to keep him on it. I think as horse owners we want to see immediate results and that's just not the way it works. If your horse is having gut issues, give it about a month and you should see results!
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and easy to feed This is an excellent product, and safe for long term use. I used the paste regime first, with this for maintenance. Easy to feed and it is easily eaten by cautious horses.
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UGard I bought Ugard to try instead of a different product that was a liquid. Wasn't sure if the pellets would cost as well. Every since I switched I see no change in my horse which means that Ugard is just as good and no mess so happy I made the change.
    Date published: 2016-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! I bought this a month ago and it's working wonders. I own an off the track thoroughbred that came with ulcers, this keeps him comfortable and happy when saddling up. He's an extremely picky eater and does not have a problem eating this!
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great on my uptight gelding I have used this product for years with great results.
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product as am using u gard on 2 of my lesson horses.has made a huge difference in behavior
    Date published: 2016-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Results! I saw results within a month! I recently purchased a horse and he was displaying signs of mild colic, frequently. He also had symptoms of ulcers. After a few weeks he was more comfortable, without colic symptoms. He is now putting on weight and looking healthier.
    Date published: 2016-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I don't notice a difference in my horse. Supplements usually are hard to tell if they have a big effect at first . No problems though with him being on it!
    Date published: 2016-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extra Insurance I give it to my gelding the week before and after going to a show as extra insurance due to trailer inch and show stress.
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_34, tr_301
    • loc_en_US, sid_5477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders