Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SOURCE

SOURCE — Item #10093
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

The ultimate micronutrient supplement

  • A unique proprietary blend of pure dehydrated seaweed meals
  • Includes at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds
SOURCE is an extremely broad-spectrum horse supplement with at least 60 elements and their associated micronutrient compounds in a biologically active form. SOURCE contains small amounts of naturally occurring vitamins, including the 14 currently recognized "essential trace elements" and the 21 trace elements now under special consideration with respect to essentiality, plus other unidentified associative factors whose role in nutrition has not yet been established.



SOURCE contains a proprietary blend of pure dehydrated seaweed meals...and nothing else! All-natural, concentrated herbs of the ocean. 



View our Mineral Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1/2 oz) daily)
  • Crude Protein (min)
    5.9%
  • Crude Fat (min)
    2%
  • Crude Fiber (max)
    6%
  • Iodine (min)
    660 ppm
Ingredients:: Dehydrated Seaweed Meals.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: Mix 1 heaping measure (included) (1/2 oz/14 gr) per day with feed, even during hard training, pregnancy and lactation or breeding. Amount based on 1,000 lb (450 kg) body weight. Adjust accordingly. A leavel measure holds 3 teaspoons, a heaping measure holds 4 teaspoons. Feed 1 teaspoon per 250 lb body weight. Do not exceed reccomended feeding levels.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "dac® Colt Grower provides a balanced vitamin and ...
    Description:
    "dac® Colt Grower provides a balanced vitamin and mineral profile for young, growing horses. Vitamins and minerals play a critical role in numerous metabolic functions, including: reproduction, bone development, nerve function, immune function, and hoof, skin, and coat quality. Along ...
    "dac® Orange Superior is a vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "dac® Orange Superior is a vitamin and mineral supplement designed for use in the diets of working horses, broodmares, and stallions. Minerals play a critical role in numerous metabolic functions, including: reproduction, bone development, nerve function, immune function, and hoof, ...
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of ...
    Description:
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of the original SOURCE formula with added support for the aging horse. In addition to a daily serving of SOURCE, FOCUS SR contains antioxidants, vitamins, beneficial microbes, chelated minerals, fatty acids, and enzymes. ...
    "Nature provides a plentiful array of seasonal plants ...
    Description:
    "Nature provides a plentiful array of seasonal plants like springtime cleavers and autumn hawthorn berries. Unfortunately, many horses only have limited access to such plants. Herb Power is designed to maintain and support horses of all ages with its carefully ...
    "Magic Mineral is an all-in-one vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Magic Mineral is an all-in-one vitamin and mineral supplement that contains a specifically developed combination of nutrients for strong hooves, healthy skin, and a shiny coat. In addition, it provides prebiotics and digestive aids to support feed utilization and the ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of alfalfa hay/grain based diets. The addition of live, stabilized direct-fed microbials, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SOURCE is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 136.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overall supplement I've had my horse for 5 years and he's been taking Source daily. It was recommended to me by another experienced horse owner so I tried it. He's healthy, shiny, and farrier says his hooves are always in great shape.
    Date published: 2017-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieves Hives? It was suggested by a trainer that I try a seaweed based supplement to help relieve hives that my horse developed this spring. I did some research and seaweed based products are quite popular in Europe to encourage good hair and hoof growth. Not as easily found here in the U.S. it was good to see that SmartPak offered a seaweed based product. The main mineral in seaweed known to encourage this is iodine. While I am not sure if giving my horse Source alleviated her hives, they have disappeared and I have noticed a benefit to her hooves and coat. She is shiny, dappling and her hooves are strong.
    Date published: 2017-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my trees. I've been very happy with this product in that all my horses eat it readily and it has satisfied their mineral needs and stopped them from chewing on trees.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff at an unbelievably low cost per day! Source has been an integral part of my feed program for my three horses for years and I'd never be caught without it. Hooves are hard and grow smooth and fast. Not a single horse I've fed it has needed shoes for any reason. Coats are deeply pigmented with shine and dapples. My herd has been so healthy we have only had the vet out for routine vacations for the past 8 years! My 19yr old mare has never looked or felt better and she's constantly putting much younger horses to shame.
    Date published: 2017-01-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Source of Iodine I've been using half a scoop of SOURCE to make sure he was getting enough iodine. Though this product doesn't smell that great (unless you love the smell of seaweed), my picky horse will eat it just fine in grain as you don't have to feed that much of it. Their 1 oz is very small, and he will lick his bowl clean even with SOURCE in it; however, he definitely hesitated the first time I gave him an ounce of it in half a pound of his favorite rice bran. Though I didn't get this product for my TB's feet (he had pretty good-conditioned hooves before staring SOURCE), they do look really good right now after using half an ounce of SOURCE for about 4 months.
    Date published: 2016-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I used source as just an added product to make sure my horse with diet restriction was getting everything he needed. Added bonus was my tbs feet have never been better. I noticed a huge diffrence when I took him off source for a few months. This works better for him and his hoofs then any other product I have tried.
    Date published: 2016-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I have only been using this product for a month and I already notice an improvement in my horses' coats. More time will tell if there is a marked improvement in their hooves, but it does seem that surface cracks are growing out.
    Date published: 2016-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long time Source user We have had horses for over 40 years. Started using Source in the mid eighties, I believe. Mainly for improved hoof quality, and also for better nutrient utilization. Sometime last winter we ran out for a few months, and Bob started going to pieces. After Spring shots, checkups, and some dental work, he is doing better, now; regaining weight and we hope his feet grow out with less chipping. Since we had started Pete on "Bug Off" earlier for his insect allergies, we decided to go with Smart Pak for their Source, as well. So far, so good. FYI both horses are in their twenties.
    Date published: 2016-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My secret... People have always commented on how shiny and healthy my horse looks. Every farrier I have had has commented on the growth and hardness of his hooves. He's never needed shoes. Of course, this could be a genetic trait but I think it comes down to a little of that, good hay, clean water, an appropriate amount of salt, regular deworming, and source. You gotta work from the inside out. Our soils are becoming more and more deficient in micronutrients which is why we must supplement in certain areas. I even carry this over to my own life and try to eat only organic foods which are better for the environment and my body. I try to get blood work done for my horse regularly and fill in gaps with more specific vitamins/minerals, like I do for myself, but in the interim I find this supplement seems to cover all the bases my horse needs. I've even used it on rescue horses in the past and they've all benefited from it. From OTTB's, quarter horses, Appaloosas, paints, and Arabs ranging from the ages of 4 to 30. Most got only that, not even needing a multivitamin. To top it off, this supplement is such a good deal. If you buy the cheap, small bucket, you get a 5 month supply and it doesn't need to be refrigerated. This is the one thing I've always recommended to first time horses owners. I'm glad my mom started me on this as a kid. I'll stick with this for any horses I own in the future.
    Date published: 2016-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Order it regularly It really helps with growing out foot cracks and dappled coats
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sauce! I started my 27 year old TB on this a year ago when he kept suffering from recurrent rain rot. No more rain rot! Source also gave him a super soft, shiny, and healthy coat! He's shedding well this spring, and the hair underneath is beautiful! Both the powder and nuggets work well - it's up to you how you want to give it to your horse.
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Use this product for years. Hooves are great with no cracks
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Health and well being I have been providing source to my horses for 9 months. They look and feel the best since they've been with me over the past 8 years and my mare is nursing
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is great My rescue mare's coat changed from a burnt sorrel color to a liver chestnut after about a month using Source.
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works as a great all around supplement for my horses. I gives them nice shiny coats and an overall healthy glow
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so far so good... I can't say I've seen drastic improvements yet but I have high hopes. Started this supplement about 1 month ago. I'm really hoping for better skin coats and stronger hooves. I will update this review in several months...
    Date published: 2015-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stuff! have been buying this for 6+ years, it provides a great natural source of often missing nutrients. I try to NEVER run out it helps my horse look & feel their best
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't knock it til you try it I've used Source for probably 20 years. It's just a good all around product. We give it to our brood mares and breeding stallions. I've used it on my riding geldings as well. I ride my horses barefoot. The Source toughens up the feet. I have to trim 2-3 times a year. My horses ride in all terrain, and have no problems. Good supplement for anything from foot problems, GI issues, and joint problems. You must feed for several months before you see results. It does work!
    Date published: 2015-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't go without Source! I purchased an OTTB gelding in December. He retired from the track in September and had some down time before I got him. He was shipped up from KY to ME and was a rack of bones. His coat was long and gross, and he had some sort if fungus on his neck. I started him on source immediately and his weight has picked up, he is gaining muscle, and his coat is shiny and beautiful! I can't wait to see how he looks by summer. He so g go without Source.
    Date published: 2015-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it promises Started on horse on this, and now all three are on it. Even my picky eater loves it. Horses have maintained a great weight, no runny noses during the winter rain, hoofs are growing better and stronger.
    Date published: 2015-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! This is a great way to round out the nutrients in your horse's diet!
    Date published: 2014-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Provides wonderful benefits! I have had my 21 year old QH mare on this supplement since March and before that I had her on another version of sea kelp. Seaweed is full of vitamins and nutrients that benefit the horse! Last year at this time she had a hard time shedding out her winter coat. She stayed fuzzy for most of the summer in patches :( but this year is totally different! She is almost all shed out already and covered in dapple's and her pretty grulla coloring is vibrant this year! Also her hooves have started hardening up and her mane and tail have grown beautifully! I like to thank this supplement for bringing out the pretty in my mare :)
    Date published: 2014-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I've been using Source for all my horses for years. It's a great product to help balance the nutrition of my mostly hay diet. My horses love it and the cost is extremely fair especially in the larger sizes.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just makes sense.... I have used it for years. Peace of mind knowing my boys are getting nutrients that are most assuredly missing from our depleted crops.
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My trainer recommended this product to help my horse maintain a healthy coat and hooves. She is an easy keeper and has a restricted diet, so it is important that she get all of the essential nutrients. This product insures she is receiving the trace minerals that are necessary.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best All-Around Products Out There I've used source with my OTTB for the past 7 years and it is an excellent product. There have been a few instances in which my horse has been off of Source for a couple of months at a time and I can certainly tell a difference. On Source his hoof quality is better, he has more hoof growth, his coat is shinier and more true to color and he maintains better body condition. Having a TB that is a bit of a hard keeper it is clear to me that he maintains his weight much more easily while on Source. I would recommend this product as an inexpensive way to help your horse maintain optimum hoof and body condition!
    Date published: 2013-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Source vitamins for your horse Our 5 horses do not have access to pasture so we want to be sure they are getting all the vitamins they need. Source is a fairly inexpensive way to do so.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! My Mare needs kelp to keep her thyroid level and I use Source instead of plain granulated kelp, which I used before, as the Source has a lot more in it. So far it has worked.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trusted product I have used Source for my horses in the past. In recent years my hay has come from the same farmer and has been very high quality alfalfa mix. Given this year's poor hay growing conditions and the change from alfalfa mix (unavailable) to grass hay (I was plenty glad to get it) I added source back to their diet. I trust this product.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement Love Source! Makes me mare's coat shiny and dark and helps with her fly problem!!!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    • y_2017, m_12, d_18, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_116
    • loc_en_US, sid_93, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders