Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartShine® Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #16317
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Maintains a healthy glow

  • 3,365 mg of omega 3 fatty acids from flaxseed support healthy, resilient skin & a shiny coat
Is your horse short on shine? A dull coat and dry skin may be signs of a diet lacking in essential fatty acids. SmartShine provides vital omega 3 fatty acids from stabilized flaxseed to promote healthy skin from the inside out and create a stunning coat. In addition to having a winning shine on the outside, your horse will thrive from the many health benefits omega 3s are known to provide!

View our Skin & Coat Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 28 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (28g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    15%
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    30%
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids (Linolenic Acid)
    12% (3,365 mg)
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids (Linoleic Acid)
    7.1% (1,995 mg)
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    17%
Ingredient Statement:: Flaxseed Meal, Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil, Vitamin E Supplement, Coconut Oil, Fenugreek Seed, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Citric Acid (preservative).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 28 g daily, 1 scoop = 28 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartShine® Original is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 430.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! My horse had a really dull and dry coat. After putting him on SmartShine I saw a difference in two weeks! He is so soft,silky, and shiny now!
    Date published: 2017-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My little mare is a very flashy flaxen chestnut but her red coat never got that copper penny shine that I always wanted. I have tried oils, all sorts of supplements, plus she is on high quality feed and hay. NOTHING WORKED! After two months I am happy to report that I finally got my copper penny!!!
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible! I've been using SmartShine for well over 6 months now. My adorable QH palomino has never had such a beautiful coat!
    Date published: 2017-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I use this in the winter to maintain a good coat and use the Ultra in summer for that one in a million glow. Have a very dark brown/black and a palomino and both benefit from using the products.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Coats are shiny at summer and thick at winter I have had my mare on this for over a year and she has had a very shiny dappled chestnut coat during the summer and a thick healthy coat during the winter. I had my two geldings on it this spring, but switched them to a less expensive supplement for the summer and fall. Due to a record breaking wet October, and living outdoors, all three horses ended up having rainrot. The geldings are the worse with major amounts all down their backs and on their hips and sides, while my mare had one spot on her hip, which healed up very fast. My conclusion is due to her being on SmartShine, she had better skin, thus was able to fight it off. My geldings are being treated and are switching to SmartShine as soon as my new shipment gets in. Won't be taking them off of SmartShine ever!
    Date published: 2016-11-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse didn't like it Bought horse didn't pike like, ate around the flakes
    Date published: 2016-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I started my horse on this because his hair coat was not great I saw results within a week his coat looks shiny and healthy just started my second month will keep him on it very happy with the results
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good supplement, bad taste I bought this supplement for my horse that has severe bug bite allergies. He would not eat it. We tried adding water to the supplement and peppermints. He wouldn't touch it. My horse will usually eat anything, so I was surprised he wouldn't eat this supplement.
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement This is a great supplement for keeping a good shine your horses coat.
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shine on the old boy! I included SmartShine on to Barney's SmartPak Senior delivery so I'm paying for something beneficial for my horse, instead of just paying for postage. Barney's delivery plus Lacey's SmartPak equals no S & H, so everything going into horses YEAHHH! And Barney has a nice shine on his bay body!
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love it! Great product at great price. Horses love the taste. Have only used it for 2 weeks, too soon to see coat improvement, but I'm confident I'll see shine soon.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Healthier Coat! Bought this a month ago and waited to write my review until I was at the end of the bucket. Started feeding this because my horse was having some skin issues. This has helped clear them up and also to make his coat smooth and shiny! I just wish that it came in pellet form as well!
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is doing great on this I bought this a month and a half ago and my horse his coat is so shinny! The best thing I ever did for him.
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have I have been using SmartShine for a long time now and it really is a must have. There is a difference between the soft, SmartShined coat and the coat sprayed wth shine sprays. My horse was even shiny after rolling in sand. I took my horse off of this for a month because I thought he didn't need it anymore but boy was I wrong! His dry skin returned and the luster was gone. I won't be taking him off of this anytime soon. Great for the show ring or horses used in photography.
    Date published: 2016-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works super fast I could see an obvious difference after 1 week. Had to mix w applesauce bc my mare left it in her bucket but no big deal. Love how lustrous it makes her coat!
    Date published: 2016-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Coat Supplement I prefer liquid coat supplements, but this one is amazing! Even while switching my mare over to SmartShine, she maintained her gorgeous coat condition and dappling. Her skin is healthy and she shines. She tends to be a little picky but she eats SmartShine happily. In the photo I've shared, she only gets high quality grass hay, a fortified grain ration, and SmartShine.
    Date published: 2016-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results quickly! I have been using this product on my two show mini's for about 2 months. I know that is a short time to evaluate a product, but both of mine showed results within the first month. Granted, they get excellent care, a balanced diet, and daily exercise & grooming. But their coats became softer and I got a really nice sheen with a little less vigorous grooming. Have not shampooed them at all this spring because with a little elbow grease they are beautiful. My Vet said that my pinto mini looked "awesome" !!! Will keep using this product especially into the winter, as my little "Demons" usually look like Yaks by February. Interested to see the winter coat. Great product and very palatable.
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from smartshineeeeee so im going to be completely honest this product is amazing my horse loves it and she wasn't shedding off at all so i was so upset that she wasn't and then i tried this and after the first month my horse is spit shinny totally recommend this. shes happy and so am i!! its also a great price
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big improvement! Noticed a difference after about 3 weeks. My 8 year old has issues every spring with itciness and dryness. Now his mane hair is even growing thicker!
    Date published: 2016-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shinier in a month I started my 20 yr old TB on this a month ago and he is getting his bloom back
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome! My gelding has been on this for 4 months and it has helped his coat and mane look lovely!
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product, good price I've been using Smartshine on my mare for a few years. She had a lot of skin issues and it was always dry and flaky. But ever since she's been on this supplement the skin issues are mostly gone. And it's a bonus that her coat is so shiny!
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff really works!! I had my mare on this (1 1/2 scoops daily) and after 2 weeks her coat was so shiny! I had multiple people ask me what I was feeding her because her coat looked so great! Even during the winter months when all the horses coat tend to get dull and dingy, hers looked great! This product is no joke, and at such a great price, you can't go wrong!
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell Have only been using the product for 90 days so it is too soon to know how effective it is. When horses shed out in spring we will have a better idea.
    Date published: 2016-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable difference I got this for my new horse 2 months ago. You can see a noticeable difference in her coat. It looks like she is sparkling. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more dry skin! I have a 2 year old Gypsy Vanner with really dry, flaky skin. You can brush it off in big chunks. Since starting the smart shine it has helped her so much! Her skin is normal...I'm so happy!
    Date published: 2015-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Glossy coat now To be honest I was a little skeptical, that something could help my horse's coat. I have a 15 year old gelding and it seemed that over time, his coat was getting duller. I attributed it to being sun bleached, since he is outside a lot. I started him on SmartShine a month ago and I already see a difference. His coat has a shine and he looks great! Thank you
    Date published: 2015-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this, made my chestnut mare sleek and shiny! When I bought my mare, her coat was very dull, so I wanted to put her on a coat supplement. I liked the price of this one (I'm a broke college kid) and smartpak supplements have worked in the past for me, so I gave it a shot. A couple months later, she's like a new horse! She's sleek and shiny and oh so soft. I do brush her 4-6 days per week, so I know that plays a role, but I have no doubt that this helped. My slightly picky mare was a little wary at first, but now she eats it no problem.
    Date published: 2015-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Getting Results! My appendix quarter horse has been on this supplement for about 2 months now and I am starting to see a difference. Just before the cold front that came through his coat was shinier than I have seen in it a long time. Although the changes are minor I do definitely see a difference. I am excited to see how he continues to change.
    Date published: 2015-10-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just OK - didn't work for my horse. I bought this because SmartPak was doing a promotion on SmartSupplements. I usually feed my horse whole flax, but thought I'd give this a try because the SmartPaks are so easy. It took him a while to even eat the product. He's picky and at first he would eat around the powder. He eats it now though, and has been on it for about a month and I saw no difference in his coat. I actually think it was shinier on plain flax. He never got rain rot when he was on whole flaxseed also, and he has rain rot now. This was worth a shot, but considering the cost difference, palatability and effectiveness I am just going back to buying whole flax seed, which is MUCH cheaper and seems to work better for my horse.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_377
    • loc_en_US, sid_6317, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders