Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartGain®
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #14505
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Four methods of support

  • Provides extra calories from healthy fats & amino acids to support lean muscle development
  • Also includes prebiotics, probiotics & enzymes for digestive health
SmartGain is the weight gain solution you have been looking for, with four complementary methods of support! This comprehensive formula provides amino acids to support lean muscle development, extra calories from healthy fats, prebiotics, probiotics, and enzymes for digestive health, and the herb fenugreek to support a healthy appetite in picky eaters. Four weight gain strategies. One tasty supplement. 

View our Weight Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 2 oz:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (2 oz) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    24%
  • Lysine
    1,250 mg
  • Methionine
    800 mg
  • Threonine
    1,000 mg
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    20%
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    15%
  • Active Dry Yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae)
    27.9 billion CFU
  • Alpha-amylase
    19,700 USP
  • Protease
    19,700 USP
  • Lipase
    4,700 USP
  • Pepsin
    7 mg
  • Lactase
    35 ALU
  • Bifidobacterium Longum
    89 million CFU
  • Enterococcus Faecium
    2.25 billion CFU
  • Enterococcus Lactis
    3.85 billion CFU
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus
    9.45 billion CFU
Ingredients: : Flaxseed Meal, Soybean Meal, Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Dried Milk Protein, Corn Distillers Dried Grains With Solubles, Vegetable Oil, Active Dry Yeast, Yeast Extract, Fructooligosaccharide, Dried Whey, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, L-Threonine, DL-Methionine, Dried Aspergillus niger Fermentation Extract, Brewers Dried Yeast, Dried Porcine Pancreas, Fenugreek Seed, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus Fermentation Product, Magnesium Silicate, Maltodextrins, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus lactis Fermentation Product, Salt, Dried Bacillus subtilis Fermentation Product, Dried Bifidobacterium longum Fermentation Product, Dried Propionibacterium freudenreichii Fermentation Product, Dried Porcine Stomach, Dried Aspergillus oryzae Fermentation Extract, Vitamin E Supplement, Citric Acid (preservative)

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 2 oz daily, 1 scoop = 2 oz.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish ...
    Description:
    "Total Blood Fluids Muscle was developed to replenish the vital nutrients lost during stress and exercise. Fortified with essential B vitamins, minerals, and iron to help increase oxygen-carrying ability and red blood cell count. Contains branched-chain amino acids to aid ...
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential ...
    Description:
    "Omega Horseshine® is a premium omega 3 essential fatty acid supplement made with fortified, stabilized, ground flax. Horse Journal's: ""Product of the Year!"", ""Our First Pick - Most Concentrated Source of Quality Omega-3"", & ""Recommended Immune-Boosting Product"". Recommended by John ...
    "SmartCanine Calming is designed to support proper nervous ...
    Description:
    "SmartCanine Calming is designed to support proper nervous system function and help manage anxiety in challenging situations. This formula provides soothing herbs such as valerian root, chamomile, and passionflower, as well as B vitamins and magnesium to help support a ...
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined ...
    Description:
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined with B-complex vitamins and organic trace minerals. Metaboleeze may be appropriate for supporting horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome/insulin resistance, as well as some types of tying-up. Work with your veterinarian to determine ...
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was ...
    Description:
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was developed specifically for horses with performance-robbing anhidrosis (reduced ability to sweat). One AC has proven results from a field tests at the University of Florida. Contains ascorbic acid, niacin, L-tyrosine and cobalt ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartGain® is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 464.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results After 1 month of using smart gain my 28 year old looks FABULOUS! He has filled out in just the right places and is happy as can be!
    Date published: 2016-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic in a bucket Help my 30 year old Morgan regain her youth and shine!!
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought this for our new mare that was a bit on the thin side. Saw results almost immediately and her coat shines!
    Date published: 2016-06-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I bought this roduct at equine affaire hoping it would be great because SmartPak is supposed to be this amazing thing but my has horse lost weight since I took him off Purina Amplify and put him on this product so he is going back on the Amplify. The muscle mass builder I bought with this has seemed to work okay though. I would put this into a pellet rather than a powder if I were you guys.
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good This product is part of a very aggressive program to get my gelding to gain some weight. Following digestion problems and a winter of poor appetite plus a tooth hook, we started March at a Henneke score of about 2.5 (yikes). Nothing was working, teeth were fixed, blood work was normal, deworming didn't do it. Now, to be fair, I can't attribute results to this product alone, but in combination with extra beet pulp, grazing, SmartGI, and Platinum GI (smectite clay) we seem to be winning the fight. Vet couldn't recognize him when she last saw him in May, and he is now at a solid 4.5, with improving muscling. For a light, lean breed, he is almost at peak condition. He is a picky eater and sniffed at this the first time, but has been eagerly licking it up since. Powder mixes nicely into beet pulp and with his pelleted feed. I find the smell pleasant.
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have a 17 year old gelded quarter horse that had been having digestive issues for about the last 3 winters. Two different veterinarians offered solutions that did not help much. We tried the Smart GI Ultra in the fall of 2015 because his stool was becoming chronically loose and watery. It was remarkable the transformation he went through in the first month. He has been taking that supplement for about 6 months now. He had lost so much weight each winter that he never quite got back to "normal" weight. We decided to try the SmartGain in addition to the Smart GI Ultra. He has put on some muscle mass after starting the SmartGain last month. We are truly thankful we found products that have helped him.
    Date published: 2016-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Skip has not only put on pounds but built muscle. He's looking so good, we are trying halter classes!
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I purchased my first month of packets 2 months ago. My horse has maintained his topline and even his coat color has become a more rich looking tan/brown.
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really makes a difference for our hard keeper! We have a 16YO appendix mare who is difficult to keep weight on. We used this supplement when she was at a boarding barn and tried taking her off of it when she came home with us, thinking that we could make other adjustments to her diet (including green grass!) that would help her stay at a good weight. It didn't work. She's highly sensitive to keeping her grain and her work load balanced, so increasing grain is not a good solution for her. We just added this SmartPak back to her diet and I guarantee you it'll do the trick again, just like last time, without causing her to get too "hot" when it's time to work or allowing her to stand around the farm looking as if she's malnourished. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for improving pregnant mares's appetite My mare is due in just under a month and is normally a very hard keeper, not to mention she is very pregnant! She has been really losing her appetite lately. It started with not wanting to eat her beet pulp so I took that out... Now even her yummy Triple Crown Growth feed isn't even sparking much interest and she just munches on her hay (at least she does that!). I have only had her on SmartGain for a couple days now but it's use was proved today. She had barely picked at her breakfast and was just sneering at her lunch so I tried mixing the SmartGain into it... she sniffed around and immediately started eating. She didn't finish all her feed but did eat about 2 quarts. What a relief that this will help make her eat! Now I just want to know how much of this I can safely feed her to convince her to eat more!! As for weight gain, obviously I haven't had her on long enough to see a change and may not considering she isn't eating as well in general anymore. From knowing and understanding the ingredients used in this supplement I am certain it would, in a reasonable way, help put weight on.
    Date published: 2016-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Put the Weight Back on my Boy I bought my horse, Harrison, at the end of March. He is about 16 and had been left out on pasture with no grain or supplement for a year, becoming visibly underweight, ribby and a bit despondent. The barn manager put him on a scoop and a half of grain daily and to that, I added the SmartGain supplement. He seemed to mind the taste a little, although I think it smells really good. Regardless, it isn't so unpalatable that it prevents him from wolfing down his grain. Here we are in the midst of May, and he is "out of the woods." The supplement brought a gloss back to his coat, a spring to his step and much needed weight to his barrel. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2016-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful for picky eaters My 20 yr old TB gelding has always been a problem child to get and keep weight on. I have tried lots of things, but he is eating his rations and all the Smart Pak supplements well. He definitely looks and feels better in the last 6 weeks.
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonderful Worked well without making my horse hyper or nervous
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product Hard keeping college rodeo horse, this product has worked wonders!
    Date published: 2016-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well I've tried many, many other weight supplements for my 27 year old TB guy, and this is the only thing that puts that extra weight on and keeps it on. Smells good, too!
    Date published: 2016-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Saw results in 2 weeks Thought I would try this product after a very healthy and conditioned horse suddenly went through herd stress when we purchased him and moved him to our farm. I should mention that at the same time I also switched to a better horse feed but I also believe the smart gain in combination with the new feed made him fill out and get some muscle tone back again. So, a horse that we thought was an easy keeper turned out to be a hard keeper. He likes eating the smart gain as well. Overall a good product.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I bought this two months ago for my underweight OTTB. It's made a huge difference! He's a picky eater and gobbles this right up!
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old Mare My old mare adapted quickly to eating this in her feed and she started gaining weight!
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful supplement! I've been feeding this to my 6 yr old Fox trotter for 2 months. I'm seeing a difference along her topline where she was thinner than I would like.
    Date published: 2016-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Supplementing Senior Ultra Pellets I have used this in a small amount to supplement my Senior Ultra Pellets. My horse was a cribber, and is always a hard keeper over the winter months. His topline had gotten very bony, so I thought this would help him. In combination with the Senior Ultra, I have definitely seen him put on some weight within the last month. I just gave it a "good" rating since I am just using a partial RDA.
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from TRUE TO ITS NAME I bought this product about 6 wks ago and it really is a good product. My horse is a very finicky eater and had a little trouble adjusting to the new flavor of the Smartgain. The product has really made a difference. She looks so much better than she did. Thank you
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartGain delighted. I love this product and more importantly so does my horse. He's a 16.1 hh purebred Arabian gelding, 10 years old and a hard keeper. He quickly loses weight but this supplimnt is easy to mix with his soaked beet pulp. I love the fat/protein content. Since feeding, I've notice he not only gained weight but muscle too.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse took a week to accept the powder in his grain. The first two days he didnt eat his food.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I have an older pony who struggles with her weight, and I've tried everything in the book to help her. It's difficult because she can also be a little picky and won't eat her food if I add a bunch of supplements to it. Every supplement I've tried from Smart Pak (including this one) she's eaten and it's benefitted her. This one didn't make her gain weight overnight, but she is eating it, seems to have a good appetite, and hopefully I'll see the difference soon. Thank you, Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2016-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent weight gaining product I put my senior mare on this product a month ago. She is 22 and has become a hard keeper. Since being in this for only one month, I have seen her put on and maintain weight. She now looks good and is filled out where she was a little ribby. I will keep her on this because it is the only thing I have found that works. I have tried other brands and nothing has managed her weight like the smart gain. I'm very satisfied with this product.
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results Bought this two months ago for my yearling. With him having growth spurts and it being winter he dropped weight. Within a few weeks on SmartGain he has gotten to his ideal weight. I wish I would have tried this last winter when he was a weanling. I couldn't be happier with results.
    Date published: 2016-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results Bought this for a horse that has trouble maintaining weight in the winter. Hes a picky eater and wasn't too sure about the smell/taste at first. It took about a week of using 1/2 dose before he really started to clean it up. Now he's been on full dose for a little over a month, and not only has he filled out, but I've also been able to reduce his grain to about half of what I was previously feeding (still free choice hay). I'm also reducing his smartpak to 1/2 dose on next shipment to keep him from gaining too much.
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I've used other weight gain supplement on my mare before and haven't seen a result as good as smart gain
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Palatible Seems to be helping my horse to show a little weight gain. Will keep it going for a couple more months along with unlimited hay
    Date published: 2015-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results I bought this a month or so ago after being dissatisfied with another company. My horse is a hard keeper and this seems to be maintaining his top line, which has been hard to maintain in the past. I also board and this allows me to make sure my horse is getting his supplement and making sure it stays fresh. The only problem I see with this product is at first my horse did not want to eat the supplement, so you may have to add a sweetner till they get used to it.
    Date published: 2015-12-15
    • y_2017, m_4, d_23, h_23
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_428
    • loc_en_US, sid_4505, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders