Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartGain™
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #14505
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Four methods of support

  • Provides extra calories from healthy fats & amino acids to support lean muscle development
  • Also includes prebiotics, probiotics & enzymes for digestive health
SmartGain is the weight gain solution you have been looking for, with four complementary methods of support! This comprehensive formula provides amino acids to support lean muscle development, extra calories from healthy fats, prebiotics, probiotics, and enzymes for digestive health, and the herb fenugreek to support a healthy appetite in picky eaters. Four weight gain strategies. One tasty supplement. 

View our Weight Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 2 oz:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (2 oz) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    24%
  • Lysine
    1,250 mg
  • Methionine
    800 mg
  • Threonine
    1,000 mg
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    20%
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    15%
  • Active Dry Yeast (Saccharomyces cerevisiae)
    27.9 billion CFU
  • Alpha-amylase
    19,700 USP
  • Protease
    19,700 USP
  • Lipase
    4,700 USP
  • Pepsin
    7 mg
  • Lactase
    35 ALU
  • Bifidobacterium Longum
    89 million CFU
  • Enterococcus Faecium
    2.25 billion CFU
  • Enterococcus Lactis
    3.85 billion CFU
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus
    9.45 billion CFU
Ingredients: : Flaxseed Meal, Soybean Meal, Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Dried Milk Protein, Corn Distillers Dried Grains With Solubles, Vegetable Oil, Active Dry Yeast, Yeast Extract, Fructooligosaccharide, Dried Whey, L-Lysine Monohydrochloride, L-Threonine, DL-Methionine, Dried Aspergillus niger Fermentation Extract, Brewers Dried Yeast, Dried Porcine Pancreas, Fenugreek Seed, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Dried Lactobacillus acidophilus Fermentation Product, Magnesium Silicate, Maltodextrins, Dried Enterococcus faecium Fermentation Product, Dried Enterococcus lactis Fermentation Product, Salt, Dried Bacillus subtilis Fermentation Product, Dried Bifidobacterium longum Fermentation Product, Dried Propionibacterium freudenreichii Fermentation Product, Dried Porcine Stomach, Dried Aspergillus oryzae Fermentation Extract, Vitamin E Supplement, Citric Acid (preservative)

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 2 oz daily, 1 scoop = 2 oz.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Rehab ...
    Description:
    "New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Rehab is the ideal choice for your horse during rehabilitation. This one-of-a-kind formula supports the healing process by combining ingredients for joint and connective tissues with those involved in the normal inflammatory response. ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartOmega 3 at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartGain™ is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 458.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse didn't like it My horse didn't like it so not sure if it worked! :(
    Date published: 2016-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boys are 26 and 28 and it has helped them maintain a good weight during the winter months. Both are hard keepers.....
    Date published: 2016-11-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Made my OTTB have more energy I started my OTTB on this supplement. She is in a 6 day a week work schedule for eventing. Normally forward but not a hot headed ride. This supplement put the weight back on her quickly but made her unable to pay attention, caused loss of focus. Nothing else in her diet or schedule changed. Stopped the product and in 3 days she was back to her normal energy level.
    Date published: 2016-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I started smartpaks in October and my horse has already gained a healthy amount of weight. I'm glad I can head into winter and not have to worry that my horse is too thin. I'm so happy with this product.
    Date published: 2016-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Weight Builder I've had my 10yo ottb mare on this supplement for about 3 months and I think it's a great fat supplement. For about 7 months she was on high fat grain and beet pulp and she just wasn't filling out like she should have been. I put her on this and after a month noticed her filling out like I wanted her to. She is now on SmartGain with her grain and alfalfa hay with a bit of pasture and is looking very good. I also like how this fat supplement has the hindgut probiotics included as well. She has also stayed very calm, so no energy difference's. She eats the supplement now fine but originally did not like it and had to mix it in with beet pulp or a little water on the grain to get it to stick. It also smells super sugary like a Reece's Peanutbutter Cup.
    Date published: 2016-11-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My Picky Eater Won't Eat I decided to put my 31 y/o QH gelding on this, as he has been losing topline and is a little on the thin side, so I thought it would be a good addition. While I am sure it works well, he is just too picky for this. I was hoping it would work well, as it says that it is picky eater approved, but unfortunately, he refuses, and eats around it. So I guess it depends how picky your horse is, but I would still recommend it to others.
    Date published: 2016-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it She love this I will keep buying it really helps out my hard keeper
    Date published: 2016-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hard working, hard keepin' TB mare I love SmartGain! My mare was already getting the maximum amount of grain recommended for her heavy work and body weight, and was still having problems keeping a good weight. SmartGain finally has her looking her best! I only wish that it came in pellets, because she tends to shift the food around when she eats, and there's always about a half a pack of powder still left in the bucket that she doesn't eat. Sad to be wasting such a great product!
    Date published: 2016-09-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I am just now on my first month with this product and already see results in my horse.
    Date published: 2016-09-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does nothing Gives my gelding diarrhea and that's about all it does.
    Date published: 2016-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells like a vanilla milkshake I have an older horse who was losing weight this summer with the heat tried this to help him build back some muscle and doubled his electrolytes and he is doing much better
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse doesn't like It seems to have worked but I wish it was in pellet form rather than powder. My horse doesn't like it.
    Date published: 2016-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like magic My horse has a degenerative disorder and recently I had a tooth removed on him as well. I've always had a VERY difficult time keeping weight on him and he's the pickiest horse I've ever met. He came out of the surgery at 995lbs looking like a skeleton and 2 months later with the smartgain he's back to around 1200 lbs! He looks incredible. I couldn't be happier!
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good. I haven't been feeding this long but it is starting to work. I have a young tb gelding that has been at the trainers getting restarted from the track. He lost weight due to the stress and is now starting to gain it back. Another plus is that his coat is now nice and shiny!
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! After just one month on smartgain I noticed my mares "problem areas" (topline, hips) filling in nicely. She can be a picky eater but she LOVES this smartpak....she will goes as far as to give me dirty looks if I forget to put it in her feed! I would recommend this to anyone with a horse who needs to gain some weight or fill in topline :)
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from growing 4 yr old Tried cocasoya, tried cool cal. This seems to hold weight for my 4 yr old when he's in work. While my hope was to add weight to him I'm happy he isn't dropping any with each growth spurt. Hoping this helps more the longer he's on it.
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Adequate Product - Not My Favorite I see better progress with Weight Builder supplement. It seems my starvations are not gaining weight as quickly with this product. Not sure why?
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Little Difference My 23-year-old TB loses weight in late spring/early summer, so I wanted to be proactive in preventing weight loss by putting him on this product. Unfortunately, he still lost weight while on this product (and after). He also didn't like the smell/taste - I could only get him to eat it with his grain by first soaking it, then adding it and mixing it in afterwards. My horse gets plenty of protein from alfalfa, so perhaps this product is better suited for horses with less protein-rich foods in their diet that need to gain weight.
    Date published: 2016-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I started my gelding on this last month and I can already see a huge difference in his weight gain!
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartGain is a smart choice I bought this product not so much for weight gain as for an added calorie supplement for my OTSTB who is starting a conditioning program for Limited Distance/Endurance. I liked this product for what I needed it for and the powder isn't a dry powder but clingy so it easily mixes well with feed, even pelleted, without adding water/oil. I only stopped using SmartGain as I switched to SmartDigest for the Colic Care.
    Date published: 2016-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product We have a developing 2 year old. This did the trick. Just enough in just a month.
    Date published: 2016-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have given my horse this for 6 weeks and I have noticed a great improvement.
    Date published: 2016-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helped
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results After 1 month of using smart gain my 28 year old looks FABULOUS! He has filled out in just the right places and is happy as can be!
    Date published: 2016-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magic in a bucket Help my 30 year old Morgan regain her youth and shine!!
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product! I bought this for our new mare that was a bit on the thin side. Saw results almost immediately and her coat shines!
    Date published: 2016-06-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Quality I bought this roduct at equine affaire hoping it would be great because SmartPak is supposed to be this amazing thing but my has horse lost weight since I took him off Purina Amplify and put him on this product so he is going back on the Amplify. The muscle mass builder I bought with this has seemed to work okay though. I would put this into a pellet rather than a powder if I were you guys.
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good This product is part of a very aggressive program to get my gelding to gain some weight. Following digestion problems and a winter of poor appetite plus a tooth hook, we started March at a Henneke score of about 2.5 (yikes). Nothing was working, teeth were fixed, blood work was normal, deworming didn't do it. Now, to be fair, I can't attribute results to this product alone, but in combination with extra beet pulp, grazing, SmartGI, and Platinum GI (smectite clay) we seem to be winning the fight. Vet couldn't recognize him when she last saw him in May, and he is now at a solid 4.5, with improving muscling. For a light, lean breed, he is almost at peak condition. He is a picky eater and sniffed at this the first time, but has been eagerly licking it up since. Powder mixes nicely into beet pulp and with his pelleted feed. I find the smell pleasant.
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have a 17 year old gelded quarter horse that had been having digestive issues for about the last 3 winters. Two different veterinarians offered solutions that did not help much. We tried the Smart GI Ultra in the fall of 2015 because his stool was becoming chronically loose and watery. It was remarkable the transformation he went through in the first month. He has been taking that supplement for about 6 months now. He had lost so much weight each winter that he never quite got back to "normal" weight. We decided to try the SmartGain in addition to the Smart GI Ultra. He has put on some muscle mass after starting the SmartGain last month. We are truly thankful we found products that have helped him.
    Date published: 2016-05-25
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_13
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_422
    • loc_en_US, sid_4505, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders