Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartFlex® Senior Herb-Free Pellets Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18243
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Keeps your senior going strong

  • The same benefits of the original formula without the herbal ingredients
  • Ideal for competitive seniors or those with sensitive stomachs
New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets were designed to support older horses in the three areas they need it most – joint health, digestive function, and antioxidants for a healthy immune system. This herb-free version of original SmartFlex Senior is ideal for older horses that compete or those with sensitive stomachs, where devil’s claw may not be appropriate.

For joint support, SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets provide 8,000 mg of glucosamine, 700 mg of chondroitin sulfate, 75 mg hyaluronic acid, and 12,000 mg of MSM. This formula also contains 500 mg of the amino acid phenylalanine to help manage discomfort. To support healthy digestion, SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets provide probiotics, prebiotics, and enzymes. And because senior horses benefit from extra antioxidants, this supplement also contains vitamin C and super oxide dismutase. Your horse will love these tasty pellets!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Find your horse's SmartFlex

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60 grams) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    12,000 mg
  • Glucosamine HCl (shellfish)
    8,000 mg
  • Chondroitin Sulfate (bovine)
    700 mg
  • DL-Phenylalanine
    500 mg
  • Calcium Ascorbate (Vitamin C)
    275 mg
  • Fructooligosaccharides
    225 mg
  • Super Oxide Dismutase (bovine)
    100 mg
  • Sodium Hyaluronate
    75 mg
  • Pancreatin 8x (supplying Amylase, Protease, Lipase)
    75 mg
  • Profloratin® (a proprietary blend of L. Acidophilus, L. Casei, E. Faecium and B. Longum)
    4.7 billion CFU
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Lignin Sulfonate, Magnesium Silicate, Maltodextrin, Sodium Propionate, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoop
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g

Compare

SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets

Clinical Research

You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartFlex® Senior Herb-Free Pellets Original is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 335.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best joint product for the money! Easy to use as well
    Date published: 2017-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joint supplement So far this seems to be doing a great job with my 23 yr old Appy, he is trotting along much. Better and no stiffness in hid hind end like i observed a month ago!
    Date published: 2017-08-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from New Senior Formula Now Just Joint Supplement I've been giving the SmartPak Smartflex Senior Herb-Free Pellets supplement for some time now and I am really disappointed with the new formula. The old formula contained Profloratin (a probiotic formulation) and the new omits this entirely. The new formula is basically just another joint supplement at a slightly lower price than before. My horse liked the taste of the original formula pellets more than other supplements I've given him, but I haven't tried this new one yet and since it is now just a joint supplement I may shop for another brand that is geared more towards the overall needs of a senior horse (with probiotics). It's too bad that some companies will take a perfectly good product and reformulate it to presumably maximize profits.
    Date published: 2017-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior Pellets My horse loves these pellets! He eats them out of his food first. I have only used them for one month, so I haven't really noticed a difference in his joints yet. I will update the review at a later time.
    Date published: 2017-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My picky gelding loves! I love the difference I'm seeing already! I'm very excited to see more lomg term effects!!
    Date published: 2017-05-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just started My mare does not object to this supplement in her grain -But I am not sure cost and effective wise it is better than the intramuscular injectable series sold and recommended by my vets
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far it is going good. He seems more comfortable
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great product to help prolong joint issues I purchased smartflex senior herbfree to help aid in prolonging any joint issues my horse my encounter in the future. He will be 17 this year. I am a firm believer in being pro active in providing joint supplements for both my horse and dog in efforts to prolong any joint issues they may encounter as they get older.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfortunately horse didn't eat pellets Would have liked to give this a try but unfortunately my guy wouldn't eat it , which is odd as I've never had a problem with him not eating supplements before . LOVE smartpak and all of the other SmartPaks but sadly this was a no go for us :( Hoping to find something similar that he will eat ! Luckily this was a free months worth from equine affaire so no money lost , just wish he would've ate it so I could see if it worked !
    Date published: 2016-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what she needed I have a 24 year old Appy Mare and on the SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets she still runs and plays in the field
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater prefers the herb-free formula I had previously been feeling the Senior Supplement but my gelding decided he did not like the taste. I switched to the herb-free formula and now he's cleaning up his supplements again and not missing out on the great benefits that supports aging horses.
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior pellets really help! My horse appreciates his supplement of senior pellets.
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC PRODUCT! This is the absolute best senior joint supplement I have ever tried for my horses. All of them have stayed sound and comfortable, even on my steep hill turn out. I am very pleased with this product. It is affordable, palatable, and effective!
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have seen improvement in every horse I have used this product on.
    Date published: 2016-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior herb pellets I give these to my 24 year old gelding tip help him with arthritis to make him feel better. I do show him every so often and these are lethal to use.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love how my boy is feeling Started a month ago after noticing that just MSM wasnt cutting it for our Senior QH anymore, he def feeld and is is moving better
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these pellets Been using this with my 18 year old off the track harness horse which I now use as a trail horse. He has more energy and is never stiff and ready to work now. just got his 2nd month shippment planing on keeping him on this for the rest of his life.
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Moving better My mare has been on it a bit over a month. She previously foundered a few times, and got a tick disease 3 years ago that left her super arthritic, and had to retire her. She would just shuffle slowly, but she is walking better now. Still cant go faster than that, but just glad she is a bit more comfortable. Will really be able to tell if it's made a difference when I trim her.
    Date published: 2016-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from magic potion! the smart flex senior was added after Bill Harvey (the Best Farrier in the World) noted a stiffness in my walkers' left rear leg. the herb-free mix has been easy to administer and has put the glide back in my ride!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working Bought this after much confusion as to what my best option was. Was very pleased with the phone help I got and it seems to be helping my pony, who is not a senior, but does have joint issues. He's loooking very sound right now
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less creaky I started my 20 yr old TB gelding on Smart Pak Senior Flex pellets and He seems to be more comfortable. Supplements don't do any good if the horse won't eat them, but he cleans them up unlike other things I have tried.
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my horse! My boy was creaking and cracking even on another joint supp. After a month I watched him gallop in the field and under saddle he was happy to go forward.
    Date published: 2016-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Max has never felt nor performed better Max was a show horse in his younger years, and somehow fell into the hands of the Amish. His teenage joints were a little worn out when I bought him, so I called on SmartPak to help us. I had Max on Smart Flex Senior but changed him to the Herb-Free version due to drug restrictions at horse shows (The Herb-Free version does not have Devils Claw in it). We actually believe he is performing better than before, but as always, we are thrilled with the results that we see when we use SmartPak Products.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this at the horse expo. Received the supplements quickly. Noticed results almost iwe'dmmediately.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just having a hard time getting my mare to eat them. She just doesn't like the taste of them...
    Date published: 2016-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the difference! We switched Dawson over a month ago and it seems to have made a great difference. He is more comfortable moving and less stiff. Thank you!
    Date published: 2016-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Older horse has some pep in her step This is pretty good stuff. We have a 23 yo mare that always snap, crackles and pops when she walks. The sounds from coming from her joints are much less frequent and a lot less noticeable. She seems more comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slight Difference I just finished my first month having my mare on the supplements, and she definitely seems more loose and willing to run more in the turnout, but I'm still experiencing some stiffness while under saddle. Maybe after some more time she will show more improvement.
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart-flex senior herb-free So far I have not seen much improvement. I will finish this shipment and change to one with herbs.
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No longer Stiff or Sore Maddie has always started a ride out a little stiff and a few months ago started getting sore, sometimes even limping. After two months of the SmartFlex Senior Herb Free Pellets she is moving much better. The days of being stiff and sore have all but disappeared!
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_47, tr_288
    • loc_en_US, sid_8243, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders