Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartFlex® Senior Herb-Free Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18243
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Keeps your senior going strong

  • The same benefits of the original formula without the herbal ingredients
  • Ideal for competitive seniors or those with sensitive stomachs
New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets were designed to support older horses in the three areas they need it most – joint health, digestive function, and antioxidants for a healthy immune system. This herb-free version of original SmartFlex Senior is ideal for older horses that compete or those with sensitive stomachs, where devil’s claw may not be appropriate.

For joint support, SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets provide 8,000 mg of glucosamine, 700 mg of chondroitin sulfate, 75 mg hyaluronic acid, and 12,000 mg of MSM. This formula also contains 500 mg of the amino acid phenylalanine to help manage discomfort. To support healthy digestion, SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets provide probiotics, prebiotics, and enzymes. And because senior horses benefit from extra antioxidants, this supplement also contains vitamin C and super oxide dismutase. Your horse will love these tasty pellets!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Find your horse's SmartFlex

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60 grams) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    12,000 mg
  • Glucosamine HCl (shellfish)
    8,000 mg
  • Chondroitin Sulfate (bovine)
    700 mg
  • DL-Phenylalanine
    500 mg
  • Calcium Ascorbate (Vitamin C)
    275 mg
  • Fructooligosaccharides
    225 mg
  • Super Oxide Dismutase (bovine)
    100 mg
  • Sodium Hyaluronate
    75 mg
  • Pancreatin 8x (supplying Amylase, Protease, Lipase)
    75 mg
  • Profloratin® (a proprietary blend of L. Acidophilus, L. Casei, E. Faecium and B. Longum)
    4.7 billion CFU
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Lignin Sulfonate, Magnesium Silicate, Maltodextrin, Sodium Propionate, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoop
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g

Compare

SmartFlex Senior Herb-Free Pellets

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "APF Pro provides all the benefits of the ...
    Description:
    "APF Pro provides all the benefits of the original APF , plus more! With the addition of aralia mandschurica and rhaponticum carthamoides, APF Pro packs more power, more immune protection, and more muscle-building benefits! APF Pro was specially formulated to ...
    "GLC 5500 can support healthy joints in horses. ...
    Description:
    "GLC 5500 can support healthy joints in horses. GLC 5500 helps defend against the daily wear and tear that training and competing cause to joint tissues. This patented formula includes four sources of bioavailable glucosamine. GLC 5500 has been clinically ...
    "Advanced Cetyl M Pellets are uniquely designed to ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Cetyl M Pellets are uniquely designed to help maintain and support joint health and function in horses. In addition, this formula may also help ease the discomfort that can occur from heavy exercise, training, and competition. The unique omega ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    Description:
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "The original oral hyaluronic acid joint supplement for ...
    Description:
    "The original oral hyaluronic acid joint supplement for horses, in a flavored oral supplement. HA is a substance that helps maintain normal, healthy joints. Conquer Gel is veterinarian-researched, developed, and tested to ensure quality. Suitable for all breeds, sports, and ...
    "Spirulina is a fresh water blue green algae ...
    Description:
    "Spirulina is a fresh water blue green algae known for its numerous health benefits such as supporting immune function and a normal response to inflammation. This ingredient has also been reported to help horses prone to respiratory issues, especially those ...
    "Cetyl M® Complete Joint Action Formula for Horses ...
    Description:
    "Cetyl M® Complete Joint Action Formula for Horses features the same amount of cetyl myristoleate complex as the original Advanced Cetyl M® Joint Action Formula, but has added support for the horse’s joints, bones, immune stystem, and mental focus. Cetyl ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartFlex® Senior Herb-Free Pellets is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 322.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eater prefers the herb-free formula I had previously been feeling the Senior Supplement but my gelding decided he did not like the taste. I switched to the herb-free formula and now he's cleaning up his supplements again and not missing out on the great benefits that supports aging horses.
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for!
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior pellets really help! My horse appreciates his supplement of senior pellets.
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from FANTASTIC PRODUCT! This is the absolute best senior joint supplement I have ever tried for my horses. All of them have stayed sound and comfortable, even on my steep hill turn out. I am very pleased with this product. It is affordable, palatable, and effective!
    Date published: 2016-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I have seen improvement in every horse I have used this product on.
    Date published: 2016-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Senior herb pellets I give these to my 24 year old gelding tip help him with arthritis to make him feel better. I do show him every so often and these are lethal to use.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love how my boy is feeling Started a month ago after noticing that just MSM wasnt cutting it for our Senior QH anymore, he def feeld and is is moving better
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these pellets Been using this with my 18 year old off the track harness horse which I now use as a trail horse. He has more energy and is never stiff and ready to work now. just got his 2nd month shippment planing on keeping him on this for the rest of his life.
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Moving better My mare has been on it a bit over a month. She previously foundered a few times, and got a tick disease 3 years ago that left her super arthritic, and had to retire her. She would just shuffle slowly, but she is walking better now. Still cant go faster than that, but just glad she is a bit more comfortable. Will really be able to tell if it's made a difference when I trim her.
    Date published: 2016-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from magic potion! the smart flex senior was added after Bill Harvey (the Best Farrier in the World) noted a stiffness in my walkers' left rear leg. the herb-free mix has been easy to administer and has put the glide back in my ride!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working Bought this after much confusion as to what my best option was. Was very pleased with the phone help I got and it seems to be helping my pony, who is not a senior, but does have joint issues. He's loooking very sound right now
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Less creaky I started my 20 yr old TB gelding on Smart Pak Senior Flex pellets and He seems to be more comfortable. Supplements don't do any good if the horse won't eat them, but he cleans them up unlike other things I have tried.
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changed my horse! My boy was creaking and cracking even on another joint supp. After a month I watched him gallop in the field and under saddle he was happy to go forward.
    Date published: 2016-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Max has never felt nor performed better Max was a show horse in his younger years, and somehow fell into the hands of the Amish. His teenage joints were a little worn out when I bought him, so I called on SmartPak to help us. I had Max on Smart Flex Senior but changed him to the Herb-Free version due to drug restrictions at horse shows (The Herb-Free version does not have Devils Claw in it). We actually believe he is performing better than before, but as always, we are thrilled with the results that we see when we use SmartPak Products.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought this at the horse expo. Received the supplements quickly. Noticed results almost iwe'dmmediately.
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just having a hard time getting my mare to eat them. She just doesn't like the taste of them...
    Date published: 2016-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the difference! We switched Dawson over a month ago and it seems to have made a great difference. He is more comfortable moving and less stiff. Thank you!
    Date published: 2016-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Older horse has some pep in her step This is pretty good stuff. We have a 23 yo mare that always snap, crackles and pops when she walks. The sounds from coming from her joints are much less frequent and a lot less noticeable. She seems more comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Slight Difference I just finished my first month having my mare on the supplements, and she definitely seems more loose and willing to run more in the turnout, but I'm still experiencing some stiffness while under saddle. Maybe after some more time she will show more improvement.
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart-flex senior herb-free So far I have not seen much improvement. I will finish this shipment and change to one with herbs.
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No longer Stiff or Sore Maddie has always started a ride out a little stiff and a few months ago started getting sore, sometimes even limping. After two months of the SmartFlex Senior Herb Free Pellets she is moving much better. The days of being stiff and sore have all but disappeared!
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little early It's still a little early to tell as we are just getting into our second month using this. It seems like Cassie is picking up her feet better and moving somewhat better but i've also noticed that her hind pasterns are starting to pop more, where as, it wasn't on the tight joint. I do love that it has prebiotics and probiotics in it, it seems to have cleared up her diarrhea. I'll give it another month to see where it leads us.
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work, but powdery Have used this for a couple of months and although it is winter and my 15YO driving mini is not in work now, he does seem to be more playful and I have seen him bucking, which I didn't see before. So we'll see what happens when work resumes. I started this because he is arthritic in his hocks and I hope that this, along with show-time support will help us continue to show in a low level environment.The one manufacturing problem that I notice is that although I am purchasing pellets, there is quite a bit of powder in it. Since I'm feeding a mini, I have to reduce the dose and when I try to scoop my 1/2 scoop, I never get just pellets--it's always pellets and powder. Thus I'm not sure of the accuracy of the dosing. I understand this may come from shipping, but I also get other pellets and they do not pulverize this easily. Perhaps you could consider making this in powder?An additional request--would you consider packaging smaller sizes? I have a mini and to try out a supplement, or treat for a short-term condition (e.g. Red Cell pellets), I end up buying a 5 lb. container and end up not being able to use 95% of it. I know no one else who uses them, so it's a waste. Perhaps that could be a special order situation?
    Date published: 2016-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Although my horse is not a "senior" he has a stifle problem and this helps1
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought my older horse back to life My older horse was stiff and off. He has navicular and is retired, but I wanted to make him more comfortable. After three weeks in this stuff, he is cantering around, swapping leads! He's NEVER done that. I'm very pleased. He wouldn't eat it the first day, so I had to break the dose into am & pm feelings. He's now eating it all at once.
    Date published: 2016-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Showing improvement This product really seems to help our horse's arthritis. She seems more comfortable, moves better and seems happier.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mare's joint problem has decreased and it is working very well!
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky eaters aproved! Great price, great taste says my mare starbucks! I have been using this product for 10 days and see a significant difference in my 13 year old cutting mare turned lesson horse.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    • y_2017, m_1, d_21, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_46, tr_276
    • loc_en_US, sid_8243, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders