Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartFlex® I Maintenance Powder Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #13523
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Maintains healthy joints

  • 4,000 mg of glucosamine, 5,000 mg of MSM & 1,250 mg of vitamin C support joint health
SmartFlex I Maintenance provides cost-effective joint maintenance for all horses in light work. This formula contains 4,000 mg of glucosamine, 5,000 mg of MSM, and 1,250 mg of vitamin C. Sugar- and filler-free with an apple flavoring horses love, SmartFlex I Maintenance provides the fundamentals of joint health for horses in light work.

ALSO AVAILABLE IN PELLETS!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Find your horse's SmartFlex

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 11 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (11g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • Glucosamine HCl (shellfish)
    4,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,250 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Apple Flavoring.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 11 g daily, 1 scoop = 11 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like

    Reviews

    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartFlex® I Maintenance Powder Original is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 199.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results in my TB gelding! I have an OTTB gelding that has combatted on and off soreness since coming off the track a year ago. He's been on this for a few months now and I really see a difference. He is happier and more full of spunk. He moves out much more than he used to. He is on this and SmartGI together. It's really made him a happier horse!
    Date published: 2017-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eaten by picky horse! While it's hard to tell if there have been any positive or negative effects from the supplement, my picky horse was happy to eat it!
    Date published: 2016-10-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps my creaky old Morgan going My very senior Morgan is on a light work load now after a long show career followed by years as a moderately used walk/trot lesson horse. He's creaky but solid, rather like an old type-writer that has a sticky (stifle) key. After changing over from another joint product I've been able to maintain him at a lower dose with a higher degree of comfort. He does tend to sift his supplements out of his grain, so I've been feeding this as a mash and he licks the bowl clean every time. I've also used it on a few of my off the track re-schools before their heavy work began and have been happy with seeing an increase in joint flexion comfort usually within two weeks.
    Date published: 2016-09-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got this product a month ago and it looks like is good I can't really say its 5 stars since is been a month but all i can say is that looks like my horse is not complaining at all for the work outs. I will need some more time to realky look at the diference of his well being!!!
    Date published: 2016-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps older horses I put my older gelding on this for a little support...definitely comes out to work a little bit looser.
    Date published: 2016-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I saw major results in my 15 year old mare after a couple weeks! She has really always been stiff and she is so much more loose and willing to work while on this product. Absolutely love it!
    Date published: 2016-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells good! Good stuff! My horsey loves it! Just be careful with it because it's really powdery!
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Been on this about 2 months and I have seen improvements in both horses on it.
    Date published: 2015-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps my young horse.. Since I started giving this supplement to my ever growing 2 year old Quarter horse, the creaks and pops in his joints has stopped. He is moving more comfortably now during these painful growth spurts.
    Date published: 2015-10-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so great! One of my OTTBs has a knee injury. I switched him for this product to the higher dosage one, II, and he is doing better. The I is just not strong enough for him since the FL humidity really seems to bother that knee!
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great maintenance supplement Use this on my semi-retired trail horse for maintenance. Great combination of ingredients for the price.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart flex maintenance My 20 year old dressage horse is feeling sound and spunky on this supplement.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rescue horse success i rescued a mare last year & not knowing how her life had been (other than starving) I decided to start her on a maintenance dose just to play it safe. So far must be working since she has no stiffness or joint issues.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I just started my horses in this last month and they are all doing great! I definitely see results already.
    Date published: 2015-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Growing Strong! I have my horse and hinny on this product. They are both benefiting from it. I can see my baby, the hinny (2-3 years) growing stronger each day. We love SmartPak!
    Date published: 2015-02-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK, but smells funny My horse will eat this supplement - seems to do well for her - but it smells strongly like vinegar.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed Was worried that my mare wouldn't eat the powder form but she never batted an eyelash at it!
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for maintenance Bought this for our Cowhorse in the off-season. Seems to keep her comfy, and relatively economical.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what he needed I recently took possession of an older schoolmaster and although he his temperament never showed it, you could see the 'tell-tale' signs of a life if lessons. Stiffness, soreness but never unwilling. A friend who had a lesson program of 5 horses in their 20s recommended Smartpak Maintenance. Her guys ( and one mare ) look and act young and vibrant. I'm on my second order and I've begun to see a difference in Simon. A trot to meet me; a lope after a good dirt roll. He's feeling better and that's all that matters!... I hope Smartpak Maintenance can keep him feeling this good for many years to come.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good My horse has been on this for a month now and he seems to enjoy it. He doesn't seem as stiff.... I will keep him on it and see how it goes.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement An effective yet affordable supplement. I have the powder and my horse is a bit finicky when it comes to supplements and he eats it in his grain without a problem
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves the flavor! I started this supplement on my daughter's gelding. He loves the flavor and licks his bucket clean. I'm glad he's getting the extra joint supplement to keep him healthy.
    Date published: 2014-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got this for my OTTB He has only been on it for a month, but he does like the taste. Waiting to see if it helps with some track issues.
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Old Horse, New Improved Movement My 28 year old eventing horse has found comfort and more freedom of movement since we started started using SmartFlex I. It has made a remarkable difference in his daily movement and ease of grooming.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made my mule much more comfortable! Ruby (my mule) has been on SmartFlex I for about a month, and she is feeling a difference! She's only 8 years old, but I believe perhaps some circumstances in her early life (before I got her) caused some minor joint issues. I had a "gut feeling" that she wasn't as comfortable as she could be, and a couple of joints were popping a little, so I called SmartPak (of course!). We got her started on this product, and the difference is wonderful! She's gaited, and she now performs her gaits so beautifully, as if to say "Hey, thanks! I feel great now!" We are very happy with SmartFlex!
    Date published: 2014-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for younger horses! I have had my 4 year old on this and while I haven't noticed a huge difference in his performance because he's not competing hard, I know that I am working to prevent any injuries or damage to joints, tendons, ligaments and muscles. Worth it to me!
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product! My horse can pick thru supplements but he loves all the ones from SmartPak
    Date published: 2014-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish I saw a difference I had this as part of my pak's, and I don't know if it was this product or another powder, but my gelding wouldn't touch it and it ended up on the ground. Guess I will have to stick to pellets!
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ITS GREAT!! Started using this product on my 25 year old mare after a friend told me about how it help her senior horse .Because my mare is so picky about joint supplements I was afraid to try it but I did . My mare loves it she licks the bowl clean and moves like a 5 year old thank you smartpak team
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I have an 18 year old gelding on this who i brought back into work after a 10 year layoff. He had had a previous hock injury so I wanted to start him on a joint supplement as he is now back in work as a lesson horse. So far I have had no issues with his hocks. I feel better knowing that this product is helping him stay fluid in his joints. I have not noticed a difference in his movement or anything but it wasnt bad to begin with, I am strictly doing this as preventative medicine. He also eats it very well as a powder in his grain.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_41, tr_158
    • loc_en_US, sid_3523, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders