Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartFlex® I Maintenance Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17183
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Maintains healthy joints

  • 4,000 mg of glucosamine, 5,000 mg of MSM & 1,250 mg of vitamin C support joint health
New & improved taste horses love! SmartFlex I Maintenance Pellets provide cost-effective joint maintenance for all horses in light work. This formula contains 4,000 mg of glucosamine, 5,000 mg of MSM, and 1,250 mg of vitamin C. SmartFlex I Maintenance Pellets provide the fundamentals of joint health for horses in light work, with a taste even picky horses can't resist.

SmartFlex I Maintenance Powder

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

Find your horse's SmartFlex

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 22 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (22g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • Glucosamine HCl (shellfish)
    4,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,250 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Alfalfa Meal, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Lignin Sulfonate, Sodium Propionate, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 22 g daily, 1 scoop = 22 g

Compare

SmartFlex I Maintenance Pellets

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to ...
    Description:
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to suggest increased dietary intake of Vitamin E. E-5000 is a highly concentrated source of Vitamin E with 5,000 IUs per ounce. View our Antioxidant Comparison Chart Learn More about E-5000"
    "APF Pro provides all the benefits of the ...
    Description:
    "APF Pro provides all the benefits of the original APF , plus more! With the addition of aralia mandschurica and rhaponticum carthamoides, APF Pro packs more power, more immune protection, and more muscle-building benefits! APF Pro was specially formulated to ...
    "GLC 5500 can support healthy joints in horses. ...
    Description:
    "GLC 5500 can support healthy joints in horses. GLC 5500 helps defend against the daily wear and tear that training and competing cause to joint tissues. This patented formula includes four sources of bioavailable glucosamine. GLC 5500 has been clinically ...
    MSM
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% ...
    MSM
    Description:
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% source of bio-available sulfur. MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane, is thought to support a healthy inflammatory response. No fillers, artificial colors, or flavors. View Our Inflammation & Comfort Supplement Comparison Chart View our Joint ...
    "Actively prevent stomach ulcers and the pain and ...
    Description:
    "Actively prevent stomach ulcers and the pain and discomfort that often accompanies them by giving your horse ULCERGARD during times of increased stress or exercise. ULCERGARD is the first and only proven non-prescription preventative for Equine Gastric Ulcer Syndrome. No ...
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined ...
    Description:
    "Metaboleeze contains a digestible source of chromium combined with B-complex vitamins and organic trace minerals. Metaboleeze may be appropriate for supporting horses with Equine Metabolic Syndrome/insulin resistance, as well as some types of tying-up. Work with your veterinarian to determine ...
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use. View our ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartFlex® I Maintenance Pellets is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 230.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Convenient My horse seems to move a little more fluidly since using smart flex.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped my horse feel better Fed this to my horse with her pellets and she definitely had more spring in her step.
    Date published: 2015-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rescue OTTB I have noticed less cracking in my OTTB's joints! I am a proud purchaser of this product and continue to recommend it to others at the barn when they ask about stiff joints.
    Date published: 2015-11-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Palletable, no results yet My horse has been on this supplement for just over a month, and while I have not noticed any difference yet, he is happy to gobble the pellets up with his food. I am giving it a full 2 months before deciding to keep/switch him.
    Date published: 2015-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely product! I've been using this product for a little over a month now. I can tell that my 13 year old gelding is really thriving on this supplement. Spirit is a long back high withered horse. So I was just looking a supplement to help prevent any issues that may come along as he ages. Before the supplement his left hip would be stiff during our warm ups, and would make asking for the left lead near impossible. With being on the supplement he is much happier to give me the left lead when I ask for it. He eats the pellets right up, and never leaves any behind! We will defintly be staying with this supplement, and come show season will progress to the next level.
    Date published: 2015-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Product My yearling colt injured his rear hock and after the vet came out I started him on SmartFlex Rehab. I used that from r over six months and felt it helped heal his injury from the inside out. Swelling went away and he had absolutely no stiffness. I wanted to make sure he was going to get back to his playful self! He came along perfectly. I used SmartFlex Maintance for three months after SF Rehab. Grantham is back to 100%- and we can't wait to start him next year!He loves the supplements- I think he just likes to eat in general! You will not be disappointed with any of these products. Customer Service is AMAZING!I could sleep at night knowing all of the bases were covered.
    Date published: 2015-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great maintenance I have this for several of our horses...5 of them are lesson horses, so maintaining is the key
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around joint supplement I needed a supplement joint supplement for a retired rescue horse that I was going to be boarding out. I wanted to make sure I chose Smart Pak to ensure she was receiving the correct amount. Smart Pak offers great choices and I settled on the Smart Flex Maintenance. She is retired so I liked the amount of Glucosamine and other anti inflammatory additives. The price was perfect and she has done very well on it. The barn owners says she leaves nothing behind and it shows especially at the age of 26 and she's running around the pasture. I would feed this to horses not much in use and no major underlining joint issues - perfect amount of supplementation!
    Date published: 2015-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from seamless transition I downgraded joint support from level III to level I as we transitioned from eventing training 6 days a week to light riding 3 days a week. It was a seamless change with Smart Pak. I didn't have to guess when a bucket would empty or research another brand.
    Date published: 2015-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse eats it all! This joint supplement is a reasonable price for a pelleted product that my horse is willing to eat. Too often I've seen powdered supplements stuck to the side of the bucket, this supplement actually makes it into the horse.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more clicking! My app mare has been on this for 1.5 months now and her back leg clicking is gone. She's about 9 and is not arthritic so the click wasn't anything major, but I'm glad it's taken care of.She's not a super picky water but loves the taste of this one nonetheless. My only complaint is that it smells awful but she eats it so it must smell good to her.
    Date published: 2015-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started my horse on this in April and she like the taste we finally got some nice weather to ride and I don't hear the click I use to when she walks. My horse is 17.
    Date published: 2015-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse is happy He is 21 and acts like he is 7. It may or may not be related to this product, who knows. He's just a happy fellow.
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartflex Glad I put my mare on this product! Peace of mind for me and it must taste really good to her!!!
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joint suppliment I like the way suppliments just arrive at the barn always in time.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for maintenance. I bought this has a preventative for my mare who has no joint issues at this point in her life. She eats it right up. I am now switching her to smartflex rehab after noticing some swelling in her tendons above her knees that hasn't gone down on its own or with other methods. This product is well worth the money.
    Date published: 2015-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thumbs up! I've been feeding this supplement for the past couple of months. My horse is a finicky eater and he won' touch anything that's in a powder form. Very happy that he is eating the pellets. Thanks smartpak for providing a pellet option. Very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2015-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from no stomach issues I bought this product for my horse because i wanted to start her on a joint supplement. She doesnt have any stiffness problems now but im hoping to prevent that. She has a sensitive stomach so im always leary of what i give her. Its been two months, no problems and she eats it all with her grain. I also like that its pelleted.
    Date published: 2015-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great taste Have not had my horse on this quite long enough to tell a difference, but she LOVES the way it tastes!
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for winter Bought this as maintenance for my cowhorse mare. great winter supplement for light exercise
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast Improvements! Just started my 15 year old mare on this about 1 week to 1 1/2 weeks ago and I already feel like I am seeing results. Although, it's more like "hearing" results in this case -- I've noticed the clicking I was hearing in my mare as she walked has really stopped occurring. So far so good w/ these SmartFlexI Maintenance Pellets!
    Date published: 2015-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonderfully! Purchased a little more than a month ago (on second order of SmartPaks) and I am very impressed how well it has helped my mare to adjust. She is a 10 yo OTTB who had been out of work for the past year due to no fault of her own. I was living out of my home state and did not have the finances to move her. When I finally was able to move her, I noticed she creaked like an old door and her joints popped. With in a week, I was hearing less creaks and pops. She was also moving better. I would definitely recommend this!
    Date published: 2015-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely recommend! Horse had no problem eating it, highly recommend this product
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Just the right supplement for keeping my 11 year old Paint trail horse limber with out "over supplementing."
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good on some horses I was giving Dotti this and it helped a little bit I think that she needed a stronger supplement.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! I was on resilience 3, injections, and monthly chiro visits because of a rotated pelvis. Slowly working my way down to this, he is only needing chiro work every 3-5 months and no clicking or pain!
    Date published: 2014-11-07
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_45, tr_185
    • loc_en_US, sid_7183, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders