Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartEnergy® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18251
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Comprehensive support to power performance

  • Provides 6,000 mcg of vitamin B12 and 50 mg of folic acid to promote healthy energy levels
  • Includes targeted nutrients that support healthy red blood cell production

Running low on horsepower? If your horse isn’t giving you his all, it might be because he doesn’t have everything he needs. Give him comprehensive nutritional support to power his performance so he can give you everything he’s got.

SmartEnergy is ideal for horses that lack stamina, are lethargic, or are easily fatigued. While many other energy supplements are focused on providing iron, feeding extra iron has not been shown to improve red blood cell count or athletic ability, and veterinarians agree that iron is rarely deficient in a horse’s diet. SmartEnergy offers a smarter solution by providing a range of nutritional building blocks required for the production of healthy red blood cells, without added iron.

View our Energy Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 40 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (40 g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    16 %
  • L-Tyrosine
    0.6% (250 mg)
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    4.5%
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    10%
  • Vitamin E
    150 mg
  • Vitamin B12
    6,000 mcg
  • Vitamin B6 (pyridoxine)
    82 mg
  • Folic Acid
    50 mg
  • Magnesium
    0.8% (325 mg)
  • Cobalt
    135 ppm (5 mg)
  • Copper
    3,250 ppm (125 mg)
  • Iodine
    125 ppm (4.7 mg)
  • Selenium
    12.5 ppm (0.5 mg)
  • Zinc
    5,025 ppm (200 mg)
  • Trimethylglycine (Betaine)
    3.6 g
Ingredient Statement:: Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Betaine Hydrochloride, Lignin Sulfonate, Dried Milk Protein, Dried Kelp, Vitamin B 12 Supplement, Vegetable Oil, Zinc Polysaccharide Complex, Copper Polysaccharide Complex, Magnesium Oxide, Fenugreek Seed, Vitamin E Supplement, L-Tyrosine, Selenium Yeast, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Folic Acid, Calcium Propionate (preservative), Cobalt Carbonate, Ethylenediamine Dihydriodide.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feed 40 g daily, 1 scoop = 40 g

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Wholistic Canine Complete Joint Mobility is an all-in-one ...
    Description:
    "Wholistic Canine Complete Joint Mobility is an all-in-one organic, human grade supplement that provides your pet with a complete array of vitamins, minerals, digestive enzymes and probiotics, essential fatty acids, and powerful antioxidants, in combination with our own unique joint ...
    "Kinetic Conquer Mature Years is just that - ...
    Description:
    "Kinetic Conquer Mature Years is just that - the most complete and cost-effective supplement on the market today for canine joints, skin and coat. Developed by veterinarians, this innovative chewable tablet contains Hyaluranic Acid which has been clinically proven to ...
    "The Wholistic Pet's Deep Sea Salmon Oil is ...
    Description:
    "The Wholistic Pet's Deep Sea Salmon Oil is the finest quality, human-grade salmon oil from the body of fresh-caught salmon (wild, not farm-raised). Rich in the Omega 3 Fatty Acids EPA and DHA, Deep Sea Salmon Oil is the perfect ...
    "Plant enzymes AND probiotics designed to effectively maximize ...
    Description:
    "Plant enzymes AND probiotics designed to effectively maximize digestion and to facilitate the breakdown of cellulase while increasing intestinal microflora for optimal health. Helps break down food particles for better absorption. Also beneficial for dogs with allergies, joint problems and ...
    "Hyaluronex® is a highly concentrated liquid equine joint ...
    Description:
    "Hyaluronex® is a highly concentrated liquid equine joint supplement that delivers bioactive hyaluronan. More important to professional equine enthusiasts, Hyaluronex provides the premium ingredient MHB3 Hyaluronan, now covered by six United States Patents. The unique formulation for Hyaluronex is tailored ...
    "Apple flavor that horses love! FDA-approved Ivermectin Paste ...
    Description:
    "Apple flavor that horses love! FDA-approved Ivermectin Paste provides effective control of the following parasites in horses: large strongyles, small strongyles, pinworms, ascarids, hairworms, large-mouth stomach worms, bots, lungworms, intestinal threadworms. Also controls summer sores caused by bots, and ...
    "Missing Link Ultimate Hip & Joint combines the ...
    Description:
    "Missing Link Ultimate Hip & Joint combines the benefits of Glucosamine with all natural, human grade whole foods, carefully chosen for their nutrient profile and synergistic effects. Missing Link Ultimate Hip & Joint is in the form of a granular ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartEnergy® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 117.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Pallatable, but no change in energy I bought this because I was happy to see an energy supplement without excessive iron in it. It is palatable and my horse had no trouble eating it, but unfortunately I didn't see any change in his energy levels.
    Date published: 2016-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from More energy, Less spooky It seems like this supplement is the best at both providing energy and focus. My guy has more energy and is more forward in general. He used to start spooking at thin air when he got tired. So no more! Great stuff.
    Date published: 2016-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results. I bought the SmartEnergy Pellets for my 20 year old mare, who just seemed sluggish and not interested in working. I saw results within the first 5 days and am very pleased as she is willing and fun to ride again!
    Date published: 2016-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have to re-learn how to ride my horse! I have an 18 yr old mare who, since I bought her 9 months ago, has been the HARDEST horse to keep forward. The vet came out and did some bloodwork and she came up slightly anemic. After doing some research, I chose the Smartenergy over Red Cell because I was worried about unneeded ingredients. Smartpak always says to give a product 60 days, but by Day 50, I wasn't seeing a whole lot of improvement and was looking for other options. It was literally on Day 52 that I showed up and the barn and realized I had a completely new horse! When I say my horse is FORWARD, I'm not even kidding. I've only put 2 rides in on her since the supplement kicked in, and I had to call my trainer and tell her we needed a lesson PRONTO cause I don't know how to ride this horse! This is a horse who would literally take ANY excuse to slow down or stop, and now I can't get her to slow down! Its like I've awaken the beast! As far as the anemia, her once pale gums have finally turned back to a healthy pink, she is alert, and moving like she has a purpose! I don't know what's in this stuff, but it is FANTASTIC!
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable difference! My very laid back paint horse has always been hard to get moving- it would take every ounce of strength I had to get him to go. I tried different crops and whips and spurs but he didn't really respond much to those. He's been on smart energy for about 4 months and he is a different horse. Riding is more enjoyable and finally has the momentum to get a lead change which we were never able to do.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had my horse on this for a month and she went from running in the middle of the 3D to the top of the 2d with boggles
    Date published: 2016-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product. Started my gelding on this product about 2 weeks ago, seems to be increasing energy and endurance levels.
    Date published: 2016-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Gave this a shot figuring it wouldn't do any harm if It didn't make a difference. And was surprised that it actually had an effect on my less than self motivated event horse!
    Date published: 2016-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Energy! This has given my horse the added energy without any "silliness". He is a completely different horse now and he not only loves his job, but has the energy to "take care of business"!
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I bought this product about a month ago and my horse has seen increased energy levels. He does not get hot, but it takes the edge off of his laziness. He's still pretty lazy, but is more willing to do the work I'm asking of him (low level eventing). I highly recommend this to anyone who has a pretty darn lazy horse that is hard to get moving.
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed! My gelding has been on smart energy for over a month now. He is naturally a laid back lazy horse. He began basic training earlier this year. Getting him to break over into a canter on the lunge or in the saddle was just exhausting. This supplement was just enough to give him those "hot feet" to get him moving out into the canter beautifully with very little aid. Thank you SmartPak for making our training easier and our rides more enjoyable and productive. At this price it's definitely worth a try on those dead heads in the barn!
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! I have a barrel/pole horse that was being a bit lazy. I used the smartpak energy pellets and he was acting more energetic than ever.
    Date published: 2015-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great i have used this for two-three months and i see a total difference. I don't have to kick him on every step
    Date published: 2015-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MIRACLE IN A PELLET! I've only been using this supplement for about a week but the results are tremendous! I bought new horse (perch-x), changed his diet from 100% alfalfa and he immediately lost all steam. He struggled to canter, jump or have any endurance during our rides at all. My trainer couldn't believe this was the same horse that I'd tried! One week on this supplement and I have a brand new horse. He has spunk and energy and enjoys his job again. His canter has improved tremendously and he has stopped knocking rails and dragging his feet. I love SmartPaks but have never seen a supplement turn a horse around this much this fast. I am a believer! This horse isn't a picky eater at all but we've had no issues with palatability, he licks his feed bowl clean same as always.
    Date published: 2015-08-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse loves it I gave this two months but think I am going back to red cell. He likes the Taste though.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good My older horse has more energy and not as lazy :) He seems to enjoy the flavor as well .
    Date published: 2015-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Game changer for my daughter's horse! Purchased this for my daughter's extremeley slow and behind the leg quarter horse. Worked perfectly. It gave him energy without being spooky or hot. Forward enough to win her dressage classes, but calm enough to still do hunters. The only issue with this is the horse HATES the taste. I have to soak it and make a slurry and pour it over his feed. Even with that, I will probably keep him on it for life.
    Date published: 2015-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have been using SmartEnergy for 1 month and I have seen a change in my horse. She has more energy and moves forward without kicking each stride!!
    Date published: 2015-03-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A Total Waste of Money I ordered this for my ultra lazy Oldenberg and it has done nothing for his energy level. I upped the dosage and still nothing. Don't waste your money on this stuff.
    Date published: 2015-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! More energy! My 7 year old mare's annual bloodwork came back with some moderately low numbers for her red blood counts. My Vet doesn't like all of the iron in a lot of energy supplements and the numbers were not bad enough for him to write a prescription. After reading the reviews I decided to try this and at a month in she definitely seems to have more stamina.
    Date published: 2015-01-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No difference at all I have had my thoroughbred on this for 2 months and noticed no difference while on it and after. Thanks to Smartpak's guarantee program I got my money back.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clear results! My heavy dressage horse doesn't get fed much other than a balancer and free choice hay. We are always trying to pep him up (gallops in the open before rides or jump days to keep him fresh), but we still struggle. I put him on this with skeptical expectations. About a week into the supplement I began to see a CLEAR change in my horse. He was very forward and even playful during work a few times. I was shocked. Very very effective. I think because he tends to be so heavy he is limited in his feeding options and even with a balancer he probably was still not getting the proper energy supply. This is the most effective supplement I have ever used.
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great!! Great product. My horse has much more energy and is a picky eater and ate this right up.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I ride a 10 year old Cleveland Bay. He's very big bodied and is lazy. He is used for low level dressage and trail riding. We've been feeding him these pellets for about 3-4 months now. I've noticed a huge difference in his energy level and his attitude. He's always in the front of the pack now on trail rides. His whole demeanor is perkier.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality product with good results I have had my WB on this product for several months, and I definately have seen an improvement in his energy level. He has a tendency to be very lazy, but since he's been on the supplement, his energy level has been up, and he's game to do his job! He's very picky about flavors, but had no problem with this supplement.
    Date published: 2014-09-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from no noticable difference I have a very unmotivated horse and I thought maybe there was something lacking in his diet. After using this product for nearly two months I didn't see any real difference. I don't feel that this is a bad product just wasn't what my horse needs at this time.
    Date published: 2014-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great push, no heat! I have an OTTB who came off the track in October and is just plain lazy! I could barely get him to canter and he had no impulsion over fences at all. After a week or so of smart energy he started having more energy without becoming spooky or hot! It was just the right push he needed! And he ate it right out of my hand the first day without questioning it!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SEEMS TO BE BENEFICIAL My mare has been on this product for about 6 weeks. It seems to be helpful as she overall has more energy and her stamina has also improved. Even with this I have a lazy horse(in the ring)!!! If you exhale she thinks its time to walk. It appearently tastes fine, as she eats it well. The supplement works but my horses temperment is what it is!
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pony won't eat it I've had my quarter pony mare on this supplement for a few months now. AT FIRST- she ate them ok. Did help her energy level some and was happy. Recently, she'll eat all of her supplements and grain EXCEPT this one! She is not typically a picky eater. I have tried putting corn oil on the supplements and still doesn't help. It does work- if you can get your horse to eat it :-/
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! Although everyone at my stables laughed at me when I said I needed an ENERGY supplement for my lazy horse, I'm please I purchased this product! My mare certainly has a heightened sense of alertness and energy. This did not make her spooky or hot headed, either. She has more stamina for our long trail rides and I feel like she tolerates the arena more! Great stuff.
    Date published: 2014-05-04
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_108
    • loc_en_US, sid_8251, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders