Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartDark & Handsome® Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #19476
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Supports deep, dark shine

  • 1,450 mg of omega 3 fatty acids for healthy skin & a shiny coat
  • Paprika & nutmeg for a dark, rich coat color
SmartDark & Handsome is now being offered in an updated formula at a new low price! The new formula provides the same key ingredients for a deep, rich coat color and more than double the amount of omega 3 fatty acids from flaxseed for healthy skin and a shiny coat. Best of all, it offers all of that great support for helping your horse maintain his dark coat color at an even better value!
Check out the new SmartDark & Handsome formula

SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay, and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of omega 3 fatty acids from fish oil, flaxseed and chia seed, combined with paprika and nutmeg. SmartDark & Handsome is not just for the boys – it’s great for mares, too. (We just couldn’t resist the name!)

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.  

Have a horse of a different color? We recommend SmartShine Ultra.

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 30g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30 g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    9%
  • L-Lysine
    8%
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    16%
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    4.8% (1450 mg)
  • Supplying:
  • EPA
    .3% (90 mg)
  • DHA
    .2% (60 mg)
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    4.5% (1340 mg)
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    13%
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
    100 mg
  • Folic Acid
    62 mg
  • Biotin
    5 mg
  • Copper
    1,250 ppm (35 mg)
  • Manganese
    2,090 ppm (60 mg)
  • Zinc
    2,250 ppm (65 mg)
Ingredient Statement:: Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Flaxseed Meal, Paprika, Dried Kelp, L-Lysine, Vegetable Oil, Fenugreek Seed, Chia Seed, Fish Oil, Lecithin, Biotin, Zinc Polysaccharide Complex, Manganese Polysaccharide Complex, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Polysaccharide Complex, Nutmeg, Riboflavin, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Folic Acid, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Sodium Propionate (preservative).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Accurate replacement of the full spectrum of electrolytes ...
    Description:
    "Accurate replacement of the full spectrum of electrolytes based on recent studies of electrolyte loss in equine sweat. Now in a Gingersnap Spice flavor. View our Electrolyte Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use. View our ...
    "A SmartPak exclusive! All the benefits of Uckele’s ...
    Description:
    "A SmartPak exclusive! All the benefits of Uckele’s renowned Cocosoya Oil in a tasty powder that horses love. This unique blend includes stabilized flaxseed and rice bran, along with probiotics and prebiotics for digestive health. The combination of omega 3 ...
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to ...
    Description:
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to suggest increased dietary intake of Vitamin E. E-5000 is a highly concentrated source of Vitamin E with 5,000 IUs per ounce. View our Antioxidant Comparison Chart Learn More about E-5000"
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse ...
    Description:
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse Journal, Perfect Balance Electrolite supports rapid re-hydration by including proper levels of sodium, potassium, chloride, sulfate, magnesium, calcium, and chelated minerals in a highly concentrated and highly effective formula designed to match ...
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural ...
    Description:
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural soluble fiber that increases feed ration bulk. Sand Clear includes apple and molasses flavoring horses love. Psyllium contains more soluble fiber than oat bran and wheat bran combined. There is 80% soluble ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartDark & Handsome® Original is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 286.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results I bought this over a month ago for my dark bay and his coat has never looked darker and shinier! I love hearing the compliments he gets, "He is so handsome!" SmartDark & Handsome is the perfect name for your wonderful product!
    Date published: 2017-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! My gelding had faded from black to a very light brown, with patchy coloring throughout his body. I assume sun and possibly flyspray helped with the bleaching of his coat. I was desperate to get his coloring back to the rich dark color he once was. I started him on Dark and Handsome and within less than a month his bleaching was barely noticeable. I was and still am shocked at the amazing results. I would highly recommend this supplement, it is a miracle supplement.
    Date published: 2017-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product! Only on month 2 but I love the changes I'm seeing in my black mates coat.
    Date published: 2017-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast results I started my black pony on this supplement about 4 months ago and he was so sun bleached he looked brown. He loves the taste, but he is definitely not a picky eater. I started seeing his black color coming back gradually after only a couple weeks. He is now completely black even with daily exposure to the sun. I definitely recommend this!
    Date published: 2017-08-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No Difference Seen in Coat I started my mare on this supplement before she had bleached out for the summer. She is dark bay, or was rather. She bleached out like normal. No difference than when she was not on this supplement.
    Date published: 2017-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse hated the smell Since my horse never ingested the supplement, I can't attest to it's worthiness of claim. What I can tell you is my horse absolutely refused to touch it, and he isn't a picky eater. He gobbles up all the other supplements, but this one smelled awful.
    Date published: 2017-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Bay in Summer Sun Still need fly sheet, but our beautiful very dark bay is much darker this year. Last summer he bleached out!
    Date published: 2017-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Fast!! I only used this for 1 month because my boy needed another supplement more than this one (trying to stay on budget). I noticed a difference within about a week. He stopped shedding (finally in June) and his coat was getting darker and very shiny. I will definitely consider using this again and recommend it.
    Date published: 2017-07-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not keep my Friesian Black. Every year about June my Friesian gelding will start to fade, so I started this product well ahead of time. I keep him out of the sun 9-5, rinse off sweat, and keep a fly sheet on him. I was hoping this product would make a difference. Unfortunately it did not. Smartpak was kind to give me a partial refund. He is nice & shiny however.
    Date published: 2017-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works I did put my colt on this a month a go Cree is,a,Grulla but he changes in early spring he is almost black then goes the lovely gray and then more buckskin Being on this,product he is holding more of the dark gray so am very happy
    Date published: 2017-06-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I Tried... Sorry I say but my picky gelding would not eat this product mo matter how I tried to present it to him
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results, horses enjoy the taste. I have been using this product for over three months now. Helped with hair growth and his mane is longer than ever! I didn't notice the difference in his coat until our first show. The gypsy's black was so black other owners were wondering what l had done. He is 3/4 outdoor and not blanketed during the summer but his black stayed dark! Cheaper in price than other products but seems to work well on a longer timeline.
    Date published: 2017-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cleveland Bay's summer coat is gorgeous Have only been using this four weeks, and his color is just spectacular. Showed at Upperville a few days ago, and everyone was raving about the deep color and how fantastically healthy his coat looks.
    Date published: 2017-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using this for about 6 weeks, and I can see how my horse's dark color has been enhanced.
    Date published: 2017-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supplements I bought this for my palomino who had bad skin condition wire hair after 30 days soft incredible golden palomino
    Date published: 2017-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Started my horse on this a few months before competition and I loved it. It was in October so I'm not sure how much of it was a new coat growing in and how much was this supplement but I would definitely use it again.
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL COAT I started using this product two months ago and my dark bay gelding started to shed his winter coat this past month and the difference in his coat was wonderful. He's dark and extremely shiny. I've always had a difficult time with his shine and this product made the difference I wanted! I'm hoping this product will maintain his color for the rest of summer along with his stall:) The only thing I don't like is that I have to soak his feed in order for him to eat all of the powder. He often picks it out if not.
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Black pony colour returning I am happy with the results of this priduct so far. Imposdible to keep my large back pony black in the glorida sun. With this supplement alone his coat is staying much darker
    Date published: 2017-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great price Just started feeding my horses this product for the upcoming season. One loves it, one won't touch it without applesauce.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No effect on coat, but smells good to horse Unfortunately, my black and white pinto did not respond to daily addition of this product to his diet. He loved the smell and taste though. SmartPak refunded my money and I am trying a different coat supplement next cycle.
    Date published: 2017-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy pre-measured paks are great! I have only been using for a little over a month but can already see a difference in my horses coat.
    Date published: 2017-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well! I've had my chestnut gelding on SmartDark for over a year now. He's not a picky eater, and also gets another supplement that it can stick to, so eats it right up. Initial results take a while, so be patient! My boy's mane and tail are darker, and there are liver chestnut tones coming through. I DO keep him completely covered in a fly sheet from spring-fall, and/or turn him out at night to keep him away from saving sun rays.
    Date published: 2017-01-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not palatable I would have liked to have given this the full two month trial period but my horse just refuses to eat it. He is not a picky eater at all but not even molasses will convince him to eat this powder. He had no problem eating Black as Knight so I'm not sure what exactly was different about this product that made him turn his nose up at it. I can't tell you if it worked as intended (darker coat) as I don't think my horse was on it long enough or managed to eat enough of it to see a difference. Sadly will have to discontinue. Very strange experience for me as I've never had palatability issues with smartpak supplements before, with either of my horses, one of whom is a picky eater. I noticed multiple reviews on this product stating similar issues, so it would seem prudent for smartpak to revisit the formula and try to make it tastier.
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from could be better I have been using this around 6 months on our Friesian mare and it does keep her coat darker but it doesn't come close to keeping it the beautiful jet black when it first grows in. I do plan to continue using it but wish it worked better.
    Date published: 2016-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Palomino going gold My TWH faded from a deep gold to a pale blonde when he moved from AZ to MI. I turned to this supplement and his color is coming back after just 6 weeks. He has a thick winter coat so I am looking forward to spring when he sheds out. So far so good- I recommend this product if you want to bring out the color and shine in your horse's coat.
    Date published: 2016-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Viva La Grey! A SmartPak specialist recommended this formula to help my mare hold on to her Grey. The formula has definitely helped to bring the Grey out -very subtle but still beautiful! Thank you for the suggestion!
    Date published: 2016-11-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Palatable Just started my second month. My colt eats it without a problem, but a little too soon to see results.
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My black horse has dapples! I've been using this product now for three months. His winter coat was coming in, which is typically darker anyway. I clipped him a few days ago, and have been AMAZED at the shine he has. He is jet black...and has DAPPLES! I love this product. I will be sure to keep using.
    Date published: 2016-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "He doesn't look clipped" I first put my horse on this supplement for the summer to help keep him from bleaching out. It worked great! Then when I clipped him for the Fall I was amazed that he kept his shine. My trainer even said "He doesn't look clipped", until you felt his coat.
    Date published: 2016-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supercalifragilistic... Supplement I love this supplement! When I got my QH mare a year and a half ago, she was a gorgeous midnight black color, and then she got so sun bleached, she could have been a buckskin! I used this for a month and I didn't really notice a change, other than little black spots. After 3 months though, she is a gorgeous black color again! Other ladies at my barn have been using this as well and can already notice difference after a month! Love, love love!!!
    Date published: 2016-10-06
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_262
    • loc_en_US, sid_9476, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders