Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartDark & Handsome® Original

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #19476
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Supports deep, dark shine

  • 1,450 mg of omega 3 fatty acids for healthy skin & a shiny coat
  • Paprika & nutmeg for a dark, rich coat color
SmartDark & Handsome is now being offered in an updated formula at a new low price! The new formula provides the same key ingredients for a deep, rich coat color and more than double the amount of omega 3 fatty acids from flaxseed for healthy skin and a shiny coat. Best of all, it offers all of that great support for helping your horse maintain his dark coat color at an even better value!
Check out the new SmartDark & Handsome formula

SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay, and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of omega 3 fatty acids from fish oil, flaxseed and chia seed, combined with paprika and nutmeg. SmartDark & Handsome is not just for the boys – it’s great for mares, too. (We just couldn’t resist the name!)

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.  

Have a horse of a different color? We recommend SmartShine Ultra.

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 30g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30 g) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    9%
  • L-Lysine
    8%
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    16%
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    4.8% (1450 mg)
  • Supplying:
  • EPA
    .3% (90 mg)
  • DHA
    .2% (60 mg)
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    4.5% (1340 mg)
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    13%
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
    100 mg
  • Folic Acid
    62 mg
  • Biotin
    5 mg
  • Copper
    1,250 ppm (35 mg)
  • Manganese
    2,090 ppm (60 mg)
  • Zinc
    2,250 ppm (65 mg)
Ingredient Statement:: Heat Stabilized Rice Bran, Flaxseed Meal, Paprika, Dried Kelp, L-Lysine, Vegetable Oil, Fenugreek Seed, Chia Seed, Fish Oil, Lecithin, Biotin, Zinc Polysaccharide Complex, Manganese Polysaccharide Complex, Vitamin E Supplement, Copper Polysaccharide Complex, Nutmeg, Riboflavin, Natural & Artificial Flavors, Folic Acid, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Sodium Propionate (preservative).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Feeding Instructions: Feed 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Accurate replacement of the full spectrum of electrolytes ...
    Description:
    "Accurate replacement of the full spectrum of electrolytes based on recent studies of electrolyte loss in equine sweat. Now in a Gingersnap Spice flavor. View our Electrolyte Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated ...
    Description:
    "Advanced Protection Formula (APF) is a highly concentrated liquid extract of adaptogenic herbs, developed by an equine veterinarian. This supplement helps protect horses from stress, supports the immune system, and aids in healthy recovery. Recommended for daily use. View our ...
    "A SmartPak exclusive! All the benefits of Uckele’s ...
    Description:
    "A SmartPak exclusive! All the benefits of Uckele’s renowned Cocosoya Oil in a tasty powder that horses love. This unique blend includes stabilized flaxseed and rice bran, along with probiotics and prebiotics for digestive health. The combination of omega 3 ...
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to ...
    Description:
    "Recent research has prompted leading equine nutritionists to suggest increased dietary intake of Vitamin E. E-5000 is a highly concentrated source of Vitamin E with 5,000 IUs per ounce. View our Antioxidant Comparison Chart Learn More about E-5000"
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse ...
    Description:
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse Journal, Perfect Balance Electrolite supports rapid re-hydration by including proper levels of sodium, potassium, chloride, sulfate, magnesium, calcium, and chelated minerals in a highly concentrated and highly effective formula designed to match ...
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural ...
    Description:
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural soluble fiber that increases feed ration bulk. Sand Clear includes apple and molasses flavoring horses love. Psyllium contains more soluble fiber than oat bran and wheat bran combined. There is 80% soluble ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartDark & Handsome® Original is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 286.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps him dark and handsome I started my boy on this in August, his color darkened. He doesn't care for the taste at the recommended dose, but accepts a smaller dose. It seems to be working even at a small dose.
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow I'm impressed I converted to this from another product offered by a different company that frankly wasn't working, so I was skeptical. I am amazed that within 2 months of being on this product my Friesian has resisted fading in the persistent CA sun. Wow! Plus he loves the flavor and waits for me to sprinkle it on his pellets.
    Date published: 2016-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent.!!! I started my boy on this about 3 weeks ago, the change is nothing short of amazing. He was black when we bought him last year and faded terribly this summer. The dark slowly started "creeping" in over his rump and barrel. Now it's covered him almost completely at just 3 weeks, there is just a small area on his neck left to fill in. My boy looks like a black horse again!!! . He has been shedding out the old faded brown hair like crazy. I was worried about it being a powder and if he would like it, well he literally licks his feed bucket clean!!
    Date published: 2016-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It won't let me upload pictures but I've got good ones!
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fairly quickly, already a healthier coat! I purchased this two months ago for my rescue gelding who is a dark brown/black. I started feeding Dark and Handsome for his coat condition since as a rescue horse, it was pretty dry and gross. In the weeks after beginning to feed the supplement, his old coat shed off and he is looking softer, a little darker and not flaky! I will be keeping him on this supplement as we don't show at high enough levels to be drug tested.
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works quickly! This product helped my horse get some color back, even though it's late in the year and he had faded terribly. I was embarrassed at our last show and people asked if that was my same horse. Next year, I'm feeding this April through September!
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Awesome! I bought this because my normally black as black Friesian mare, had become brown over the summer. I was skeptical to say the least. I decided I had nothing to lose but a twenty dollar bill. I have always been very happy with all my supplements and products from smartpak so what the hey. It was only one week and she had her beautiful black as night, shiny coat back!! So if you want your beauty back to black, then this is your product!
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! SmartDark & Handsome brought out the shine & dapples in Leo's coat. I would recommend it for any dark bay/brown horse. Some reviews mentioned problems with getting the horse to eat this product. Leo has no problem eating anything--including a bute tablet--in his grain, so he's not the best judge of such things.
    Date published: 2016-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I bought this two months ago and it works great! My horse looks wonderful!
    Date published: 2016-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! We bought this to help our son's pony. He is a black paint, and when he got him, had a dry, coarse, mane and dull coat. We added this to the SmartPak with his Senior Ultra and have noticed a VAST improvement overall! He gets noticed everywhere they ride!
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure yet Switched from Black as Knight to Smart Dark and Handsome. Not certain if it is working as well yet. I was told to give it at least two months for ingredients to build up in horse, but he was already on a coat darkener, so I don't think that a build up time was really needed, as I know the products are not identical, but are similar. I do think he is staying dark, but maybe not as dark as before.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless I've tried this before with little success, but had a horse on this for the last year, thought that keeping him on it through the winter might help. He is as bleached as ever.
    Date published: 2016-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap, easy, fast darkening supplement! I put my horse on smartdark and handsome after a rough winter left his tail ver very thin. He is a mostly black pinto who sunbleaches very bad in the summer. He gets turnout every day from about 10am-5pm in the Indiana sun. I noticed a change in his coat after a couple weeks. He no longer gets sunbleached (he is even body clipped) and has some amazing dapples!! It also helps his white legs from getting sunburnt. No fly sheet or anything. His tail is growing in thick and full, however it is taking forever to get long again. Overall, highly recommend this supplement! Great price and great results!
    Date published: 2016-07-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Taste She would barely touch her feed when put it in her feed. We ended up putting it in with her hay. To finish it off.
    Date published: 2016-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty coat Love this product makes my mare's coat so dark and shiny.
    Date published: 2016-05-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good!` I purchased this when the sunbleaching was getting out of hand for my colt, HE LOOKED BUCKSKIN. when he is in fact Seal brown (dark/black bay ect..) his hair was not only nasty in coloring but it felt thing, brittle and dry! he has been on this for a little over a month and seems to be holding his color just fine! the real test will be to see what he looks like after the texas summer but so far so good!
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh My horse didn't eat it...he's normally not to picky, but this one was a no go
    Date published: 2016-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark and handsome So far so good only feed one month but he is handsome
    Date published: 2016-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hallelujah! My black pony is black again!! I bought my first black horse this fall & I didn't know he would sun bleach as much as he did. I panicked. A bunch. I bought a fly sheet & started him on SmartDark & Handsome as soon as I could. I give it to him in his dinner & he doesn't mind the taste at all. I started him on it the middle of February when he was shedding out his coat. You cannot take them to shows when they are on this but I stop them on it 2 weeks before a show (just to be safe).
    Date published: 2016-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Shine and Healthy Coat! Use this product starting every Spring and my horse is gorgeous!
    Date published: 2016-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holy Moly! Even better than hoped for! I said I wouldn't give it another month before I came back to follow up on my originally review, but my mare has changed so fast, that's its nothing short of remarkable and I just had to share. I started her on the Smart Dark and Handsome on April 2nd. I started seeing changes 2 weeks in. Below are photos with dates to show you how fast this stuff works and just how incredible it is. No idea why it didn't work for other reviewers, but it definitely brought my Friesian back! If she looks this good only 30 days in, I can't wait to see the results in another 30 days!
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He loves it! His coat love better than ever! His mane and tail are looking good.
    Date published: 2016-05-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work as promoted Very disappointed in the product. Used for three months without any significant improvement in the color of my black mare's coat. Purchased Black As Knight from another supplier because SmartPak does not carry and the mare is BLACK in two weeks! Please carry Black As Knight because I love all the other SmartPak products but this one did not work for me.
    Date published: 2016-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Fast! I have a Friesian mare that I clipped back in December and bleached out pretty bad during the winter months. I first tried Nu-Image Dark Horse and went through an entire bucket and saw no change at all. I fed it 2x a day as well and the bucket didn't last a full month and was $45! That's when I decided to try the SmartDark and Handsome. I started to see a change at only a week in. At 2 weeks in I could see rich, deep, black coming in under the brown coat. Now I am itching to clip her again to reveal the deep back hidden underneath, but I am waiting it out and trying to give her more time to shed out the brown. As of now, her chest, neck, and hind areas are significantly darker. This stuff definitely does not disappoint and was significantly cheaper, only given once per day, and the smartpaks make it last the full month. I will give it another month and then return to post before and after pics, but this supplement is definitely a keeper!
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good My mare has been on this for about a month and I've already noticed a difference. She is turned out during the day and was very sun bleached but I've noticed a slight improvement in the darkness of her coat with no change in anything else aside from the addition of this supplement. She's also a very picky eater and eats this without issue.
    Date published: 2016-03-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Haven't noticed a difference Really haven't seen a difference but will continue to use until his coat has time to start coming in.
    Date published: 2016-03-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse did not like this powder mix. Pellets might have been accepted better. Cayenne pepper? Really?
    Date published: 2016-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked better than Black as Knight My horse was on Black As Knight all summer and despite being turned out only at night, he faded pretty significantly. So in September I switched and was noticing a difference in a month. I wasn't expecting a change until after three months and was happily surprised.
    Date published: 2015-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it! My horse loved this product! ... And my dog did too (she got to lick the smart packs clean) it was hard to tell a difference mainly because my horse was in the sun a lot, but I do think if I had continued with this it would be a great thing!
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Probably would have worked This seemed to be exactly what I was looking for, but my mare would not touch it. Really needs to be made in a more palatable form.
    Date published: 2015-09-16
    • y_2017, m_12, d_15, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_262
    • loc_en_US, sid_9476, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 32ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders