Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17477
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Best-selling calming formula

  • 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, and 2,000 mg of inositol for nervous system function
  • Also includes 500 mg of l-tryptophan, an essential amino acid that may help calm & soothe
Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of L-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well-being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets have a tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!
View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Magnesium
    10,000 mg
  • Taurine
    5,000 mg
  • Inositol
    2,000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    1,000 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Artificial Flavor, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartOmega 3 at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty ...
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working horse’s nutrient requirements and power optimal performance. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in moderate to ...
    "SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, ...
    Description:
    "SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay, and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of omega 3 fatty acids from fish oil, flaxseed and chia seed, combined with paprika and nutmeg. ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1340.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! My horse has been having some problems with his vision as he gets older. I've put him on smartcalm ultra. It's done wonders for him. He's still a little spooky. But instead of spooking then having a complete mental breakdown for a hour. He'll spook, snort, and continue about his day. It's really taken him down a few notches. I'm very happy with it. Unfortunately my horse doesn't care for the taste, so I have to mix it in his grain really well. His other SmartPak's he'll eat directly out of my hand.
    Date published: 2017-02-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have used half a bagain and not noticed any big difference yet. I'm still hoping.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse seems much calmer Started this on him 3 or so months ago. He has been much calmer but I don't know if it is the supplement, the weather, or the extra work we've been putting in. We will stop the supplement in a couple of weeks and see if he reverts back to his prior level or anxiety. Hopefully we've helped instill a different behavior pattern.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I bought this for a pony and it is has helped a lot.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to help I was skeptical when I purchased smart calm ultra this fall. After 20 days on the supplement I felt a difference in the stallions focus. After 30 days when I pulled him off for a few days there was a huge change he was over reactive. I kept him off and gelded him then played with the supplement 1 week on 1 week off for 3 weeks. He's been gelded almost 2 months now and I can feel he's easier to warm up away from home. Less reactionary to things outside the arena. I would highly recommend. At shows I feed a double dose or am and pm dose.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! My pony is a maniac. He was passed around from owner to owner until I bought him because of his behavior. I've made a ton of progress with him, although it really helped to have him on a calming supplement. I tried quietex daily before, and it would work up until he got himself in a tizzy from spooking. Then he wasn't able to calm down after that. There were some days that I'd need to give him a very small amount of Ace just to survive a trail ride. I tried SmartCalm Ultra. i haven't had to give him ace since, and he's been much better on our rides. He still spooks at the same things, but now he's able to calm down and walk up to scary things (like a rock...) and touch it. That method, along with the supplement, has made a huge difference!! He's really a great pony, and he is a lot happier now, too. He feels more relaxed in general, he's much easier to catch now, and is fun to ride!! Much of this can be credited to good training, as well as proper support with SmartCalm Ultra. Thanks Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started my OTTB mare on this a couple months back to ease the transition from a busy boarding stable to home, and saw good results starting about 2-3 weeks into it. She was more able to focus, less reactive, and just overall more pleasant to deal with. I dropped her down to the SmartCalm after a month, which worked great through the fall and early winter while I could still ride 4-6 days/week. I bumped her back up a month ago when I was unable, due to snow, work, indoor availability, etc, to ride more than 3-4 d/w bc she was being cranky, unfocused, and just not fun to get on. Two weeks later, we're doing gymnastics, stretching, working on our transitions, and she's rideable. It's made a world of difference, and I'm so happy I tried it. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speechless This supplement is possibly the best thing that has ever happened to me and my mare. My TB mare was Spooky, reactive, lacked focus, and just overall unhappy. I started her on smartcalm Ultra because of the research I had done on magnesium deficiencies in sport horses and because of the success I've had with all SmartPak products. It was the best choice I've ever made. My mare is happier now that she's ever been. She loves to work and is able to focus and work through "scary" situations. He overall demeanor has changed for the better, and I will never take her off of this supplement. I highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! We rescued an older OTTB and although she had been ridden in the past, we were finding it hard to even put a blanket on her. She spooked at the slightest noise. After a week of giving her SmartCalm Ultra Pellets, she is much calmer and she stands still while her blanket is put on. She even lifted her legs for the farrier this week! Will continue to add this supplement to her daily regimen.
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from You asked for a review. Hard to tell if the product is actually helping this former race horse gelding thoroughbred calm down when he is taken out on the trail. I have been using the product for 2 months and he can still get very reactive and excited. Things have improved but it is hard to tell if that is from consistent work with a good trainer and work on the trail, or if the product itself is producing a calming effect. 2 weeks of rain with unrideable trails and a closed arena have not helped. I plan to give it at least 6 months and evaluate from there.
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed Very happy with this product. I like the pelleted form. I have feed other powder products and lots goes to waste. I do not have that problem with this..
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work plus he rejected the pellets Bought this as part of a SmartPak grouping for my 13 yr old TW gelding. He may be 13, but acts like a 4 yr old. Very athletic, strong-willed and at times "hot". Reno tends to suffer anxiety as well as competitiveness with certain horses. He was quick to spook at times, and it was a challenge keeping his brain focused and on task when on the trail (arena work was never a problem).I decided to try this and see if there'd be any change, but saw little if any. I had also taken him back to extensive ground work and hired a trainer to work with him further. The improvement came with extensive training. We still see the same anxiety/flighty behavior and all around kookiness. Further, he began rejecting the pellets. Had to mix with oats and make a mash. That worked for 2 days until he separated the pellets from the oats. Even mixed in unsweetened applesauce. Big nope. He outright refused to eat them beyond the month he had been.Oh well. Vet recommends I try Divine for the spookiness/intermittent anxiety.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far they seem to be working. my horse has only been on these for a few months but they seem to be helping so far.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Useful tool Helps take the edge off. I moved and my mare went from my very quiet private home to a public boarding facility with a lot of activity, traffic, horses, etc. and she was very insecure. This helped her to be a little less reactive.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I have a TB/Oldenburg mare who got pushed too hard and became fearful of her environment. She was already on Magnesium 5000, but when I went to SmartCalm Ultra I began to see a huge difference in her ability to stop, look, think and focus. Now she explores difficult trail obstacles on her own, she is much happier and more trainable.
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff This product really works well I have a Ottb that is very nourvus help to claim his mind so he can work
    Date published: 2017-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jury is still out I am on my second month feeding this to my very nervous appendix quarter horse and the jury is still out as to whether it is helping her or not. Hopefully time will tell because the Lord knows she needs to keep what marbles she has left! ;)
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well with my mare I have had my mare on this for a little over a month and have noticed a big change already. Much more relaxed.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be doing the trick! Seems to be doing the trick for our 8yr. OTTB !!!It has helped him learn to relax :)
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs more tryptophan I use pure tryptophan for myself and wish this contained more, alone it is OK, but I combine with Vision for best results.
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I decided to try this after watching the results of another horse. It seems to help my mare focus and calm down faster when she gets excited. When something really grabs her attention her heart beats so hard you can hear it and feel it through the saddle. That still happens but the duration seems to be much shorter and it doesn't seem to escalate as much. Thanks for this product.
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help my anxious QH I've been using smartpak calming products for several months now, starting first with SmartTranquility and now SmartCalm Ultra. I have to say that I'm very pleased with the SmartCalm Ultra. My anxious quarter horse gelding turns into a spooky monster when the temperatures drop in the fall/winter time. Since he's been on SmartCalm Ultra, he definitely seems to have a better head on his shoulders. While no calming supplement is a cure-all or a replacement for daily work (the best remedy for a spooky horse, I think) I certainly do notice a difference in the ring and even in turnout (not blowing around like a nut anymore) I would recommend this product to anyone with a nervous, anxious or "flighty" horse.
    Date published: 2016-12-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gross I used to use this supplement and had amazing results. I put my horse back on this supplement and she absolutely HATES it. She won't eat it and it's just been wasted money. It seems to have the opposite effect on her due to all of the sugar in it. You can't calm an anxious horse down when you're feeding them a supplement with sugar in it. Wouldn't recommend it or use it again. Definitely a waste of money.
    Date published: 2016-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from After feeding Smart Calm Ultra to my 16 yr old, well trained mare, I noticed a difference in about 3-4 weeks. She tends to have an inner anxiety and seemed to often have a slightly nervous edge when I would ride. Now, while she still can get that bit of nervousness, it is less often. Over all I feel that she is much more relaxed. Plus she eats the pellets with no problem.
    Date published: 2016-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This works! I've been using SmartCalm for a little more than a month. I've noticed a big difference in my boy's focus during our training sessions and lessons. I'm really glad I started using!
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver supplement SmartCalm is looking to be a lifesaver for me and my highly spooked horse. I haven't used it long but am already seeing some positive effects. He takes new objects/obstacles without wanting to bolt...he still looks intently at the little piece of plastic on the floor, but he doesn't do a side dance now. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2016-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I have Ben giving this supplement to my 7 year old paint. He has a good mind, but his energy level was thru the roof. He reminded me of a child with ADHD. Since being on this supplement, he is more focused when I work him and while still energetic, I don't feel like I am riding a keg of dynamite
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brand new horse Cicero was edgy, dominate with other horses, not unlike a stallion and overreacting to minor stimuli. Being a quarterhorse type, this did not fit the expectations. His training progressed but was very challenging, kicking and biting at me, rebelling etc. On a hunch, I started him on the supplement before I took him to the stable for the winter. I wasn't able to start riding him immediately but when I went to the stable, I learned they'd turned him out with another gelding and the other horse was the boss! Bingo, I knew I had a solution to the behavior problems. He is now working like any ordinary, decent young horse. I say thank you for the new horse. He's going to the dressage ring this summer. I am so happy!!
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement! My gelding is sooo much calmer on this supplement, I really recommend this!
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    • y_2017, m_3, d_20, h_14
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_132, tr_1208
    • loc_en_US, sid_7477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders