Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17477
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Best-selling calming formula

  • 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, and 2,000 mg of inositol for nervous system function
  • Also includes 500 mg of l-tryptophan, an essential amino acid that may help calm & soothe
Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of L-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well-being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets have a tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!
View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Magnesium
    10,000 mg
  • Taurine
    5,000 mg
  • Inositol
    2,000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    1,000 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Artificial Flavor, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Calm & Collected (formerly Confidence Plus) by Hilton ...
    Description:
    "Calm & Collected (formerly Confidence Plus) by Hilton Herbs is a natural calming supplement for horses and ponies. This supplement contains a pure dried herbal blend of valerian, vervain, chamomile, hawthorn, marshmallow, and meadowsweet. Calm & Collected is designed for ...
    "Horses grazing in sandy areas are at increased ...
    Description:
    "Horses grazing in sandy areas are at increased risk for experiencing sand colic. Psyllium Pellets by SmartPak provide high-quality psyllium seed husk to aid in fecal sand clearance. Providing psyllium may reduce the possibility of digestive colic in horses grazing ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "SmartCombo Ultra Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Ultra Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex III Resilience, SmartDigest Ultra, SmartHoof Ultra, and SmartShine Ultra at a savings of 25% compared to buying those four products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains high levels of glucosamine, chondroitin sulfate, ...
    "SmartGut provides comprehensive gastric support through a selection ...
    Description:
    "SmartGut provides comprehensive gastric support through a selection of ingredients that help maintain stomach health. These include ingredients to neutralize excess gastric acid, probiotics, prebiotics, soluble fiber, the amino acids L-glutamine and glycine, soothing herbs and other safeguards for a ...
    "SmartGut Ultra is clinically researched and shown to ...
    Description:
    "SmartGut Ultra is clinically researched and shown to support gastric health. In a university-led research study, SmartGut Ultra helped maintain stomach health in horses under stress. This enhanced formula includes GastrAvert®, a proprietary blend of sea buckthorn, glutamine, aloe vera, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1458.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works! I got this product over a month ago and it's seemed to really help my young gelding. I decided to put him on it because he got distracted and tense a lot and heading into the indoor season I knew the problem would only get worse. I've seen an increased level of focus and although he's still his wild self at times his overall focus is on work.
    Date published: 2018-01-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No change My horse has been on this product for over a month and her behavior has not changed at all. I'm very disappointed
    Date published: 2018-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well and is palatable. Very happy with the results. After the first week, I wasn't too impressed, but I stayed with it for another week and saw him begin to improve. Horse is calmer and more focused than he was on just the B-1 and another Magnesium Chromium supplement. Only one calming vitamin to feed makes it easier on me.
    Date published: 2018-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse can focus! This product was recommended by a friend who has a horse in the same training barn. VOILA! What a difference. My horse is focused and happy in his work! Thank-you!
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Picky ottb took convincing to eat! I bought this a week ago and I can definitely see a drastically happier horse but he won't eat without me soaking food and mixing in really well. He then will stick his nose up and will dig around his bucket trying to get around it. The first day I put on top of feed as top dressing he promptly used his lips and through it all out of his bucket. Second day I mixed in really well with feed he still managed to eat around it. Third day I soaked feed into a mash and mixed supplement in. He finally ate it all! He still was trying not to but he did. I will say he is extremely picky to the point of I have to buy certain treat brand in only a certain flavor and will not take any other treat. And that took about a week of convicing him with the treats! Same thing with his feed so I do not think the supplement has bad palatability my other horse eats it all up not problem! Just sharing experience!
    Date published: 2017-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Difference! Got this to try on my spooky gelding. He isn’t nervous but gets very distracted and easily spooked. This made him less reactive and he now looks at something before spooking! Night and day difference. I’m interested to see how he does while traveling to shows but I’m hoping it helps there too!
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart pak addition Love this product. I only wish it fit in the smart pak drawer. With the addition of the new product the drawer is too small.
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I have three very young very hotheaded horses and I put all three of them on this supplement and the results are amazing! I couldn’t be happier with their mindset it does not make them tired I feel it just helps them focus and relax
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well but my horse didn’t like the taste. I had to add molasses to disguise the taste.
    Date published: 2017-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought this a month ago and have already seen aprovement in my mare
    Date published: 2017-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good adjunct for horse on stall rest Helped to take the edge off my guy who is on prescribed stall rest for an injury
    Date published: 2017-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartCalm Ultra This is an excellent product for calming young, anxious horses as they begin new processes in their growth; i.e., halter breaking; settling into stall life after 2 years of pasture; handling for blankets, grooming, saddle breaking, etc. Ultra calm has done a fantastic job of settling our young horses and horses new to our barn. The natural products make this an excellent daily alternative with feed over using any type of drug or chemical. The magnesium is so efficient, it must be making up for an imbalance we had not been aware of. Got an edgy, nervous, anxious horse, give this a try. They deserve only the best.
    Date published: 2017-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still waiting on results We are into our second month of use. My mare is only showing very slight results. The customer service folks said to wait about 6 weeks. We are not there yet.
    Date published: 2017-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to administer, too soon to tell how good it's working.
    Date published: 2017-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works. I moved to this from the Training Day. My horse is definitely less spooky, reactive, and very calm. I am wondering if he is too calm...he's actually a bit sluggish riding lately so I am going to move down to 1/2 dose to see if that helps. It works for sure but just watch your horse and adjust the dose if needed.
    Date published: 2017-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trainer Notices Improvement My 6 yr old purebred Arabian gelding, shown and a winner previously in halter, is now under saddle. My trainer found him to not be focused and very nervous at any sound or sudden movement around him. She has noticed a definite improvement with him in just the first month on this product. In fact, she is planning on putting one of her own horses on it.
    Date published: 2017-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent product We are very happy with the benefits fo this product.
    Date published: 2017-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had a mare that was very spooky on the trail ride and I had a friend tell me about this product Lexi has been on this for month and a half and I can’t believe the difference in her much better I would recommend this product to anyone
    Date published: 2017-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taking the edge off Barbie is a chestnut thoroughbred mare which is probably enough said for those horse owners that have one of these. Seems to have calmed her a little that has. Taken the edge off.
    Date published: 2017-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Bought this 2 months ago and it helped my boy within the first three weeks! No longer spooky or tense!
    Date published: 2017-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2 Month review Bought the supplement 2 months ago and within 3 weeks I noticed a major difference! Rio is now extremely calm and relaxed. Highly recommend this supplement!
    Date published: 2017-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this I bought this for my 15 year old OTTB and she does great.. she is wayyyy calmer
    Date published: 2017-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Investment My horse is an OTTB and very young with high energy. The pellets seem to be calming him and keeping him level headed.
    Date published: 2017-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something's doing the trick! I have a pretty intense OTTB that has been tough to get into a solid routine. He's a big fellow and can be fairly explosive. I used to tell people it was like trying to ride an over-inflated balloon. The last couple of months the combo of SmartCalm Ultra and SmartGI Ultra (which he has been on for over a year and it is a godsend) seems to have made him a much more relaxed, happy horse. He used to even get worried during his turnout, just wanting to return to the barn and lately he's been venturing quite a ways out, peacefully grazing. It's not necessarily the cheapest solution, but well worth it since it seems to have produced a much more trainable, happy partner.
    Date published: 2017-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG I don’t take the time to write reviews, but I’m writing this one! OMG. My 20 year old former one star horse who is the SPOOKIEST horse in the woooorld is transformed. We’re talking aversions to white objects. Shadows. Dirt patches in the grass. You name it, he’s terrified of it. Except, not anymore! My spooky horse that I would normally jump in an elevator and hold on for my life with is jumping in a snaffle, and trail riding on the buckle. I have tried supplements in the past with no luck. Decided to give this one a shot about 45 days ago, and I couldn’t be happier! I like hot horses, but this has taken enough of the edge off to make life easier for both of us!
    Date published: 2017-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly works I got this for my mule and it really help calm him down. Great product.
    Date published: 2017-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from much better attitude Ready to put Lady back to work after 7 months off. This improves her rideability quite a bit
    Date published: 2017-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work as advertized! I have a foal with a foot injury so he and his mother have been confined to a stall for several months now. I give to both horses and both have stayed quite manageable throughout their confinement. Even my brother - a TB trainer, has remarked - "That calming supplement really works!"
    Date published: 2017-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm so happy I tried this! I bought a month's worth for my sport gelding, before he was hot and I had to lunge to get his mind focused before I got on. He was alsocspooky and gave the occasional buck. About a week and a half into feeding this he was more focused and connected. He is now more calm and I have more confidence with him! He can be picky also but loves his supplement he eats it by itself too! Smartpak also has amazing customer service and it's super easy to change shipping dates!
    Date published: 2017-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results after a week! My 4 year Old watercourse can be very spooky and flighty. I started him on this supplement about a week ago, and he's already shown huge signs of improvement. He is thinking before reacting and seems much more calm in situations that previously upset him. He's like a different horse and is much easier to train. He still does get startled from some things but the spooks are much more manageable and he is easier to focus and regain control of. He eats it just fine with his grain.
    Date published: 2017-09-26
    • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_139, tr_1319
    • loc_en_US, sid_7477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders