PLEASE NOTE: You may experience errors on our site when using Internet Explorer 10 or lower. Please consider updating your browser, or download Google Chrome.
Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17477
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Best-selling calming formula

  • 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, and 2,000 mg of inositol for nervous system function
  • Also includes 500 mg of l-tryptophan, an essential amino acid that may help calm & soothe
Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of L-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well-being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets have a tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!
View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Magnesium
    10,000 mg
  • Taurine
    5,000 mg
  • Inositol
    2,000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    1,000 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Artificial Flavor, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Daily Gold Stress Relief is a powdered supplement ...
    Description:
    "Daily Gold Stress Relief is a powdered supplement for horses that is made from Redmond’s very own naturally occurring bentonite clay, which contains a wide selection of minerals and elements that work together to support healthy digestion. This formula helps ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Sane & Sound is calming ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Sane & Sound is calming supplement designed to provide the most complete solution for pre-event anxiety. It combines ingredients for a focused attitude, comfort, and a healthy stomach to help your horse or pony stay relaxed and ...
    "SmartCombo Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex II Support, SmartHoof, SmartDigest, and SmartShine at a savings of 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, MSM, vitamin C, biotin, amino acids, omega 3 fatty acids, ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartShine at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty acids, ...
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform Senior provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working senior’s nutrient needs so he can excel. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer optimal nutrition for older horses in moderate ...
    "SmartVite Thrive Senior provides the right balance of ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive Senior provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your older horse’s nutrient requirements and promote vitality. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer optimal nutrition for senior horses in light or ...
    "Zylkene Equine is a unique calming supplement that ...
    Description:
    "Zylkene Equine is a unique calming supplement that contains alpha-casozepine. This ingredient was found when researchers speculated that a substance in mother’s milk might be responsible for the state of relaxation newborns experience after nursing. That speculation inspired the discovery ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1467.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smartguard ultra pellets Bought these 4 weeks ago and understand they take a few weeks to take affect. Just ordered another 30 supply. Have noticed a little improvement but hopefully will see more with a little longer supply.
    Date published: 2018-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I think it’s working as my mare is not as Marish as she usually is. She seems less irritable
    Date published: 2018-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! My mare had begun spooking a lot, and after consulting with the experts at SmartPak and comparing products, I ordered theSmartCalm Ultra pellets. Knowing that I could use them for a full two months and still get a refund if I wasn't happy convinced me to give them a try! She's only been on the supplement for about two weeks now, but the difference is clear! She is more calm, and riding her is a joy now, as she is able to focus on me instead of scanning the environment for something to worry about and spook at! I'm a believer!!
    Date published: 2018-01-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Mare stopped eating I was hoping my horse would find this more palatable than another magnesium-based calming supp- and she did, for maybe 2 weeks. Then she determined it was poison. And of course, the next batch of my smartpak shipped before we realized she stopped eating grain because of it. I really wish Smartpak would offer sample sizes.
    Date published: 2018-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Actually Works! I bought this product because I have a moody mare! I was skeptical because nothing seems to work with her! After about two weeks I noticed a big difference in her attitude. I will continue this product & during show season I plan on trying the paste on top of this at shows. Great product for the price!!
    Date published: 2018-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this supplement ! My quarter horse Brigham’s Meadowlark was always a nervous horse, spooked at everything. He is also 16 hands tall and weighs over 1300 pounds which made him hard to train and ride. I started giving him smart calm ultra and he is entirely a different horse. He is calm and can slow down enough to think about what I am asking him to do now. I am 64 years old and have had horses all my life. I never saw this much improvement because of a supplement before. Thank you Smart Pack.
    Date published: 2018-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jury’s still out Not sure because our weather has taken a turn for the worse and not able to ride or work him. He was better for the carrier so we are hoping.
    Date published: 2018-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartcalm My young gelding had an extremely terrible experience at a so called trainer! I pulled him and brought him home. He was a WRECK!!!!!! Not at all my loving boy I sent. Obnoxious and affraid of everything! After kicking myself a million times for my mistake I turned to you. After 2 weeks I could see the relief in his eyes. Every day is better and better. This week he is his old self! The trainer and everyone in that barn even they're vet had labeled him dangerous! I am back to being able to do everything with him. My gratitude to you for helping him is beyond anything I can write! I am forever in your debt! From the bottom of my heart THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!
    Date published: 2018-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blessing This product is a blessing for my guy. My horse (4 and a half year old gelding- we show) has been on this supplement since before I purchased him. I continued getting these after he became a part of my family, initially not wanting to change anything. For a few weeks I slacked giving him the supplement (I initially thought he was fine) due to forgetfulness and we had him in consistent work and he was less spooky. THEN he made me aware of the difference. I could tell it finally was out of his system and he became a nightmare. He was ridable, but was definitely not my lazy hunter/equitation horse (he typically would go w/ a crop and spur but neither could be used due to how hot he was becoming). The fighting grew and his spooking got out of hand; there wasn`t a ride without insanely dramatic spooks. Finally I got the supplement back out and after getting it consistently, he`s back to himself. He is back to being comfortable with and during work. I cannot believe the difference (I probably should actually) this supplement creates with my horse. I`m so happy with the results that we get and how happy he seems. Couldn`t trust another company to keep my boy happy and healthy!
    Date published: 2018-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dramatic results in a spooky mare I received this product in my first SmartPak order. I have a 22 year old mare who is extremely spooky and anxious -- not only under saddle, but turned out in the pasture. She is bothered by things that my other horses don't even notice. She has been on this product for about a month now, and I will start by saying that its really palatable. She never stuck her nose up to it, and she gobbles it right up at every feeding. For the first time since owning this mare, she didn't lose her mind on New Years with all of the fireworks going off in our neighborhood. I absolutely could not believe it. The only explanation for it has to be this product. This mare has such a calmer and more pleasant disposition, and I look forward to receiving this product again every month! Thank you SmartPak!!!
    Date published: 2018-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works! I got this product over a month ago and it's seemed to really help my young gelding. I decided to put him on it because he got distracted and tense a lot and heading into the indoor season I knew the problem would only get worse. I've seen an increased level of focus and although he's still his wild self at times his overall focus is on work.
    Date published: 2018-01-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No change My horse has been on this product for over a month and her behavior has not changed at all. I'm very disappointed
    Date published: 2018-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works very well and is palatable. Very happy with the results. After the first week, I wasn't too impressed, but I stayed with it for another week and saw him begin to improve. Horse is calmer and more focused than he was on just the B-1 and another Magnesium Chromium supplement. Only one calming vitamin to feed makes it easier on me.
    Date published: 2018-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse can focus! This product was recommended by a friend who has a horse in the same training barn. VOILA! What a difference. My horse is focused and happy in his work! Thank-you!
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Picky ottb took convincing to eat! I bought this a week ago and I can definitely see a drastically happier horse but he won't eat without me soaking food and mixing in really well. He then will stick his nose up and will dig around his bucket trying to get around it. The first day I put on top of feed as top dressing he promptly used his lips and through it all out of his bucket. Second day I mixed in really well with feed he still managed to eat around it. Third day I soaked feed into a mash and mixed supplement in. He finally ate it all! He still was trying not to but he did. I will say he is extremely picky to the point of I have to buy certain treat brand in only a certain flavor and will not take any other treat. And that took about a week of convicing him with the treats! Same thing with his feed so I do not think the supplement has bad palatability my other horse eats it all up not problem! Just sharing experience!
    Date published: 2017-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Difference! Got this to try on my spooky gelding. He isn’t nervous but gets very distracted and easily spooked. This made him less reactive and he now looks at something before spooking! Night and day difference. I’m interested to see how he does while traveling to shows but I’m hoping it helps there too!
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart pak addition Love this product. I only wish it fit in the smart pak drawer. With the addition of the new product the drawer is too small.
    Date published: 2017-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I have three very young very hotheaded horses and I put all three of them on this supplement and the results are amazing! I couldn’t be happier with their mindset it does not make them tired I feel it just helps them focus and relax
    Date published: 2017-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well but my horse didn’t like the taste. I had to add molasses to disguise the taste.
    Date published: 2017-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brought this a month ago and have already seen aprovement in my mare
    Date published: 2017-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good adjunct for horse on stall rest Helped to take the edge off my guy who is on prescribed stall rest for an injury
    Date published: 2017-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartCalm Ultra This is an excellent product for calming young, anxious horses as they begin new processes in their growth; i.e., halter breaking; settling into stall life after 2 years of pasture; handling for blankets, grooming, saddle breaking, etc. Ultra calm has done a fantastic job of settling our young horses and horses new to our barn. The natural products make this an excellent daily alternative with feed over using any type of drug or chemical. The magnesium is so efficient, it must be making up for an imbalance we had not been aware of. Got an edgy, nervous, anxious horse, give this a try. They deserve only the best.
    Date published: 2017-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still waiting on results We are into our second month of use. My mare is only showing very slight results. The customer service folks said to wait about 6 weeks. We are not there yet.
    Date published: 2017-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to administer, too soon to tell how good it's working.
    Date published: 2017-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works. I moved to this from the Training Day. My horse is definitely less spooky, reactive, and very calm. I am wondering if he is too calm...he's actually a bit sluggish riding lately so I am going to move down to 1/2 dose to see if that helps. It works for sure but just watch your horse and adjust the dose if needed.
    Date published: 2017-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Trainer Notices Improvement My 6 yr old purebred Arabian gelding, shown and a winner previously in halter, is now under saddle. My trainer found him to not be focused and very nervous at any sound or sudden movement around him. She has noticed a definite improvement with him in just the first month on this product. In fact, she is planning on putting one of her own horses on it.
    Date published: 2017-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent product We are very happy with the benefits fo this product.
    Date published: 2017-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had a mare that was very spooky on the trail ride and I had a friend tell me about this product Lexi has been on this for month and a half and I can’t believe the difference in her much better I would recommend this product to anyone
    Date published: 2017-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Taking the edge off Barbie is a chestnut thoroughbred mare which is probably enough said for those horse owners that have one of these. Seems to have calmed her a little that has. Taken the edge off.
    Date published: 2017-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Bought this 2 months ago and it helped my boy within the first three weeks! No longer spooky or tense!
    Date published: 2017-11-20
    • y_2018, m_2, d_23, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.7
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_139, tr_1328
    • loc_en_US, sid_7477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 93ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders