Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17477
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Best-selling calming formula

  • 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, and 2,000 mg of inositol for nervous system function
  • Also includes 500 mg of l-tryptophan, an essential amino acid that may help calm & soothe
Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of L-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well-being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets have a tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!
View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Magnesium
    10,000 mg
  • Taurine
    5,000 mg
  • Inositol
    2,000 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    1,000 mg
  • L-Tryptophan
    500 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Artificial Flavor, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Rice Bran, Vegetable Oil (Cold Pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 - 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily, 1 scoop = 60 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak ...
    Description:
    "SmartHoof Ultra Pellets are the solution for weak hooves in need of more aggressive nutritional support! This formula provides 35 mg of biotin for promoting healthy hoof wall growth. Higher levels of the key ingredients lysine, methionine, threonine and vitamin ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working horse’s nutrient requirements and power optimal performance. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in moderate to ...
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone ...
    Description:
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone levels and healthy nervous system function. Perfect for helping maintain a quiet disposition in mares and geldings, this formula includes a combination of raspberry leaf, taurine, magnesium, dong quai root powder, and ...
    "SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino ...
    Description:
    "SmartMuscle Mass Pellets provide all 10 essential amino acids from high-quality protein sources to support lean muscle development. This formula also includes gamma oryzanol, branched-chain amino acids, and bioactive whey to aid in the normal muscle-building process. Strong, defined muscles ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1351.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for my nervous horse I had high hopes that this would calm my almost unmanageable gelding when he is separated from any of his barn buddies. Gave just as directed but there was no change
    Date published: 2017-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very convenient to feed. My horse is very fractious and this product has made a huge difference in his demeanor
    Date published: 2017-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! SmartCalm has helped our horse Lyric so much and even more quickly than stated. He was apt to spook and buck in the ring under certain circumstances but hasn't done that at all in the last month. (He's only been on it for 2 months!) so, I highly recommend this product for any horse with any anxiety issues.
    Date published: 2017-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A step up from SmartCalm. I upgraded from SmartCalm which was very effective but I felt she needed a little more help. I have seen a more relaxed mare in the month since I started the Ultra.
    Date published: 2017-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally different horse He has been on it for a few months and has total focus on me while we work. Totally different horse.
    Date published: 2017-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I am so glad I bought this! My horse was beginning to become very hot and high energy over the winter and after a few weeks on this supplement it completely changed him.
    Date published: 2017-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works! My mare is very hyper. These pellets let her perform at maximum energy but take away the spooking and bucking!
    Date published: 2017-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product has made my horse a different horse
    Date published: 2017-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed pellets! It has only been a month of use and I can already see a significant change in my horses behavior.
    Date published: 2017-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Results This is the second winter that I've used the Smart Calm Ultra Pellets. Although it has been a warn winter it still takes the edge off my horse when he has to spend more time in the barn.
    Date published: 2017-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for a recovering injury I bought this for my endurance arab who injured his check ligament and had to be laid up for a while. This supplement helped quite a bit to calm him down and just let him chill. Its not 100%, but nothing other than prescribed sedatives are. My vet was even impressed on my horse's attitude adjustment while on it and has recommended it to other clients
    Date published: 2017-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! My horse has been having some problems with his vision as he gets older. I've put him on smartcalm ultra. It's done wonders for him. He's still a little spooky. But instead of spooking then having a complete mental breakdown for a hour. He'll spook, snort, and continue about his day. It's really taken him down a few notches. I'm very happy with it. Unfortunately my horse doesn't care for the taste, so I have to mix it in his grain really well. His other SmartPak's he'll eat directly out of my hand.
    Date published: 2017-02-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have used half a bagain and not noticed any big difference yet. I'm still hoping.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse seems much calmer Started this on him 3 or so months ago. He has been much calmer but I don't know if it is the supplement, the weather, or the extra work we've been putting in. We will stop the supplement in a couple of weeks and see if he reverts back to his prior level or anxiety. Hopefully we've helped instill a different behavior pattern.
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use I bought this for a pony and it is has helped a lot.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to help I was skeptical when I purchased smart calm ultra this fall. After 20 days on the supplement I felt a difference in the stallions focus. After 30 days when I pulled him off for a few days there was a huge change he was over reactive. I kept him off and gelded him then played with the supplement 1 week on 1 week off for 3 weeks. He's been gelded almost 2 months now and I can feel he's easier to warm up away from home. Less reactionary to things outside the arena. I would highly recommend. At shows I feed a double dose or am and pm dose.
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!!! My pony is a maniac. He was passed around from owner to owner until I bought him because of his behavior. I've made a ton of progress with him, although it really helped to have him on a calming supplement. I tried quietex daily before, and it would work up until he got himself in a tizzy from spooking. Then he wasn't able to calm down after that. There were some days that I'd need to give him a very small amount of Ace just to survive a trail ride. I tried SmartCalm Ultra. i haven't had to give him ace since, and he's been much better on our rides. He still spooks at the same things, but now he's able to calm down and walk up to scary things (like a rock...) and touch it. That method, along with the supplement, has made a huge difference!! He's really a great pony, and he is a lot happier now, too. He feels more relaxed in general, he's much easier to catch now, and is fun to ride!! Much of this can be credited to good training, as well as proper support with SmartCalm Ultra. Thanks Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2017-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started my OTTB mare on this a couple months back to ease the transition from a busy boarding stable to home, and saw good results starting about 2-3 weeks into it. She was more able to focus, less reactive, and just overall more pleasant to deal with. I dropped her down to the SmartCalm after a month, which worked great through the fall and early winter while I could still ride 4-6 days/week. I bumped her back up a month ago when I was unable, due to snow, work, indoor availability, etc, to ride more than 3-4 d/w bc she was being cranky, unfocused, and just not fun to get on. Two weeks later, we're doing gymnastics, stretching, working on our transitions, and she's rideable. It's made a world of difference, and I'm so happy I tried it. Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Speechless This supplement is possibly the best thing that has ever happened to me and my mare. My TB mare was Spooky, reactive, lacked focus, and just overall unhappy. I started her on smartcalm Ultra because of the research I had done on magnesium deficiencies in sport horses and because of the success I've had with all SmartPak products. It was the best choice I've ever made. My mare is happier now that she's ever been. She loves to work and is able to focus and work through "scary" situations. He overall demeanor has changed for the better, and I will never take her off of this supplement. I highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! We rescued an older OTTB and although she had been ridden in the past, we were finding it hard to even put a blanket on her. She spooked at the slightest noise. After a week of giving her SmartCalm Ultra Pellets, she is much calmer and she stands still while her blanket is put on. She even lifted her legs for the farrier this week! Will continue to add this supplement to her daily regimen.
    Date published: 2017-02-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from You asked for a review. Hard to tell if the product is actually helping this former race horse gelding thoroughbred calm down when he is taken out on the trail. I have been using the product for 2 months and he can still get very reactive and excited. Things have improved but it is hard to tell if that is from consistent work with a good trainer and work on the trail, or if the product itself is producing a calming effect. 2 weeks of rain with unrideable trails and a closed arena have not helped. I plan to give it at least 6 months and evaluate from there.
    Date published: 2017-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed Very happy with this product. I like the pelleted form. I have feed other powder products and lots goes to waste. I do not have that problem with this..
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work plus he rejected the pellets Bought this as part of a SmartPak grouping for my 13 yr old TW gelding. He may be 13, but acts like a 4 yr old. Very athletic, strong-willed and at times "hot". Reno tends to suffer anxiety as well as competitiveness with certain horses. He was quick to spook at times, and it was a challenge keeping his brain focused and on task when on the trail (arena work was never a problem).I decided to try this and see if there'd be any change, but saw little if any. I had also taken him back to extensive ground work and hired a trainer to work with him further. The improvement came with extensive training. We still see the same anxiety/flighty behavior and all around kookiness. Further, he began rejecting the pellets. Had to mix with oats and make a mash. That worked for 2 days until he separated the pellets from the oats. Even mixed in unsweetened applesauce. Big nope. He outright refused to eat them beyond the month he had been.Oh well. Vet recommends I try Divine for the spookiness/intermittent anxiety.
    Date published: 2017-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far they seem to be working. my horse has only been on these for a few months but they seem to be helping so far.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Useful tool Helps take the edge off. I moved and my mare went from my very quiet private home to a public boarding facility with a lot of activity, traffic, horses, etc. and she was very insecure. This helped her to be a little less reactive.
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! I have a TB/Oldenburg mare who got pushed too hard and became fearful of her environment. She was already on Magnesium 5000, but when I went to SmartCalm Ultra I began to see a huge difference in her ability to stop, look, think and focus. Now she explores difficult trail obstacles on her own, she is much happier and more trainable.
    Date published: 2017-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff This product really works well I have a Ottb that is very nourvus help to claim his mind so he can work
    Date published: 2017-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Jury is still out I am on my second month feeding this to my very nervous appendix quarter horse and the jury is still out as to whether it is helping her or not. Hopefully time will tell because the Lord knows she needs to keep what marbles she has left! ;)
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well with my mare I have had my mare on this for a little over a month and have noticed a big change already. Much more relaxed.
    Date published: 2017-01-03
    • y_2017, m_4, d_21, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_133, tr_1218
    • loc_en_US, sid_7477, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders