Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartBug-Off® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17175
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps your horse beat the bugs

  • Garlic, apple cider vinegar & brewer's yeast to deter biting insects & omega 3s for healthy skin
  • Also includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure
Does your horse bug out when fly season rolls around? If turnout is more like torture with all the buzzing and biting, SmartBug-Off can make the pasture peaceful again by helping to protect your horse from pesky insects. Say goodbye to stomping and swishing, and say hello to a happier horse.

SmartBug-Off is perfect for all horses who are bothered by flies and other pests. This comprehensive formula contains garlic, brewer’s yeast, and apple cider vinegar to help deter biting insects. It also provides omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants, and MSM to help support a normal inflammatory response and healthy skin. Lastly, SmartBug-Off includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Horses love these tasty pellets!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 g
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    2,250 mg
  • DL-Methionine
    1,650 mg
  • Garlic
    1,500 mg
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
    450 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    450 mg
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    420 mg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    250 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    200 mg
  • Riboflavin (B2)
    180 mg
  • Calcium Pantothenate (B5)
    165 mg
  • Diatomaceous Earth
    150 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Brewers Dried Yeast, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dried Yeast, Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use:  Administer 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Garlic & More is nature’s best packed into ...
    Description:
    "Garlic & More is nature’s best packed into one special supplement. It contains a unique, powerful blend of garlic, seaweed, herbs, oil, salt, and vitamins that benefits all horses and ponies. This blend smells as good as it tastes and ...
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order ...
    Description:
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order to keep your horse properly hydrated and performing his best, it is essential to supplement his diet with salt. Neither hay, pasture, nor fortified grain contain enough salt (sodium chloride) to meet ...
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
    Description:
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will ...
    Description:
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will silently and discreetly catch indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other nuisance flying pests. Called the Armadilha, from the Portuguese word ""trap"", this is a beautifully designed and attractive unit for your ...
    "Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection ...
    Description:
    "Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. Variety of colors to suite every taste. Imported"
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly ...
    Description:
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Pick your own colors for that truly unique look. The Crochet Ear Net fits neatly under the bridle. Cotton blend."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBug-Off® Pellets is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1287.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works!! My mare has been on this most of the summer and it is definitely making a difference! She is less irritated by the bugs. She has such sensitive skin that it wasn't long before I noticed a difference. This will definitely be a summer staple!
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't think it is doing much My horse does not have a horse buddy to share swatting duty with and I cannot be out at the barn to fly spray him daily, so I gave these a try. I honestly don't think they are doing much. He is still bugged by the bugs and we are going on two months of use. He also doesn't love the taste. If not mixed into grain well (and he does not get much grain), he will leave these pellets behind.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBug-Off Works! My new gelding was reacting to the flies with welts and generally not having a good time in his wonderful pasture. Skeptical, but willing to splurge for his comfort, Benny has been happily getting his SmartBug for almost two months now. The welts are gone, he enjoys being out with his pals and is noticeably not being disturbed by flying insects.
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not sure about this one I am not sure, my horse has been on this for 2 months and I was hoping that flies wouldn't really bug him at all. But they still do. One of my barn mates told me that she feels that maybe flies get on the horse but not as bothersome. I can't really say that. The flies are around and they do get on my horse and he does tries to kick them or swoosh them with his tale.
    Date published: 2016-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I have a old horse that for some reason during fly season he will get covered with flys compared to my other 2 horses.. And he gets hives and bumps if I don't keep him clean and go out 3 times a day to spray him.. I have even had to call the vet with his hives.. So this year I decided what the heck I am over my poor old OTTB getting bit I'll try this see if this works... Well thank god it did.. No more bites..
    Date published: 2016-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fight against bugs I have put our horse on this supplement over the last 2 years, and in conjunction with fly spray, feel it is all an effective offensive against tormenting bugs. Our guy has very sensitive skin and he is certainly a lot more comfortable in it.
    Date published: 2016-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My mare is very sensitive along with being an extremely picky eater. I tried her on Smart Bug Off and she has significantly less skin irritation and fewer bug bites. She eats every drop. This supplement has a very strong garlic smell that doesn't bother me.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure if it helps I use this on three horses I think it works on one horse but the other two are still bothered by a lot of flys. I do like all the msm in it and it smells good n
    Date published: 2016-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deters bugs, keeps skin and coat healthy It takes a little time to build up in their system and start working, but once it takes effect (about 2 weeks) the difference is noticeable! Far fewer bites and happier horses. Plus it seems to help skin and coat. Just ordered our 2nd bucket. All horses are eating it and they love the taste.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartBug Off I started using this product about 6 weeks ago and both my horses seem less bothered by pesky insects. My gelding doesn't seem to be shaking the bugs off his ears all the time now. Even with his ears covered he still felt the need to shake them off. We are both happier.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too sure I think that insects are worse this year in general so I am not sure if the products are helping or not. The situation is simply overwhelming this summer.
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't keep the bugs off. My horse has been on this for two weeks and I haven't noticed any decrease in the number of insects that bite him. He's very sensitive to insects and when I take him outside without fly spray after starting this, he almost loses his mind from the flies biting him. It would probably do very well as a skin and coat supplement, considering the ingredients. Just don't expect it to keep insects off your horse.
    Date published: 2016-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse! My mare was covered in welts from flies, then we started SmartBug- Off & noticed a difference in just 2 days! She is one happy, comfortable horse!
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug-Off is the Best I have used Bug-Off for my horses for several years now and we are all very pleased that it works so well. This year due to heavy rains and now heat and humidity, I have doubled the supplement to morning and evening until I feel confident we will get past unusual pest problems. I highly recommend Bug-Off.
    Date published: 2016-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! Thought I would try this for giggles-thin skinned OTTB, can't buy enough fly spray, bugs get UNDER her fly sheets...Ugh. Holy cow, did this stuff work! Smells kind of funky, but she eats it right up and the flies are almost a non-issue! Definitely worth continuing for the remainder of the bug season!
    Date published: 2016-06-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from SmartBug-Off Been using this for two months now, and can't say I'm too impressed. I have two horses and ordered this supplement for only one, to see if I saw any difference. The horse who is on this seems to have just as many flies pestering him as the horse who isn't on it. Will probably discontinue and just use that twenty bucks a month to buy another bottle of fly spray. On the upside, my horse did eat it despite the VERY strong smell.
    Date published: 2016-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle worker My poor itchy bitten horse is now so comfortable and content after being on this product, it was a very noticeable difference right away! highly recommend
    Date published: 2016-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hesitant at first but worth it!! I was unsure about trying any feed through fly supplements since I didn't think they work too well but after last years bucking bronco I had, I was willing to try it and I'm impressed. I've actually had his fly sheet off most of the time this year so far which is great! Highly recommend trying it!
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gnat free! My boy has always had a tough time with gnats and would get just welts because he was full of them and they also liked to hang out in his ears. I have been using this for almost two months and haven't seen a single gnat since. Flys on the other hand they still bother him.
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works ! We have a black horse who fight flies more than the others - these pellets work !
    Date published: 2016-06-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work!!!!! This does not work. The idea of it is great but I have seen nothing to indicate this product works. Perhaps it just doesn't work in the south......
    Date published: 2016-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good results. I started my horse on this product a few months ago before the biting insects were out in full force. The biting insects are now out and my horse isn't getting bitten nearly as much as he did in previous years in the same environment. I continue to use fly spray to repel flies since this product doesn't keep flies from landing on him and being a nuisance.
    Date published: 2016-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good so far I bought it a month ago and so far so good I will have to wait until the flies are really bad and he has been on it for a while
    Date published: 2016-06-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Unfortunately Did Not Work Unfortunately this product did not work for my gelding, I had him on for a few months however he was still being eaten alive by the bugs. He gobbled the pellets up no problem though.
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely helps! I've been trying this with my 8 horses for the last month or so and they definitely seem to have less flies on them. All but my pickiest horse eats it with no issues.
    Date published: 2016-06-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My mare was on this for about four months, what a waste of money! I just took her off of it and I'm just going to buy a fly sheet. She's getting eaten alive still.
    Date published: 2016-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product I have been buying this for 2 months and my stud is usually really sensative to bugs, now he has no bites and the flies stay away as well as the mosquitoes.
    Date published: 2016-05-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from No hope for black flys. Started my morgan mare on this about 4 weeks before the black fly season started. If anything she has more black flys on her than the other 3 mares in her pasture.She does like eating the supplement and I have not noticed any change in her smell.Hopefully we will have better luck against the deer and horse fly!
    Date published: 2016-05-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working well! We have a terrible problem with ticks as of the last year or so and I tried this on the advice of a friend who had her horses on it last year. I have all 4 horses on it for 2 months now and it seems to be working very well. Instead of finding at least 2 ticks per horse per day we are only finding an occasional tick maybe once a week! I love that it comes in a pellet and although the smell is very strong my horses didn't think twice about gobbling it up! I would definitely recommend this product to help with ticks!
    Date published: 2016-05-18
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_99, tr_1188
    • loc_en_US, sid_7175, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders