Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartBug-Off® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17175
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps your horse beat the bugs

  • Garlic, apple cider vinegar & brewer's yeast to deter biting insects & omega 3s for healthy skin
  • Also includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure
Does your horse bug out when fly season rolls around? If turnout is more like torture with all the buzzing and biting, SmartBug-Off can make the pasture peaceful again by helping to protect your horse from pesky insects. Say goodbye to stomping and swishing, and say hello to a happier horse.

SmartBug-Off is perfect for all horses who are bothered by flies and other pests. This comprehensive formula contains garlic, brewer’s yeast, and apple cider vinegar to help deter biting insects. It also provides omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants, and MSM to help support a normal inflammatory response and healthy skin. Lastly, SmartBug-Off includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Horses love these tasty pellets!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 g
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    2,250 mg
  • DL-Methionine
    1,650 mg
  • Garlic
    1,500 mg
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
    450 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    450 mg
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    420 mg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    250 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    200 mg
  • Riboflavin (B2)
    180 mg
  • Calcium Pantothenate (B5)
    165 mg
  • Diatomaceous Earth
    150 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Brewers Dried Yeast, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dried Yeast, Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use:  Administer 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Garlic & More is nature’s best packed into ...
    Description:
    "Garlic & More is nature’s best packed into one special supplement. It contains a unique, powerful blend of garlic, seaweed, herbs, oil, salt, and vitamins that benefits all horses and ponies. This blend smells as good as it tastes and ...
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order ...
    Description:
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order to keep your horse properly hydrated and performing his best, it is essential to supplement his diet with salt. Neither hay, pasture, nor fortified grain contain enough salt (sodium chloride) to meet ...
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
    Description:
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will ...
    Description:
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will silently and discreetly catch indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other nuisance flying pests. Called the Armadilha, from the Portuguese word ""trap"", this is a beautifully designed and attractive unit for your ...
    "Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection ...
    Description:
    "Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. Variety of colors to suite every taste. Imported"
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly ...
    Description:
    "Custom Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. Pick your own colors for that truly unique look. The Crochet Ear Net fits neatly under the bridle. Cotton blend."

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBug-Off® Pellets is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1287.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2017-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not so many bugs! I bought Smart Bug Off for a mare that is sensitive to insects. Although the insects here in Fla. are not as bad as the will become this summer, she was getting itchy in March, when I started her on it. It seems to be helping her already. I wanted it to build up in her system before bugs got bad. I also bought an excellent sheet & neck cover for her to wear later to help (I reviewed it also as excellent). Thank you Smart Pak for attending to our needs!
    Date published: 2017-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works! Works like a charm! No tick bites! I highly recommend this product! My horse seems to be allergic to tick bites. Every time she has a tick the area around it becomes swollen and leaks fluid. In early March I found her with eight tick bites. I decided that was definitely enough and put her on SmartBug-Off Pellets. She's been on them for about a month and I have only found one tick bite on her! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2017-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Picky eater approved and great for my Arab who is allergic to tick bites!
    Date published: 2017-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! Most importantly, my horse loves the taste. The flies don't seem to bite him nearly as much as they bite the other horses in his 20-acre pasture.
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very skeptical I have a couple of horses who just get tortured by the bugs. Poor cremello gets bloody streaks down his hide and fly sheets and masks only go so far. Plus, he's a Houdini and can get out of ANY fly mask. I put him on Smart Bug off last year and it really worked, no more bloody streaks and I stopped seeing an entire fly population camping out on his back. He's a much happier horse.
    Date published: 2017-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cancelled, my horse will not eat it. May be a good product but my horse will not eat it so I had to cancel it. It can't work if they won't eat it.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great My gelding has gotten sweet itch in the past. Using SmartBugOff, this was the first year he didn't completely rub out his mane. My gelding, who has refused garlic in the past, eats this right up.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! I have been using this product for years and am so happy with the results. I love that the ingredients are all natural and I feel secure knowing my horses are taken care of!
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising results - helps repel ticks! I put my retired horse on Smart Bug-Off this summer, despite mixed reviews online. He is lucky to spend most of his day out in a beautiful five acre field (he is stabled at night). I didn't notice a change in flies landing on him, but I did notice an even better result. He has had far fewer ticks on him (which in my opinion, is a wonderful result for both he and I!). I am keeping my old buddy on this supplement year-round as deer move through and bed down in his field through the fall and winter. To me, this supplement is worth the money. Thank you Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug-Off is the Best I have used Bug-Off for several years now and this year, with the amount of rain we have had, I expected trouble with flies and mosquitos, but had a very few days when we had any around. Actually the horses were fine, I was the one getting annoyed! I plan to continue using Bug-Off as the spring arrives.
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from New for us Hoping to see more of a difference next bug season as I started my pony on this late in the season
    Date published: 2016-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's pretty good! I think this product is great i noticed right away that the flies were not as bad and she ate it right away (but that is because my mare eats anything that looks good to her)
    Date published: 2016-10-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference I could not tell much a difference so I will use the extra money to buy a better fly sheet.
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think it helps My friend and I started our mares on SmartBug-Off a few months ago. It does appear that perhaps the girls are less tasty than they used to be. They don't seem as bothered by the flies and I've definitely not felt the need to coat them in fly spray every day. Full disclosure: we do a LOT to control our fly population...pick up poo in the lots 2x/day, sprinkle Diatomaceous earth on the poo, spread it with a spreader, and use fly traps. We still have plenty of flies but as I said, I feel they find our mares to be "less flavorful" compared to the gourmet offerings of the unprotected horses next door. Also, my mare is very picky but she will eat this, although I had to work on convincing her it was acceptable to her princess palate. Bottom line-- Yes, I recommend SmartBug-Off as part of your fly control program.
    Date published: 2016-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product ! I bought this a few month ago and have noticed a big difference in my horse. My horse is so sensitive to bugs and itchy all last summer and would rip his mane and tail out . This summer he has been so much better for him with this product.
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work This didn't work for us, but I have to say, our problems here are over the top. Might work for someone with a little less pests
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wasn't thrilled I bought this for one of my geldings that gets sweet itch really badly, he breaks out when bit by just about any bug and was getting big welts on his back from horse flies. I can say it helped his reactions to the flies, but as far as repelling them, I saw no difference whatsoever. I am using it on all 4 of my guys now just to use it up. Wasn't impressed and won't buy it again.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent result without the mess or smell My mare had horrible bites and scabs on her udders from knats/bugs. I had been covering them in swat every other day, and decided to try this supplement. In the past, feeding garlic has always been messy, makes the feed room smell like an italian pizzeria, and with varied, lackluster results. These pellets had a mild smell and did not make everything reek, and within a few days all the bites and scabs had disspeared from her udders. Very happy with this product!
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I had high hopes that this product would be a safe and effective bug repellant but was disappointed when I observed my horse as miserable as her pasture mates when we recently had a fly infestation. I was hoping it would help with the welts she gets from pests but it didn't. I'm getting her a fly sheet.
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug off This is my second container. I was a skeptic at first.But this is the third product purchased thru smart oak that they have steered me rightAnd the product does exactly like they sayLove you guys at smart pack.
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't say for sure. Well, after two months, the jury is still out. One hand, my horse doesn't have hives all over her neck, which she did last year. And yesterday a friend's horse was going crazy with the flies, but my horse was pretty ok (different breeds, 20-year difference in ages, so other variables perhaps in play). On the other hand, my faith in this product is somewhat mitigated by the fact that there are flies on the remains in the feeding bucket. Of course, these could be a different kind of fly, they could just not be able to resist the water in my horse's meals (she gets everything soaked), and it's worth noting that the flies are not a swarm, the way they were on the feed buckets at my (different) barn last summer. But she is still getting alot of bites and bug action. We're going to keep using it. Maybe it helps, maybe it doesn't, but it doesn't hurt -- except that it stinks like, well, garlic.
    Date published: 2016-08-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I think its working... ...but not sure I've given it enough time. Its been 2 months since I started my horse on this & the bugs seem to not bother him as much, but I'll update you on this in another month.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Off Bugs I bought this a month ago on the recommendation of a friend. I was amazed at the reduction of bugs buzzing around my horses. I haven't even seen any horse flies around them. I am very impressed with this product! All my horses are on it.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I started 10 horses on SmartBug-Off in June as the directions said and have not seen any reduction in flies on any of them. I am disappointed and have had to continue with fly spray daily.
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_99, tr_1188
    • loc_en_US, sid_7175, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders