Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartBug-Off® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17175
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps your horse beat the bugs

  • Garlic, apple cider vinegar & brewer's yeast to deter biting insects & omega 3s for healthy skin
  • Also includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure
Does your horse bug out when fly season rolls around? If turnout is more like torture with all the buzzing and biting, SmartBug-Off can make the pasture peaceful again by helping to protect your horse from pesky insects. Say goodbye to stomping and swishing, and say hello to a happier horse.

SmartBug-Off is perfect for all horses who are bothered by flies and other pests. This comprehensive formula contains garlic, brewer’s yeast, and apple cider vinegar to help deter biting insects. It also provides omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants, and MSM to help support a normal inflammatory response and healthy skin. Lastly, SmartBug-Off includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Horses love these tasty pellets!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 g
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    2,250 mg
  • DL-Methionine
    1,650 mg
  • Garlic
    1,500 mg
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
    450 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    450 mg
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    420 mg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    250 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    200 mg
  • Riboflavin (B2)
    180 mg
  • Calcium Pantothenate (B5)
    165 mg
  • Diatomaceous Earth
    150 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Brewers Dried Yeast, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dried Yeast, Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use:  Administer 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This The Rockin SP' Fly Bundle ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Rockin SP' Fly Bundle includes the Rockin SP Quarter Horse Cut Fly Sheet, SmartPak Classic Fly Mask, SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots Imported. Favorite Features The Rockin' SP Quarter Horse Cut Fly Sheet is made from a soft polyester fabric that ...
    "A natural way to condition coats and repel ...
    Description:
    "A natural way to condition coats and repel bugs! When you want to avoid harsh chemical pesticides, Wahna Win Super Fly Spray is a safe, natural choice for fly and insect control. The unique blend of oils includes catnip, argan, ...
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "A fly mask that lasts! Textilene® is a ...
    Description:
    "A fly mask that lasts! Textilene® is a breathable mesh fabric that's vibrant and durable enough to withstand outdoor use. The densely woven PVC strands enable this fabric to be heat-sealed while the high UV performance ensures protection and long ...
    "It is the ultimate armor to protect your ...
    Description:
    "It is the ultimate armor to protect your horse from the pests of summer! Lightweight mesh sheet with oversized tail flap and removable neck rug provides a layer of physical protection from poll to tail to keep bugs off your ...
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears ...
    Description:
    "The Noble Outfitters Guardsman Fly Mask with Ears is engineered for durability and comfort, unlike no other! Unique patent pending Flex Spline Technology creates a canopy away from the horse's eyes, while unique contoured fit prevents insects from penetrating the ...
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
    Description:
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBug-Off® Pellets is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1274.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's pretty good! I think this product is great i noticed right away that the flies were not as bad and she ate it right away (but that is because my mare eats anything that looks good to her)
    Date published: 2016-10-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference I could not tell much a difference so I will use the extra money to buy a better fly sheet.
    Date published: 2016-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think it helps My friend and I started our mares on SmartBug-Off a few months ago. It does appear that perhaps the girls are less tasty than they used to be. They don't seem as bothered by the flies and I've definitely not felt the need to coat them in fly spray every day. Full disclosure: we do a LOT to control our fly population...pick up poo in the lots 2x/day, sprinkle Diatomaceous earth on the poo, spread it with a spreader, and use fly traps. We still have plenty of flies but as I said, I feel they find our mares to be "less flavorful" compared to the gourmet offerings of the unprotected horses next door. Also, my mare is very picky but she will eat this, although I had to work on convincing her it was acceptable to her princess palate. Bottom line-- Yes, I recommend SmartBug-Off as part of your fly control program.
    Date published: 2016-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product ! I bought this a few month ago and have noticed a big difference in my horse. My horse is so sensitive to bugs and itchy all last summer and would rip his mane and tail out . This summer he has been so much better for him with this product.
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work This didn't work for us, but I have to say, our problems here are over the top. Might work for someone with a little less pests
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wasn't thrilled I bought this for one of my geldings that gets sweet itch really badly, he breaks out when bit by just about any bug and was getting big welts on his back from horse flies. I can say it helped his reactions to the flies, but as far as repelling them, I saw no difference whatsoever. I am using it on all 4 of my guys now just to use it up. Wasn't impressed and won't buy it again.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent result without the mess or smell My mare had horrible bites and scabs on her udders from knats/bugs. I had been covering them in swat every other day, and decided to try this supplement. In the past, feeding garlic has always been messy, makes the feed room smell like an italian pizzeria, and with varied, lackluster results. These pellets had a mild smell and did not make everything reek, and within a few days all the bites and scabs had disspeared from her udders. Very happy with this product!
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I had high hopes that this product would be a safe and effective bug repellant but was disappointed when I observed my horse as miserable as her pasture mates when we recently had a fly infestation. I was hoping it would help with the welts she gets from pests but it didn't. I'm getting her a fly sheet.
    Date published: 2016-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug off This is my second container. I was a skeptic at first.But this is the third product purchased thru smart oak that they have steered me rightAnd the product does exactly like they sayLove you guys at smart pack.
    Date published: 2016-08-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't say for sure. Well, after two months, the jury is still out. One hand, my horse doesn't have hives all over her neck, which she did last year. And yesterday a friend's horse was going crazy with the flies, but my horse was pretty ok (different breeds, 20-year difference in ages, so other variables perhaps in play). On the other hand, my faith in this product is somewhat mitigated by the fact that there are flies on the remains in the feeding bucket. Of course, these could be a different kind of fly, they could just not be able to resist the water in my horse's meals (she gets everything soaked), and it's worth noting that the flies are not a swarm, the way they were on the feed buckets at my (different) barn last summer. But she is still getting alot of bites and bug action. We're going to keep using it. Maybe it helps, maybe it doesn't, but it doesn't hurt -- except that it stinks like, well, garlic.
    Date published: 2016-08-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I think its working... ...but not sure I've given it enough time. Its been 2 months since I started my horse on this & the bugs seem to not bother him as much, but I'll update you on this in another month.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Off Bugs I bought this a month ago on the recommendation of a friend. I was amazed at the reduction of bugs buzzing around my horses. I haven't even seen any horse flies around them. I am very impressed with this product! All my horses are on it.
    Date published: 2016-08-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I started 10 horses on SmartBug-Off in June as the directions said and have not seen any reduction in flies on any of them. I am disappointed and have had to continue with fly spray daily.
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works!! My mare has been on this most of the summer and it is definitely making a difference! She is less irritated by the bugs. She has such sensitive skin that it wasn't long before I noticed a difference. This will definitely be a summer staple!
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Don't think it is doing much My horse does not have a horse buddy to share swatting duty with and I cannot be out at the barn to fly spray him daily, so I gave these a try. I honestly don't think they are doing much. He is still bugged by the bugs and we are going on two months of use. He also doesn't love the taste. If not mixed into grain well (and he does not get much grain), he will leave these pellets behind.
    Date published: 2016-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBug-Off Works! My new gelding was reacting to the flies with welts and generally not having a good time in his wonderful pasture. Skeptical, but willing to splurge for his comfort, Benny has been happily getting his SmartBug for almost two months now. The welts are gone, he enjoys being out with his pals and is noticeably not being disturbed by flying insects.
    Date published: 2016-07-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not sure about this one I am not sure, my horse has been on this for 2 months and I was hoping that flies wouldn't really bug him at all. But they still do. One of my barn mates told me that she feels that maybe flies get on the horse but not as bothersome. I can't really say that. The flies are around and they do get on my horse and he does tries to kick them or swoosh them with his tale.
    Date published: 2016-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I have a old horse that for some reason during fly season he will get covered with flys compared to my other 2 horses.. And he gets hives and bumps if I don't keep him clean and go out 3 times a day to spray him.. I have even had to call the vet with his hives.. So this year I decided what the heck I am over my poor old OTTB getting bit I'll try this see if this works... Well thank god it did.. No more bites..
    Date published: 2016-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fight against bugs I have put our horse on this supplement over the last 2 years, and in conjunction with fly spray, feel it is all an effective offensive against tormenting bugs. Our guy has very sensitive skin and he is certainly a lot more comfortable in it.
    Date published: 2016-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My mare is very sensitive along with being an extremely picky eater. I tried her on Smart Bug Off and she has significantly less skin irritation and fewer bug bites. She eats every drop. This supplement has a very strong garlic smell that doesn't bother me.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure if it helps I use this on three horses I think it works on one horse but the other two are still bothered by a lot of flys. I do like all the msm in it and it smells good n
    Date published: 2016-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deters bugs, keeps skin and coat healthy It takes a little time to build up in their system and start working, but once it takes effect (about 2 weeks) the difference is noticeable! Far fewer bites and happier horses. Plus it seems to help skin and coat. Just ordered our 2nd bucket. All horses are eating it and they love the taste.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartBug Off I started using this product about 6 weeks ago and both my horses seem less bothered by pesky insects. My gelding doesn't seem to be shaking the bugs off his ears all the time now. Even with his ears covered he still felt the need to shake them off. We are both happier.
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too sure I think that insects are worse this year in general so I am not sure if the products are helping or not. The situation is simply overwhelming this summer.
    Date published: 2016-07-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't keep the bugs off. My horse has been on this for two weeks and I haven't noticed any decrease in the number of insects that bite him. He's very sensitive to insects and when I take him outside without fly spray after starting this, he almost loses his mind from the flies biting him. It would probably do very well as a skin and coat supplement, considering the ingredients. Just don't expect it to keep insects off your horse.
    Date published: 2016-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse! My mare was covered in welts from flies, then we started SmartBug- Off & noticed a difference in just 2 days! She is one happy, comfortable horse!
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_21
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_1177
    • loc_en_US, sid_7175, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders