Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartBreathe® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18915
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Helps your horse breathe easy

  • Includes MSM & herbs to support a normal inflammatory response & antioxidants for cellular health
  • Includes N-acetyl cysteine to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions
SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell health. This comprehensive formula also contains N-acetyl cysteine, which has been shown to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions. SmartBreathe Pellets are an ideal way to soothe and support your horse’s airways. Your horse is sure to love these tasty pellets!

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • Citrus Bioflavonoids
    4,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,200 mg
  • N-Acetyl Cysteine
    500 mg
  • Quercetin
    400 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    300 mg
  • Pancreatin 8X
    250 mg
  • Supplying:
  • Amylase
    50,000 USP
  • Protease
    50,000 USP
  • Lipase
    4,000 USP
  • Fenugreek Seed
    250 mg
  • Curcumin Extract
    125 mg
  • Bromelain
    125 mg
  • Super Oxide Dismutase (bovine)
    100 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Propionate, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Stabilized Rice Bran.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily (1 scoop = 60 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain ...
    Description:
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain healthy, efficient airways all year round. Freeway Gold is an excellent choice for stabled horses or those with limited turnout. This formula contains tinctures of elecampane, liquorice, eyebright, cleaver, marshmallow, plantain, and ...
    "IN-SYNC 4 Pellets are designed to help support ...
    Description:
    "IN-SYNC 4 Pellets are designed to help support efficient muscle function, immune system health, and normal blood cell production. The comprehensive formula includes lysine and methionine for muscle development; thiamine, niacin, riboflavin, and vitamin B12 for red blood cell production; ...
    "Alfalfa hay is typically high in calcium and ...
    Description:
    "Alfalfa hay is typically high in calcium and lower in phosphorous. Select Alfalfa is a multi-vitamin supplement specially formulated to complete and balance diets consisting of alfalfa hay. It provides all the key amino acids, Zinpro trace minerals, vitamins, and ...
    "Grass hay, grass hay blends, and pasture are ...
    Description:
    "Grass hay, grass hay blends, and pasture are typically low in calcium and somewhat deficient in phosphorus, often leaving your horse with nutritional needs. Select Grass is a multi-vitamin supplement specially designed to help complete and balance diets consisting of ...
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm ...
    Description:
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, ...
    "SmartCombo Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex II Support, SmartHoof, SmartDigest, and SmartShine at a savings of 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, MSM, vitamin C, biotin, amino acids, omega 3 fatty acids, ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartShine at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty acids, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBreathe® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 491.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems to work ok for my coughing horse. Time will tell.
    Date published: 2017-11-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very hard pellets I don't know if this works yet. My horse won't eat it in his feed. It's rock hard and he sounds like he's going to break his teeth. I even took a hammer and pulverized it and he still won't eat it. I am reduced to mixing it with water in a huge syringe and dosing him that way. I hope it helps his breathing sooner than later.
    Date published: 2017-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Tried cough free first but wasn't quite enough, within 2 weeks he was significantly improving and by the end of the first month the cough was gone. No coughing even during work. Vet had come and gave steroids which didn't do a thing for him other than suppress his immune system further. Very pleased​ with this product! I did have to add something good to get him to eat it.
    Date published: 2017-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have an older mini that I recued several years ago. During the fall season in Florida he generally has significant coughing and wheezing. I started the SmartBreathe Pellets in September and I have noticed a difference only a month later. He still has some wheezing and an occasional cough but is much improved from prior years
    Date published: 2017-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! When my 8 year old gelding developed COPD my heart broke. He was coughing uncontrollably so I started him on Smartbreathe pellets and within a week he only had a light, dry cough. I actually had good results in only a week! I have tried other supplements but did not help at all. Smartpak supplements are truly amazing along with the customer service. You can't beat that! :)
    Date published: 2017-09-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product has helped by Gypsy Vanner horse who has late summer seasonal breathing problems due to heat, humidity and dust. It is an overall anti-inflammatory with herbal supplements per my Vet.
    Date published: 2017-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's Working I tried this product for my horse's nuisance cough. He was on a more expensive product, so I thought I'd give this a try. So far, one month later, I am very pleased. He only coughs a couple of times as I warm him up, instead of coughing 15-20 times in a row. He does not stand and cough in his paddock. I am happy with the results!
    Date published: 2017-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!!! These are amazing and work great for my mare who gets a cough when it's espically dusty and some allergies!
    Date published: 2017-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seemed to work well on retired horses Two retired racehorses (17 and 26) with prior coughing and allergy problems were worse than ever this spring (2017). They have very light work, but coughed even more under that little stress. After three weeks on Breathe, their coughing had almost disappeared and were able to resume their duties. I don't know if the product would have worked well under a heavier work load. They will remain on Breathe through early fall, and then we'll hope that they can go through the winter without medication.
    Date published: 2017-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far seems helpful! I bought this supplement in smartpaks about two months ago for my mare who has sever breathing issues. I had to mobe her to Virginia last fall and was worried how she would handle the summer heat and new allergens. She used to have COPD symptoms and was on steroid inhalers. So far it's almost august and I haven't had to pull out the inhaler yet! She also started allergy shots so along with the supplement she has improved tremendously. She still has issues but it is much better than it used to be up north. She no longer is coughing or has nasal discharge. I plan to keep her on the supplement as a part of managing her. The ingredients are important in boosting her immune system to help her handle the new environment. She no longer seems miserable in her stall and I'm thankful for smartpak for this product!
    Date published: 2017-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaves! My horse has devolved such bad heaves this year from his allergies. I feed him this everyday and I can hear a difference after about 45min. It does take 2 months tho to start to fully kick in. I also naught a nebulizer to help. Dex is very bad to keep them in it could founder them
    Date published: 2017-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has helped with my horses breathing issues. It did take about 3 weeks to see a difference.
    Date published: 2017-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartBreathe My "Boy" has been on Breathe for a month with no sign of the breathing problem he has had for the last two years.
    Date published: 2017-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Bought a gelding that was on bad moldy round bale last winter. Has some respiratory issues. Smartbreathe has helped him tremendously! He might cough once during his ride. This is an improvement from coughing 10-15 minutes straight and every time he walks and starts back in trot or lope start coughing again. We are extremely pleased with this product. All natural, no steriods! Thank you so much for giving him his lungs back!
    Date published: 2017-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is breathing better... Our horse was having issues breathing, and the vet recommended we purchase the SmartBreathe pellets. We were told to expect this to start working after 6-8 weeks, and after 6 weeks our horse is back to breathing normally. Works as advertised.
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 23 year old gelding would frequently cough several times at his first trot of a ride. Within 2 weeks of using this he only coughs once.
    Date published: 2017-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse had a very bad attitude with this product My Horse Scout was diagnosed with mild heaves in March of 2015. I wanted the best for him so I put him on Smartbreath, even tho my vet did not recommend me to. I gave Scout 2 wells at once and he was a maniac. I called smartpak and they told me to try giving him one well in the A.M. And one in the P.M. Scout's adittude was better. After 2 yrs Scout became disrespectful and would not listen, he turned into a horse I didn't know. I took him off the smarbreath and I have my loving, respectful horse back. I'm not saying it didn't help him, although I see no change, only in his attitude.
    Date published: 2017-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathing Great! I bought this product along with the Omega and Magnesium for my 18 year old gelding who struggled with heaves/allergies. We came too close to putting him down as it was very hard to see him struggle just to breath and the steroids and other medications were no longer working. I did more research on supplements and found the product SmartBreathe on the Smartpak website. After a little over a month he is doing great, and I am considering riding him again! I cannot say enough about this product!
    Date published: 2017-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product! Bought this for my 18 year old QH who still loves to run but needed some support.
    Date published: 2017-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps the cough I finished one month of the supplement and I believe it cut down the coughing at least 90%. Results seen within the first week. He would honk so loud I could hear him up at the house several times daily. Now I only hear it maybe every other day, and it may be after he rolls. I read other reviews that mentioned tummy issues with a few horses which made me hesitant, but no problem here. Palatability was not a problem either.
    Date published: 2017-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It has helped some My mare has been on it for little over 2 months. I was told it would help with allergies. I notice it has helped her with her allergies . I do like it so far.
    Date published: 2017-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBreath My 12yr old mare has mild heaves and major allergies. I decided to give SmartBreath a chance since she down right refused to eat anything else I have tried. I didn't want to go on using a syringe everyday to try and get something into her that may help her breath better. I called Smartpak and spoke with very informative lady that sent me a sample. Unbelievable to me bit my Khloe ate it! I called and ordered immediately! She is now 2 months on the SmartBreath and I can see results. I am thankful beyond words!
    Date published: 2017-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders Daily feeding of this product has all but eliminated any abnormal respiratory sounds from my husbands heel horse.
    Date published: 2017-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Product worked as described. My horses ate it without any problem. Cough subsided in a few weeks. Love it when products actually do what they claim.
    Date published: 2017-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cough disappeared I ordered SmartBreathe Pellets since my mare came up with a persistent cough. Although it wasn't terribly bad, she would cough a few times a day and always when we started out trotting. After only one month I can report that the cough has disappeared. My mare can be picky when it comes to supplements, but she devoured this without any issues.
    Date published: 2017-05-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from MSM made my horse anxious, nervous, spooky I bought this product for my horse who has a very mild COPD. She coughs a couple times in trot during our warm up. I received this around march 15th 2017 and the following weekend I took her to a horse show fro the weekend where she was a nervous and spooky mess and started refusing fences. I was perplexed and chalked it up to maybe her first estrus cycle. The behavior continued at home and I had eyes checked, chiro done and also scoped for ulcers. She had grade one ulcers and we have been treating in hopes the nervous spooky behavior would go away. A month later I still had a very nervous and spooky horse who is usually very level headed and will jump through fire. I stumbled upon a couple of COTH message board threads that mentioned that MSM made their horse nervous and anxious and spooky. I took my horse off this the next day and within 3 days I had my horse back. I also did not notice a noticeable difference in her coughing.
    Date published: 2017-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No spring Heaves! Since moving to Colorado 3 years ago, my mare Na'vi would get horrible heaving coughs every spring when the weeds start to grow. This spring I started her on the SmartBreath and no heaves! This is invariable to me because I need her in best condition for compete in sortings and competitions. I told my veterinarian and has since recommended it to clients horses that would normally be on steroids for heaves and now don't need steroids and are breathing clear.
    Date published: 2017-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Sugar has heaves. This allergy season has been difficult with all the oak pollen and lack of rain. I noticed less of a heave line within 2 weeks. Though she's not 100% she's 100% better than she was before the smart breathe pellets. My Sugar thanks you!!
    Date published: 2017-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked! When my horse was eating his grain he would breathe heavily...since using "Smart Breathe" within a week he was breathing normally.
    Date published: 2017-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bad cough My boy had a horrible cough. This has changed that and he breathes so much better! It took a couple months, however I am so happy with it and excited about the results it had on Cisco! I would highly recommend trying this. It is also great since Cisco is such a picky eater, he ate this wonderfully.
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_35, tr_456
    • loc_en_US, sid_8915, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 156ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders