Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartBreathe® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #18915
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps your horse breathe easy

  • Includes MSM & herbs to support a normal inflammatory response & antioxidants for cellular health
  • Includes N-acetyl cysteine to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions
SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell health. This comprehensive formula also contains N-acetyl cysteine, which has been shown to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions. SmartBreathe Pellets are an ideal way to soothe and support your horse’s airways. Your horse is sure to love these tasty pellets!

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 60g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (60g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    5,000 mg
  • Citrus Bioflavonoids
    4,000 mg
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
    1,200 mg
  • N-Acetyl Cysteine
    500 mg
  • Quercetin
    400 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    300 mg
  • Pancreatin 8X
    250 mg
  • Supplying:
  • Amylase
    50,000 USP
  • Protease
    50,000 USP
  • Lipase
    4,000 USP
  • Fenugreek Seed
    250 mg
  • Curcumin Extract
    125 mg
  • Bromelain
    125 mg
  • Super Oxide Dismutase (bovine)
    100 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa Meal, Calcium Carbonate, Calcium Propionate, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Stabilized Rice Bran.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. .5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 60 g daily (1 scoop = 60 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "APF Pro provides all the benefits of the ...
    Description:
    "APF Pro provides all the benefits of the original APF , plus more! With the addition of aralia mandschurica and rhaponticum carthamoides, APF Pro packs more power, more immune protection, and more muscle-building benefits! APF Pro was specially formulated to ...
    "Research has shown that providing yeast stabilizes cecal ...
    Description:
    "Research has shown that providing yeast stabilizes cecal and colon pH, helping to ensure a healthy gastro-intestinal tract. Yea-Sacc 1026 supports the digestion of fiber, providing more energy for performance and pleasure horses, as well as older horses. Improved digestion ...
    "Scientifically formulated with high biotin and all the ...
    Description:
    "Scientifically formulated with high biotin and all the key nutrients for a healthy hoof. Direct-fed microbials for better assimilation. Organic zinc and added copper and iodine. View our Hoof Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of ...
    Description:
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of the original SOURCE formula with added support for the aging horse. In addition to a daily serving of SOURCE, FOCUS SR contains antioxidants, vitamins, beneficial microbes, chelated minerals, fatty acids, and enzymes. ...
    "Farrier's Magic Plus provides nutritional building blocks to ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Magic Plus provides nutritional building blocks to support healthy hooves and a shiny coat. Farrier’s Magic Plus is a tasty, alfalfa-based pellet that contains 20 mg of biotin per serving, along with methionine, iodine, zinc, and other key nutrients. ...
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was ...
    Description:
    "One AC powder is a supplement that was developed specifically for horses with performance-robbing anhidrosis (reduced ability to sweat). One AC has proven results from a field tests at the University of Florida. Contains ascorbic acid, niacin, L-tyrosine and cobalt ...
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order ...
    Description:
    "Dehydration in horses has serious consequences. In order to keep your horse properly hydrated and performing his best, it is essential to supplement his diet with salt. Neither hay, pasture, nor fortified grain contain enough salt (sodium chloride) to meet ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBreathe® Pellets is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 440.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just stated 1month ago and our 22 year old Welsh pony seems to be breathing with more ease while working. His warmup cough is hardly noticeable. He was coughing so much at warmup he break to a walk. This product will be but to its best test in the heat of the hot humid summer. I think it will help.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING Effect - Quick acting and life changing My 12 y/o gelding started showing signs of COPD last year, mostly seasonal-related. Temperature changes were his biggest trigger; dust did not seem to be an issue. Was very manageable, until he tore his suspensory ligament in February and had to be stalled 24/7 for several months. His heaves became so bad, he would go down on his front legs in coughing fits. Constant discharge and strenuous breathing. Tried changing sawdust around; 100% pine large flakes helped, but symptoms remained. Once healed up enough from the ligament injury, he went out on pasture board to alleviate. Helped some, but was still struggling. Vet had us on a cycle of Dex & Pred; started discussing expensive inhalers for his bad attacks. Then I found SmartBreathe. Almost IMMEDIATE turn-around; no labored breathing, NO coughing, and zero nasal discharge. Within weeks, he was back to the same perfectly healthy horse from several years ago. He gobbles up the supplements, even if fed alone, too, which helps a ton.Cannot say enough good things about this supplement. An absolute MUST for any horse showing signs of heaves, asthma, COPD, etc.
    Date published: 2016-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Chronic cough seems to be better I started a horse on this supplement after receiving an email detailing respiratory benefits. This is a horse who has had a cough for a good part of his life that occurred with work and in his stall. He has been scoped and nothing was found. He has been on antibiotics for long periods of time but the cough continued. He has been on the supplement for about 6 weeks and I am told that there is significant improvement. He is not coughing with work. Still has occasional coughing jag in his stall but not like before. His hay and shavings get sprinkled with water. The barn manager/trainer has said to definitely continue this supplement as if has made a difference.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cough free It's bad when your horse has as many alergies as you do. If it was dry or hay roll got damp,poor Jazz would cough, eyes water, and nose run. It was a constant vet call, shots, and eye wash. Read about this and tried it. Within a week, he was better. At the end of a month, no signs at all. He has no problem with the pellets, in fact, he thinks they are treats.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Breathing Suplement After a week in my horses system, he didn't cough anymore! Best supplement I ever used and it actually worked!
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked fast My daughter's show horse had a dry cough all of a sudden,healthy otherwise,ordered the smart breathe pellets and after feeding it to him,cough was gone in three days.
    Date published: 2016-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comes in pellets. Easier to feed Seems to be helping her with her breathing. Still breathing heavy but hopefully it will help
    Date published: 2016-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it My horse seldom coughs anymore. Before she would always cough while and after cantering.
    Date published: 2016-11-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does not like the pellets My horse does not like the pellets. If I remember right, you used to have a powder form. She used to eat that easily. She seems to have a problem with too many pellets in her feed bowl at once. I have been experimenting, though it sounds weird it is true. This supplement has made her leary of what I put in her feed now. She hates the taste of this one the most. I would much rather use the tubes.
    Date published: 2016-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works great! I bought this to try it out to help my older horse. He has some seasonal allergies and usually has a cough at the end of the summer from the dust outside in the turnouts. All year round he might cough once or twice when warming up then is fine. Since being on this supplement his cough has stopped! I rarely see or hear him cough anymore. He is a very picky eater and I have a hard time eating supplements. He gobbles up his smartpak no problem! I'm very happy with this product! Two thumbs up!! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2016-11-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I still don't know if it's helping, still having bad breathing issues and on steroids
    Date published: 2016-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from just starting with this supplement my horse has terrible allergies. I started this about a month ago. She has been also taking medication to help with breathing so it is hard to say how helpful this supplement is. She is able now, with the weather change here, to take a break from the medication so maybe the supplements are helping.
    Date published: 2016-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my friend's horse's life My friend's 28 year old horse was continuously coughing very hard. Steroids from the Vet made him founder. His future was not looking good. Then he started taking SmartBreathe and was cough free within 3 days! He has been on SmartBreathe for over a year now and continues to do great. He will remain on SmartBreathe for the rest of his life. Thank you for making such a great product!
    Date published: 2016-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse loves it. My mare has no problem eating it. I add it to daily feed. She is a rescue so I don't know all that she has been through but, she has not coughed since we finished the first bucket. I know it is helping build her up.
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well I have been using this for over a year. My gelding is extremely sensitive to dust and mildew. Since we started using Smart Breathe he has not had an episode where he is unable to breathe due to swelling of his nasal passages and severe congestion.
    Date published: 2016-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smartbreath pellets--horse loves them! I bought this product trying to help my 21 y.o.gelding . He coughs like a heavy smoker but since he is on the pellets he coughs less and seems to be more comfortable. The meds from the vet did nothing. I will continue to feed this.
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBreathe Pellets This is my first time buying from SmartPak. I am SO IMPRESSED! I received my order quickly and was surprised by the nice drawers to each horse! I love the smell when I open the packets up.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works I have been using this supplement for 2 years now on my TWH who was having an on going cough- seen by vet SMZ 14 days some improvement. Read about smart breathe and started using it- very little coughing first year almost none second year. I pay attention to dusty hay etc. but I truly believe this daily supplement helped to improve the quality of life for my then 4 year old mare!
    Date published: 2016-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartBreathe Pellets help my horse cough less. My horse used to blow her nose and cough during our morning rides, now she still blows her nose a little, but the coughing has gotten much better. She actually coughed so hard when cantering that she lost her lead before we started feeding SmartBreathe.
    Date published: 2016-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really worked for my horse My 20 year old mare had coughing issues in the summer on and off for a couple of years. The vet said she was starting to have allergies. Then last summer she had the cough with a runny nose and kept both all winter. Had the vet check her out again and still thought allergies. So I got the SmartBreathe Pellets this March after reading all of the reviews from other SmartPak customers. She has been on this for 6 months. It took a few weeks, but she has not coughed this summer and the runny nose is gone too! I add the pellets to her morning grain and she didn't even noticed a difference. She is a good eater so I wasn't surprised. I am so pleased with this product!
    Date published: 2016-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! My three horses have breathing issues due to bad hay when they were younger. Now just a hint of mold or dust and they start wheezing and heaving. I have tried everything from prescriptions from the vet to soaking their hay. The soaking worked but it took a long time for the wheezing and heaving to subside. I got the small bag at first to see if it worked and by one week I noticed the heaving subsiding. By three weeks their nostrils weren't flared and by two months they were barely coughing and all other symptoms were virtually gone. I love Smart Breathe pellets. I only wish I'd discovered them sooner so my horses didn't have to suffer for so long. And they LIKE IT! Thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work I bought this for my horse who is on stall rest and in a dusty barn all day. he was starting to sneeze, snort, and show symptoms of headshaking. I put him on this and noticed a very subtle difference over time, but I definitely do think it's working. he has been on it for 2 months now and has improved immensely.
    Date published: 2016-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I started my horse on this few months now and she's doing and feeling great. She's an older mare 23 and still show her at fun shows and fair. Her breathing and coughing are gone since I started her on this. She looks fantanisic also. This show season was awesome!
    Date published: 2016-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple love this product Started my 16 year old Tennessee walker who suffers from copd on this in June he has been medication free since then . He's breathing great .
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it work? Are these reviews all hype? Yes it does! Not hype at all! Very much worth the money! If your horse coughs and 'cough free' doesn't quite do the trick, if cough is persistent even when not at work, USE SMARTBREATHE! My filly had a cough that scared me so bad, I thought I had blown out her lungs and she would be done for.. 2 weeks on this and I haven't heard or had reports of her coughing in over a week!! So relieved.. I had used cough free before it had gotten this bad and had little effect.. I am sticking with SmartBreathe.. And the taste? I feed pellets and she eats them without hesitation (they even have a funny scent that I had been worried about)..
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seen Improvement My horse has had improvement with this product. Less sneezing, less head bobbing while riding. I am hoping with more time on these pellets he won't have to many more issues.
    Date published: 2016-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps My horse used to roar terribly but has greatly improved since starting smart breathe
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from no improvement
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    • y_2017, m_2, d_20, h_3
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_31, tr_409
    • loc_en_US, sid_8915, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders