Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Redmond Rock Salt
Redmond Minerals Inc. — Item #18662
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

100% natural mineral salt

  • Contains over 50 trace minerals
  • Feed as a tasty addition to your horse's SmartPak or as a rock for free-choice access
Redmond Rock Salt is 100% natural mineral salt with over 50 trace minerals and a taste your horse is sure to love!

Feed as a tasty addition to your horse's SmartPak, or order the 7 lb or 3 lb Redmond Rock Salt Block for free-choice access in the stall or pasture! Pure and natural, Redmond Salt is not kiln-dried or processed with chemicals.

Please note the 5 lb. bag is labeled "Daily Red Equine Minerals"

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1 oz) daily)
  • Calcium (min)
    0.35%
  • Calcium (max)
    0.85%
  • Phosphorus (min)
    0.02%
  • Salt (min)
    91.0%
  • Salt (max)
    96.0%
  • Magnesium (min)
    0.06%
  • Potassium (min)
    0.03%
  • Sulfur (min)
    0.07%
  • Copper (min)
    3 ppm
  • Iodine (min)
    10 ppm
  • Iron (min)
    300 ppm
  • Manganese (min)
    5 ppm
  • Zinc (min)
    3 ppm
Ingredient Statement:: Salt (Mineral Sea Salt)

Note: Redmond Rock contains 300 ppm of Iron (min).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions:
Feed free-choice year round or can be mixed in any feed ration as desired. Provide plenty of clean fresh water at all times.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "This heavy wall large capacity corner container is ...
    Description:
    "This heavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Made in the USA" ...
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, ...
    Description:
    "Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line, the EquiFit CleanBucket minimizes bucket slime! Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings. Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets. ...
    "Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, ...
    Description:
    "Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, the Nose-It!® A Toy with Purpose™ works with your horse's natural grazing instincts, controlling the amount of food intake at any given time. No more waste or inhaling of food-stuffs. Your horse ...
    "Water troughs are a great solution to filling ...
    Description:
    "Water troughs are a great solution to filling up water buckets everyday for your horse. Heavy duty, durable, impact resistant molded poly construction absorbs force without breaking or cracking. All water troughs are warranted for 3 years. The 70 gallon ...
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of ...
    Description:
    "FOCUS SR provides all of the benefits of the original SOURCE formula with added support for the aging horse. In addition to a daily serving of SOURCE, FOCUS SR contains antioxidants, vitamins, beneficial microbes, chelated minerals, fatty acids, and enzymes. ...
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use ...
    Description:
    "Crush-proof, crack-proof, and freeze-proof so you can use it indoors or outdoors year-round! Molded from the finest corded rubber on the market, nothing matches the pliability and strength of DuraFlex rubber. Made in the USA"
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial ...
    Description:
    "Bye Bye Odor™ is a safe natural microbial solution specially formulated to eliminate urine and manure odors. Simply spray stalls, trailers, or kennels daily with enough to give the bedding or surface an even misting and within three days or ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Redmond Rock Salt is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 74.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it! I like buying it loose and adding to my smartpaks so sometimes I can give more if weather is very hot or very cold.
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super convenient! My horse is mostly blind so a salt block is difficult for him to find, especially when he is out on pasture, so he doesn't usually get the appropriate daily intake of sodium. But with this i just mix it into his grain and I know he's getting what he needs! The only thing was make sure to mix it with enough grain that your horse isn't just getting a mouthful of salt! I first fed this in a small amount of grain and, although he ate it, I could tell he didn't like it a ton.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My mare had trouble sweating last summer but used this this year and seen great results
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My donkeys love this product! I bought these for my miniature donkeys and they love it!
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it better It seems to do the job. The horses don't have any complaints.
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what he needed This mineral supplement has done wonders for my gelding who shows no interest in a salt block. He is drinking more water and his urine is not as concentrated. He actually loves the taste and I mix it in with his grain each morning.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse would not eat it. Looked to be a good product for my horse with no chemical or artificial additives but my horse would not eat it or the grain it was mixed with. Gave it away.
    Date published: 2016-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to my horse's feed I want my horse to be healthy and get extra salt when she needs it so have added this to her feed. She loves it!
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love it My horses don't lick a block during Winter so I add this to their feed, they live it and I notice they drink more water.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my mare loves it! My mare is finally drinking enough water to satisfy me. Love that its mined in the u.s.I received a rock on a rope in my gift bag at the Julie Goodnight clinic I attended.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses love them My horses both enjoy these salt licks. They last a decent amount of time
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redmond salt My mare over eats salt if given the choice, so I'm happy to feed her this knowing she'll get what she needs but nothing in excess.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind! It seems silly to be so excited about salt- but I love this stuff! I could tell my gelding wasn't touching his salt block (ever) and his bucket was still half full of water at the end of the day. He is in daily during the summer and although he is in out of the sun, he still gets ridden and still sweats when it's humid. I was concerned with the amount of water he was consuming, so tried this. It really works!! His bucket is always empty at the end of the day! Thanks smartpak!!
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse likes ...but he likes all salt so I'm not sure if it's very palatable since my guy will eat almost anything. He will also bite chunks out of a salt block all day and needs his intake regulated. Another reason I bought this for him is that it has some iron in it but not enough to OD which is good. I do think it could be a little cheaper since it's basically just salt.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great product! I have a block of salt in my mare's stall but she never licks it. I now add this to her feed once a day and feel better about her salt & mineral intake and it helps her have a healthy thirst. Super easy to measure with the enclosed scoop and the bag has a nice resealable top.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to get salt into my horse My horse doesn't eat the blocks of salt I give him so I thought I would try the loose salt in his Smart Paks. Works great - I now don't have to worry about whether he is getting enough salt.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truffles Loves It! I bought the 7 lb. block as a gift for my horse's stable mate, Truffles. He normally goes through other brands of salt blocks in 1 - 2 weeks. So far he's barely made a dent in it, and he licks it regularly. Great product, will definitely re-order when needed!
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than more expensive salt! I am a big believer in using either Himalayan or Celtic sea salt instead of regular table salt as a supplement for my horse because of the way table salt is processed. For over a year, I had been using a Himalayan salt product marketed for people, and it was pretty expensive. After a while I got tired of paying the high price and decided to give the Redmond salt a try after hearing positive things from other horse people about the quality of Redmond products. I'm really glad I made the switch because within about 3 weeks of using this product, I noticed my horse's coat was shinier and he was keeping his weight better. I compete in endurance rides and had been having trouble keeping weight on my horse, but it's been much easier since I started him on this product. I don't really have a scientific explanation for why, but switching to the Redmond salt was the only change I made, so I'm convinced that some nutrient in the product must have been just what my horse needed. As a note, I give a 1/2 Tbsp of the salt am and pm plus another 1/2-1 Tbsp after heavy conditioning rides to help replenish lost electrolytes, and those amounts seem to work really well for my 17hh Friesian.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fast working! After 3 vet calls for colic we realized my young horse wasn't drinking enough water. At night in his stall he was only drinking maybe 2-3 gallons. After a few days of feeding this in his grain and soaked grass pellets he is now drinking about 10 gallons each night! He is also a very picky eater.
    Date published: 2015-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it This is a really great product. I noticed immediate improvement in my horse's performance after starting him on this.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Palatable way to encourage horses to drink water We board in pasture, so other horses were also eating all my Redmond rock. My vet had recommended ensuring each horse gets at least 1 TB. of iodized salt daily, but they did not always clean it up when fed. They eat all of this granular Redmond salt and I feel like I am encouraging hydration and helping them stay healthy at a time of year when they might not drink as well.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you want to be able to hold it... We use the smaller version on the rope as a "pacifier" for the horses when standing for the farrier. They go crazy for it and drool everywhere, but they stand so nice while they suck on it.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love this salt!! Bought this a few weeks ago. My horses had stopped drinking much water as it got colder and a lot of dreary rainy days. 1 scoop a day in their feed and they started drinking 7-10 gallons a day. I can feel a difference in their winter coats and they just seem to act better. We leave out a mineral block for free feed, but they have not touched it for a couple of weeks. That tells me they are getting enough salt and minerals from the Redmonds. They eat every bit of their feed. Love this easy-to-use, high quality supplement.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff My mare stopped using the salt block, but loves the new Redmond rock salt
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It rocks! My horses couldn't get enough! Especially my mini! No problem getting them to eat their salt!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this in a Smartpak My horse loves the redmond rock salt, and will eat the whole "rock" in a short period if it is just left out free choice. With the Smartpaks option I can ensure he is getting his needed salt daily, without over doing it and I don't have to worry about him eating a months worth of salt in a week. If you look at the Redmond's web site they indicate that
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! My horse loves this. He is so picky. He doesn't eat carrots or apples or even supplements but he dove right into this. I will definitely be buying it again!
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Salt My mare has a choice of a white, red or Redmond salt block in her stall and she ALWAYS chooses the Redmond. The others only get touched when the Redmond is gone. My geldings are more fond of the white block but will choose the Redmond over the red block.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes my former non-sweater drink--and sweat! All three horses suddenly stopped drinking a few months ago, though we didn't figure that out right away. By the time we realized all three were mildly colicky, we had a very serious problem. They all were quickly transported to a surgical facility. Sadly, one irreplaceable best friend did not survive. However, after a five-day stay our mares came home--still not willing to drink. After putting Redmond's in their feed, they not only started drinking a lot and recovering, but my non-sweater started sweating. This is a fantastic product! (I wouldn't have tried it had the Redmond rep not heard of my issue and offered me a free bag through my feed store.) So grateful!Oh, if you're reluctant to "force-feed" by top dressing with salt, please understand that your horse will find a way to eat everything BUT the salt when he doesn't need it. He'll leave it in the bucket, and that's fine. Don't dump it out. Because in a few days, when his body tells him he needs it, he'll lick the whole bucket clean. They self-regulate, when given the chance.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My new mare arrived after 2 1/2 days on the trailer. She went right for the Redmond salt and has settled in beautifully.
    Date published: 2014-05-24
    • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_6
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_8662, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders