Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Redmond Rock Salt
Redmond Minerals Inc. — Item #18662
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

100% natural mineral salt

  • Contains over 50 trace minerals
  • Feed as a tasty addition to your horse's SmartPak or as a rock for free-choice access
Redmond Rock Salt is 100% natural mineral salt with over 50 trace minerals and a taste your horse is sure to love!

Feed as a tasty addition to your horse's SmartPak, or order the 7 lb or 3 lb Redmond Rock Salt Block for free-choice access in the stall or pasture! Pure and natural, Redmond Salt is not kiln-dried or processed with chemicals.

Please note the 5 lb. bag is labeled "Daily Red Equine Minerals"

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (1 oz) daily)
  • Calcium (min)
    0.35%
  • Calcium (max)
    0.85%
  • Phosphorus (min)
    0.02%
  • Salt (min)
    91.0%
  • Salt (max)
    96.0%
  • Magnesium (min)
    0.06%
  • Potassium (min)
    0.03%
  • Sulfur (min)
    0.07%
  • Copper (min)
    3 ppm
  • Iodine (min)
    10 ppm
  • Iron (min)
    300 ppm
  • Manganese (min)
    5 ppm
  • Zinc (min)
    3 ppm
Ingredient Statement:: Salt (Mineral Sea Salt)

Note: Redmond Rock contains 300 ppm of Iron (min).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions:
Feed free-choice year round or can be mixed in any feed ration as desired. Provide plenty of clean fresh water at all times.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement containing both probiotics and prebiotics. Both are crucial to help ensure the production of beneficial bacteria throughout the digestive tract. Omega Suregut is also formulated to include stabilized ground flaxseed, yeast, and ...
    "Accel is a carefully balanced multi-vitamin supplement designed ...
    Description:
    "Accel is a carefully balanced multi-vitamin supplement designed to provide a strong and comprehensive foundation for all horses. It is an excellent source of fat and water soluble vitamins, chelated and conventional minerals, and trace minerals, and is fortified with ...
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral supplement that provides balanced ratios of key vitamins, chelated minerals, amino acids, and botanicals. Grand Vite contains active yeast cultures that support the digestibility of nutrients. View our Multi-Vitamin Comparison Chart Learn ...
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    Description:
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural ...
    Description:
    "Sand Clear contains psyllium seed husk, a natural soluble fiber that increases feed ration bulk. Sand Clear includes apple and molasses flavoring horses love. Psyllium contains more soluble fiber than oat bran and wheat bran combined. There is 80% soluble ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Redmond Rock Salt is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 78.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for. I want to be able to measure and insure that my horse is getting salt this winter in his supplements. This is just the granulation I was looking for in a good size bag.
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury's Out on the Rock Salt I bought this under the advisement of a friend. It's very hot here in the summer and my mare sweats a lot. She has access to a block, but I was told that they can't get "enough" salt that way and they need it loose. The first day I top dressed her feed with the recommended scoop. She was not impressed- way too salty. After that I put a scoop in an empty rubber tub in her stall so she can get it when she wants. She rarely touches it. I'm not sure how I feel about it because I really thought she'd lick at it similar to the way she does her block and she's not. All that to say: inconclusive!
    Date published: 2016-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it! I like buying it loose and adding to my smartpaks so sometimes I can give more if weather is very hot or very cold.
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super convenient! My horse is mostly blind so a salt block is difficult for him to find, especially when he is out on pasture, so he doesn't usually get the appropriate daily intake of sodium. But with this i just mix it into his grain and I know he's getting what he needs! The only thing was make sure to mix it with enough grain that your horse isn't just getting a mouthful of salt! I first fed this in a small amount of grain and, although he ate it, I could tell he didn't like it a ton.
    Date published: 2016-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My mare had trouble sweating last summer but used this this year and seen great results
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My donkeys love this product! I bought these for my miniature donkeys and they love it!
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it better It seems to do the job. The horses don't have any complaints.
    Date published: 2016-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what he needed This mineral supplement has done wonders for my gelding who shows no interest in a salt block. He is drinking more water and his urine is not as concentrated. He actually loves the taste and I mix it in with his grain each morning.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse would not eat it. Looked to be a good product for my horse with no chemical or artificial additives but my horse would not eat it or the grain it was mixed with. Gave it away.
    Date published: 2016-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Addition to my horse's feed I want my horse to be healthy and get extra salt when she needs it so have added this to her feed. She loves it!
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love it My horses don't lick a block during Winter so I add this to their feed, they live it and I notice they drink more water.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my mare loves it! My mare is finally drinking enough water to satisfy me. Love that its mined in the u.s.I received a rock on a rope in my gift bag at the Julie Goodnight clinic I attended.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horses love them My horses both enjoy these salt licks. They last a decent amount of time
    Date published: 2015-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Redmond salt My mare over eats salt if given the choice, so I'm happy to feed her this knowing she'll get what she needs but nothing in excess.
    Date published: 2015-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind! It seems silly to be so excited about salt- but I love this stuff! I could tell my gelding wasn't touching his salt block (ever) and his bucket was still half full of water at the end of the day. He is in daily during the summer and although he is in out of the sun, he still gets ridden and still sweats when it's humid. I was concerned with the amount of water he was consuming, so tried this. It really works!! His bucket is always empty at the end of the day! Thanks smartpak!!
    Date published: 2015-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse likes ...but he likes all salt so I'm not sure if it's very palatable since my guy will eat almost anything. He will also bite chunks out of a salt block all day and needs his intake regulated. Another reason I bought this for him is that it has some iron in it but not enough to OD which is good. I do think it could be a little cheaper since it's basically just salt.
    Date published: 2015-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Great product! I have a block of salt in my mare's stall but she never licks it. I now add this to her feed once a day and feel better about her salt & mineral intake and it helps her have a healthy thirst. Super easy to measure with the enclosed scoop and the bag has a nice resealable top.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to get salt into my horse My horse doesn't eat the blocks of salt I give him so I thought I would try the loose salt in his Smart Paks. Works great - I now don't have to worry about whether he is getting enough salt.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truffles Loves It! I bought the 7 lb. block as a gift for my horse's stable mate, Truffles. He normally goes through other brands of salt blocks in 1 - 2 weeks. So far he's barely made a dent in it, and he licks it regularly. Great product, will definitely re-order when needed!
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than more expensive salt! I am a big believer in using either Himalayan or Celtic sea salt instead of regular table salt as a supplement for my horse because of the way table salt is processed. For over a year, I had been using a Himalayan salt product marketed for people, and it was pretty expensive. After a while I got tired of paying the high price and decided to give the Redmond salt a try after hearing positive things from other horse people about the quality of Redmond products. I'm really glad I made the switch because within about 3 weeks of using this product, I noticed my horse's coat was shinier and he was keeping his weight better. I compete in endurance rides and had been having trouble keeping weight on my horse, but it's been much easier since I started him on this product. I don't really have a scientific explanation for why, but switching to the Redmond salt was the only change I made, so I'm convinced that some nutrient in the product must have been just what my horse needed. As a note, I give a 1/2 Tbsp of the salt am and pm plus another 1/2-1 Tbsp after heavy conditioning rides to help replenish lost electrolytes, and those amounts seem to work really well for my 17hh Friesian.
    Date published: 2015-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fast working! After 3 vet calls for colic we realized my young horse wasn't drinking enough water. At night in his stall he was only drinking maybe 2-3 gallons. After a few days of feeding this in his grain and soaked grass pellets he is now drinking about 10 gallons each night! He is also a very picky eater.
    Date published: 2015-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it This is a really great product. I noticed immediate improvement in my horse's performance after starting him on this.
    Date published: 2015-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Palatable way to encourage horses to drink water We board in pasture, so other horses were also eating all my Redmond rock. My vet had recommended ensuring each horse gets at least 1 TB. of iodized salt daily, but they did not always clean it up when fed. They eat all of this granular Redmond salt and I feel like I am encouraging hydration and helping them stay healthy at a time of year when they might not drink as well.
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you want to be able to hold it... We use the smaller version on the rope as a "pacifier" for the horses when standing for the farrier. They go crazy for it and drool everywhere, but they stand so nice while they suck on it.
    Date published: 2015-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love this salt!! Bought this a few weeks ago. My horses had stopped drinking much water as it got colder and a lot of dreary rainy days. 1 scoop a day in their feed and they started drinking 7-10 gallons a day. I can feel a difference in their winter coats and they just seem to act better. We leave out a mineral block for free feed, but they have not touched it for a couple of weeks. That tells me they are getting enough salt and minerals from the Redmonds. They eat every bit of their feed. Love this easy-to-use, high quality supplement.
    Date published: 2014-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff My mare stopped using the salt block, but loves the new Redmond rock salt
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It rocks! My horses couldn't get enough! Especially my mini! No problem getting them to eat their salt!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this in a Smartpak My horse loves the redmond rock salt, and will eat the whole "rock" in a short period if it is just left out free choice. With the Smartpaks option I can ensure he is getting his needed salt daily, without over doing it and I don't have to worry about him eating a months worth of salt in a week. If you look at the Redmond's web site they indicate that
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_4
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_8662, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders