Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Quiessence
Foxden Equine — Item #10017
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Supports healthy nervous system function

  • Provides 16,000 mg of magnesium & 2.5 mg of chromium per 2 oz serving
  • In addition to calming, this formula may be helpful for horses that are overweight & cresty-necked
Quiessence horse supplement provides magnesium and chromium, which are important to proper nerve and muscle function. May be helpful for horses that are overweight and cresty-necked, and may also help with calming.

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 1 ounce:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (2 oz) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Magnesium Oxide 7 g (7,000 mg)
Chelated Magnesium 1 g (1,000 mg)
Chromium Piccolinate 1.25 mg
Inactive Ingredients:: Ameribind (binder), banana flavor, distillers grains, Powersweet, sodium chloride, wheat mids

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: Administer 1 oz (1 scoop) per 250 lbs. of body weight per day to start. Then drop to 0.5 oz per 250 lbs. of body weight per day when improvement is evident. Initial dose for 1,000 lbs. horse = 4 oz (4 scoops)Maintenance dose for 1,000 lbs. horse = 2 oz (2 scoops)
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a ...
    Description:
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a healthy, balanced hormonal and nervous system in mares throughout the year, or throughout the season. Some geldings or stallions may also benefit from this mix. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    Description:
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known ...
    Description:
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal ...
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, ...
    Description:
    "In nature, horses graze and secrete saliva constantly, which buffers the stomach from gastric acid. When horses are stalled, this natural buffering mechanism is disrupted, and acid indigestion often results. Neigh-Lox is designed to support normal stomach function and promote ...
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement containing both probiotics and prebiotics. Both are crucial to help ensure the production of beneficial bacteria throughout the digestive tract. Omega Suregut is also formulated to include stabilized ground flaxseed, yeast, and ...
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse ...
    Description:
    "Voted top choice in the March 2007 Horse Journal, Perfect Balance Electrolite supports rapid re-hydration by including proper levels of sodium, potassium, chloride, sulfate, magnesium, calcium, and chelated minerals in a highly concentrated and highly effective formula designed to match ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Quiessence is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 570.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful product Horse gobbles this down, seems to be taking the edge off a bit which is what I was after.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from something really works!!! I have my Haflinger on this product, and it is the only thing that truly controls his weight, his focus, and overall well-being. Without Quiessence, he would be on a continual diet in a dry lot, and not a happy pony. I saw results within 3 months with this supplement, and have now been using it for several years. Thank you for such a great solution to my chubby pony!! He looks better, feels better, and performs better while in harness. He is very successful in driving competitions now with his extra energy and good attitude. He was Champion 4H Driving Horse in our county for 2 years in a row, with a young driver. Quiessence has made a big difference in his life.
    Date published: 2016-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muscles Seems to have helped with the muscle spasms in her back.
    Date published: 2016-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it! This product has helped greatly with my borderline insulin resistant horse. He has lost weight with no other dietary changes and the credit was in his neck has softened. I believe he lacked the minerals in this product and this is exactly what he needed.
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes the edge off My mare tends to be over reactive and looky. On this supplement she looks less and if she does react, it's minimal and very easy to regain her attention.
    Date published: 2016-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked on crested neck mare This my second container and my mare's crested neck has reduced by half.
    Date published: 2016-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I switched to Quiessence after smartcalm didn't have much effect on my anxious thoroughbred. I followed the instructions about using a loading dose and got wonderful results. My horse is finally a relaxed and happy boy!
    Date published: 2016-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help one horse but not the other This seems to help one of my horses a little bit but does not affect the other horses at all. Not the best palatability for my picky eaters but they will eat it if I mix it in the grain really well.
    Date published: 2016-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great "side effects"! I bought Quiessence for our mellow, overweight, cresty-necked Shetland pony. He most definitely does not need a calming supplement, however it was worth a shot to see if the magnesium and chromium contained in Quiessence could make a difference in his appearance. After a month and a half, I think I'm beginning to see some positive results, in spite of the grass getting greener! We will keep him in it and see how he looks in a few more months.
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful supplement I started my mare on this about two months and can see a difference! It has helped settle her down - our stables is located a newly constructed road and quiessence has helped with all of our nerves ;)
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Effective My horse can finally focus! I can now ride my 6 year old thoroughbred without having to recapture his attention every time he sees a “squirrel”. This product has made a huge difference in his demeanor both on his back and on the ground. Love it!!
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quiessence
    Date published: 2016-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be helping! I have an 8 year old Belgian gelding who we bought with an extremely crusty neck. I have him on this supplement to help with that, plus it seems to quiet his worried mind.
    Date published: 2016-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped to stop neurotic behavior I have a National Show Horse that suffered a horrible stressful event . He became very neurotic acting pacing/whinnying/and doing so to the extreme. I have been asked to remove him from stables due to this behavior. My vet. suggested I contact Smartpac and try Quiessance & within 24 hours there was a definite behavior change for the better. My horse has now been on this product a month and a half & I have been able to reduce the amount given with the same wonderful results. He still has his moments but very few and a lot less intense.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Paletable Bought this for my muscle sore and tense WB/TB. It helps with the tight muscle, shortens recovery time after we work hard and seems to relax him a bit. He's very picky but loves this stuff.
    Date published: 2016-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won't go without it This has worked wonders on my horse. Naturally an edgy, sensitive guy, Quiessence helps me have a calmer horse. I do keep him on much more than the maintenance dose as one scoop a day really doesn't do the trick. 2 oz am and 1 oz pm have been doing the trick for years. It'll be in his smartpaks forever.
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't do much Tried this for a month on my sport horse stallion who is rather spooky and very high energy, and was having aggression towards his herd mate 3 times his size. Didn't do much of anything other than make him yawn constantly. Still spooky, and still jumpy. Switching to smartpak tranquility.
    Date published: 2016-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! Tried this for 2 of my horses and felt results in a few days! They both relaxed and engaged their hind ends better. Took away that last little bit of tension. Definitely would recommend for others!
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Option My guy has always had somewhat sensitive feet, and unfortunately this summer on the fresh grass, he started to really get fat and sore and his feet started falling apart. I never did any testing, but those symptoms in a middle aged quarter horse are enough that I decided to start treating him like he is insulin resistant. This product is the most cost-effective magnesium and chromium source I could find and he is happy to eat the pellets. After a month on this (and OFF pasture) he was markedly improved, and four months later he was back to full work and doing 25 mile rides comfortably again. I intend to keep him on this for life.
    Date published: 2016-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Size - 50 lb bag! I searched the web and Smartpak is the only place I found that sold 50 lb bags of Quiessence. It's great--makes it so I don't have to order so frequently which simplifies the life a horse owner. The product is remarkable. My horse really flourishes while taking Quiessence. Her neck loses fat pockets and she trims up more quickly. Please continue to offer Quiessence in a 50 lb bag. Thanks!
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! I put my mare on this as she was on stall rest for a month then on limited area for 3 more months. I was hoping this would help keep her calm and help muscle tightness. It worked!
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product has helped take the edge of my 9 year TB. I would recommend
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Mare looks better than ever I've had my mare on Quiessence for 9+ months beginning early summer last year. I chose it after researching multiple products. I noticed a change in her weight and attitude after a full month of the 4 scoop dosage, then I went down to 2 scoops as recommended. She had foundered about 8 years ago and is an ultra-easy keeper--I have to dry lot her in the spring to keep her from ballooning up with extra weight and foundering. She can put on extra pounds almost overnight if on green grass and runs a high risk of foundering again if I am not careful. Her neck was cresty and she always developed fatty areas in her shoulders and rump--she reminded me of a blob. I chose this product to help her metabolize her food better and help adjust her attitude toward my gelding. Couple of friends said "she looks great, better than ever" because the cresty neck that made her look overweight disappeared--poof! I needed something too that would help with her snippy attitude toward my gelding and the Magnesium was the ticket. She still has moments, but the kicking and charging at my gelding has stopped and my round pen and stall panels aren't getting dented up anymore. I love how she looks and knows she feels good, too. My gelding is enjoying his pasture mate better since she tolerates him much better.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work with my mare My mare was on this for awhile and i didnt see a change at all in how she acted. She still was way to distracted when we were out on the trails or working in the ring. Also I ordered the bucket of this supplement and it didn't seem to be as fresh as i hoped it to be. Had a slight mold smell to it.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 28yo Morgan w/ Cushings Charlie, the fussy eater, eats these pellets & looks for more. He's frisky, alert & maintaining good physique.
    Date published: 2015-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement! At the end of June, I had surgery that was going to keep me out of the saddle for as much as 6 months. After a month of no work, my Kentucky Mountain gelding was starting to get fat pockets on his rump and his neck was getting cresty . My Veterinarian recommended that I put him on Quiessence to see if he would lose the extra fat (already off pasture half the day and only a handful of grain, just to get him to come in the barn). After a month or so, I could see a big difference in the fat distribution on him. As an added bonus, when I was able to start doing a little riding, he was much less reactive. I have continued to keep him on the Quiessence at the maintenance dose.
    Date published: 2015-12-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work as expected I have used a magnesium supplement on my super sensative colt with excellent results in the past but noticed no results with this one. Even increased the dosage to 5 scoops/day without effect. Ended up being a very expensive trial.
    Date published: 2015-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific for horses with EMS I purchased this for a mustang who was suffering from chronic laminitis (founder), EMS and cushings. After putting her on Quiessence in combination with Pergolide, Thyro-L and a controlled diet she very quickly lost the cresty neck, pot belly, oily coat and her laminitis subsided. After three months she is sound to ride, and looks like a normal healthy horse. I highly recommend this product for insulin resistant horses. I do not know if this product has any calming effects.
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    • y_2017, m_5, d_23, h_5
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_78, tr_492
    • loc_en_US, sid_17, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders